109 Pages « < 68 69 70 71 72 > » Bottom

Oil & Gas Careers V7, Upstream and Downstream, rise early, work hard, strike oil

lancer193
post Apr 6 2015, 05:56 PM

207 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Apr 6 2015, 07:28 AM)
Thank you very much for the useful advice.

The problem is that for large oilfield services companies, the receptionist (or the person from HR department) refuses to reveal the name and the direct telephone extension of the person-in-charge. This incident tends to occur, even though I tend to be very polite during the telephone conservation.

When I probed for reason, the receptionist just says that it is company policy not to provide such information. I guess that the company is trying to avoid dealing with overzealous job applicants who keep on calling every day to ask about application status. I myself will call at most on a weekly basis.

So, the receptionist refuses to reveal the name of the person-in-charge, what should I do?

Thanks for the advice.  smile.gif
If you know that "the company is trying to avoid dealing with overzealous job applicants". << In HR term this is called cold calling

Maybe you can try to think of a way to make them think that you're not the "overzealous job applicants" but someone more! blush.gif

For example, when you call the receptionist, prepare a list of questions to ask about the internship (other than "where can i send in my application?") to show that you're interested to join the company and actually did research before you call.

"I read about your company internship program and I have a few questions. I was wondering if you could forward the call to someone in charge so that I can have a clearer picture of the company before I apply" instead of saying "Hey pls forward me to HR so I can deposit my resume".

The receptionist has no reason to reject your call this way cool2.gif

It might seems like a tedious job to do all these, but do remember that your main goal is to impress "the right person", not deposit your resume to "the right person". If 100 applicants cold called, 20 get through the HR, probably only 5 will really impress "the right person". nod.gif

You can have a master or a first class bachelor degree or whatever qualification. But if you don't have the communication skills, you are not going anywhere. icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by lancer193: Apr 6 2015, 06:01 PM
BillySteel
post Apr 6 2015, 06:34 PM

661 posts

QUOTE(lancer193 @ Apr 6 2015, 06:31 PM)
Onesubsea is a subsea jv between Cameron and Schlumberger

They have a manufacturing plant at Tanjung Pelepas Johor. So I'm guessing maybe manufacturing riser and flexible pipe etc?
I am not sure if onesubsea does riser and flexible pipe. I know Asiaflex (Technip) manufactures those in Johor also.

OneSubsea I believe builds/manufactures christmas tress,connectors,subsea valves etc....

These stuff can google and find.

Who said you cant google it doh.gif mad.gif mad.gif
lancer193
post Apr 6 2015, 06:39 PM

207 posts

QUOTE(BillySteel @ Apr 6 2015, 06:34 PM)
I am not sure if onesubsea does riser and flexible pipe. I know Asiaflex (Technip) manufactures those in Johor also.

OneSubsea I believe builds/manufactures christmas tress,connectors,subsea valves etc....

These stuff can google and find.

Who said you cant google it  doh.gif  mad.gif  mad.gif
Abang don't marah me, it was IVL who asked the question tongue.gif

btw found this on OneSubsea website!

https://www.onesubsea.com/newsroom/100_tree_johor.aspx
BillySteel
post Apr 6 2015, 09:05 PM

661 posts

QUOTE(lancer193 @ Apr 6 2015, 07:39 PM)
Abang don't marah me, it was IVL who asked the question  tongue.gif

btw found this on OneSubsea website!

https://www.onesubsea.com/newsroom/100_tree_johor.aspx
Sry bro was refering to IVL saying cannot google to find.....
IVL
post Apr 7 2015, 12:28 AM

372 posts

QUOTE(BillySteel @ Apr 6 2015, 09:05 PM)
Sry bro was refering to IVL saying cannot google to find.....
wanna apply onesubsea because they are company under star talent programme.. onesubsea systems (Msia).. got confused by the word: systems.. I know they are JV under cameron and slb.. and thanks! I got a clearer pictures now.. Asiaflex as analogy.. Maaf abg semua kalau ada silap~ unsure.gif

This post has been edited by IVL: Apr 7 2015, 12:30 AM
ch_teo
post Apr 7 2015, 07:44 AM

809 posts

QUOTE(IVL @ Apr 7 2015, 12:28 AM)
wanna apply onesubsea because they are company under star talent programme.. onesubsea systems (Msia)..  got confused by the word: systems.. I know they are JV under cameron and slb.. and thanks! I got a clearer pictures now.. Asiaflex as analogy.. Maaf abg semua kalau ada silap~  unsure.gif
Cooper Cameron
Visited their plant in Singapore before, great facilities they have.
mohdyakup
post Apr 7 2015, 09:16 AM

4,351 posts

QUOTE(ch_teo @ Apr 7 2015, 07:44 AM)
Cooper Cameron
Visited their plant in Singapore before, great facilities they have.
Prelude X-mas & subsea stuff is being fabricated by Cameron right now right?
HappyHampers
post Apr 7 2015, 11:24 AM

401 posts

Hi all

Is this a new company in Cyberjaya ? Cos saw so many positions open for interview, some more walk in interviews this weekend. If new company is ok.. If existing company has so many turnovers really scared.

http://www.jobstreet.com.my/announcement/2...ha1vkeet_ms.htm
mohdyakup
post Apr 7 2015, 11:48 AM

4,351 posts

Eugene Chia
Recruitment Manager at Gasoil Pte Ltd

A leading Company located in Brunei is seeking Principal Safety Engineer x 1 and Lead Safety Engineer x 1 on 2 years renewable contract. https://lnkd.in/benvgNh

kaisk8freak
post Apr 7 2015, 11:50 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(HappyHampers @ Apr 7 2015, 11:24 AM)
Hi all

Is this a new company in Cyberjaya ? Cos saw so many positions open for interview, some more walk in  interviews this weekend. If new company is ok.. If existing company has so many turnovers really scared.

Is it an O&G company?
mohdyakup
post Apr 7 2015, 11:54 AM

4,351 posts

QUOTE(HappyHampers @ Apr 7 2015, 11:24 AM)
Hi all

Is this a new company in Cyberjaya ? Cos saw so many positions open for interview, some more walk in  interviews this weekend. If new company is ok.. If existing company has so many turnovers really scared.

Turnover is normal in any kind of industry - O&G kira biasa dah. Aku sendiri dah banyak jump sana-sini. You scare? Sekarang tak kisah permanent ka contract position ka kalau kelembapan ekonomi berlaku anytime akan ada VSS & MSS.

Kalau takut makan gaji disebabkan high turnover of that particular company bikin business sendiri brother. Aku sendiri pun tengah berusaha belajar nak berniaga. Tak best makan gaji for a long term period. Aku nak freedom.

Jangan takut untuk gagal. Gagal sekali bukan gagal forever. Jangan takut untuk mencuba sesuatu yang baru.

Sekadar pendapat saya yang kurang professional dan mentah ini.
HappyHampers
post Apr 7 2015, 12:00 PM

401 posts

I think the best business yang menguntungkan to offer is the longest business in the market. biggrin.gif
nash9701
post Apr 7 2015, 12:21 PM

looking for a bright future...
1,357 posts

QUOTE(DuFfz @ Apr 6 2015, 04:02 PM)
Anybody heard of amerstrand engineering before?
One of my friend is project engineer/manager there. But met him last year, told me want to jump (after 6 yeras with Amer)

(^__^)

This post has been edited by nash9701: Apr 7 2015, 12:22 PM
DuFfz
post Apr 7 2015, 12:41 PM

429 posts

QUOTE(nash9701 @ Apr 7 2015, 12:21 PM)
One of my friend is project engineer/manager there. But met him last year, told me want to jump (after 6 yeras with Amer)

(^__^)
I see..saw their office newly set up in miri
mohdyakup
post Apr 7 2015, 01:28 PM

4,351 posts

Faizah Haji Sulaiman
ADMINISTRATION MANAGER, ORION ESM SDN. BHD.

Job Vacant : Please email your cv to faizah.sulaiman@orioneng.com Details about the role: Position Title: Head Operator Rotational:28/28 Work Location: Papua New Guinea Tentative Start Date :May 2015 Accommodation/Mob & Demob/Meal (Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner at Camp): provided Medical/Insurance: provided (for staff only) Annual Salary Review / bonus: Yes

mohdyakup
post Apr 7 2015, 01:30 PM

4,351 posts

Bernie A

Recruiter at Ranhill WorleyParsons Sdn Bhd

Project Control Engineer

Apr 7, 2015

Hi there,

I am looking for a Project Control Engineer with 5-8 years of experience. preferable to be registered with BEM. Interested please drop me a line. Thanks.

bernie.anthony16@gmail.com
ch_teo
post Apr 7 2015, 04:08 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Apr 7 2015, 09:16 AM)
Prelude X-mas & subsea stuff is being fabricated by Cameron right now right?
you can find it here.
mohdyakup
post Apr 7 2015, 04:20 PM

4,351 posts

QUOTE(ch_teo @ Apr 7 2015, 04:08 PM)
you can find it here.
I see. Its by FMC rupanya. Good to know that everything is fabricated at Johor.

•Seven (7) EVDT - 7" Tubing Head Spool; Flow Control Module and Tubing Hanger
•Two (2) 6-slot Manifold
•One (1) Riser Base Manifold
•Nine (9) UWD-15 RL Wellhead Systems
•Eight (8) Pipeline End Terminations
•Two (2) Subsea Distribution Units
•One (1) Topside Control System

bendonarticx
post Apr 7 2015, 04:49 PM

199 posts

Friend in Bumi Armada wrote on his FB that their HR is "visiting" people and giving "goodbye package". 2 hours notice to pack up stuff and leave. Can anyone confirm?
TSabgkik
post Apr 7 2015, 06:44 PM

2,143 posts

QUOTE(bendonarticx @ Apr 7 2015, 04:49 PM)
Friend in Bumi Armada wrote on his FB that their HR is "visiting" people and giving "goodbye package". 2 hours notice to pack up stuff and leave. Can anyone confirm?
Yesss... confirmed... however, 2 hours notice with 3 months salary (notice period) if i'm not mistaken.. so employee will have 3 months in advance to look for a new job...

109 Pages « < 68 69 70 71 72 > » Top

0.0545sec    1.06    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 09:29 PM