QUOTE(gark @ Mar 11 2015, 03:43 PM)
speaking like a true jockey.... Traders Kopitiam! V7
Traders Kopitiam! V7
Mar 11 2015, 04:35 PM
15,942 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
Mar 12 2015, 04:39 PM
Mar 12 2015, 07:46 PM
QUOTE(wodenus @ Mar 12 2015, 10:44 AM) A lot of people seems to be worried about opportunity cost....I mean it's easy to look back and say..... for example.... one can easily say... ' I saw many people eat Wantonmee at 11 sen....' but since CNY, I did not not so much spare money to chiak the wantonmee like crazy...... now that bloody wantonmee is almost 40 sen... there goes that big opportunity cost.... If only I ........................ Well I dunno ...... looking back is easy.... we can tell which one exactly is an opportunity and which one isn't.............. and what if the opportunity ...... is actually a pitfall? yeah... what if I buy at 11 sen .... and that bloody stock fell back to 9.5 sen? so I am one who knows not how to count opportunity cost........ |
Mar 12 2015, 07:51 PM
Mar 12 2015, 08:02 PM
QUOTE(wodenus @ Mar 12 2015, 07:54 PM) Would that then be defined as an opportunity?anyway ..... 'hold if fundamentals are still good' got different meanings one leh... some hold the stock... cos they feel the stock is worth more..... on the other hand... some could have bought the stock at the wrong price.... and because they bought at a high price... they feel they are compelled to hold the stock... since they feel 'fundamentally the company is still good'..... so they hold and hope their 'investment' recover. |
Mar 12 2015, 08:30 PM
QUOTE(wodenus @ Mar 12 2015, 08:19 PM) Nah opportunity cost is what you lose by holding the stock (if you are not making money from it) and not putting it in FD. Huh? This is a new type of opportunity cost. LOL! QUOTE(wodenus @ Mar 12 2015, 08:19 PM) For a stock with good fundamentals, there's no "wrong" price. The only requirement is that the fundamentals are good and stay good. huh?Some cases in point: Maybank, IGBREIT, Sunway etc. If the fundamentals are good just buy it. A bit expensive also doesn't matter, if it's good it will eventually rise above your price. Only thing is whether it will beat FD or not.. You won't lose investing in a good company with solid fundamentals, unless the fundamentals cease becoming solid. no wrong price? Can just buy any good stock at any price and just hold the stock? So gark, I tell you stocks is so easy to make money. This post has been edited by Boon3: Mar 12 2015, 08:32 PM |
Mar 12 2015, 08:34 PM
QUOTE(vNirvana @ Mar 12 2015, 08:24 PM) I guess that is one of the problem every "newbie" facing .. like me, I did fake trading for many years ........ When i first start in equity market and even until now.. i always take some time to look at the fundamental of the company. and recently, I only started to learn TA myself thru the online source and some guidance from the sifu here. too bad, everytime when i decided to enter, the price started to go up.. and I will be in a dilemma, whether I should go for it no matter what price is it or wait until the price come down. |
Mar 12 2015, 08:45 PM
QUOTE(wodenus @ Mar 12 2015, 08:35 PM) Yup, I'm serious. As long as the fundamentals are good and stay good you won't lose money. If you get a good price you will beat FD, if you get a bad price you will lose to FD. That is the worst risk if the fundamentals remain sound Sorry but I seriously do not agree with you at all and I am absolutely amused and bewildered by your definition of opportunity cost.Let me put it this way : the bank is willing to lend you money with those shares as collateral. Do you think they would do that if they thought they'd not make money long term from it? |
Mar 12 2015, 08:59 PM
QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ Mar 12 2015, 08:48 PM) Example, having 10k and dumping it into FD prevents you from using that same money and investing it in stocks and being able to generate a higher return |
Mar 12 2015, 09:20 PM
QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ Mar 12 2015, 09:01 PM) what i meant was that when you do one thing, then you can't do something else due to restrictions. Yes, I understand that if you do one thing, it will prevent you from doing others.... Placing your money in fd prevents you from investing in stocks. Winning or loosing is a different story. Placing your money in fd prevents you from investing in stocks. Winning or loosing is a different story. Well... exactly. the point is simple: winning or losing is a different story. If that's the case.... how do you define it exactly as an opportunity cost? LOL! I dunno how cos when I trade a stock, I never will have the balls to say I will win cos there's a chance I could have screwed up my reason to speculate and trade the stock wrongly. |
Mar 12 2015, 09:25 PM
QUOTE(vNirvana @ Mar 12 2015, 09:13 PM) bro, what do you mean by fake trading ??? Paper trade my friend.and all of sudden so many sifu start to discuss about opportunity cost .. Never be silly and simply pay tuition fees learning stocks. Tuition fees in the stock market is no like any other. There's a chance one can lose so badly that one will lose their life worth of trousers. Opportunity costs? LOL! If you want to be good in the market... Throw that away. Learn how to trade/invest in the market.... Know and understand the risks involved at all times. That's more important..... If you know that well, you will understand why and when to buy and not buy a share. |
Mar 12 2015, 09:27 PM
Mar 12 2015, 09:48 PM
Mar 13 2015, 09:01 AM
QUOTE(MoneyMaker prince @ Mar 13 2015, 08:25 AM) How do we know if a company fundamental is not good anymore and we shouldn't hold it any longer? What are the ratio/paramenters that we should look at? ROE? Free cash flow? Yes, some, investors, do look at ratios, like ROE.some look at profit margins. some look at profit growth. for them, as long as the ratios do not deteriorate drastically, they will maintain the company as still strong. for example, during the tech boom, some companies were growing at 20% growth yearly. Which such a growth, the company was expected to make more money year. Hence, the market was willing to pay a higher pe premium for the stock. when the growth stopped (and in fact, some turned into losses), the market sold these stocks off... cause these high flying companies weren't going to make such good money any more. the fundamentals changed. the boom was gone... in a sense, we saw this happened exactly with our OnG stocks.... that's what I know ... however, since I am a trader... you better not take my words as the holy gospel.... |
Mar 13 2015, 10:32 AM
Mar 13 2015, 10:37 AM
QUOTE(gark @ Mar 13 2015, 10:07 AM) Huh? Me pulak.. Technically ... if you bought good fundamental stocks at the wrong price, you might NOT lose if you keep for a long long time, BUT your profit margin and compounded gain will be severely hampered. If you enter at very very very wrong price, sometimes even the good fundamentals can't help you.. you might do worse than FD. Now.. if you enter at ANY price at weak stocks, high chance that can say bye bye to your $$$ the other problem is 'good fundamental stock'... LOL! sometimes... every investor is so damn certain about their 'fundamental good' stock. reason is simple. after they buy.... how can the stock they purchase not be 'fundamental good'? LOL! die die also they argue their stock is fundamental good.... for example..... some would die die argue Maybulk is a fundamental good stock. |
Mar 13 2015, 10:39 AM
Mar 13 2015, 11:18 AM
Mar 13 2015, 11:35 AM
Mar 13 2015, 02:29 PM
QUOTE(wodenus @ Mar 13 2015, 01:35 PM) This. Worst thing that can happen if you buy a blue chip at a bad price.. you don't get to beat FD. In this country blue chips can go on forever. So last nite you say there is no 'wrong' price.Now there is 'bad' price. Bad price and wrong price got what difference? |
| Change to: | 0.0452sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:13 AM |