656 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Smart Home, Let's discuss

Pucca&Garu
post Jul 2 2015, 01:03 AM

177 posts

Stay turn for the new SmartHome product complete with wireless Alarm and wireless IP Camera. Best fit for all type of houses without laying of cable.

N73
post Sep 3 2015, 07:29 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jun 29 2015, 09:45 AM)
I suggest you use something more readily available here for home automation.

You can use Orvibo and it allied with Zigbee technology. Many device can be bought here from http://www.m3shoppe.my/goods/goods_toDetai...tml?goodId=2903 and from other local suppliers also.

The program to control is freely available on Google Play. If you are programmer as well, there is website on reverse engineering the control software to make it less proprietary https://stikonas.eu/wordpress/2015/02/24/re...ibo-s20-socket/
Since there are plenty of different brand of wireless Smart Home system in the market such as Orvibo, LifeSmart, Broadlink and etc. Which brand is the most popular, reliable, more functioning and future expansion?
Zot
post Sep 4 2015, 09:05 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(N73 @ Sep 3 2015, 07:29 PM)
Since there are plenty of different brand of wireless Smart Home system in the market such as Orvibo, LifeSmart, Broadlink and etc. Which brand is the most popular, reliable, more functioning and future expansion?
I dunno which is more popular. Hard to predict what will happen. Just like the Betamax and VHS tape. Even though the Betamax was small and more compact and gave same recording length, it was VHS that prevailed.

As long as it is using standard technology, I would say it is good already. It means anyone can make the product, just like USB. The Orvibo is using Zigbee, while LifeSmart and Broadlink is using WiFi. So, all on standard platform. Maybe the control signal is different from one brand to another just like TV remote control. All use IR but Sony remote control cannot be used on Panasonic laugh.gif

I guess just go for brand that is easily available in Malaysia wink.gif
twelve1122
post Sep 5 2015, 02:33 PM

51 posts

DIY SmartHome Device
commtrader
post Sep 16 2015, 08:52 AM

343 posts

is Samsung SmartThing started selling in Malaysia?

Or anybody bought from US/UK, can you use it in Malaysia?

http://www.smartthings.com/
Pucca&Garu
post Sep 16 2015, 11:49 AM

177 posts

QUOTE(commtrader @ Sep 16 2015, 08:52 AM)

Smarthing is using Z-wave wireless protocol, different country have different Z-wave frequency, US is 908.42 Mhz, where Malaysia approved z-wave frequency is 868.1 Mhz, (SKMM WTS SRD/EN 300 220). So you would hardly get z-wave product which is comply to Malaysia Standard.
ozak
post Sep 16 2015, 12:04 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jun 29 2015, 09:39 AM)
Cables, is better to have it in a conduit, this mean you need a bigger "drain" in the wall to put in the cables.

Diamond cutter + chisel drill will  make your life much much easier. Hacking on the wall even on the thin layer of plastering and red brick is not easy without the two items. And Do make sure you wet the wall. It will be very dusty too.

Sealing the drain you, if its deep and big better get cement + fine sand. If small area you can use putty filler. And you have to wait till it dry for few days, some crack may appear again and you need to apply putty to seal it.
<Most Important: Don't cut the pipes or wires already implanted in the wall.>

I am also converting some part of my house to smart too, using Arduino, and its interfaces are much fun. Programming are using C. Below my prototype to switch on light during night when someone are around.
wei, your arduino smart home project how? Still learning stage?
weikee
post Sep 16 2015, 12:25 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Sep 16 2015, 12:04 PM)
wei, your arduino smart home project how? Still learning stage?
Hold for a while, got other project to do. I purchased some ATTiny, very small and good for such project but this ATTiny I need to declare because it can use for military or terrorist :0
ozak
post Sep 16 2015, 12:42 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Sep 16 2015, 12:25 PM)
Hold for a while, got other project to do. I purchased some ATTiny, very small and good for such project but this ATTiny  I need to declare because it can use for military or terrorist :0
I m looking for some basic arduino class or basic learning. Look like don't have here. Rasberry got class nearby my home. But I see arduino are more famous and more accessory.
commtrader
post Sep 16 2015, 02:41 PM

343 posts

QUOTE(Pucca&Garu @ Sep 16 2015, 11:49 AM)
Smarthing is using Z-wave wireless protocol, different country have different Z-wave frequency, US is 908.42 Mhz, where Malaysia approved z-wave frequency is 868.1 Mhz, (SKMM WTS SRD/EN 300 220). So you would hardly get z-wave product which is comply to Malaysia Standard.
Hello, so samsung will roll out this product in Malaysia soon?

Any news?
weikee
post Sep 16 2015, 03:39 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Sep 16 2015, 12:42 PM)
I m looking for some basic arduino class or basic learning. Look like don't have here. Rasberry got class nearby my home. But I see arduino are more famous and more accessory.
Arduino got more add-on (shields) and sensors, it use 5v for most interface sensors. You will usually use C to write the program/logic.

For raspberry, the interface are limited but getting more, but usually more expensive. Also note the voltage is 3.3v. There are ways to use arduino sensors in pi, and vice versa. Pi is easier to connect into network and internet. Usually use pyton for programing.

I have both, currently focus on arduino first.
weikee
post Sep 16 2015, 03:40 PM

12,019 posts

Got many diy website and eBook you can get to learn arduino and pi. Is a big community outside.
Pucca&Garu
post Sep 16 2015, 05:52 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(commtrader @ Sep 16 2015, 02:41 PM)
Hello, so samsung will roll out this product in Malaysia soon?

Any news?
I dont think samsung will launch this product in Malaysia in near future. As most of the "things" accessories by other manufacturers does not exist in Malaysia for their z-wave products.
commtrader
post Sep 16 2015, 07:58 PM

343 posts

QUOTE(Pucca&Garu @ Sep 16 2015, 05:52 PM)
I dont think samsung will launch this product in Malaysia in near future. As most of the "things" accessories by other manufacturers does not exist in Malaysia for their z-wave products.
Wow you're so knowledgeble.

So do you think what is currently available in malaysia that is similar to SmartThings?

Thanks for advice.
ozak
post Sep 16 2015, 08:23 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Sep 16 2015, 03:39 PM)
Arduino got more add-on (shields) and sensors, it use 5v for most interface sensors. You will usually use C to write the program/logic.

For raspberry, the interface are limited but getting more, but usually more expensive. Also note the voltage is 3.3v. There are ways to use arduino sensors in pi, and vice versa. Pi is easier to connect into network and internet. Usually use pyton for programing.

I have both, currently focus on arduino first.
Just order a Arduino uno r3 kits set. brows.gif

Just learn the mainboard hardware version and how many type, I also already rclxub.gif It branch out so many type.

I m worry the prg side as I totally no idea.

I dilemma of choosing with 1 to learn. Raspberry or arduino. Raspberry less accessory and community on the net. But I can learn from class with also near my home. I see the kids also can prg the raspberry when I visit the class. Wonder the teacher will teach oldman like me. blush.gif

Arduino have many support and accessory in the net. Cheap also. But local short of community and learning class. Can't find any group also.
keimieko
post Sep 17 2015, 03:21 AM

63 posts

Hi guys what you guys think of Samsung Intercom?
this one :
http://www.samsungdigitallife.com/SHT-7610.php
the features are :

10.1" color digital LCD Screen
Slim & minimal flush mounting type
Door answering & monitoring
Door release
Home control (lighting, gas valve, air conditioner, etc.)
System integration with CCTV
Security (burglar, fire, gas leakage, etc.)
Intercommunication (guard office, households)
Save the visitor's image
Multi language support (English, Chinese, Taiwanese, Russian)

planning to get this one ^^
weikee
post Sep 18 2015, 09:31 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Sep 16 2015, 08:23 PM)
Just order a Arduino uno r3 kits set.  brows.gif

Just learn the mainboard hardware version and how many type, I also already  rclxub.gif  It branch out so many type.

I m worry the prg side as I totally no idea.

I dilemma of choosing with 1 to learn. Raspberry or arduino. Raspberry less accessory and community on the net. But I can learn from class with also near my home. I see the kids also can prg the raspberry when I visit the class. Wonder the teacher will teach oldman like me. blush.gif 

Arduino have many support and accessory in the net. Cheap also. But local short of community and learning class. Can't find any group also.
Welcome to Arduino biggrin.gif

Lots of "how to" on the net. No need worry about programming lah. C is a very basic language, no Object oriented that complicated things.
Pucca&Garu
post Oct 27 2015, 09:49 AM

177 posts

rclxm9.gif LifeSmart Showroom in Empire Soho Subang. Welcome to experience the 'smart home' here rclxm9.gif

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

This post has been edited by Pucca&Garu: Oct 27 2015, 09:57 AM

maxilife1
post Oct 28 2015, 04:55 PM

536 posts

QUOTE(Pucca&Garu @ Jul 2 2015, 01:03 AM)
Stay turn for the new SmartHome product complete with wireless Alarm and wireless IP Camera. Best fit for all type of houses without laying of cable.

can buy the equipment per parts?
or only comes in package?

QUOTE(N73 @ Sep 3 2015, 07:29 PM)
my choice would be 1 ring to rule them all..
eh, 1 app to rule them all.. biggrin.gif

broadlink - can control IR stuff and lights only
orvibo - not sure need to google
lifesmart - looks good and future expansion..

QUOTE(commtrader @ Sep 16 2015, 08:52 AM)

yes! http://www.samsungdigitallife.com/
but its quite pricey..

QUOTE(Pucca&Garu @ Oct 27 2015, 09:49 AM)
rclxm9.gif  LifeSmart Showroom in Empire Soho Subang. Welcome to experience the 'smart home' here  rclxm9.gif

nice! can have the exact address?
which tower?
Kiding
post Jan 26 2016, 12:21 AM

1,134 posts

Recently I bought few home automation "things" from US and China, having fun with it for a week, and I felt it is pretty powerful and can do almost any automation that you want

Things that I bought are

Samsung Smartthings hub V2 - z-wave and zigbee controller, it is open platform, compatible with many z-wave and zigbee devices, even the device is not in the support list, you can add custom device handlers to manage it. there are many developers out there to publish 3rd party z-wave device handlers, such as custom yamaha receiver device handler, custom smartapps integration to kodi to control kudled color bulb.

Kudled Color bulb (Taobao) - Zigbee color bulb, similar to Philips Hue, it is much much cheaper, only one quarter of Philips Hue price! thanks for the smartthings community, I'm able to pair this with smartthings hub directly and able to control the bulb from smartthings app

Monoprice z-wave in wall on/off switch - the cheaper z-wave on/off switch, you can use it as a relay or light switch, I use it as light switch and also a relay act as momentary switch to open/close autogate, the momentary switch connected to my autogate panel, the blue and red wires are connected to a z-wave switch relay, so I wired these two to the autogate door trigger, and it works perfectly, I set up a routine that when I'm arriving home, the gate will automatically open, and turn on the kudled lights installed at the gate.

GoControl Z-wave motion sensor and door/windows sensor - these security things can be used for wireless alarm, I use it for my second alarm system, the door sensor has external input that I connect it to the magnet contact installed on the autogate, this enables to monitor the autogate status to see whether or not it is close (I often forgot to close it). With the motion sensor installed, it is able to detect any intruder and take actions such as turn on all Kudled lights and set color to RED, since I have two Kudled color bulbs installed as the gate light, it is easier for outsider to notice my house is in the alarm state!

Below is the low quality video to demonstrate the smartthings integration with kudled color bulb

656 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0229sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 08:48 PM