175 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Bottom

Fundsupermart.com v9, QE feeds the bull. Ride along...

yck1987
post Mar 12 2015, 11:16 AM

808 posts

Investing my Kid's Ang Bao Monies and Buying into Russia

https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/resea...SJBlog_20150311

unker yklooi, any thought for the not so diversify portfolio for the kids?
SUSDavid83
post Mar 12 2015, 12:22 PM

52,874 posts

Asian market up. Thanks to Bank of Korea.
Kaka23
post Mar 12 2015, 12:52 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 12 2015, 01:22 PM)
Asian market up. Thanks to Bank of Korea.
Apa bank Korea buat? Reduce rates?
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 12 2015, 12:55 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Mar 12 2015, 12:52 PM)
Apa bank Korea buat? Reduce rates?
Yes.

And Kak Zeti's statement that "Ringgit is fundamentally undervalued" pushes Ringgit up

Damn...koyak lah UT portfolio saya doh.gif
SUSDavid83
post Mar 12 2015, 01:04 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Mar 12 2015, 12:55 PM)
Yes.

And Kak Zeti's statement that "Ringgit is fundamentally undervalued" pushes Ringgit up

Don't worry. Effect won't last long and cannot withstand USD strong rally.
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 12 2015, 01:10 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 12 2015, 01:04 PM)
Don't worry. Effect won't last long and cannot withstand USD strong rally.
Just checked the charts

SGD and USD...even Renminbi still strong against Ringgit flex.gif

Only Euro is weak
Kaka23
post Mar 12 2015, 01:32 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Mar 12 2015, 01:55 PM)
Yes.

Haha.. at this moment, I need RM to up
SUSDavid83
post Mar 12 2015, 01:44 PM

52,874 posts

May I know what is the difference between:

AFFIN HWANG SELECT SGD INCOME FUND - MYR
URL: http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/fundi...lnumber=MYHWSGD

and AFFIN HWANG SELECT SGD INCOME FUND - SGD
URL: http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/fundi...number=MYHWSGDS
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 12 2015, 01:49 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 12 2015, 01:44 PM)
May I know what is the difference between:

AFFIN HWANG SELECT SGD INCOME FUND - MYR
URL: http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/fundi...lnumber=MYHWSGD

and AFFIN HWANG SELECT SGD INCOME FUND - SGD 
URL: http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/fundi...number=MYHWSGDS
MYR is hedged
SGD is not

Minimum initial and subsequent investment amount also different
adamdacutie
post Mar 12 2015, 01:52 PM

303 posts

Korea Korea

notworthy.gif
SUSyklooi
post Mar 12 2015, 02:30 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(yck1987 @ Mar 12 2015, 11:16 AM)
Investing my Kid's Ang Bao Monies and Buying into Russia

https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/resea...SJBlog_20150311

unker yklooi, any thought for the not so diversify portfolio for the kids?
Thanks for the input...
cannot find Russia only in FSM m'sia...any Russia heavy alternatives?
SUSyklooi
post Mar 12 2015, 02:34 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Mar 12 2015, 12:30 AM)
have just posted the question about the portfolio allocation...to CIS.
hopefully can get response and shall feedback here.
Before, we start to construct the portfolio for your children education fund. I need to have some basic information from you to determine your initial investment amount and subsequent investment amount (if any)

1) May I know what is the expected return from your portfolio
2) What is the target amount size that you aim to achieve in this 15 years period

For unit trust investment, I will not recommend you to invest and forget about it. Rebalancing must be in place at least once a year to determine that your portfolio whether is still in line with your investment objective or not. I will suggest you to go aggressive for first 5- 10 years and gradually increase the allocation for bond fund for the last few years as last few year is the time you need the education fund and capital preservation will be main objective at that time.
Investors should use a core and supplementary portfolio strategy for effective diversification. The core portfolio must be diversified with foreign funds while the supplementary portfolio holds any funds which allow you to act on market views that you may have.
The Core And Supplementary Portfolio
The core portfolio is invested in broadly diversified regional funds such as those investing in Asia ex-Japan, Asia Pacific and global markets. These funds are held for long-term such as five-years or more.
The supplementary portfolio is where you make your ‘best bets’. This can be country specific funds such as those invested solely in India or China and sector-specific funds including technology, healthcare or commodities funds. These narrowly focused funds experience greater volatility but can make bigger returns. The supplementary portfolio only takes up between 10% and 20% of your invested capital. This ensures that its volatility does not affect your total portfolio (consisting of the core and supplementary portfolio). For example, if supplementary portfolio takes up 20% of the total portfolio and loses 30% (this may occur for country specific funds), the total portfolio only loses 6% of its original value.
The supplementary portfolio is usually held for the short- term, between one and two years. You switch funds in your supplementary portfolio when your view on the underlying sectors and country changes. What happens if the supplementary portion grows beyond 20% of the total portfolio? Then, rebalance by shifting some profits to funds in your core portfolio.
My suggestion would be remain the core portfolio for first 10 years, and the supplementary usually have higher volatility (hence the very limited allocation), but these investments can potentially deliver higher returns. The supplementary portion offers a medium-term strategy to capitalize on specific themes or ideas that present investment opportunities. Therefore, you may change the sector that you prefer from time to time depend on market sentiment. Please see my suggestion as below :-

* killed EI GEM and EI SC cry.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by yklooi: Mar 12 2015, 02:38 PM

SUSPink Spider
post Mar 12 2015, 02:58 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Mar 12 2015, 02:30 PM)
Thanks for the input...
cannot find Russia only in FSM m'sia...any Russia heavy alternatives?
http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/fundi...number=MYTABRIC

But only 10% as at latest fact sheet
MUM
post Mar 12 2015, 03:59 PM

14,950 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Mar 11 2015, 11:38 PM)
No problem.

In case I forget, someone can remind me about how their kids detailed planning can add relevant info to FSM.
yes, maybe you have forgotten.....here is it...even FSM did do a workshop on this topic.

http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...?articleNo=3232

This post has been edited by MUM: Mar 12 2015, 04:07 PM

SUSPink Spider
post Mar 12 2015, 04:10 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 12 2015, 03:59 PM)
yes, maybe you have forgotten.....here is it...even FSM did do a workshop on this topic.

hmm.gif

Whose dupe are you? brows.gif

Anyway, well done! That idi*t kena in the face rclxms.gif laugh.gif
nexona88
post Mar 12 2015, 04:12 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,551 posts

wave.gif welcome to the club biggrin.gif

JAIDK23
post Mar 12 2015, 04:22 PM

DISTRO EMPIRE
567 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Mar 12 2015, 02:34 PM)
Before, we start to construct the portfolio for your children education fund. I need to have some basic information from you to determine your initial investment amount and subsequent investment amount (if any)

1)    May I know what is the expected return from your portfolio
2)    What is the target amount size that you aim to achieve in this 15 years period

For unit trust investment, I will not recommend you to invest and forget about it. Rebalancing must be in place at least once a year to determine that your portfolio whether is still in line with your investment objective or not. I will suggest you to go aggressive for first 5- 10 years and gradually increase the allocation for bond fund for the last few years as last few year is the time you need the education fund and capital preservation will be main objective at that time.
Investors should use a core and supplementary portfolio strategy for effective diversification. The core portfolio must be diversified with foreign funds while the supplementary portfolio holds any funds which allow you to act on market views that you may have.
The Core And Supplementary Portfolio
The core portfolio is invested in broadly diversified regional funds such as those investing in Asia ex-Japan, Asia Pacific and global markets. These funds are held for long-term such as five-years or more. 
The supplementary portfolio is where you make your ‘best bets’. This can be country specific funds such as those invested solely in India or China and sector-specific funds including technology, healthcare or commodities funds. These narrowly focused funds experience greater volatility but can make bigger returns.  The supplementary portfolio only takes up between 10% and 20% of your invested capital. This ensures that its volatility does not affect your total portfolio (consisting of the core and supplementary portfolio). For example, if supplementary portfolio takes up 20% of the total portfolio and loses 30% (this may occur for country specific funds), the total portfolio only loses 6% of its original value.
The supplementary portfolio is usually held for the short- term, between one and two years. You switch funds in your supplementary portfolio when your view on the underlying sectors and country changes. What happens if the supplementary portion grows beyond 20% of the total portfolio? Then, rebalance by shifting some profits to funds in your core portfolio.
My suggestion would be remain the core portfolio for first 10 years, and the supplementary usually have higher volatility (hence the very limited allocation), but these investments can potentially deliver higher returns. The supplementary portion offers a medium-term strategy to capitalize on specific themes or ideas that present investment opportunities. Therefore, you may change the sector that you prefer from time to time depend on market sentiment. Please see my suggestion as below :-
* killed EI GEM and EI SC  cry.gif  tongue.gif
Thanks for sharing. Good one thumbup.gif

yes, maybe you have forgotten.....here is it...
haha thanks thumbup.gif totally agree that parents need to look out for their childrens especially in terms of financial.

oh wait, nowadays kids get to register FSM account at age of 5yrs old and join us at FSM's thread? biggrin.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

of course kids detailed financial planning can add relevant info to FSM. its not like we're gonna talk about it for 5-10 pages. Perhaps, it might be useful for some of us that will have a little one coming. hands.gif

cheers cheers.gif
T231H
post Mar 12 2015, 04:24 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Mar 12 2015, 04:10 PM)
Anyway, well done! That idi*t kena in the face rclxms.gif  laugh.gif
hmm.gif Be careful, Be VERY Careful MUM,.. biggrin.gif
9 Mar he trolled with yklooi
11 Mar he trolled with wongmunkeong
he may do this to you (mum=mother)

This post has been edited by T231H: Mar 12 2015, 04:27 PM

SUSyklooi
post Mar 12 2015, 04:49 PM

8,188 posts