125 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Bottom

[V27] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

ragecat
post Apr 29 2015, 07:24 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(cloud8992 @ Apr 29 2015, 06:24 PM)
Diodes is a must resistor is for LED so if you dont plan on using leds than can skip the resistors but if you want buy get with pre solder cause both of these is very small therefore hard to solder and hard to make it look nice.just pay him for this 2 soldered
Fair enough. Going for two keyboards. 1 for home 1 for office. Parts I've more or less decided on for the office keyboard:-

Office
Chengal wood case
Acryllic plate
Gateron black
DSA keycaps
B.mini pcb
Cherry stabilisers
Teensy 2.0 controller
1N4148W diodes

Am I missing anything from the list?
faridr
post Apr 29 2015, 07:25 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(justnits @ Apr 29 2015, 09:22 AM)
ahh! that's a crucial point! will keep this note for future reference  thumbup.gif
how you liking your custom keyboard?
loving it, except when it goes haywire since I reprogram it directly by modifying the source code. Unplug and replug will do the trick.

QUOTE(ck.chunkeat @ Apr 29 2015, 11:00 AM)
Thanks for the advice, will take note.
Still havent decide whether to go with pcb mount or plate mount yet. pcb mount cause wana try it out, plate mount cause want that extra stability and prevent flex since I will probably be bringing this in and out.

What's the case that you showed in the spoiler? It looks like an aluminium case to me.

And what is your opinion on pcb mount? Any comment on it compared to plate mount?
Yeah its an aluminium case. But you can get original poker 2 case from anyone here, provide same support for pcb.
In term of noise, not so much different in loudness, but you don get that metal pitch sound especially on spacebar.
And the feel, its solid enough, and do seems to be abit softer if you always bottoms out. Its my go to keyboard for office use.
cloud8992
post Apr 29 2015, 08:39 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(ragecat @ Apr 29 2015, 07:24 PM)
Fair enough. Going for two keyboards. 1 for home 1 for office. Parts I've more or less decided on for the office keyboard:-

Office
Chengal wood case
Acryllic plate
Gateron black
DSA keycaps
B.mini pcb
Cherry stabilisers
Teensy 2.0 controller
1N4148W diodes

you do not need teensy controller for B.MINI build in .acrylic plate can be bought from winkeyless so might as well

This post has been edited by cloud8992: Apr 29 2015, 08:39 PM
CAL V
post Apr 29 2015, 08:46 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(ragecat @ Apr 29 2015, 07:24 PM)

Office
Chengal wood case
Acryllic plate
Gateron black
DSA keycaps
B.mini pcb
Cherry stabilisers
Teensy 2.0 controller
1N4148W diodes

Chengal wood case, sounds interesting to me.. biggrin.gif

ragecat
post Apr 29 2015, 09:13 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(cloud8992 @ Apr 29 2015, 08:39 PM)
you do not need teensy controller for B.MINI build in .acrylic plate can be bought from winkeyless so might as well
Oh sweet! No need for controller then! smile.gif In what situation is the teensy used for then? I can't seem to find the plate on winkeyless. Just acrylic case.

Btw, I won't need a controller for the GH60 Satan as well right? I'm looking at that for my second keyboard. This one will be for gaming, so I don't need the function keys. B.mini is fantastic for office as its small, has direction keys and the function keys.

QUOTE(CAL V @ Apr 29 2015, 08:46 PM)
Chengal wood case, sounds interesting to me.. biggrin.gif
I'm picking up my wooden blocks this weekend! Can't wait. I haven't figured out how to chop it yet though. Apparently it is stupid hard to work with.
cloud8992
post Apr 29 2015, 09:27 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(ragecat @ Apr 29 2015, 09:13 PM)
Oh sweet! No need for controller then! smile.gif In what situation is the teensy used for then? I can't seem to find the plate on winkeyless. Just acrylic case.

Btw, I won't need a controller for the GH60 Satan as well right? I'm looking at that for my second keyboard. This one will be for gaming, so I don't need the function keys. B.mini is fantastic for office as its small, has direction keys and the function keys.
I'm picking up my wooden blocks this weekend! Can't wait. I haven't figured out how to chop it yet though. Apparently it is stupid hard to work with.
teensy is use when there is no controller on the board example: hand wiring your own keyboard, phantom PCB (western custom keybaord)
its better for you to use GH60 as your office keyboard cause the B series keyboard is famous for their under glow LED if you use wood will just block the leds.
justordinary
post Apr 29 2015, 10:57 PM

233 posts

Winkeyless acrylic case comes with acrylic plate.

This post has been edited by justordinary: Apr 29 2015, 10:57 PM
yuktsi14
post Apr 29 2015, 11:18 PM

Gloomy Sunday
2,585 posts

What facilities/equipment do you have? A cnc milling machine?
I have built the lyn keyboard and have a cnc aluminum keyboard in production
zennasyndroxx is an expert is designing custom keyboard
he will help if he is paid with the right amount of consultation fees icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by yuktsi14: Apr 29 2015, 11:28 PM
ragecat
post Apr 29 2015, 11:39 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(justordinary @ Apr 29 2015, 10:57 PM)
Winkeyless acrylic case comes with acrylic plate.
Yes it does. But I won't know what to do with the acrylic case as I only need a plate at the moment.

QUOTE(yuktsi14 @ Apr 29 2015, 11:18 PM)
he will help if he is paid with the right amount of consultation fees  icon_rolleyes.gif

I have no facilities or equipment lol. However, I have found someone on LYN with a laser cutting machine to cut the keyboard although he is more into PC modding than keyboard modding. The principles should be the same? Thanks for the help though, much appreciated! smile.gif That is a very nice keyboard btw. Love what people do to their keyboards. Maybe people start making custom mouse next?

Currently, I am planning on experimenting with different materials for casing. A bit ambitious as I haven't even started on my first keyboard but one can always dream. tongue.gif
CAL V
post Apr 30 2015, 12:12 AM

277 posts

QUOTE(ragecat @ Apr 29 2015, 11:39 PM)
Yes it does. But I won't know what to do with the acrylic case as I only need a plate at the moment.
I have no facilities or equipment lol. However, I have found someone on LYN with a laser cutting machine to cut the keyboard although he is more into PC modding than keyboard modding. The principles should be the same? Thanks for the help though, much appreciated! smile.gif That is a very nice keyboard btw. Love what people do to their keyboards. Maybe people start making custom mouse next?

Currently, I am planning on experimenting with different materials for casing. A bit ambitious as I haven't even started on my first keyboard but one can always dream. tongue.gif
Well, know what material you're playing with. Cutting wood is a little tricky, I've used to cut those small F1 cars(F1 in school) out of wooden block(very low density wood), it's very easy to get burnt, hard wood might be a little different but I can predict the edges probably will have very slight burnt mark or appear darker. Well, that's with my experience on a old CNC machine few years back.

Laser cutting? Laser cutting wood? Can meh? Laser only can etch wood only wor, if cut, means cut through one for laser, too thick also cannot cut through. It cannot like cut to certain depth like CNC, except if you're talking about the plate. Need very precise design, or else the switch cannot mount properly. Just my 2cents.

DarkSilver
post Apr 30 2015, 01:11 AM

Idiosyncrasy
10,501 posts

QUOTE(yuktsi14 @ Apr 29 2015, 11:18 PM)
he will help if he is paid with the right amount of consultation fees  icon_rolleyes.gif

You still in Combodia? zennasyndroxx is waiting for your reply regarding the Custom LYN MKB. smile.gif
I am going to get one too. LOL. It's VERY EPIC!
ragecat
post Apr 30 2015, 01:16 AM

208 posts

QUOTE(CAL V @ Apr 30 2015, 12:12 AM)
Well, know what material you're playing with. Cutting wood is a little tricky, I've used to cut those small F1 cars(F1 in school) out of wooden block(very low density wood), it's very easy to get burnt, hard wood might be a little different but I can predict the edges probably will have very slight burnt mark or appear darker. Well, that's with my experience on a old CNC machine few years back.

Laser cutting? Laser cutting wood? Can meh? Laser only can etch wood only wor, if cut, means cut through one for laser, too thick also cannot cut through. It cannot like cut to certain depth like CNC, except if you're talking about the plate. Need very precise design, or else the switch cannot mount properly. Just my 2cents.
No leh. Laser cut acrylic plate tongue.gif Not sure how I'm going to do the case also! Thinking of the round edges like tables. Got so much to read about wood work!

QUOTE(DarkSilver @ Apr 30 2015, 01:11 AM)
You still in Combodia? zennasyndroxx is waiting for your reply regarding the Custom LYN MKB.  smile.gif
I am going to get one too. LOL. It's VERY EPIC!
yawn.gif what custom LYN MKB?
CAL V
post Apr 30 2015, 01:18 AM

277 posts

QUOTE(ragecat @ Apr 30 2015, 01:16 AM)
No leh. Laser cut acrylic plate tongue.gif Not sure how I'm going to do the case also! Thinking of the round edges like tables. Got so much to read about wood work!
Oh, haha, I got you wrong then. Good luck working on the wooden case.

The LYN custom MKB is very interesting. Korean PCB brows.gif
DarkSilver
post Apr 30 2015, 01:22 AM

Idiosyncrasy
10,501 posts

Check yuktsi14's post above. You'll see the LYN MKB epicness!!
yuktsi14
post Apr 30 2015, 01:27 AM

Gloomy Sunday
2,585 posts

ragecat
post Apr 30 2015, 01:28 AM

208 posts

QUOTE(CAL V @ Apr 30 2015, 01:18 AM)
Oh, haha, I got you wrong then. Good luck working on the wooden case.

The LYN custom MKB is very interesting. Korean PCB  brows.gif
Thank you thank you! There must be a woodwork thread somewhere here lol.

QUOTE(DarkSilver @ Apr 30 2015, 01:22 AM)
Check yuktsi14's post above. You'll see the LYN MKB epicness!!
Is that the LYN custom keyboard? hahahaha I really like the acrylic case with frosted topping!
DarkSilver
post Apr 30 2015, 01:30 AM

Idiosyncrasy
10,501 posts

QUOTE(yuktsi14 @ Apr 30 2015, 01:27 AM)
I don't know is this plate mounted or PCB mounted... The transparent acrylic is confusing my eyes. LOL.
Mind tell more?
CAL V
post Apr 30 2015, 01:35 AM

277 posts

QUOTE(DarkSilver @ Apr 30 2015, 01:30 AM)
I don't know is this plate mounted or PCB mounted... The transparent acrylic is confusing my eyes. LOL.
Mind tell more?
Plate mount ba, I think the acrylic top gonna be frosted no? I know who to ask hehehe, and this is a must buy on my list XD. drool.gif
am3rr
post Apr 30 2015, 01:38 AM

Kan? Kan?
2,131 posts

QUOTE(ragecat @ Apr 30 2015, 01:28 AM)
Thank you thank you! There must be a woodwork thread somewhere here lol.
Is that the LYN custom keyboard? hahahaha I really like the acrylic case with frosted topping!
u can ask shop to cut the wood for u
limhongwoon
post Apr 30 2015, 09:37 AM

Intel Certified - COre I7
2,892 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Apr 29 2015, 01:03 PM)
Recommendation:
- Vortex Poker Series (Poker 2 or latest Pok3r) MX Brown [Below <RM 400]

- PFU HHKB (Topre 45g) [Below <RM 900]

- Filco Majestouch 2 TKL MX Brown [below <RM 400]

That's all my recommendations.
I'm curious about clear and green switches would be suitable for what kind of application ? Gaming ?

125 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Top

0.0340sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:21 PM