129 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V25,, Please follow the format :)

myway1985
post Apr 5 2015, 12:59 PM

12,086 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Apr 5 2015, 12:55 PM)
I don't think it is about the clock speed. You can find benchmarks for i5 and i7 with same clock speed but i7 performs better.
Well... we not expert in tat rite... but I oso suggest PPL take i7 most of the time if their budget allows... i5 is lukewarm... not fastest nor slow... tat wat I dun like
AthrunIJ
post Apr 5 2015, 01:03 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Apr 5 2015, 12:59 PM)
Well... we not expert in tat rite... but I oso suggest PPL take i7 most of the time if their budget allows... i5 is lukewarm... not fastest nor slow... tat wat I dun like
In the end, it is the customer choice. We only can suggest and gives fact. I say happy hunting to adix4.
Stupox
post Apr 5 2015, 01:06 PM

194 posts

1. Preferred Brand-Asus
2. Budget-2k
3. Usage-uni
4. Preferred laptop/screen size- 14/15+touchscreen

adix4
post Apr 5 2015, 01:07 PM

ich bin eine Katze :3
1,254 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Apr 5 2015, 12:36 PM)
2.4kg.. it won't kill u...
won't kill me but after 2-3 months I would have wish that I have an ultrabook sad.gif

that is why it is very important for me sad.gif

adix4
post Apr 5 2015, 01:10 PM

1,254 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Apr 5 2015, 12:42 PM)
If i'm not mistaken. He can upgrade the HDD to SSD and the RAM to max 8GB. Should be sufficient but not quite sure since the amount of tabs he is opening at once. If he don't mind some increase in weight to around 2KG then he has alot more option to consider.

If not mistaken again the Vostro is using the ULV proc. So the heat management should be OK but looking at how thin it is, it might get hot abit but not to the extreme.
willing to sacrifice some tabs for a lighter laptop sad.gif
adix4
post Apr 5 2015, 01:12 PM

1,254 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Apr 5 2015, 12:41 PM)
u n y series worst in multitasking... m is better.. but core m is slow..
been using i3-3217U with 2gb ram

the processor have always been around 20-30% of usage :/

and I always open around 12-20 tabs + 2 pdf

but once I open spotify the laptop will lag because of not enough ram lol
adix4
post Apr 5 2015, 01:15 PM

1,254 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Apr 5 2015, 12:54 PM)
I wish.. but my inventory only got 2 x aw17, 3 x xps15, 2 x Inspiron 7447, 2 x Alienware x51

Latitude e7440 I was selling RM3200 max... e6540 / 6440 wif ati oso 3k only
machiam tak jual dekat Malaysia?
myway1985
post Apr 5 2015, 01:40 PM

12,086 posts

QUOTE(adix4 @ Apr 5 2015, 01:15 PM)
machiam tak jual dekat Malaysia?
Huh.. all hv wat... next week stock arrive for 7447
evofantasy
post Apr 5 2015, 02:11 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Apr 5 2015, 12:39 PM)
I know.. but vostro 5480 almost cannot upgrade.. n I can tell u the heat will make it slow... does it even hv a fan in tat thin casing...
QUOTE(myway1985 @ Apr 5 2015, 12:41 PM)
u n y series worst in multitasking... m is better.. but core m is slow..
i really wonder why are you giving recommendations when you clearly do not know what you are talking about doh.gif
clearly most of your post are just for your self gain of selling your own products sweat.gif

1. the only fanless design around is the M-series. Vostro do have fans and the new 14nm proc is even better in heat management
2. the intel M-series they are talking about is the new fanless one and it is successor for the Y-series (http://blog.laptopmag.com/intel-core-m-details)

ps: note the prefix vs suffix of the 'M'.

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Apr 5 2015, 02:38 PM
miong93
post Apr 5 2015, 02:15 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(adix4 @ Apr 5 2015, 01:12 PM)
been using i3-3217U with 2gb ram

the processor have always been around 20-30% of usage :/

and I always open around 12-20 tabs + 2 pdf

but once I open spotify the laptop will lag because of not enough ram lol
FYI, if you are planning to use windows 8, the recommended RAM is 4gb. The OS itself already take up quite some RAM already. smile.gif
myway1985
post Apr 5 2015, 03:08 PM

12,086 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Apr 5 2015, 02:11 PM)
i really wonder why are you giving recommendations when you clearly do not know what you are talking about   doh.gif
clearly most of your post are just for your self gain of selling your own products  sweat.gif

1. the only fanless design around is the M-series. Vostro do have fans and the new 14nm proc is even better in heat management
2. the intel M-series they are talking about is the new fanless one and it is successor for the Y-series (http://blog.laptopmag.com/intel-core-m-details)

ps: note the prefix vs suffix of the 'M'.
I m talking bout the multitasking only...or along the way we mix up core m n Pentium M...

This post has been edited by myway1985: Apr 5 2015, 03:14 PM
AthrunIJ
post Apr 5 2015, 03:20 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(adix4 @ Apr 5 2015, 01:10 PM)
willing to sacrifice some tabs for a lighter laptop sad.gif
As i have said, proc is not the issue but the ram and because you want light weight means small size laptops which also means reduce RAM slot. Since your i3 only using 20-30 percent usage, i can say that it is the RAM problem. Windows 8.1 (for me already uses 2.5-2.8 GB OS alone with chrome it will escalate to around 3.5 GB with a few tabs.)

If you are willing to sacrifice some tabs then upgrade to the maximum amount of RAM that the system can handle.

If you replace your HDD to SSD, OS loading time would be faster and any application that is installed in your SSD also will load faster. Example would be loading your excel data.

There will always be trade off. Just take the one that is within your budget and the one you prefer. All i can offer is my advice to you. Cheers mate, happy hunting. biggrin.gif

EDIT : Anymore question, i would be delighted to answer and also please do some research as my information might not be right all the time. icon_rolleyes.gif

EDIT EDIT: If it is not urgent to upgrade your laptop, i suggest you save up to get the XPS 13.

This post has been edited by AthrunIJ: Apr 5 2015, 03:25 PM
evofantasy
post Apr 5 2015, 03:31 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Apr 5 2015, 03:08 PM)
I m talking bout the multitasking only...or along the way we mix up core m n Pentium M...
to quote the initial post
QUOTE(adix4 @ Apr 5 2015, 12:27 PM)
this is the part where I wish that I am rich and just buy the new XPS 13 sad.gif

is Pentium M enough? that is the question  rclxub.gif
The proc from the post is: Intel® Core™ M-5Y10-0.8GHz
either way, you are wrong when you said it is slower but better in multitasking when it isn't (once again, prefix-M).
even if you are talking about the suffix-M, you are still wrong as suffix-M is faster than suffix-U (which you claimed to be slower but better in multitasking).
i doubt you even know how multitasking is even handled...

then your claims about the Vostro (not having fans despite being able to just Google it out within 1min), telling people a difference of 0.8kg doesnt matter just to sell your product when he clearly do not even need the gpu in the 7447.

as you state the hate for MSI mindless forum spammers, they are least just promote their product and do note make ridiculous claims.
this isn't the first time just like how just recently saying the need for a good processor (include extreme series) to open excel or many other times others have called you out.
evofantasy
post Apr 5 2015, 03:36 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Apr 5 2015, 03:20 PM)
As i have said, proc is not the issue but the ram and because you want light weight means small size laptops which also means reduce RAM slot. Since your i3 only using 20-30 percent usage, i can say that it is the RAM problem. Windows 8.1 (for me already uses 2.5-2.8 GB OS alone with chrome it will escalate to around 3.5 GB with a few tabs.)

If you are willing to sacrifice some tabs then upgrade to the maximum amount of RAM that the system can handle.

If you replace your HDD to SSD, OS loading time would be faster and any application that is installed in your SSD also will load faster. Example would be loading your excel data.

There will always be trade off. Just take the one that is within your budget and the one you prefer. All i can offer is my advice to you. Cheers mate, happy hunting.  biggrin.gif

EDIT : Anymore question, i would be delighted to answer and also please do some research as my information might not be right all the time.  icon_rolleyes.gif

EDIT EDIT: If it is not urgent to upgrade your laptop, i suggest you save up to get the XPS 13.
you are right on this that RAM (everything need to be loaded into the memory) and SSD (source of data) would be the best performance improvement with any decent processor thumbup.gif
this is why the newer Intel mobile processors are on efficiency over speed.

one last thing is that 4gb ram is more than enough but make sure your OS is a 32-bit OS.
in fact, no average joe would ever need a 64-bit OS and if you do ever get 64-bit OS then at least 6gb ram would be recommended.
anything 4 or less, stick to 4gb ram as 64-bit OS would require more memory for the same process as when it is ran on 32-bit.
evofantasy
post Apr 5 2015, 03:36 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Apr 5 2015, 03:20 PM)

There will always be trade off. Just take the one that is within your budget and the one you prefer. All i can offer is my advice to you. Cheers mate, happy hunting.  biggrin.gif

EDIT : Anymore question, i would be delighted to answer and also please do some research as my information might not be right all the time.  icon_rolleyes.gif

you are right on this that RAM (everything need to be loaded into the memory) and SSD (source of data) would be the best performance improvement with any decent processor thumbup.gif

one last thing is that 4gb ram is more than enough but make sure your OS is a 32-bit OS.
in fact, no average joe would ever need a 64-bit OS and if you do ever get 64-bit OS then at least 6gb ram would be recommended.
anything 4 or less, stick to 4gb ram as 64-bit OS would require more memory for the same process as when it is ran on 32-bit.
AthrunIJ
post Apr 5 2015, 03:40 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Apr 5 2015, 03:36 PM)
you are right on this that RAM (everything need to be loaded into the memory) and SSD (source of data) would be the best performance improvement with any decent processor  thumbup.gif

I see. I totally forgot about the 32 bit and 64 bit thingy. LOL, thanks for bringing it up. Will be doing some reading on the 32 bit and 64 bit. But isn't 64 bit better than 32 bits in term of performance (RAM performance, 64 bit, able to access more RAM).
evofantasy
post Apr 5 2015, 04:09 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Apr 5 2015, 03:40 PM)
I see. I totally forgot about the 32 bit and 64 bit thingy. LOL, thanks for bringing it up. Will be doing some reading on the 32 bit and 64 bit. But isn't 64 bit better than 32 bits in term of performance (RAM performance, 64 bit, able to access more RAM).
not really as there are still a large amount of programs that do not utilize all 64 bits, but since everything would need to be 64 then there would be wastage as everything would require 64 bit in the memory
AthrunIJ
post Apr 5 2015, 04:11 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Apr 5 2015, 04:09 PM)
not really as there are still a large amount of programs that do not utilize all 64 bits, but since everything would need to be 64 then there would be wastage as everything would require 64 bit in the memory
Yea, just read up one of the article stating that due to hardware not all 64 bit can be utilize. But overall most of the article do state that performance do improve generally (I suppose placebo effect?).

This post has been edited by AthrunIJ: Apr 5 2015, 04:12 PM
myway1985
post Apr 5 2015, 04:13 PM

12,086 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Apr 5 2015, 03:40 PM)
I thought most come wif 64bits now? I only see window 8.1 single language (32bits) other all 64bits.. n wat the actual difference? Smoother?
evofantasy
post Apr 5 2015, 04:17 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Apr 5 2015, 04:11 PM)
Yea, just read up one of the article stating that due to hardware not all 64 bit can be utilize. But overall most of the article do state that performance do improve generally (I suppose placebo effect?).
it is more to software than hardward nowadays (hardwares should be able to handle it).
still when you are lacking memory (<4gb) then you do not really have the luxury.
it is always a trade-off between memory and time (performance).
thus, if you require a lot of memory then a 32 bit would be more efficient for now unless you have programs that require 64 bits (example Cities:Skyline)

129 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0360sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:23 AM