AS1M, ASB, ASW,ASM,ASG,ASD

storekeeper
post Apr 27 2009, 02:42 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(raoul @ Apr 27 2009, 02:39 PM)
I think he means get a Kadazan / Iban wife  biggrin.gif at least no need to convxxx
Hahaha.. nice one your answer.. Yea, no need to convert...lol.. rclxms.gif
SnoWFisH
post Apr 27 2009, 02:44 PM

2,250 posts

projected returns of asw is higher smile.gif. that's what i heard anyway.

Interested to note that most of the people Q-ing at the cimb branch i went are old retired ladies. all of them in front me are munching their zinger and McD away. Next time i should pack a sandwich with me.
soul2soul
post Apr 27 2009, 02:48 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

I think the reasons why ASW2020 sold out so fast this time is

1. Sufficient notice - 1 week government announced in advance. This gives time for people to break their FD and get enough cash to be invested

2. Increased limit from RM10,000 to RM20,000. This automatically halves the number of people who can invest in ASW2020 assuming most chinese top up RM20,000.

3. Low Fixed deposit rates. People take out FD to put into higher yield ASW2020.

Added on April 27, 2009, 2:51 pm
QUOTE(H4RRY @ Apr 27 2009, 02:39 PM)
I waited from 8.30am till 11.50am when the lot is finished. At post office, used to have zero people lining up, now got at least 30++. On the day of ASM start selling, I was there asking about ASW2020, the officer said can buy ASM, regret didn't listen to him. Got 2 person in front of me when the officer announced it is finished. Damn, waited 3.5 hours for nothing.
I put my money into ASM last week because I anticipated this problem today.

This post has been edited by soul2soul: Apr 27 2009, 02:51 PM
H4RRY
post Apr 27 2009, 02:52 PM

393 posts

That's 3 hours, maybe should bring a book or something, even manga will finish read 10 volumes already.
mopster
post Apr 27 2009, 03:08 PM

m o p p y
7,960 posts

QUOTE(soul2soul @ Apr 27 2009, 02:48 PM)

1. Sufficient notice  - 1 week government announced in advance. This gives time for people to break their FD and get enough cash to be invested

2. Increased limit from RM10,000 to RM20,000. This automatically halves the number of people who can invest in ASW2020 assuming most chinese top up RM20,000.

3. Low Fixed deposit rates. People take out FD to put into higher yield ASW2020.
totally agree with you.. nod.gif

plus those who didnt get to buy ASM last week will buy ASW2020 ....

i hope they put up more units >_< i also waited 3 hours just to hear the bank teller yelling "FYI.. ASW untuk non bumi is sold out~~"
storekeeper
post Apr 27 2009, 03:13 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(soul2soul @ Apr 27 2009, 02:48 PM)

1. Sufficient notice  - 1 week government announced in advance. This gives time for people to break their FD and get enough cash to be invested

Mean last time ASW2020 & ASM limit only 10k for individual's max deposit.? Now..20k pula.. Low FD rate, this one I really agreed coz after the recent (March'09) announcement from the govt makes most of the commercial bank's interest rate drop like hell. Receivable rate drop then Payable rate drop such as house & motor vehicle loan interest rate.
HMMaster
post Apr 27 2009, 03:14 PM

10K Club
10,308 posts

Opening new account is just take too long! I hope that they can speed up the process in the future coz opening a new account take the most time (10-20mins?) Too bad that I dont have an account yet cry.gif sad.gif
SnoWFisH
post Apr 27 2009, 03:16 PM

2,250 posts

yeap, i also want to open new account, either that or let us open out of offer period (though i dunno how yet tongue.gif).

HMMaster: u still in cyberjaya?
soul2soul
post Apr 27 2009, 03:22 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(storekeeper @ Apr 27 2009, 03:13 PM)
Mean last time ASW2020 & ASM limit only 10k for individual's max deposit.? Now..20k pula.. Low FD rate, this one I really agreed coz after the recent (March'09) announcement from the govt makes most of the commercial bank's interest rate drop like hell. Receivable rate drop then Payable rate drop such as house & motor vehicle loan interest rate.
yes, in september 2008, the maximum amount has been reduced to RM10,000 per account. But this time dunno why they increase to RM20,000. Maybe they didn't expect the response to be so good due to slowing economy.
brian14
post Apr 27 2009, 03:22 PM

39 posts

Anyway, I think the gov will release more bonds this year...
So if u missed this one...there shd be more coming....

Somehow I think the gov had been shaping up for these releases..
First they lowered the BLR, means more $$ u have to spend..
Then they lowered the FD rates...means less u trust ur $$ in bank
Then they give u more % with their bonds...wah, all jump ship....hahaha
MilesAndMore
post Apr 27 2009, 03:25 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(soul2soul @ Apr 27 2009, 02:25 PM)
One chinese lady just screamed at the managers when she cannot open any account ... feel a bit malu lar this chinese like that.... show some courtesy lor... not the malay staff fault mah.. they all only makan gaji only.. why so racist ler?
Don't think that has nothing to do being a racist. Bet you won't say so if the staff's a Chinese too ? More like she was very frustrated. Feel sorry for the Maybank staff though. But this always happens in the service sector. What to do ...

QUOTE(storekeeper @ Apr 27 2009, 02:30 PM)
You mean ASW2020 sure not open again for sell (bumi shares) right.? That one I can gets the picture

Correct.

but hoe about ASM.? It does not mentioned now many percent allocated to bumi or non-bumi. That day news say non-bumi share sold out oready.

It is said that 30% are reserved for Chinese during the initial offer but this has since been sold out. As far as i am concerned only Bumiputra and Indian lot are still available now.

My questions now is, just now they mentioned 4th May will open again for sell means ASM.? Selling balance from bumi to non-bumi.?
I think for ASM certain members said the remaining shares reserved for Bumiputra and Indian will be opened up for sale sometime in July. Assume that it is not sold out yet by July.

QUOTE(howszat @ Apr 27 2009, 02:32 PM)
Get a Bumi wife, or husband... smile.gif
Not a good idea. Because only he or she will be able to open a Bumi ASNB account. You might say you trust him/her with your money and will deposit the money into his/her ASB, ASW2020 or ASM account so you too, can enjoy higher return on your money but what if something suddenly happens and you guys file for divorce ? Many problems will arise. Better keep your money inside your own bank account bearing your name.

QUOTE(storekeeper @ Apr 27 2009, 02:39 PM)
Nice..If I can managed to get a Bumi wife I will invest ASB liao la.. ASM & ASW2020 put aside oready la lol.. Bumi girlfren / boyfren can be count or not.? lol..
NO YOU CAN'T. You are still NOT a Bumiputra when you marry a Bumi lady/guy. A Chinese or Indian converted to Islam is also NOT a Bumiputra. A Chinese or Indian marry a Muslim man or lady is NOT a Bumiputra either. Only the kids from such couple will entitle for Bumi status.

QUOTE(raoul @ Apr 27 2009, 02:39 PM)
I think he means get a Kadazan / Iban wife  biggrin.gif at least no need to convxxx
But still you won't be able to open a Bumi account yourself. Besides, Indian Kadazan is NOT Bumiputra. The constitution of Malaysia clearly states that ONLY Kadazan, Dusun, Sino-Kadazan (a Chinese marry a Kadazan and their kids will be known as Sino-Kadazan) are legal Bumiputra along with other Sabah indegenious ethnic groups. Not too sure how things work for Iban in Sarawak.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Apr 27 2009, 03:33 PM
storekeeper
post Apr 27 2009, 03:28 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(HMMaster @ Apr 27 2009, 03:14 PM)
Opening new account is just take too long! I hope that they can speed up the process in the future coz opening a new account take the most time (10-20mins?) Too bad that I dont have an account yet  cry.gif  sad.gif
Me.? I managed to open my account from start queue around 8.30am and done at 11.00pm. So many people play tumpang till one number can be 6 people.. Lastly the bank manager banned it haha.. luckly I manganed to tumpang my ex-schoolmate before he banned. laugh.gif
babana
post Apr 27 2009, 03:33 PM

too old; do not want
986 posts

QUOTE(storekeeper @ Apr 27 2009, 03:28 PM)
Me.? I managed to open my account from start queue around 8.30am and done at 11.00pm. So many people play tumpang till one number can be 6 people.. Lastly the bank manager banned it haha.. luckly I manganed to tumpang my ex-schoolmate before he banned. laugh.gif
thanks to ppl like u, honest folks who lined n queued up patiently at the back cant get their fair share mad.gif
n u still have the cheek to talk abt it n showing the smiley here vmad.gif

This post has been edited by babana: Apr 27 2009, 03:40 PM
baby2222
post Apr 27 2009, 03:34 PM

i think next time the government should set the limit that each person can put in 5,000 units instead of 20,000 units....at least everyone got a chance to buy it..lets make it that amanah saham is for everyone not only for the rich...sekali buy they buy for the whole family..thats why so fast all sapu habis...
storekeeper
post Apr 27 2009, 03:38 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Apr 27 2009, 03:25 PM)
Besides, Indian Kadazan is NOT Bumiputra. The constitution of Malaysia clearly states that ONLY Kadazan, Dusun, Sino-Kadazan (a Chinese marry a Kadazan and their kids will be known as Sino-Kadazan) are legal Bumiputra along with other Sabah indegenious ethnic groups. Not too sure how things work for Iban in Sarawak.

Woow..Mean sino-kadazan oso considered bumi.. sino girls is hot..lol.. In Sarawak Malay / Iban / Bidayuh / Kelabit / Kayan / Kenyah & others all are considered Bumi. Only Chinese are non-bumi lol..

QUOTE(babana @ Apr 27 2009, 03:33 PM)
thanks to ppl like u, honest folks who lined n queued up patiently at the back cant get their fair share  mad.gif
Maybe I did..but I play fair.. I gave my number to the needed person (auntie) that don't even have number.
Ps: Play smart..no offence. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by storekeeper: Apr 27 2009, 03:42 PM
Zack Styler
post Apr 27 2009, 03:44 PM

Things Happen for a Reason...
1,282 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Apr 27 2009, 03:25 PM)
Don't think that has nothing to do being a racist. Bet you won't say so if the staff's a Chinese too ? More like she was very frustrated. Feel sorry for the Maybank staff though. But this always happens in the service sector. What to do ...
Correct.
It is said that 30% are reserved for Chinese during the initial offer but this has since been sold out. As far as i am concerned only Bumiputra and Indian lot are still available now.
I think for ASM certain members said the remaining shares reserved for Bumiputra and Indian will be opened up for sale sometime in July. Assume that it is not sold out yet by July.
Not a good idea. Because only he or she will be able to open a Bumi ASNB account. You might say you trust him/her with your money and will deposit the money into his/her ASB, ASW2020 or ASM account so you too, can enjoy higher return on your money but what if something suddenly happens and you guys file for divorce ? Many problems will arise. Better keep your money inside your own bank account bearing your name.
NO YOU CAN'T. You are still NOT a Bumiputra when you marry a Bumi lady/guy. A Chinese or Indian converted to Islam is also NOT a Bumiputra. A Chinese or Indian marry a Muslim man or lady is NOT a Bumiputra either. Only the kids from such couple will entitle for Bumi status.
But still you won't be able to open a Bumi account yourself. Besides, Indian Kadazan is NOT Bumiputra. The constitution of Malaysia clearly states that ONLY Kadazan, Dusun, Sino-Kadazan (a Chinese marry a Kadazan and their kids will be known as Sino-Kadazan) are legal Bumiputra along with other Sabah indegenious ethnic groups. Not too sure how things work for Iban in Sarawak.
Just to add in, the bumiputras of East Malaysia consists of Sarawak - 30 ethnic tribes, Sabah - 32 ethnic tribes.. smile.gif
ViRaViRa
post Apr 27 2009, 03:53 PM

Think GOOD. Live WELL. Be HAPPY.
4,625 posts

I am wondering why many are going to the banks. I easily went to the post office, took number at 9:25am & was out by 9:45am (top-up)
storekeeper
post Apr 27 2009, 03:56 PM

64 posts

Top up money it does not take long time to do it. Only newly open account is really take long time for it. Plus I believe most of the banks only allocated one staff to whole doing the Amana Saham opening accounts.

This post has been edited by storekeeper: Apr 27 2009, 03:56 PM
babana
post Apr 27 2009, 04:05 PM

too old; do not want
986 posts

QUOTE(storekeeper @ Apr 27 2009, 03:38 PM)
Maybe I did..but I play fair.. I gave my number to the needed person (auntie) that don't even have number.
Ps: Play smart..no offence.  whistling.gif
play fair??? play smart??? its ppl like u who tarnish the image of malaysians as queue cutters. just ask urself whether its truly fair, o' wise n smart guy who deprived others queuing up at the back for their share mad.gif vmad.gif
jack2
post Apr 27 2009, 04:09 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Apr 27 2009, 03:53 PM)
I am wondering why many are going to the banks. I easily went to the post office, took number at 9:25am & was out by 9:45am (top-up)
May be all their monies are saved in banks... Thus, they need to withdraw from their accounts and transfer to ASW since only cash is accepted.

If they went to post office, they need to bring cash which is more dangerous.

Few months later I might need to sell my ASM for 10k, may be who wants it can grab from me.. hehe

125 Pages « < 84 85 86 87 88 > » Top

0.0272sec    1.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th December 2025 - 01:24 AM