Buying Advice Anyone owner of Sony Alpha 100 here?, Plan to buy...need opinion

ac98
post Oct 4 2006, 09:38 AM

The Spirit of Photography
3,758 posts

QUOTE(Edwintst @ Oct 3 2006, 07:34 PM)
ac98,Saw a 400D with 18-55 kit @ RM 3050!!!! smile.gif no joke
Good, go get it! Make that move ... you will never regret getting a Canon, looking forward to greeting you into the family brows.gif

This post has been edited by ac98: Oct 4 2006, 09:38 AM
ac98
post Oct 4 2006, 09:40 AM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(Edwintst @ Oct 3 2006, 07:43 PM)
gold3knight...u from Penang?Penang kia rulez..!
Just got back from Penang last weekend ... Penang food rules!
Penang chicks also ruless ... sorry I mean ... ROCKS!! rclxms.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by ac98: Oct 4 2006, 09:41 AM
InfiniteVoid
post Oct 4 2006, 09:45 AM

シュガ- グライダ-
1,143 posts

QUOTE(ac98 @ Oct 4 2006, 09:34 AM)
...Keep in mind that the Alpha is Sony's FIRST SLR but Canon already made almost a dozen EOSs for themself. Experience, technology and R&D of SLR ... Canon is light years ahead of Sony!
Erm... we can't really tell what will happen later. Maybe Sony will buy over Canon's engineer as Sony already bought over KM. So let's wait and see what would happen later...

Come to think of, Intel and AMD share almost the same scenario. Long time ago, lots of ppl claimed that AMD will never surplus Intel as Intel is light years ahead of AMD. What happens now then?

Please give Sony Alpha a break. sweat.gif
ac98
post Oct 4 2006, 09:47 AM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(ifer @ Oct 3 2006, 07:51 PM)
i think the reason why you are tempted in sony is because 'it's a sony'. *sings to the tune*

honestly, for RM 3300 for the sony alpha plus kit lens, why not the canon 400d? true, sony produce the CCDs for nikon and sony is a huge market and they are using the minolta's technology and they have carl zeiss' lenses and stuff but who cares?

1. their high ISO noise level is a joke. i think the obsolete D100 is better than this camera.

2. nothing againts minolta. they produced brilliant lenses but if would to compare to today's technology, it's slow in term of focusing. you can argue the fact that you don't need fast autofocus but still... once you have tried the USM and AF-S (ferrari), you wouldn't want to drive a kancil no more.

3. carl zeiss' lenses. they are one of the best in the world. but the thing is, can you afford it?

canon's 400D's noise level at higher ISO is good. heck, all canon's are good in my opinion and my favourite is actually the 5D. you should look at the noise level of this camera when it's set to 3200ISO.

this baby accepts all EF and EF-S lenses and there are loads of people trying to sell off their older lenses... i constantly seeing a good 17-40 F4L lens for sale... so there you go... a brilliant lens up for grab. (if you can't even afford this lens second hand, forget about purchasing the carl zeiss lenses for your sony's)
Agreed till the end. Rather strong way of putting it, but it's true thumbup.gif
ac98
post Oct 4 2006, 09:54 AM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(InfiniteVoid @ Oct 4 2006, 09:45 AM)
Erm... we can't really tell what will happen later. Maybe Sony will buy over Canon's engineer as Sony already bought over KM. So let's wait and see what would happen later...

Have to seriously correct you there ... Sony did not buy over KM, only their camera business. Konica Minolta Photo Imaging, Inc. ceased their camera business on March 31, 2006. As of April 1st, 2006, Sony Corporation took over customer service for Konica's, Minolta's and Konica Minolta's cameras and camera-related products.

In my own words, K shrink into M and KM shrink into Sony. Canon shrink into anyone? Nah, more like Sony might dump the camera business alongside everything else and concentrate on their home appliances and gaming products in the future if you ask me!

Know the truth.

ac98
post Oct 4 2006, 09:55 AM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(InfiniteVoid @ Oct 4 2006, 09:45 AM)
Please give Sony Alpha a break.  sweat.gif
Okay, so much from me tongue.gif
lgs
post Oct 4 2006, 09:57 AM

Certified Noob
2,374 posts

Sony got KM exp mah tongue.gif

finally RM3050 ady ? guess still will drop some more lah ,for new user 400D + 18-55 is a good budget start .

Sony take over Canon very difficult lah ,except Canon research and marketing dept suddenly become like KM so slow and less advertisment lah , Canon consumer market already is the biggest in all the brand ,and DSLR & lens got supporter like world cup/racing photographer.
ifer
post Oct 4 2006, 09:57 AM

4,637 posts

upgrading the system in the later stage of life is another matter.
we are talking about now.

if sony is going to produce a better camera, i am sure canon and nikon will produce a better camera as well.

what i would like to see is sony to put in more effort into it. yeah, this is their first dslr and stuffs but come on, it's a joke. people are talking about good noise reduction at higher ISO rating... it's no longer high MP count war out there...

and for the metering... i am not so sure... there was a comparision of alpha and nikon d80 that i saw (i think it's lyn or dpreview) and yeah, sony's had a tendency of under exposing the images by one stop, if would to compare to nikon's.

the only reason i will go for the sony is because of their carl zeiss lenses... if not, i am sure my nikon's lenses are as good as if not better than minolta's.

sony sendiri target 10% of the dslr user out there buy their camera. i don't know where they are going to find this 10% from... probably from diehard fans.

for the same price, i would definately go for the canon (400D)... though i am not a canon's fan, except for their 5D...
ac98
post Oct 4 2006, 10:04 AM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(lgs @ Oct 4 2006, 09:57 AM)
Canon consumer market already is the biggest in all the brand ,and DSLR & lens got supporter like world cup/racing photographer.
Come to think of it, no one else have professional models except for Canon, Nikon and Fuji right? Eventhough Fuji uses Nikon mount but their sales of the S-series also so-so only.
InfiniteVoid
post Oct 4 2006, 10:20 AM

シュガ- グライダ-
1,143 posts

QUOTE(ac98 @ Oct 4 2006, 09:54 AM)
Have to seriously correct you there ... Sony did not buy over KM, only their camera business. Konica Minolta Photo Imaging, Inc. ceased their camera business on March 31, 2006. As of April 1st, 2006, Sony Corporation took over customer service for Konica's, Minolta's and Konica Minolta's cameras and camera-related products.

In my own words, K shrink into M and KM shrink into Sony. Canon shrink into anyone? Nah, more like Sony might dump the camera business alongside everything else and concentrate on their home appliances and gaming products in the future if you ask me!

Know the truth.
In other words, their camera business. sweat.gif If Sony was able to take over KM's camera business, wouldn't it prove that Sony is capable to employ Canon's engineer?

QUOTE(ifer @ Oct 4 2006, 09:57 AM)
upgrading the system in the later stage of life is another matter.
we are talking about now.

if sony is going to produce a better camera, i am sure canon and nikon will produce a better camera as well.

what i would like to see is sony to put in more effort into it. yeah, this is their first dslr and stuffs but come on, it's a joke. people are talking about good noise reduction at higher ISO rating... it's no longer high MP count war out there...

and for the metering... i am not so sure... there was a comparision of alpha and nikon d80 that i saw (i think it's lyn or dpreview) and yeah, sony's had a tendency of under exposing the images by one stop, if would to compare to nikon's.

the only reason i will go for the sony is because of their carl zeiss lenses... if not, i am sure my nikon's lenses are as good as if not better than minolta's.

sony sendiri target 10% of the dslr user out there buy their camera. i don't know where they are going to find this 10% from... probably from diehard fans.

for the same price, i would definately go for the canon (400D)... though i am not a canon's fan, except for their 5D...
Err.. if you don't consider future, then the collection of lenses are not important, not? What if you already have a collection of Canon lenses and only realize Sony would be able to produce as nice as Canon and surplus Canon with Carl Zeiss. Don't tell me you are going to toss away your collection and start with Sony?

Yes, you already mentioned if you were to go for Sony all because of Carl Zeiss's lens. If you don't start collection now, instead with Canon, then it will be a huge leap to move Sony in term of money.

And how bad Sony Alpha is if you can exclude the noise?
shinchan^^
post Oct 4 2006, 10:26 AM

K66
21,256 posts

QUOTE(InfiniteVoid @ Oct 4 2006, 09:23 AM)
The current problem that Sony Alpha facing is the noise management. Ofcoz the future generation with nicer noise management would be tempting to upgrade. smile.gif

Sony has quite nice CMOS technology too. I wonder Sony would integrate it to the next Alpha. If that happens, it would be a nice competition show to see.  laugh.gif
noise management cant be fixed by the firmware?

i noticing there are severals firmwares already out for the alpha

ya A100 is using CCD right
ac98
post Oct 4 2006, 11:16 AM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(InfiniteVoid @ Oct 4 2006, 10:20 AM)
In other words, their camera business.  sweat.gif If Sony was able to take over KM's camera business, wouldn't it prove that Sony is capable to employ Canon's engineer?

That one has nothing to do with company takeover-lah brother ... it's employment already. If Canon/Sony pay me well and employ me of course I also cabut-lar! laugh.gif

ac98
post Oct 4 2006, 11:42 AM

3,758 posts

I would say it's the Build and Ergonomics. I believe what Sony needs is EXPERIENCE. They already have all the budget they need to churning out more Alpha models and the R&D that goes along with them. They need more feedback from their target market ... newbies and amateurs.

From my point of view, the buttons are all in the wrong place, starting from the Power flip (I can't even call it a Button!). The Menu arrangements are in a mess and at some point they're trying to arrange the functions like in their compact digicams! No ... it's so wrong!

The difference between 'getting used to the functions' and actually ACCESSING them during a critical moment is two different thing, things like AE Lock, Focusing Point Selection, DOF Check and Shutter Button are very very crucial functions and must be properly and ergonomically positioned for the photography to access in a split of a second during action. We must be able to access all critical functions without lifting our eye off the camera body and less critical ones directly on the outside of the camera Menu. From the way I dabble with the Alpha in one of the Foto Shang outlet, I will definitely drop the camera or flip a wrong switch if I try to power on the camera using one hand or access buttons on the left when my hand is wet or oily. A rugged and good camera dun have to look old fashion or out of date but the looks of the Alpha turned me off.

I sincerely hope Sony will make a better built camera next round, I think this should be their utmost priority becoz the functions and specs are roughly there. Sony should know where to check and iron out the rough edges of the CCD's noice management so there is nothing much to shout about as far as the next model is concerned.

So ... a 12MP Alpha II anyone ? laugh.gif

ifer
post Oct 4 2006, 11:50 AM

4,637 posts

Err.. if you don't consider future, then the collection of lenses are not important, not? What if you already have a collection of Canon lenses and only realize Sony would be able to produce as nice as Canon and surplus Canon with Carl Zeiss. Don't tell me you are going to toss away your collection and start with Sony?

Yes, you already mentioned if you were to go for Sony all because of Carl Zeiss's lens. If you don't start collection now, instead with Canon, then it will be a huge leap to move Sony in term of money.

no...
i am talking about starting new as what the tread starter mention. if he can't afford the carl zeiss lenses, what's the use of starting a sony's system? as i have mentioned it earlier.

carl zeiss' lenses had already surplus the canon's and nikon's in system like hasselblad and rollei but do you see me jumping ship to using hasselblad and phase one? no!

i am talking about practicality. sony will definately improve their system, no doubt about that. but if you are one of those entry level dslr user (you are of course if not you won't consider sony alpha in the first place) you do not see yourself investing RM 7000 for a 70-200 f2.8 lens.

in the future yes but how good is sony's compare to canon's and nikon's? same? marginally better that it's worthy for you to be a some forummers said 'white elephant'?
TSEdwintst
post Oct 4 2006, 11:50 AM

17 posts

2 quiestion,
1. I realised that Canon 400D no spot metering? It it important? Coz Nikon & Sony and other all have...Pls give advise bro. Thanks
2. In the long run Canon cheaper in terms on lenses?

[quote=lgs,Oct 4 2006, 09:57 AM]

finally RM3050 ady ? guess still will drop some more lah ,for new user 400D + 18-55 is a good budget start .

This post has been edited by Edwintst: Oct 4 2006, 11:52 AM
shinchan^^
post Oct 4 2006, 11:52 AM

K66
21,256 posts

[quote=Edwintst,Oct 4 2006, 11:50 AM]
I realised that Canon 400D no spot metering? It it important? Coz Nikon & Sony and other all have...Pls give advise bro. Thanks

[quote=lgs,Oct 4 2006, 09:57 AM]

[/quote]

http://www.bobatkins.com/photography/digit...0D_compare.html
good site

go buy ur @100 and start taking pics
welwitchia
post Oct 4 2006, 11:54 AM

1,219 posts

^ Could it be the fact that u're way to acclimatized to how Canon and Nikon works? Being different doesn't mean its no good mah.. my only gripe is that the fonts they use in the LCD is too big. Kinda reminds me of Samsung phones.
InfiniteVoid
post Oct 4 2006, 12:31 PM

シュガ- グライダ-
1,143 posts

QUOTE(ac98 @ Oct 4 2006, 11:16 AM)
That one has nothing to do with company takeover-lah brother ... it's employment already. If Canon/Sony pay me well and employ me of course I also cabut-lar! laugh.gif
My subject is Sony is CAPABLE TO GRAB CANON'S ENGINEERs so company business thing is just an abstract. doh.gif

QUOTE(ifer @ Oct 4 2006, 11:50 AM)
no...
i am talking about starting new as what the tread starter mention. if he can't afford the carl zeiss lenses, what's the use of starting a sony's system? as i have mentioned it earlier.

carl zeiss' lenses had already surplus the canon's and nikon's in system like hasselblad and rollei but do you see me jumping ship to using hasselblad and phase one? no!
This, I will leave it to the thread starter as I don't know whether he can affort in the near future. I won't neglect the possibility.

i am talking about practicality. sony will definately improve their system, no doubt about that. but if you are one of those entry level dslr user (you are of course if not you won't consider sony alpha in the first place) you do not see yourself investing RM 7000 for a 70-200 f2.8 lens.
Ofcoz we are discussing about entry DSLR here as if Sony has higher end?
RM 7k for 70-200 f2.8 lens would be a yes and no answer. Wouldn't the beginner jump in straight to grab a 70-200 f2.8 as a start? He/She might in the future depends on his/her budget.

in the future yes but how good is sony's compare to canon's and nikon's? same? marginally better that it's worthy for you to be a some forummers said 'white elephant'?
What is wrong to be "White Elephant"? At least you are unique even worthy of bypasser to stop by and admire.

My only comment to you is, either you are too bias or you are Canon fanboyz. You can't just slam everything till it is not worth a cent.
ac98
post Oct 4 2006, 12:36 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(Edwintst @ Oct 4 2006, 11:50 AM)
2 quiestion,
1. I realised that Canon 400D no spot metering? It it important? Coz Nikon & Sony and other all have...Pls give advise bro. Thanks
2. In the long run Canon cheaper in terms on lenses?
The EOS 400D has 35-zone evaluative metering system with 3 metering modes : 1. Evaluative metering 2. Partial metering and 3. Center-weighted average metering.

Tak cukup-kah? tongue.gif
ac98
post Oct 4 2006, 12:39 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(InfiniteVoid @ Oct 4 2006, 12:31 PM)
What is wrong to be "White Elephant"? At least you are unique even worthy of bypasser to stop by and admire.

... or stop and wonder (in my case of a 350D) "What SLR is that ha? So small one?!" doh.gif

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0163sec    0.76    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 02:11 AM