ozak
post Jan 7 2018, 09:38 AM

17,019 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 6 2018, 09:51 PM)
i understand how ozak feels.
Just now, after dinner, i just came home, first thing i noticed my Samsung IP Cam has a blue light on when it should be green, meaning it is not connected.

unlocked the door, went inside and found my gateway flashing blue as well. took out my iPon, no wifi at all. Cant even see my SSID

later found out that my router changed both my SSID to the default. Even admin password changed to default. WTF?!

had to put back my SSID for everything to work. So imagine no WIFI - everything down....lol
Prepare to change router liau la. Already sot sot. Coming will be more problem.

I have been manage my server network in home for 10yrs. Makesure it run 7/11. Deal with all this trouble of router go crazy, spoil, lightning damage, server kong, offline, speed slow, .. bla bla bla.

So you see tired or not. sad.gif

That is the reason why I don't fully go home automation.

Somemore now many device have to cloud on foreigner country to work. (Really don't understand why need it) 1 day hijack my home and have to camp outside. sweat.gif
ozak
post Jan 7 2018, 09:41 AM

17,019 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jan 6 2018, 11:32 PM)
Depend, sometime ddos will reboot the router, crash the router, or halt the router and they can gain access. Or Maybe is just hardware issues

Anyway, I never like tp-link, d-link and many of the taiwan/china brand. TP-Link waste bandwidth. https://www.ctrl.blog/entry/tplink-aggressive-ntp
I kena ddos before from the farker PRC before. Try to hack my server. But doesn't effect the router or reset the server.

Just the speed slow down.
enduser
post Jan 7 2018, 10:44 AM

1,280 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 6 2018, 09:51 PM)
i understand how ozak feels.
Just now, after dinner, i just came home, first thing i noticed my Samsung IP Cam has a blue light on when it should be green, meaning it is not connected.

unlocked the door, went inside and found my gateway flashing blue as well. took out my iPon, no wifi at all. Cant even see my SSID

later found out that my router changed both my SSID to the default. Even admin password changed to default. WTF?!

had to put back my SSID for everything to work. So imagine no WIFI - everything down....lol
Maybe somebody from your neighbourhood testing all available wifi
Better fortify your router, nowadays quite a lot of tools for some kiddo to test their skil haha
idoblu
post Jan 7 2018, 11:05 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 7 2018, 09:38 AM)

I have been manage my server network in home for 10yrs. Makesure it run 7/11. Deal with all this trouble of router go crazy, spoil, lightning damage, server kong, offline, speed slow, .. bla bla bla.

So you see tired or not.  sad.gif

Somemore now many device have to cloud on foreigner country to work. (Really don't understand why need it) 1 day hijack my home and have to camp outside. sweat.gif
Your this morning all offline again but lucky no change my ssid. This router new one given by Time

I want to buy Mesh Wi-Fi next
alucard89
post Jan 7 2018, 11:08 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 7 2018, 09:41 AM)
I kena ddos before from the farker PRC before. Try to hack my server. But doesn't effect the router or reset the server.

Just the speed slow down.
Was it random or targeted?

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 7 2018, 11:05 AM)
Your this morning all offline again but lucky no change my ssid. This router new one given by Time

The google mesh wifi routers? Really that good?
idoblu
post Jan 7 2018, 11:33 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Jan 7 2018, 11:08 AM)
The google mesh wifi routers? Really that good?
Yes like Google Mesh but I was thinking of TPLINK Deco M5
weikee
post Jan 7 2018, 11:56 AM

12,019 posts

Use mikrotik, is good.

Have budget use Cisco. I was using Cisco router, later move to mikrotik for house usage.
ozak
post Jan 7 2018, 12:24 PM

17,019 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Jan 7 2018, 11:08 AM)
It keep hack my server for whole month. After I came back from China.

I did access my server from China. Probably track my ip. When I trace the ip from the log file, it is from China.

That's why I don't have good impression when all this device cloud from China. I rather not using it.
ozak
post Jan 7 2018, 12:32 PM

17,019 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 7 2018, 11:05 AM)

What is this Google mesh all about?
idoblu
post Jan 7 2018, 12:55 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 7 2018, 12:32 PM)
What is this Google mesh all about?
https://www.digitalcitizen.life/mesh-wirele...ome-wifi-system
Kiding
post Jan 7 2018, 02:47 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 7 2018, 09:38 AM)

So you see tired or not.  sad.gif

You need a good wifi router if you want stability for 24/7, Asus is good but pricey, you get what you paid for.

Why would these home automation go cloud? simple, they want your data, imagine they collect temp/humidity/location/power/motion usage for each household, this kind of big data really worth billion!
idoblu
post Jan 7 2018, 05:50 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

my Xiaomi Temp & Humidity Monitor finally got delivered but still left one more package with ABX (whats wrong with them?)
it can connect to Mi Home app via Bluetooth but thats about it, it can display the readings but cant control anything since I do not have a Bluetooth gateway
The monitor shows itself as Offline in my MiHome app

This post has been edited by idoblu: Jan 7 2018, 06:00 PM

ozak
post Jan 7 2018, 07:23 PM

17,019 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Jan 7 2018, 02:47 PM)
You need a good wifi router if you want stability for 24/7, Asus is good but pricey, you get what you paid for.

Why would these home automation go cloud? simple, they want your data, imagine they collect temp/humidity/location/power/motion usage for each household, this kind of big data really worth billion!
Those wifi router price killing. sweat.gif

Using the maxis provide wifi router now. Not bad with able cover whole house full signal.

But just using as gateway to Internet. No more for lan. Lan using switching. Less trouble and speed faster.

Somehow just don't trust this PRC. Don't think they only want such data only. Maybe my server porn data also. tongue.gif
ozak
post Jan 7 2018, 07:40 PM

17,019 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 7 2018, 12:55 PM)
Wah, your banglo too big huh. Normal wifi cannot cover whole ?

Is it same as a wifi repeater?

I have this apple airport express. Same as such function. No more using. Want to sell it away.
Zot
post Jan 7 2018, 08:01 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 7 2018, 07:40 PM)

I have this apple airport express. Same as such function. No more using. Want to sell it away.
Not same as repeater. Repeater extends existing coverage like having to create single powerful AP . Mesh is like having multiple APs in same coverage area.

So, if you have 20 clients, a single AP has to admi all clients from single CPU. Mesh has advantage of multiple processing for same number of clients.
idoblu
post Jan 7 2018, 08:18 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 7 2018, 07:40 PM)

It’s not the same as Wi-Fi repeaters. Anyway I dunno much about networking things so better don’t comment too much 😅

I also sold my Airport Express already. Last time used for travels now no need liao
Zot
post Jan 7 2018, 08:30 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 7 2018, 08:18 PM)
It’s not the same as Wi-Fi repeaters. Anyway I dunno much about networking things so better don’t comment too much 😅

I also sold my Airport Express already. Last time used for travels now no need liao
If you have multiple AP and you move from one AP coverage to another, you will get disconnected and re-establish the connection with another AP. In mesh AP, the network is like your cellular phone connection. You will not get disconnected but smoothly handover your connection to another AP in case of LAN.
idoblu
post Jan 7 2018, 08:41 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jan 7 2018, 08:30 PM)
If you have multiple AP and you move from one AP coverage to another, you will get disconnected and re-establish the connection with another AP. In mesh AP, the network is like your cellular phone connection. You will not get disconnected but smoothly handover your connection to another AP in case of LAN.
Tempted to buy one set
But expensive.
alucard89
post Jan 7 2018, 08:43 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jan 7 2018, 08:30 PM)
Can use custom firmware like ddwrt/openwrt to mimic those mesh feature?
Or it's exclusive for expensive routers like google wifi?
Zot
post Jan 7 2018, 08:45 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 7 2018, 08:41 PM)
Tempted to buy one set
But expensive.
Yes. TP is the cheapest. However, Asus now release firmware upgrade that allow many of its hardware to form mesh network even though they are not same model. This is very good since you can always ad more unit as needed. Visit Asus website.

656 Pages « < 85 86 87 88 89 > » Top

0.0201sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 08:47 PM