Smart Home, Let's discuss
adamw
Sep 13 2020, 03:51 PM
QUOTE(simmarjit @ Sep 13 2020, 12:12 PM) Urgh HA is such a PITA, spent hours to get it working yesterday and now after rebooting i cant connect to it anymore. Oops, after my 5th attempt to buy @shopee, my sonoff dongle finally landed @shah alam. Please update more on this issue so I don't have to waste too much time.
adamw
Sep 13 2020, 10:18 PM
QUOTE(simmarjit @ Sep 13 2020, 10:01 PM) I bought an echo show and i have order from US 4 echo dots, by converting its cheaper but ill see what is the final figure with shipping and tax etc. Got offer now on echo dots?
adamw
Sep 13 2020, 11:22 PM
QUOTE(simmarjit @ Sep 13 2020, 10:48 PM) $30, cheaper than Shopee sellers. But somehow echo show was cheaper on Shopee. which model of echo show?
adamw
Sep 14 2020, 02:19 AM
QUOTE(simmarjit @ Sep 13 2020, 11:42 PM) https://shopee.com.my/Amazon-Echo-Show-8-HD...9432.6147937010Its around 100 use on Amazon, but I got it for around 360 during 9.9 sale. So far I have been using it for a couple of days, not bad. Main reason I wanted it is for viewing my gate camera, and the rest are just bonus. I have just managed to control my HomeKit devices through Alexa and Siri, using dummy switches. Will be playing with those Alexa actionable notifications once I have set up all the dummy switches for automation. Which brand camera you viewing with Show 8?
adamw
Sep 14 2020, 03:54 PM
QUOTE(simmarjit @ Sep 14 2020, 03:05 PM) As of right now, i dont have that set up. But i plan to use my Hikvision cameras to stream it to the amazon devices through RTSP, not sure if i will do that through home assistant or through alexa skill called monocle. I think Amazon still do not support H.265 streams that's why I stop using Monocle.
adamw
Sep 16 2020, 08:20 PM
QUOTE(simmarjit @ Sep 16 2020, 07:16 PM) Any of you guys using outdoor motion sensors? Any recommendations? I am also searching for Zigbee outdoor sensors but so far no luck. Mostly rf & need use gateway.
adamw
Sep 17 2020, 11:15 AM
QUOTE(Zot @ Sep 17 2020, 08:22 AM) There are motion sensor designed for outdoor use. The one design for indoor may cause false alarm a lot. The sensor can be blind to to sunshine and outdoor wide temp range, unlike indoor. This German product is designed for outdoor https://shopee.com.my/Theben-S180-theLuxa-I...12844.256980410There are model for wall mount as well. However, this works on AC supply and once detect motion, it will switch on light or whatever the dry contact relay is connected to. So, you can make it trigger a zigbee smart switch to integrate the outdoor sensor into your zigbee network. Maybe something like this switch https://www.alibaba.com/product-detail/Zigb....622b3dcc22sTmLUse the load on the motion sensor to trigger a dry contact relay which will act as a switch to the zigbee module here. This is what I can think of one possible solution. Not practical to trigger light switch might as well direct trigger a smart relay, those with NC/NO.
adamw
Sep 17 2020, 05:43 PM
QUOTE(cablesguy @ Sep 17 2020, 03:44 PM) I hv a Tuya indoor motion sensor, the round type, but theres a slight delay of 3 to 5 seconds in activating a light switch, would a Zigbee one be any faster, any idea? Also looking for a Samsung Smartthings hub 3, any idea where to get the cheapest? My Zigbee PIR sensors almost instant but sometimes it won't trigger. Tested 3 different vendors, 3 different designs but all same.
adamw
Sep 17 2020, 06:09 PM
QUOTE(cablesguy @ Sep 17 2020, 06:06 PM) How about your Wifi PIR accuracy rates?
adamw
Sep 23 2020, 10:53 AM
QUOTE(simmarjit @ Sep 23 2020, 08:57 AM) Anyone using Konnected with their alarm system? i bought but never used. sell to you with discount mau?
adamw
Sep 23 2020, 11:04 AM
QUOTE(simmarjit @ Sep 23 2020, 11:00 AM) Why never use leh? Which one you have? The latest one which can go together with an existing system? 1st gen, decided to go wireless Zigbee/RF
adamw
Sep 23 2020, 01:23 PM
QUOTE(simmarjit @ Sep 23 2020, 11:15 AM) Owh, 1st gen I think it replaces the old alarm system. Complement, both can exist together.
adamw
Sep 23 2020, 04:31 PM
QUOTE(simmarjit @ Sep 23 2020, 04:05 PM) Anyone got wire Shelly 1 before? I am quite confused, I thought it be similar to Sonoff Mini. There is O,I,SW,L,N N is neutral, L is live so I take the live wire from the switch to that right? The rest is kinda confusing LOL I googled online also got confused by it What do you intend to used it for and how much was it?
adamw
Sep 23 2020, 04:31 PM
QUOTE(Happy Alicia @ Sep 23 2020, 04:29 PM) I am looking smart lock for main door in condominium. Is here correct place to ask? Yes, what is your budget?
adamw
Sep 23 2020, 05:58 PM
QUOTE(simmarjit @ Sep 23 2020, 04:55 PM) Its just one of those smart switches but you place it into the back of the current switch rather than replacing the whole switch. I think i figured it out, i will update once i have wired it. I use Tuya mini zigbee module, nice fit.
adamw
Sep 24 2020, 12:36 PM
QUOTE(Zot @ Sep 24 2020, 12:21 PM) Found this. Look good. Try to browse comment. Not sure for which door type you were looking for https://shopee.com.my/Smart-Fingerprint-Doo...7416.7301506004Didn't mentioned wifi, bluetooth or zigbee? Off net?
adamw
Sep 24 2020, 12:54 PM
QUOTE(Zot @ Sep 24 2020, 12:43 PM) Yes but try look for Zigbee or Ble. Less hassle to change battery all the time. Worth paying a bit extra for zigbee/ble gateway.
adamw
Sep 24 2020, 02:06 PM
QUOTE(Zot @ Sep 24 2020, 01:48 PM) Recommended by adamw in Post #8605 to have BLE (BlueTooth Low Energy) since the battery can last longer line a year or so, bUt you need to invest on BlueTooth gateway to integrate with home WiFi. https://shopee.com.my/bluetooth-Digital-WiF...8716.2481125008https://shopee.com.my/Stylish365-Bluetooth-...2743.5302696815Both locks seems off net only. Need verify with sellers.
adamw
Sep 29 2020, 01:16 PM
QUOTE(wailing81 @ Sep 29 2020, 11:40 AM) hi, i have problem with the 1 gang 2 ways switch for the stairs. may i know how you mitigate it. i had asked contractor to prepare the neutral line, but for the stairs, it was not there. now still spinning my head how to do it.. maybe just use the wireless at one side. if you used zigbee tuya you can have a scene switch, very convenient. can replicate any tuya switches. i use 3 gang scene so can control 9 devices or scenes. scene switch
adamw
Sep 29 2020, 05:07 PM
QUOTE(cablesguy @ Sep 29 2020, 02:50 PM) What abt the connected one bro, Zigbee also? Can be zigbee or wifi or bluetooth as long as Tuya.