99 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

BLASTERS Thread V2, NERF, Dart Zone, X-Shot... 1st pg info

awyongcarl
post Jan 26 2016, 02:08 PM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(zeroglyph @ Jan 26 2016, 12:09 PM)
yeah, retaliator can be modded to make it better(most blasters can too), but out of the box i don't see it being "best" in any category. as i said some time ago, it's only good for the attachments. my argument is based on:

- clips: only good if you have a few preloaded, else it'll take longer to reload. applies to all clip fed.
- range/power: retaliator doesn't really out range any other elite blasters. so why carry more weight?
- no slam fire puts it under par to most clip fed blasters.

i just don't see how retaliator can be "best" in any category. it's just popular because it looks cool, i'll give it that. laugh.gif

no offense, just a healthy morning discussion.  icon_rolleyes.gif
That's understandable, but once you have used enough of varieties of blasters, you will find that retaliator has very good accuracy and consistency compared to the others.

For example, there really is no reason to choose stock retaliator over an stock elite alpha trooper. The EAT is better in most way, pump action, slam fire and has similar internals. But when it comes to moddability, it is severely limited.

It really makes me wonder why the mod community place a high regard for the retaliator. Maybe it's sentimental. After all it is the Recon's successor haha.

awyongcarl
post Jan 26 2016, 02:09 PM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(daisuke @ Jan 26 2016, 02:00 PM)
hi guys, sorry if this is the wrong to post this, but i have these two blaster for sale, reason being i wanna upgrade to better one RM50 each, COD seremban or kl

Deal, I'm taking both. Can PM for further discussion?
sphiroth
post Jan 26 2016, 02:50 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Jan 26 2016, 02:08 PM)
That's understandable, but once you have used enough of varieties of blasters, you will find that retaliator has very good accuracy and consistency compared to the others.

For example, there really is no reason to choose stock retaliator over an stock elite alpha trooper. The EAT is better in most way, pump action, slam fire and has similar internals. But when it comes to moddability, it is severely limited.

It really makes me wonder why the mod community place a high regard for the retaliator. Maybe it's sentimental. After all it is the Recon's successor haha.
Imo, retaliator is something muat have if you collect nerf, because everyone has one. Because of that, it has more mod stuff, because everyone wants their retaliator to be different /better.

Retaliator also cheapest clip blaster (inm), compare to slingfire, you have more attachment.

EAT is harder to find.

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Jan 26 2016, 02:09 PM)
Deal, I'm taking both. Can PM for further discussion?
Lucky you...huhu

Can sell me the blue stryfe? Hehe
zeroglyph
post Jan 26 2016, 03:51 PM

woot!!! senior member now?
1,255 posts

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Jan 26 2016, 02:08 PM)

nope, still not convinced laugh.gif . mod-ability wise, retaliator is just better because it has lots of attachments. the base gun itself is just a slow pistol. you cant really mod the base gun any better than you can with any other blasters.

tried and owned many blasters since the n-strike days. never liked the recon. no real reason to like retaliator. the one i like most these days are the rough cut and flip fury. i think the flip fury actually shoots harder than a strongarm, although they share the same internal. blink.gif

i do mostly office war, so clip fed, even though cool, is not really practical in the environment. doh.gif
awyongcarl
post Jan 26 2016, 04:04 PM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(zeroglyph @ Jan 26 2016, 03:51 PM)
nope, still not convinced  laugh.gif . mod-ability wise, retaliator is just better because it has lots of attachments. the base gun itself is just a slow pistol. you cant really mod the base gun any better than you can with any other blasters.

tried and owned many blasters since the n-strike days. never liked the recon. no real reason to like retaliator. the one i like most these days are the rough cut and flip fury. i think the flip fury actually shoots harder than a strongarm, although they share the same internal.  blink.gif

i do mostly office war, so clip fed, even though cool, is not really practical in the environment.  doh.gif
Well yeah, at the end of the day I suppose it always come down to the personal preference and the type of game you are playing.

If you use front loaders in a nerf war on the field, you will get shred by mag-fed and flywheeler. Everyone is carrying extra mags so the pros of front loader becomes irrelevant. Only pros of front loader is being able to scavenge and reload the darts on the fly. Which I can actually do almost the same with a flip kit.

I've used retaliator and stryfe during yesterday game. And strangely I prefer the retaliator more. Not to say stryfe is bad but lol maybe I'm not used to flywheel. Sidearm can be either.
sphiroth
post Jan 26 2016, 04:06 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Jan 26 2016, 04:04 PM)
Well yeah, at the end of the day I suppose it always come down to the personal preference and the type of game you are playing.

If you use front loaders in a nerf war on the field, you will get shred by mag-fed and flywheeler. Everyone is carrying extra mags so the pros of front loader becomes irrelevant. Only pros of front loader is being able to scavenge and reload the darts on the fly. Which I can actually do almost the same with a flip kit.

I've used retaliator and stryfe during yesterday game. And strangely I prefer the retaliator more. Not to say stryfe is bad but lol maybe I'm not used to flywheel. Sidearm can be either.
The flip kit is a really good idea. Can reload while ready to shoot.. Maybe i should design one..hehehe
zeroglyph
post Jan 26 2016, 04:25 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Jan 26 2016, 04:06 PM)
The flip kit is a really good idea. Can reload while ready to shoot.. Maybe i should design one..hehehe
i use the modulus flip clip with my stryfe. works great. nothing a duct tape can't do though laugh.gif . i think you can pretty much just design a universal clipping mechanism. that way, you use it with existing clips. rclxms.gif then add some dart holders on the side. man, that would be bad arse.
sphiroth
post Jan 26 2016, 05:13 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(zeroglyph @ Jan 26 2016, 04:25 PM)
i use the modulus flip clip with my stryfe. works great. nothing a duct tape can't do though  laugh.gif . i think you can pretty much just design a universal clipping mechanism. that way, you use it with existing clips. rclxms.gif then add some dart holders on the side. man, that would be bad arse.
I already got the base design. Just need to tweak the sizing a bit.

RegistraCHAN
post Jan 26 2016, 06:07 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Jan 26 2016, 02:50 PM)

Can sell me the blue stryfe? Hehe
How much is the blue stryfe..
Mmmmm
sphiroth
post Jan 26 2016, 06:29 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(RegistraCHAN @ Jan 26 2016, 06:07 PM)
How much is the blue stryfe..
Mmmmm
awyongcarl
post Jan 27 2016, 01:26 AM

1,870 posts

Hmm lol I just did a minor mod and the Retaliator is now operating buttery smooth biggrin.gif
Simply saying, just lube up the plastic moving parts and sanding+smoothing off a few parts.

1 of the most common issue with Retaliator, or perhaps every others blasters with similar internals is that they some times shred the dart near the tips. This sucks a lot as it prematurely destroy fresh darts and causes jam in your blaster.
I did a few and quick sanding and it solved the problem effectively without any drawback.

here's a few picture to describe the issue.

Here is the issue with the dart guide on the breech (or however you call it). As you can see, a stock one has very sharp edge and it cuts the dart easily whenever the dart is not being positioned properly or should I say, perfectly. This can due to bad darts, darts not being loaded properly into the mag and etc etc whatever the reason is, it should not shred the dart.

So the fix, is just simply sand off the sharp and pointy corners, and smooth it off to give a smooth angle that it will have no chance to shred the darts at all.

Believe it or not, after doing this mod, I've fired over a 100 darts and there was zero jam, and zero darts being shred like the first picture. Not sure if you can see it from the picture below but year, the dart guide no longer have its sharp edge pushing against the dart anymore.

Hopefully you guys find this information useful and if you need more information or a guide, please let me know smile.gif

awyongcarl
post Jan 27 2016, 02:08 AM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Jan 26 2016, 04:06 PM)
This is pretty much the reason why I use a flip kit with Stryfe lol.
TSstrikermac
post Jan 27 2016, 08:02 AM

Morning everyone, good to see this thread active.
Here come some coming soon news again.

Nerf N-Strike Modulus Battlescout ICS-10
Detail info link below:
http://nerf.about.com/od/Nerf/fl/Introduci...cout-ICS-10.htm

Nerf Brainsaw Blaster

Nerf Doomlands Double-Dealer Blaster
Detail info link below:
http://toyland.gizmodo.com/nerfs-new-brain...nsaw-1755083538
sphiroth
post Jan 27 2016, 10:12 AM

2,804 posts

awyongcarl , tq on the tips on how to make retaliator better. I've stopped playing with it because the chewing dart problem. Thought mine is lemon. However, slingfire doesn't have (maybe less) this problem.

strikermac , seems like the newer blaster didn't interest me. Too ridonkculous. Haha

This post has been edited by sphiroth: Jan 27 2016, 10:32 AM
zeroglyph
post Jan 27 2016, 10:17 AM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Jan 27 2016, 10:12 AM)
@awyongcarl,  tq on the tips on how to make retaliator better. I've stopped playing with it because the chewing dart problem. Thought mine is lemon. However, slingfire doesn't have (maybe less)  this problem.

@strikermac,  seems like the newer blaster didn't interest me. Too ridonkculous. Haha
some clip fed have that problem. not really specific to retaliator, more on QC issue me thinks. it's probably just tolerance level on the measurements. my longshot does that only when i use old crooked darts.
TSstrikermac
post Jan 27 2016, 10:30 AM

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Jan 27 2016, 10:12 AM)
@strikermac,  seems like the newer blaster didn't interest me. Too ridonkculous. Haha
Yes indeed. Seen "Zombie" series is way too over...
Other series still acceptable at least very futuristic. brows.gif
But the problem is all of them should be expensive cuz is big.
And the Doomland series, I think is because the "DOOM" games influence,
all the Doomland series look likely like gaming weapons. tongue.gif
sphiroth
post Jan 27 2016, 10:49 AM

2,804 posts

I like the ICS, don't know why. Same as why i loved the speedload6. Not front loading, and no clip. Can reload while on standby.

I don't understand why they put camera on non-auto blaster. Priming the blaster action will make the video less watchable compare to automatic blaster

For zombie strike series, why don't they just make an oversized/overpowered looking blaster base on normal elite like 8x8 version of roughcut (looks like missile battery). Hehehe

This post has been edited by sphiroth: Jan 27 2016, 10:53 AM
TSstrikermac
post Jan 27 2016, 10:59 AM

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Jan 27 2016, 10:49 AM)

I like the ICS,  don't know why. Same as why i loved the speedload6. Not front loading,  and no clip. Can reload while on standby.

I don't understand why they put camera on non-auto blaster. Priming the blaster action will make the video less watchable compare to automatic blaster

For zombie strike series,  why don't they just make an oversized/overpowered looking blaster base on normal elite  like 8x8 version of roughcut (looks like missile battery). Hehehe
That Battlescout ICS-10 sure is the HD camera make it become expensive. sweat.gif
But really like you said the camera record should be shacking and blur... hahaha...
And may be can attach the camera to other auto blaster have a try. hmm.gif
RegistraCHAN
post Jan 27 2016, 10:59 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Jan 27 2016, 01:26 AM)

So the fix, is just simply sand off the sharp and pointy corners, and smooth it off to give a smooth angle that it will have no chance to shred the darts at all.

Ooooo Kena repair semua Retailator aku lam kotak ni
sphiroth
post Jan 27 2016, 11:10 AM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(strikermac @ Jan 27 2016, 10:59 AM)
That Battlescout ICS-10 sure is the HD camera make it become expensive. sweat.gif
But really like you said the camera record should be shacking and blur... hahaha...
And may be can attach the camera to other auto blaster have a try. hmm.gif
Better buy go-pro camera. Can use for other stuff. Action camera, hd is secondary, priority is speed.

99 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0300sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:22 AM