QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Aug 24 2015, 11:02 AM)
or maybe slightly lower. to 'keep' for rainy days next year. lolUltimate Discussion of ASNB (47457-V), Wholly owned subsidary of PNB (38218-X)
Ultimate Discussion of ASNB (47457-V), Wholly owned subsidary of PNB (38218-X)
Aug 24 2015, 11:13 AM
17,515 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: KL |
Aug 24 2015, 11:18 AM
274 posts Joined: Oct 2012 |
This is what I heard:
"Back in 1990, ASNB giving 60% special bonus for ASN". Is this true? Or it is a conversion from ASB to ASN. Tried to google the info but can't find any. Maybe otai otai here can verify. |
Aug 24 2015, 11:22 AM
10,001 posts Joined: May 2013 |
Aug 24 2015, 11:26 AM
Aug 24 2015, 11:58 AM
274 posts Joined: Oct 2012 |
Aug 24 2015, 12:14 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
24,392 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
QUOTE(titanic_crash @ Aug 24 2015, 11:58 AM) That one they give people time to decide. First like what other members said. If they do that, KLSE going to bleed and die. Everyone withdraw. You think with so bad situation, they want to make the economy and myr drop further? Second they will give announcement. This is not petrol price where they can just suka-suka change like that. This is "national interest" I will tell you this, the most they will change is maybe 1 fund only. No way they will change all. Got 3 fixed price funds. If you are worried, open all 3. If one kena affected, just "transfer" to the other fund. Am I worried? Yes a little. Do I think they will change? No. Worse come to worse, in my opinion, they will change only 1. If you are worried, withdraw on 1/12. Dump into 1 month fd first. Wait until 2/1/2016, then dump back again. But see if you are lucky or not. This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 24 2015, 12:19 PM |
Aug 24 2015, 12:21 PM
4,761 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: My house |
Aug 24 2015, 12:22 PM
48,538 posts Joined: Sep 2014 From: REality |
Aug 24 2015, 12:49 PM
926 posts Joined: Aug 2013 |
The rumour about the change from fixed price to variable price is ridiculous. I work in the industry and personally have many friends working in PNB and ASNB. They wouldn't do something so drastic like that. It would be a disaster.
This post has been edited by Mr Gray: Aug 24 2015, 12:49 PM |
Aug 24 2015, 12:55 PM
QUOTE(Mr Gray @ Aug 24 2015, 12:49 PM) The rumour about the change from fixed price to variable price is ridiculous. I work in the industry and personally have many friends working in PNB and ASNB. They wouldn't do something so drastic like that. It would be a disaster. can u do a big help to all of us please.ask your friends in PNB personally on tis issue. Ask them nicely we all needed to know the real story advance thanks This post has been edited by nexona88: Aug 24 2015, 12:57 PM |
Aug 24 2015, 12:55 PM
14,943 posts Joined: Mar 2015 |
QUOTE(Mr Gray @ Aug 24 2015, 12:49 PM) The rumour about the change from fixed price to variable price is ridiculous. I work in the industry and personally have many friends working in PNB and ASNB. They wouldn't do something so drastic like that. It would be a disaster. yes, i think it would be a disaster too..but if the underlining Value of the assets in the fund are really "lower" and stayed low for years....how? Borrow to keep paying to support the payout amount? |
Aug 24 2015, 01:01 PM
QUOTE(MUM @ Aug 24 2015, 12:55 PM) yes, i think it would be a disaster too..but if the underlining Value of the assets in the fund are really "lower" and stayed low for years....how? Borrow to keep paying to support the payout amount? Eg, True NAV only RM0.50, you pay RM1.00 for fixed price fund. Indirectly you are giving PNB extra money. They can use that to earn extra income to pay the dividend. |
Aug 24 2015, 01:02 PM
QUOTE(MUM @ Aug 24 2015, 12:55 PM) yes, i think it would be a disaster too..but if the underlining Value of the assets in the fund are really "lower" and stayed low for years....how? Borrow to keep paying to support the payout amount? For fixed price funds like ASB, ASD, ASW2020 etc. The NAV is kept close to RM1. PNB doesn't give all returns and keep its reserves for precisely this objective. During the crisis in 1997 and 2008. What happens to the NAV? For sure, without the support from reserves, it would drastically drop below RM1. PNB has managed to give dividend every year (CONSECUTIVELY). Fixed price funds pose a lot of risks to the fund manager. With robust risk management in place, it has managed to weather so many crises in recent times, without scathe. |
Aug 24 2015, 01:04 PM
QUOTE(nexona88 @ Aug 24 2015, 12:55 PM) can u do a big help to all of us please. Okay I won't beat around the bush anymore. I work in PNB. So I can assure you the rumour is without any basis, At ALL!ask your friends in PNB personally on tis issue. Ask them nicely we all needed to know the real story advance thanks This post has been edited by Mr Gray: Aug 24 2015, 01:06 PM |
Aug 24 2015, 01:04 PM
Aug 24 2015, 01:12 PM
Aug 24 2015, 01:14 PM
Aug 24 2015, 01:18 PM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 24 2015, 01:14 PM) How is it flaw? You are suppose to get 2 units (assuming price is RM0.50/unit) but you get only 1 unit after paying RM1. So where the other unit go? Definitely kept by PNB as reserve. since we are lucky to have someone from PNB today....Mr Gray...is the above correct? This post has been edited by MUM: Aug 24 2015, 01:21 PM |
Aug 24 2015, 01:23 PM
Aug 24 2015, 01:28 PM
QUOTE(nexona88 @ Aug 24 2015, 01:12 PM) ASNB manages the marketing of the funds while PNB manage the investment. I won't be able to tell you exactly what the statement means, because even I don't work in the related department. However what I know is that, PNB's bread and butter has always been the fixed price unit trust funds. Even if the world were to turn upside down, and if eventually PNB has to move away from VP funds to FP funds, it would not happen overnight. Plenty of notice would be served. And for sure, it is not coming anytime soon. We can all think of what will happen if suddenly PNB announces that ASB would be turned to variable fund. Massive exodus of withdrawals. And we aren't that stupid to allow that to happen. |
| Change to: | 0.0288sec
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:36 AM |