6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Buying Advice Anyone owner of Sony Alpha 100 here?, Plan to buy...need opinion

ifer
post Oct 4 2006, 01:35 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(InfiniteVoid @ Oct 4 2006, 12:31 PM)
My only comment to you is, either you are too bias or you are Canon fanboyz. You can't just slam everything till it is not worth a cent.
ermm... i am a nikon user from the moment i started learning photography professionally. sweat.gif

i am not bias in any brands. i am just saying that sony's DSLR seems to be too noob for the time being. and if one would to get the sony DSLR, wait for their next camera...

things i would like to see...

1. noise reduction in higher ISO (piority)
2. more higher quality lenses (F2.8 lenses) (but not the carl zeiss range)
3. and faster focusing lenses
4. i am not sure about the layout of the buttons and functions of this alpha camera. true, it's basically whether one is use to it or not. i tried using my friend's canon 1d mkII and i was cursing like siao when i was using the camera. so can't comment.

well, if one like this camera for no obvious reason besides it's a sony (sings to the tune again) then by all means get it. if not, my advice, go for the canon 400d. nikon? abit expensive... unless you wanna wait for the rumoured D60 (christmas)

nothing is wrong with the alpha camera, i am sure about it. my only problem with this camera is the high noise... besides that, i am sure it's a good camera...
InfiniteVoid
post Oct 4 2006, 01:43 PM

シュガ- グライダ-
1,143 posts

QUOTE(Edwintst @ Oct 4 2006, 11:50 AM)
2 quiestion,
1. I realised that Canon 400D no spot metering? It it important? Coz Nikon & Sony and other all have...Pls give advise bro. Thanks
2. In the long run Canon cheaper in terms on lenses?
1. Lots of ppl complaining that 400D lack of spot metering. I wonder why Canon remove it as 30D has it. *scratch head* It won't affect much without a spot metering though.

2. If you got poison from L lens, I would say, it won't be cheap. The sharpness of the picture from L lens can really poison. *beware* laugh.gif
BurgaFlippinMan
post Oct 4 2006, 01:58 PM

Wachaaa!
6,486 posts

spot metering is nice to have, and i've used it once in a while. however, i dont actually tihnk i would really miss it.
InfiniteVoid
post Oct 4 2006, 02:14 PM

シュガ- グライダ-
1,143 posts

QUOTE(ifer @ Oct 4 2006, 01:35 PM)
ermm... i am a nikon user from the moment i started learning photography professionally.  sweat.gif

i am not bias in any brands. i am just saying that sony's DSLR seems to be too noob for the time being. and if one would to get the sony DSLR, wait for their next camera...

things i would like to see...

1. noise reduction in higher ISO (piority)
2. more higher quality lenses (F2.8 lenses) (but not the carl zeiss range)
3. and faster focusing lenses
4. i am not sure about the layout of the buttons and functions of this alpha camera. true, it's basically whether one is use to it or not. i tried using my friend's canon 1d mkII and i was cursing like siao when i was using the camera. so can't comment.

well, if one like this camera for no obvious reason besides it's a sony (sings to the tune again) then by all means get it. if not, my advice, go for the canon 400d. nikon? abit expensive... unless you wanna wait for the rumoured D60 (christmas)

nothing is wrong with the alpha camera, i am sure about it. my only problem with this camera is the high noise... besides that, i am sure it's a good camera...
Besides noise,

Sony Alpha has quite a number of good features.
- In-hardware Dynamic Range Optimization
- Eye Start AF
- 2 dial buttons which allow easy access to the menu (ofcoz compare to 400D only)
- Better grip (ofcoz compare to 400D only)
- Good battery life (again, ofcoz compare to 400D only)
- Cheaper (price) anti-camera shake implementation (*sigh*, compare to 400D only)

As for Ergonomic design, I can't totally agree with ac98 because 400D is equally suck. This is more depend on personal preference as both models have it mono-status-LCD removed.

Which one to choose? Depends on the buyer choice rolleyes.gif
shinchan^^
post Oct 4 2006, 02:18 PM

K66
21,256 posts

QUOTE(InfiniteVoid @ Oct 4 2006, 02:14 PM)
Besides noise,

Sony Alpha has quite a number of good features.
- In-hardware Dynamic Range Optimization
- Eye Start AF
- 2 dial buttons which allow easy access to the menu (ofcoz compare to 400D only)
- Better grip (ofcoz compare to 400D only)
- Good battery life (again, ofcoz compare to 400D only)
- Cheaper (price) anti-camera shake implementation (*sigh*, compare to 400D only)

As for Ergonomic design, I can't totally agree with ac98 because 400D is equally suck. This is more depend on personal preference as both models have it mono-status-LCD removed.

Which one to choose? Depends on the buyer choice  rolleyes.gif
haha i think more than enough adv.
BurgaFlippinMan
post Oct 4 2006, 02:20 PM

Wachaaa!
6,486 posts

what so good about the in hardware DRO? reviews of it havent been impressed, and have mostly concluded that its simply better to do it in pp. we also have no idea of Sony's future plans, and whether they will offer a good upgrade path or just keep releasing budget model after budget model. then of course, there is the issue with lens prices which wipe out any cost advantage of the body if u wish to get more glass anyway. have u seen the price of the 70-200 2.8 SSM? its about USD 2.4k! The Nikon equivalent, is around USD 1.8k WITH VR at that. i'm not dissing Sony, and they may well get their act together in the future but I wouldnt want to investing in their system at the moment, unless i have cash to spare. smile.gif

This post has been edited by BurgaFlippinMan: Oct 4 2006, 02:23 PM
ac98
post Oct 4 2006, 02:32 PM

The Spirit of Photography
3,758 posts

QUOTE(InfiniteVoid @ Oct 4 2006, 02:14 PM)

Good thing you said 'equally' suck and not 'worst than' the Alpha tongue.gif
Yes, to those Mat Sallehs and those well-built palms, the EOSs have been small ever since 350D cry.gif
ac98
post Oct 4 2006, 02:35 PM

The Spirit of Photography
3,758 posts

QUOTE(BurgaFlippinMan @ Oct 4 2006, 02:20 PM)
i'm not dissing Sony, and they may well get their act together in the future but I wouldnt want to investing in their system at the moment, unless i have cash to spare. smile.gif

If I have spare cash, to assist my Canon system, I would get a Nikon D200! thumbup.gif

ifer
post Oct 4 2006, 03:16 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(ac98 @ Oct 4 2006, 02:35 PM)
If I have spare cash, to assist my Canon system, I would get a Nikon D200! thumbup.gif
huh?
why lar?
chi sin... ahahaa!
to assist your canon... the 5D is the camera to purchase.
InfiniteVoid
post Oct 4 2006, 03:57 PM

シュガ- グライダ-
1,143 posts

QUOTE(BurgaFlippinMan @ Oct 4 2006, 02:20 PM)
what so good about the in hardware DRO? reviews of it havent been impressed, and have mostly concluded that its simply better to do it in pp. we also have no idea of Sony's future plans, and whether they will offer a good upgrade path or just keep releasing budget model after budget model. then of course, there is the issue with lens prices which wipe out any cost advantage of the body if u wish to get more glass anyway. have u seen the price of the 70-200 2.8 SSM? its about USD 2.4k! The Nikon equivalent, is around USD 1.8k WITH VR at that. i'm not dissing Sony, and they may well get their act together in the future but I wouldnt want to investing in their system at the moment, unless i have cash to spare. smile.gif
Arguably, the lens price is headache. Blame it on Sony marketing.

As for in-hardware DRO, I would say depends on personal preference. I tested the effect after PP, I prefer the in-hardware DRO as fast, and neat without PP. Though lots of ppl say it looks unnatural. But I still like the feels of the picture. I can't find the link to the thai's forum. The forumers are doing very precise testing on the DRO, I would say the result is really superb unlike those review in dpreview. They're actually placing a side by side comparison of the picture. The lighting looks very natural, unlike the picture that I have for PP.

QUOTE(ac98 @ Oct 4 2006, 02:32 PM)
Good thing you said 'equally' suck and not 'worst than' the Alpha tongue.gif
Yes, to those Mat Sallehs and those well-built palms, the EOSs have been small ever since 350D cry.gif
Though I said "equally" but Sony Alpha still has advantage over 400D with better grip and easy menu access through the 2 dial buttons.
TSEdwintst
post Oct 6 2006, 12:12 AM

17 posts

okok...gonna go try both this weekend
shinchan^^
post Oct 6 2006, 08:53 AM

K66
21,256 posts

the canon 400d loose out in battery power

D80 : EN-EL3e (7.4 V, 1500 mAh) Canon : NB-2LH (7.4 V, 720 mAh) A100 : NP-FM55H (7.2 V, 1600 mAh)
gold3knight
post Oct 6 2006, 05:36 PM

1,672 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Oct 6 2006, 08:53 AM)
the canon 400d loose out in battery power

D80 : EN-EL3e (7.4 V, 1500 mAh)  Canon : NB-2LH (7.4 V, 720 mAh)  A100 : NP-FM55H (7.2 V, 1600 mAh)
with the larger lcd and self cleaning and stuff, going to eat up more energy. just recently the shop assistant where i went to look at the cameras, and where i bought my filters told me the 350d was a good choice. 400d will consume up energy fast, and will therefore generate more third party battery sales for him.
kenzio
post Jan 17 2007, 12:51 AM

241 posts

Although this topic had stopped post for couple of months with some war and gun powder smell.... sad.gif luckily..it ends up quite ok...since ppl learn to know what is so call limit.... cool2.gif

The thought of which is better or sucks more than the others really doesn't matter..ask oneself, izzit going to work for you or not....By simply flaming here and there....poisoning here and there...influence the noobs is no good....advices are welcome...stepping down on others is no good as well....

I strongly believe that each has its own good and benefits and it all depends which works for you the most....cons of each one should be tolerated by the user and find a better way of solution to overcome it instead of keep on moaning.....

There's no perfert nor foolish....don't simply comment others must be "joking" no manners at all....respect others smile.gif
shinchan^^
post Jan 17 2007, 07:44 AM

K66
21,256 posts

QUOTE(kenzio @ Jan 17 2007, 12:51 AM)
Although this topic had stopped post for couple of months with some war and gun powder smell.... sad.gif luckily..it ends up quite ok...since ppl learn to know what is so call limit.... cool2.gif

The thought of which is better or sucks more than the others really doesn't matter..ask oneself, izzit going to work for you or not....By simply flaming here and there....poisoning here and there...influence the noobs is no good....advices are welcome...stepping down on others is no good as well....

I strongly believe that each has its own good and benefits and it all depends which works for you the most....cons of each one should be tolerated by the user and find a better way of solution to overcome it instead of keep on moaning.....

There's no perfert nor foolish....don't simply comment others must be "joking" no manners at all....respect others smile.gif
r u a alpha user?
kenzio
post Jan 17 2007, 10:50 AM

241 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Jan 17 2007, 07:44 AM)
r u a alpha user?
why would you want to know....??? tongue.gif luckily good man learns good thing(sharing)... wink.gif actually nope....but saja only...cannot tahan this type of environment...keep on saying this no good, that no good...although i know it's their personal opinion, but at a point it should stop lor...respect ma... sweat.gif

I'm planning to get myself a brand new dSLR...Nikon? Canon? or Sony? hahaha...anyway, there's a reason behind every purchase... rolleyes.gif
jacklsw86
post Jan 17 2007, 12:58 PM

LYN spirit
1,662 posts

why not purchase the 3 main brands then if u got alot of money.. cn enjoy each of their advantages.. haha
d_scientist
post Jan 17 2007, 01:12 PM

248 posts

hahaha....
honestly, there is pros and cons... jus see which one you will be able to tolerate the cons n enjoy the pros....
this is jus a knowledgable discussion n not flamin la....
kenzio
post Jan 17 2007, 02:19 PM

241 posts

yaya discuss and sharing only, no flamin... biggrin.gif could be my misunderstanding somehow.... laugh.gif
kenzio
post Jan 17 2007, 02:20 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(jacklsw86 @ Jan 17 2007, 12:58 PM)
why not purchase the 3 main brands then if u got alot of money.. cn enjoy each of their advantages.. haha
Then you try first lor... thumbup.gif sweat.gif

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0718sec    0.26    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:25 AM