Smart Home, Let's discuss

Kiding
post Jul 15 2017, 05:31 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jul 15 2017, 01:23 PM)
guys, for a 3 storey home
what kind of automation you guys advice?
what is there to setup?
It depends on your budget, for compatibility and flexibility, I'd recommend smartthings, it has wide range of devices it can manage, regardless Zigbee, z-wave, WIFI, LAN connected devices, and it is fully customized and programmable, the smarthings's smartapp enables endless creativity, it also can integrate Alexa, Google Home for voice control.

Smartthings hub with xiaomi/sonoff/broadlink devices can delivery very cost effective smart home automation solutions, just need spend time to integrate it.

Kiding
post Jul 17 2017, 08:58 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Jul 17 2017, 07:27 PM)
Add broadlink bean for other ir devices in different room
Xiaomi hub alarm system, motion sensor/door sensor are nice for automation with other stuff
Wifi door lock?
Can control all with home assistant or just use respective app
The sonoff switch requires neutral wire, so maybe you can tell the wireman to also loop neutral wire behind wall switch

Also, how bright is the philips bulb compared to regular bulb?

Btw, anyone know if broadlink pro (with ir) can control autogate system?
Most autogate don't use IR, it use RF frequencies, but don't think it is 433Mhz/315Mhz.

I use a z-wave relay to trigger auto gate to open/close, working perfectly.
Kiding
post Jul 18 2017, 12:58 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Jul 17 2017, 09:07 PM)
Your autogate need to be z wave compatible for that?
Or z wave can control any ir devices?
How to know if it's not using 433/315mhz?
No need to be z-wave, my autogate use a simple switch to open/close gate, when the switch is close, it triggers gate to open or close. the switch basically receive 12V voltage signa, I plug in z-wave relay, when send z-wave on/off signal to it, it acts as a momentary switch to send 12V signal to gate switch and voila

You can use sonoff to act as a momentary switch too, not really need to be z-wave.
Kiding
post Jul 24 2017, 11:23 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(WIS9000 @ Jul 24 2017, 11:13 AM)
a reminder. the Aqara switch method doesn't work for me.
interested on the Z-wave relay + xiaomi system, if this is possible.

i know there are some development like using Raspberry Pi method runing Domotiz client or sort, but would be keen on something much simpler first if available.
First of all, it is depending on the autogate system, if the autogate system is using a relay to open/close, then you can use z-wave relay or sonoff to replace the relay.

In my case, my autogate system is using 12V relay, when you hit the switch, the NO relay is closed and sending 12V signal to open/close. if you understand how the relay works, you will know how to wire it.

Kiding
post Jul 24 2017, 06:23 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(WIS9000 @ Jul 24 2017, 03:06 PM)
thanks for the info Kiding. Yeah i know how the relay works.
Mind sharing with us what network are u using to control your z-wave relay? also what brand is your relay?

can it be integrated into existing xiaomi ecosystem?
I'm using smartthings, it support z-wave, zigbee, wifi, TCPIP LAN protocol.

Xiaomi use zigbee/TCPIP, it doesn't use z-wave, unless you know how to hack into xiaomi zigbee outlet, it is kinda difficult to integrate autogate system to xiaomi echosystem.

smartthings can integrate to all xiaomi devices, probably you can think about to switch to smartthings sweat.gif brows.gif
Kiding
post Jul 25 2017, 06:50 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(WIS9000 @ Jul 25 2017, 12:07 PM)
thanks for sharing the info.
smartthings is from samsung right? the last time i check, it was quite pricey.
i don't think i would switch since i'd invested into a few xiaomi items. would look into way to expand the functions.
they worked quite nicely and quality seems good considering their price point.

speaking of auto gate, is there any way to detect that it is closed properly?
i am planning to attach the xiaomi door sensor to the gate, but scared it is not weather proof.
any 3rd party sensor to do the trick?
I have a z-wave contact sensor to monitor the autogate, it has external contact input, so it can monitor two door/gate. I wired a long cable from the z-wave conact to the autogate, and place the generic alarm magnet contact sensor on the autogate, so far so good, no need to worry waterproof or overheat issue

Kiding
post Aug 1 2017, 06:52 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Aug 1 2017, 04:23 PM)
People also use IR thermometer to check the temperature at aircond vent area to determine whether the air temperature right at the vent is reflective to it's "suppose" temperature or not.
The air temp at the vent area is always lower than the setting value, if it is non-inverter aircon, the air coming out is always fixed at certain temperature, most likely around 20 degree or lower.

Kiding
post Aug 3 2017, 09:50 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Aug 3 2017, 08:49 PM)
Sonoff seems to be cheapest & easiest way to start with that
If I'm not mistaken Sonoff switch is 16A max, he needs to check with the water pump to see the maximum current whether or not exceeds 16A
Kiding
post Aug 4 2017, 03:52 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Aug 4 2017, 05:26 AM)
10 amps max
sonoff pow 16A max

https://www.itead.cc/smart-home/sonoff-pow.html

Kiding
post Aug 4 2017, 06:33 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(dannygoh @ Aug 4 2017, 05:53 PM)

I want to flash the Sonoff to Tasmota firmware. Anyone know where to get a converter in Klang Valley?

The item called 
CP2102 USB 2.0 to TTL UART Module 6Pin Serial Converter STC Replace FT232 Module according to Youtube Video here https://youtu.be/fN_QKOWvG1s?t=2m11s
you can get it from Lazada, aliexpress or Taobao
Kiding
post Aug 21 2017, 08:27 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(Two5Kid @ Aug 21 2017, 06:22 PM)
For those that bought SmartThings Hub, which version did you get? US or UK? How did you get it to cover the whole house, Googling asked me to use SmartThings outlets, but those outlets aren't in our usual 3-pin plug format, how do you overcome this?
I bought US version, because it has lot of z-wave sensors choices, anyway, you might consider UK version as U.S version z-wave frequency has overlap with GSM 900Mhz.

Smarthing compatible with z-wave, zigbee, it is RF frequency and has broad coverage, unless you are living in bungalows, you don't really need to worry the coverage, and a lot of z-wave power outlets built in repeater.

There is a thing called travel power adapter, just to ensure the z-wave devices can be used in 220V-240V, some z-wave devices selling in US only work in 110V.
Kiding
post Aug 22 2017, 11:20 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(Two5Kid @ Aug 22 2017, 05:36 PM)
Yeah, living in a double-storey bungalow, so need to make sure that this thing will really work before investing in it. So that means I need to plug another adapter onto the Z-wave power outlets to use it? Kind of ugly and bulky don't you think?

Someone was saying using OpenHab or Home Assistant, can that be hacked onto the SmartThings hub?
Actually you can use Xiaomi zigbee sensors, they can work with smartthings, and xiaomi sensors are small and cheap!

Openhab or Home Assistant is a controller, I don't think it is easier to integrate it with smartthing controller.
Kiding
post Aug 24 2017, 05:45 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(WIS9000 @ Aug 24 2017, 04:22 PM)
agree with your comments.

so which brand is your best bet in terms of low cost and good business ethics?
my plan now is to eventually control all my xiaomi items using raspberry pi running Domoticz server, which is open source. Any one has experience running this?
As long as xiaomi zigbee device is not managed by xiaomi gateway, it won't send info back to China.
Kiding
post Sep 4 2017, 06:03 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(ubeyou @ Sep 4 2017, 09:26 AM)
Hi guys, what's the cheapest 2 button wall switch that's compatible with smartthing? The cheapest I found is Aqara ZigBee which is about 99RMB.

Planned to use it to control indoor ceiling lights.
I use broadlink TC2 and Broadlink RM Pro IR/RF hub, broadlink can be managed by smartthing through broadlink android bridge apps

https://community.smartthings.com/t/broadli...nd-315-mhz/2647

Kiding
post Sep 5 2017, 02:24 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(wts6819 @ Sep 5 2017, 01:26 PM)
Wait, are they able to send feedback saying that the light is ON or OFF too?
As I aware, only zigbee do have this functionality, no?
The reason I scrap Broadlink due to one way communication only. I need a device able to send feedback and show in the apps.
sonoff Touch requires neutral line, check your wall socket whether or not the neutral line is there before you buy
Kiding
post Nov 21 2017, 05:39 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Nov 21 2017, 10:37 AM)
any idea y unifi doesnt work with mesh network?

i dont mind putting repeaters, but damn troublesome when u go to different floor u need to log in and out

although the lights for that particular floor shudnt be of any problem

if i have 2 different location running alexa would it be  a problem? or i need a different device with the app on it?
Mesh network? are you talking about wifi bridging? repeater? I don't have issue with my unifi (non stock router), I have two wifi bridge together, one covers ground floor, another cover first floor.
Kiding
post Nov 25 2017, 02:09 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 25 2017, 10:27 AM)
It is nice to play.

But can the safety device not depend on the network to function ? Can it function individually if no network ? or hard wire.

I think it not so reliable if the safety come 1st.

The google respond till the light on is very slow. From you start give command till the light on/off, take 7sec to execute. anyway to shorten it ?
My thumb of rules for lighting automation

1. For places that needed frequent visit but not going to stay long, i.e. car porch, staircase, toilet, use light with PIR or Microwave sensors, response time is less than 1 second.

2. For places that hardly need to turn on lights, such as decorative lights, use voice activated home automated lights.

3. For places that need to turn on lights frequently and stay longer, use your hands lah.... rclxs0.gif lol.gif
Kiding
post Dec 4 2017, 11:53 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(ular_king @ Dec 4 2017, 10:51 AM)
To all the smarthome sifus...

Am planning to start small on smart home probably by changing to some smart wall switches, buying some smart bulb. I read from this thread that most of the smart wall switches requires neutral? Malaysia houses does it comes with it?

Any recommendation on Wall Switches?

Thank you.
One of my broadlink two gang switches malfunction recently, just less than 1 year of use, one of the gang always on.

Quality of those China electronic products still have long way to improve, especially those without big brand.

All z-wave products (around 8 devices) I bought from US is still working fine, without a single failure, quality always come with price, China brand so far only Xiaomi products are more reliable, I have tried Kudled, Broadlink, and some other non brand, all failed within a year.
Kiding
post Dec 4 2017, 01:58 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(ular_king @ Dec 4 2017, 12:05 PM)
thanks for the heads up. What about sonoff? quality better?
I only use sonoff switch less than 6 months, still observing, but I looked at their PCB quality, I doubt it can last long.

This post has been edited by Kiding: Dec 4 2017, 01:59 PM
Kiding
post Dec 5 2017, 12:29 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(ular_king @ Dec 4 2017, 10:03 PM)
I was looking at broadlink products. I got one stupid question, i know broadlink RM pro can send RF signals at 433Mhz. So if I use multiple broadlink TC2 wall switches does RM pro knows which switch to turn ON/OFF?
Yes, it supports multiple switches, because each switch has different RF codes to turn on/off.

15 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.3298sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:48 AM