The SSD Thread V5, Solid State Drive

horns
post Mar 9 2017, 07:38 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(g104 @ Mar 9 2017, 04:21 PM)
horns how to differentiate the 48-layer for Samsung 850 EVO version 2 thru packaging?
there is a blue 'V' on the package for new 850 evo. old one has v-nand label in orange.

i think by now chances are you will get new 850 evo in any shop here instead of the old ones.
horns
post Mar 9 2017, 09:06 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Mar 9 2017, 08:06 PM)
Anyone know where can I find Samsung 960 250gb? Lelong out of stock. Lazada too expensive. Anyone been to lowyat plaza and saw any 960 evo? From pricelist most sell 850 evo only.. Anyone know other seller?
you can try ask ronaldjoe, https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4172951

i think c-zone at lyp has 960 evo too but not sure if there is a 250gb.
horns
post Mar 10 2017, 01:48 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Mar 9 2017, 10:34 PM)
lol is there any difference between V1 and V2 ?
in benchmark, v2 seems to be slightly better than v1 in performance (v2 has relatively better power efficiency). there is no obvious performance difference in real world use.
horns
post Mar 10 2017, 05:09 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(retroRT @ Mar 10 2017, 02:32 PM)
hi guys,

so after a few days using my new ssd cloned, i decided to do a clean format. now everythings up, i would say there is obvious speed upgrades after a clean install rather than cloning.

so if you guys wanna save time and use your new ssd as it was with your old one, cloning is the way to go. however it is always recommended to do a clean install to ensure top performance from your ssd.
yeah that's why we always suggest clean installs.

of course for the impatient they can still go for cloning, and in most cases they will work fine. just bear in mind there might be some potential performance impacts in the long run.

QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Mar 10 2017, 03:44 PM)
Czone one one is 500gb..too expensive and way higher to what I need..  Ronaldjoe also no stock. Any other seller guys?
only 500gb? that's specific. maybe there is no 250gb in malaysia, yet.

maybe you need to wait for a bit, or get it from outside malaysia.

horns
post Mar 23 2017, 03:16 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Mar 22 2017, 04:38 PM)
Still awaiting 1TB SSD be as cheap as today 1TB hard disk. doh.gif Have waited till hair botak already. doh.gif
with the price of nand flash going up (due to shortage), well, it will take a while.

http://www.zdnet.com/article/nand-flash-sh...rive-shipments/

QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Mar 22 2017, 04:48 PM)
Anyone used Samsung 960 evo and 850 evo?
Is the performance difference noticeable or just mere benchmark? Any user from 850 evo to 960 evo can comment?
like g104 pointed out, it's not just mere benchmark scores. there is a noticeable performance gap between the two. i compare 850 evo with my old sm951 based on my usage (which involves building and running multiple virtual machines frequently).

however, do you really need to have 960 evo? it really depends on your usage and budget, e.g. you want to use a 250gb drive solely for os and common software that can fit in it; then 960 evo is ok. on the other hand, sata-based 850 evo is usually sufficient to drive most daily personal computing, e.g. common usage. in such cases it's better to get larger capacity 850 evo instead with similar amount of money. (more space for you to play with)
horns
post Mar 23 2017, 02:15 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Mar 23 2017, 10:10 AM)
Awww that shucks doh.gif doh.gif

Never mind i added another 2TB HDD replacing my dead 750GB after 9 years of abuse doh.gif doh.gif
it's not a good time to get stuff these days. everything has gone crazy in terms of pricing lol
horns
post Apr 7 2017, 02:16 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Apr 7 2017, 01:27 AM)
Which SSD is worth to buy which working without issue or less rma or sudden failure without warning sign ?
As I know all are TLC base.240GB for normal storage OS and few programs.
in general, go for well-known brands in the market. (e.g. intel, samsung, crucial, kingston, sandisk) the general rule always applies: you get what you pay for.

to share some experience about my previous purchase; all were bought last year, and used for office work with occasional non-heavy file transfers only: out of 6 transcend s370 that i have (4x sata; 2x msata), one of them failed with initial symptoms of a dying hard drive. (e.g. experienced sudden slow speed for reads / writes; it is detected properly in bios; but i couldn't access it with various tools including diskpart) in the same batch i also have kingston savage (sata, 2x), kingston msata ssd (m.2 sata; forgot models; 2x) and samsung 850 evo (m.2 sata, more than 10). none of them have issues so far.

maybe it's just luck. to prevent downtime i have ordered few units as buffers in case of emergencies.

edit: the recent price hike for these drives are ridiculous. unless you really need it, it's better to look around first for better deals.

i have a lot of consumer ssds. (like crucial m500. they are damn old now. still, they are fine since i bought them; i'm not comparing it with high-performance ones, like 840/850 pro or intel s3700) this is the first ssd that failed on me for a time period of slightly over a year.

i don't think it's about tlc vs. mlc either. my samsung 840 evo's are still working fine in my xps.

This post has been edited by horns: Apr 7 2017, 03:16 AM
horns
post Apr 9 2017, 11:24 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Apr 9 2017, 10:03 PM)
Thanks for the quick reply and sorry for my late reply.
Actually , I was thinking on getting an extra ssd for normal usage where I worry SSD price will keep on rising ahead with our low currency.If don't buy now,  it'll increase more.
While at the market , DDR ram is twice as expensive as last year and this date.HDD price never drop since 2011 after the flood.
SSD price does drop but as you mention " the general rule always applies: you get what you pay for."

Which problem arise , and current unstable market , buy now or at lease I need some prediction where SSD doesn't hike like today RM480 next month RM550
Taking example of samsung 850 EVO 250GB which is about RM 480

Btw , any much different between samsung 840 PRO vs 850 PRO ? The most concern is recovery state when it fail.Something like you still can recover your data after it fail to boot.
yeah; ssd price is surely getting bumped again in near future, according to reports found online, and a visit to lyp recently. few days ago i visited a well-known shop at lyp, the shop keeper even bumped the price on the spot (telling me the latest price list for that ssd was, somehow, the 'old' price) come on, like i don't have choices :/

at least i don't feel any differences between the two. however i suggest going for 850 pro for its 10-year warranty. as for the recovery part, i'm not sure because both my 840/850 pro haven't failed yet. (still the better way to prevent such things is doing regular backups; the oldest but still the most efficient way to get back up from data loss)

horns
post Apr 10 2017, 04:05 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Apr 10 2017, 02:38 PM)
Waaa main kotor oooo doh.gif doh.gif Sad 2 see here customer is always wrong with no single consumer protection unlike singapore doh.gif doh.gif
yeah; it's kinda sad. to me that increase was not reasonable because i could get a ssd with double capacity for the same price already.

eventually i just went to another shop and got what i needed with the same 'old' price. before making payment i asked them to double confirm if the offered price was right, just in case if there was really a price hike, and they were not aware of it, they might end up losing money. it turned out the price was correct after all.

seriously, as business operators, there is no need to cheat. we are consumers. that doesn't mean we are dumb.

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Apr 10 2017, 02:40 PM)
I bought 1TB hdd around 190 and 2TB hdd around 330

Am i being ripped off then? hmm.gif hmm.gif
er no i thought the price are ok hehe
horns
post Apr 13 2017, 07:03 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Apr 13 2017, 02:12 AM)
I was wondering , how do they give us 10 years of warranty ? If anything spoil , we just send to samsung center ? Does pro using MLC or TLC ? I know it's using somekind of 3d nand.

Still regular backup is better but I can't find any good software that will backup or sync automatically.Can suggest 1 ?

As previously , i worry about the failure was cause by sudden power trip .Having frequent power trip like twice a day and would happen anytime even will happen while I was typing now.In case , of something like it , will samsung have some like Power Loss Imminent (PLI) like intel ?
btw , Which ups brand is better ? APC ?

i have no idea on how they will fulfill that part too; but i think they will stand by the stuff they sell. about where to send to, it's better to ask sellers. they should know. yeah pro uses mlc.

for file syncing tools i use freefilesync and cryptsync (useful if you use cloud storage; it's not that i don't trust them; just a precautionary step if these storage are compromised). i suggest you try out others also.

if you experienced frequent power trips, laptops are better (built-in battery). if you used a desktop computer, connecting it to a ups is always a good choice. ups is for protection beyond data loss; it helps minimizing risks of other (expensive) components in your computer too.

afaik samsung consumer ssds do not have power loss protection. some of their enterprise ssds do have that (in fact, only few brands have this feature for consumer drives. however to be safe get a ups instead)

howtogeek should be one of the tech websites that give sound advice. use the selector from apc to find out more (select Malaysia as country).

horns
post Apr 13 2017, 05:28 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

yeah sometimes i just wonder why people can invest a lot in things and stuff them into the cpu, but they don't get at least an affordable ups for additional protections.

human minds are really something.
horns
post Apr 13 2017, 05:48 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Fjive @ Apr 10 2017, 10:47 PM)
Anyone know where I can get best priced Crucial MX300 (525gb) in KL?
check lelong also
horns
post Apr 23 2017, 08:59 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Apr 23 2017, 04:01 PM)
Because UPS battery doesn't last long.
yeah battery is consumable, but it's replaceable. it's the same as laptop battery. (you don't need to replace it every year) the more important point is still protect more expensive hardware components, and data in a system.

--

after using 960 evo/nvme for a while, yeah on paper it's like day and night by comparing r/w speeds in benchmark.

in real world use, no noticeable difference (compared to my sm951/ahci). it's worst if you're using it for normal use. getting much cheaper and large sata ssd is a better option.

This post has been edited by horns: Apr 23 2017, 09:01 PM
horns
post Apr 23 2017, 09:33 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(eDwanD @ Apr 23 2017, 09:18 PM)
Should different when loading game etc ?
no difference. literally lol; it's the same as what this video showed, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tIXSSOzyLbs
horns
post Apr 23 2017, 09:45 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Apr 23 2017, 09:29 PM)
i guess the issue is that is it a necessary purchase (the UPS part)

say for eg me,
>live in a pretty decent area where rarely power trip
>house is still new, the short circuit protection is still fantastic
>dont really do any critical work related stuff on PC
>made sufficient backups routinely

i still dont see the need for UPS due to above  blush.gif
going on a random case once in a friend's LAN party thou, he had a split second power trip (literally extremely short) his TV, electronics noticeably turned off before coming back on. his PC had to restart, my PC was still running hmm.gif

could this be due to built in protection in my PSU?
yeah most people consider it as optional (say, you have all the valid points to make it an optional purchase smile.gif)

the original post was about options for built-in power loss protection in ssd. a more practical option imo is just get a ups, instead of limiting choices for ssd.

maybe your psu has this, so you're good to go. (mine doesn't have it; i tested it already hehe)
horns
post Apr 23 2017, 10:40 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(eDwanD @ Apr 23 2017, 09:59 PM)
If i'm not wrongly, there r review of psu, tested how's long a psu can hold electric provide when pwer outage , commonly T1/T2 psu, the better quality component, can hold longer, maybe just for a few second (should be not more than 5 sec).

Thats why wont restart or close if only short time.

But i agreed with if got budget, ups is a good buy, the online ups is most worth.

I live more than 7 different place in malaysia, found out malaysia electric is not reallly well managment, damn tnb...
Even didnt power outage occure, the voltage spike or increase higher, its sure that an AVR can solve voltage unstability problem, but an online ups regenerate the power to more stable and more to sinewave is help your electrionic life span better.
psu is always one of the more critical components in a computer. don't ever cut down budget for this one also.

yeah some places in malaysia are really bad in terms of power supply. it's better to use laptops with battery in those places if you're working.

QUOTE(eDwanD @ Apr 23 2017, 10:21 PM)
Erm, ok. Right too... commonly gaming wont read over 500MB/s, its just benefit for heavy workloads. Similar as more ram channel wont get u any real gaming benefit.
But u can save up 1 sata port for storage if use m2 nvme =w= As me, i need more than 6 sata port, and will more in future @@

And soome of same model, doesnt save u much when u buy ssd than nvme, especially high currency country, its nothing burden =w=
yes, most of us still store game files in hdd, so the game devs need to make sure it's still ok to run on hdd for maximum compatibility.

for additional sata ports, you can still add more with pcie-based sata port adaptor. you should be good still.

tbh if it wasn't for work, i will not get pcie nvme ssd (it's more suitable for productivity work purposes, like building vms, video editing, etc.). for personal use, a decent mainstream and large capacity sata ssd is really good enough for me.

--

i just noticed this after using ram cache (primocache); it's not recognized by samsung magician anymore lol

This post has been edited by horns: Apr 23 2017, 10:55 PM
horns
post Apr 24 2017, 01:31 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(r1nk @ Apr 23 2017, 11:53 PM)
may i know what is the best choice of 256gb ssd below rm400?
i suggest checking this out, https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4016992

samsung sm871, oem (vnand mlc; 300+ only for 256gb; it's an oem version of 850 pro). if you're worry about warranty then this option might not be for you. but from my personal experience about samsung oem sata/pcie drives, they are good. (sm843 in my main rig is actually an enterprise oem drive; write endurance 1pb tbw; yeah old, but rock solid performance)

btw, there are a lot of good stuff @ our garage sales.

horns
post Apr 24 2017, 04:33 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(syk @ Apr 24 2017, 01:41 PM)
960evo is still expensive to me.
Not sure Intel 600p is ok since it is much cheaper?
i refer to this one for workload comparisons, http://www.anandtech.com/show/10850/the-in...0p-512gb-review

it's ok if you're using for normal use with light workloads. but then sata-based options should be better (also cheaper, so you get more space to use); and what's the point of getting it if you wanna go for nvme route, which is more expensive?

edit: like i said before, most people can only harvest benefits from nvme drives if they're using it for intensive work purposes. for normal use, you get nothing significant (maybe slightly shorter boot time and app load time) it's like those high clock-speed ram; the clock speed is very high, but performance is lppl compared to those with the right clock speeds; better stick to sata-based to get better values for money. (and get maybe 1tb of the samsung oem ssds i suggested above; super worth it imo)

of course, if you don't mind spending some extras, yes you can get pcie nvme ssds also hehe

This post has been edited by horns: Apr 24 2017, 04:43 PM
horns
post Apr 24 2017, 05:21 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(syk @ Apr 24 2017, 04:53 PM)
I compared on both which is same price @ Rm499.

250Gb 850EVO (SATA)
256Gb 600P (M2)

While 250Gb 960EVO will cost Rm7-800+, which is quite expensive to me.

Currently I am using old 120Gb 840EVO, plan to upgrade to 250Gb.
imo the same price means a lot of things. look closer for more details to determine which one is worthier for your money.

i really suggest you check the link that i shared and pay attention to all charts. you will know why i kept suggesting sata-based options are not necessarily a bad idea if it's intel 600p.

another option is to save it up and wait for better pcie nvme choices.
horns
post Apr 26 2017, 10:44 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(air_pull91 @ Apr 26 2017, 12:55 AM)
didn't know that samsung sm871 is OEM version of 850 PRO  ohmy.gif
btw, wat is the price before rm weak?
the information is really scarce. not sure about the price also, but for now it's really the better deal than what's offered in retail in terms of price. (mlc nand somemore)

QUOTE(petang makan maggi @ Apr 26 2017, 01:34 AM)
Don't have much info regarding it on the net. The only info we googled is from an Engineer whom worked with Samsung on SSD, and he stated SM871 as 3D VNAND MLC, which is 850 PRO counterpart for enterprise.

Performance wise, yup, it indeed as what you are expecting for a 850 PRO.

Manufacture date bout last year Q1-Q2.

It just started popping out recently, so I not sure bout its price before this. But the era where RM300 now can't even get yourself a TLC SSD, it still worth every pennies at just RM300+.
about the price point, exactly.

37 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0653sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:01 AM