3,038 posts

QUOTE(kurtkob78 @ Jun 4 2017, 06:21 AM)
please recommend

the 2 best budget SSD and
the 2 best mainstream SSD

in term of gaming in 1080p.

looking for 240-256GB SSD
for mainstream, samsung 850 evo.

for budget ssd, not sure. just go for well-known brands like intel, samsung, crucial, kingston and sandisk.

horns
post Jun 5 2017, 07:08 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(air_pull91 @ Jun 5 2017, 12:50 PM)
for budget just buy 2nd hand one..hehe
it's an option if you're really on a tight budget.

--

IntelĀ® Solid State Drive Toolbox 3.4.6

https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/2...x?product=80096

note for those who do not have 3.4.5 or later installed, it's better for you to grab this one, because of this announcement, https://security-center.intel.com/advisory....anguageid=en-fr

horns
post Jun 6 2017, 05:58 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(artyom @ Jun 6 2017, 01:55 PM)
Guys need some advice. I just bought a Samsung 960 EVO M.2 SSD and I'm thinking of using some spare heatsinks from an old video card and thermal tape to cool down the SSD. The temps are actually OK so far (40c idle, up to 50c load) but i think can do better.

The thing is I've read that removing the sticker from the SSD voids the warranty, so I'm wondering is it worth taking the risk. If it doesn't affect the warrant of if no more warranty I wouldn't think twice to be honest, but this thing costs me 1k+ so it's no trivial matter to me  hmm.gif

I think it might be throttling cause if you see the last benchmark it's much lower than usual for this drive.
uh? it looks normal to me. the last one is 4k benchmark. it's always the slowest of all in crystaldiskmark. you can check them out online for comparison (remember to compare label to label, e.g. 4k vs 4k; crystaldiskmark changed sequences to display results for some reasons)

for normal use and gaming, you will not trigger such throttles, as long as air flow is adequate (the sticker on 960 evo is copper film that helps heat spreading). it's when you use it as storage and do transfers of large files for a long period of time that you need cooling mods like this. 40c idle and 50c on load are in normal non-throttle range. (estimated throttling point is above 70c+)

i do use pcie adapter with heat sink to house 960 evo. i didn't take the sticker off. it's still cooler with heat sink (around 45c under load; by load i mean creating multiple vms on the ssd (at least 40gb each), and transfer them to different ssd storage after that). compared to my sm951, which had its sticker removed entirely, sm951 is cooler but by few c only.

horns
post Jun 7 2017, 03:31 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(SnoopyDevil @ Jun 7 2017, 01:39 PM)
sifu, i know i should try googling but is there a way to move existing OS from HDD to a new SSD? i have too many programs, apps and games to be reinstalled all over again.
if this is the case, your best option is to use disk cloning tools, either from manufacturers or third-party. disk cloning does work if your existing setup is good to go (meaning there is no need to adjust hardware settings, drivers are all ok, etc). the process involves cloning hdd to with ssd, with ssd attached to usb adapter. after the cloning is done, unplug the hdd from system, and replace the ssd as boot device in bios, and boot from it.

do not touch the hdd until everything is fine running on ssd. (you might need it again if something happened)

still, to get rid of other potential issues later on, a clean install is always the best way to start with.

horns
post Jun 7 2017, 05:49 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(jack88001 @ Jun 7 2017, 04:01 PM)
Samsung 960 EVO suitable for vostro 5568? because vostro having M.2 Slot.
no it will not work. dell vostro 5568 supports m.2 sata ssd only. 960 evo is m.2 pcie ssd.
horns
post Jun 8 2017, 02:26 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Jun 8 2017, 12:54 PM)
not sure this been discussed before.

ever wonder the 120GB of WD Green/Blue SSD? Looking for budget one for my friend as Samsung 850 EVO are out of budget.
it's been lightly discussed above; still waiting for real owners to provide more precise inputs.

compared to hdd, it should be ok if it's for normal use. (i bet it's meant for os disk only based on the size) you still can benefit from high iops and low latency. however real-world sequential read/write speeds might not be as good as 250gb and up.
horns
post Jun 9 2017, 02:39 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Jun 9 2017, 08:20 AM)
Dam SSD price still fkin stagnant after mid year waiting already doh.gif doh.gif I was itching 1TB very long while already rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
probably you will need to wait for a while :/

or, maybe consider oem. i saw AceCombat selling samsung pm851a below myr 1k (basically an oem version of 850 evo)
horns
post Jun 17 2017, 01:33 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

it's been a while. here are some ssd management tool updates from various manufacturers:

Zotac SATA SSD Toolbox 1.15
https://www.zotac.com/download/mediadrivers...olBox_V1.15.zip

Adata SSD ToolBox Version 3.0.1
http://us.adata-group.com/AppStore/ADATA_SSDToolBoxSetup.zip

Palit ThunderTuner SSD Version 1.0
http://www.palit.com/palit/download.php?pc_cate=ssd&lang=en
horns
post Jun 30 2017, 08:26 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(artyom @ Jun 20 2017, 04:00 AM)
Ok so I've decided to put heatsinks on my 960 EVO... screw the warrantyĀ  rclxm9.gif

Max temp so far is 41c, compared to 50c before. CrystalDiskMark shows slight improvement in performance, though that might be due to caching (just installed Windows when i first ran the benchmark, been running for a week or so now.) Honestly, it's near impossible to tell the differrence when it comes to real world usage, cause NVMe is so damn fast.

Now I pray nothing happens to my SSD before the warranty endsĀ  biggrin.gif

Not pretty but who gives a sh!t...

actually i think you can stick the heat sinks onto the sticker instead of tearing the sticker off. i didn't take off the sticker of my 960 evo. it's still running under 50c 45c even under load. (note that i do large file transfers frequently)

still, it's a practical mod. yes it's true that most of the times we will never hit such overheating thresh holds if it's for normal use / gaming only, but a simple mod like this gives relatively better dissipation of heat for the ssd.

This post has been edited by horns: Jul 1 2017, 12:16 AM
horns
post Jul 4 2017, 02:41 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(icecreamcake @ Jul 4 2017, 02:23 PM)
Hi sifus, Kingston UV400 vs A400 vs Hyper-X Fury all 120gb which drive is better ?
hyperx fury > uv400 > a400 (based on performance and tbw)
horns
post Jul 5 2017, 04:07 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jul 4 2017, 08:22 PM)
I'd blame the manufacturers who put M.2 slot at such a position (above or below the graphics card slot).  ranting.gif

Only the premium ones put at the bottom right section.
yes for some reasons they thought those placements are good. in reality, they are really not good at all.
horns
post Jul 6 2017, 08:42 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

qlc ssds are coming our way. (well, probably next year) previously it was speculated that it only survived 100 p/e cycles. now toshiba tells us that it's actually 1000 p/e (like tlc)

http://www.anandtech.com/show/11590/toshib...1000-p-e-cycles

other related news about qlc nand flash:
http://www.anandtech.com/show/11585/wester...4-96-layer-nand
https://www.theregister.co.uk/2016/08/10/to..._100tb_qlc_ssd/
https://www.theregister.co.uk/2017/05/17/am...ting_100tb_ssd/
https://www.theregister.co.uk/2016/07/28/qlc_flash_primer/

horns
post Jul 7 2017, 02:07 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

for those with weird nvme ssd m.2 slot, ek has passive m.2 nvme ssd cooler for you:

http://www.tomshardware.com/news/ekwb-nvme...sink,34939.html
https://www.ekwb.com/shop/ek-m-2-nvme-heatsink-black
horns
post Jul 8 2017, 02:07 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(artyom @ Jul 7 2017, 08:44 PM)
Just read about this yesterday. Looks quite nice i have to say, especially the black one. Whether anyone is willing to bring and sell it here in Malaysia is another matter.
well it's already here, https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4350658

horns
post Jul 10 2017, 11:12 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(KoYuKii @ Jul 10 2017, 10:06 AM)
Hi guys..im planning to build a mini itx hackintosh. I wan to know  what is the diff between samsung 850 evo ssd n m.2 ? Are the performance the same just size matter?
both are sata3-based, just different form factors, so it's the same in performance.
horns
post Jul 11 2017, 05:11 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Jul 11 2017, 04:54 PM)
Interesting to see each manufacturer got its own toolbox version.
Pretty troublesome for consumers if u are using drives from different brands in a single system.
yeah in a way it means more software to be installed and used for ssd management only, if you have ssds from different brands in a system.

actually there are almost no functions in such ssd management tools that we need for daily operations. ssd runs fine without them. to me i just install and run them when necessary (e.g. i only run samsung magician once during initial setup, then it's uninstalled until the next time i need it, e.g. for secure erase) for ssd optimizations included, we can do it manually, including over provisioning. (more flexible at least for me)

also, i usually set my systems to use only one or two brands.
horns
post Jul 19 2017, 05:46 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(xXAaronXx @ Jul 19 2017, 02:35 PM)
Need some recommendation on m.2 SSD that is < RM400 for my laptop. Mainly to use boot OS only.
at retail, any 120gb range m.2 sata ssd will do because they are below myr400. 240gb range is usually above myr400.

brands wise, you can choose from samsung (850 evo) and kingston.

alternatively you can go with this one, 256gb, https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4289659
horns
post Jul 19 2017, 07:05 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(xXAaronXx @ Jul 19 2017, 06:00 PM)
How does Kingston 120gb compared to WD Green 120GB?
kingston is slightly faster on paper. however they are budget ssd so it might not be significant.

note that for small ssd is relatively slow in general. (although if compared to hdd its iops is still relatively better) for optimal r/w speeds, choose 240gb range but it's beyond your budget.
horns
post Jul 20 2017, 05:18 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Jul 20 2017, 01:28 PM)
Hi dunno is it a good choice
Plan to get Samsung 960 evo nvme 250gb
Now is it a good timing to get it?
I saw online YouTube they mention if for gaming
It is like no big difference if u compare it with ssd loading speed
the good timing to get one is always when you need one, and have enough budget to do so. note that nvme ssd is still priced as premium at this stage.

right, there is literally no improvement in game loads compared to sata3 ssd. (i have tested the same; the outcomes were literally like those videos)

i will suggest use the money to get large capacity sata3 ssds, because it's better to go for more space since speed is not significant.

horns
post Jul 21 2017, 12:00 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Jul 20 2017, 10:02 PM)
haha if the result really like that
then may be i just skip nvme
but i saw their reading speed is 3k
mind i ask
nvme is benefit on what kind of software?
professional work purposes will benefit from its speeds. (e.g. content creation, engineering, virtualization, data storage at data centers; still it depends on capabilities of underlying os / software to make full use of its full potentials)

for normal usage/gaming, sata3 ssd is sufficient enough imo. with nvme ssd, you actually gain only a slight (maybe no) performance improvements for this type of usage.

This post has been edited by horns: Jul 21 2017, 12:10 AM

37 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 >Top

0.0216sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:48 PM