QUOTE(cybersim2 @ Dec 5 2019, 10:10 AM)
I use Made in China CFL & LED lighting. They don't cost much.Planted Aquarium V14
Planted Aquarium V14
Dec 5 2019, 10:55 AM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
826 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
Dec 6 2019, 02:44 PM
QUOTE(olekosta @ Dec 5 2019, 07:20 PM) Hi.. Beginer here.. I dont know where to start first... Just bought 2ft tank... Still empty.. How to start put in soil or theme selection... Mohon tunjuk ajar To get an idea, watch videos on how to setup planted tank on YouTube.<a href='https://pictr.com/images/2019/12/05/5wbZJj.md.jpg' target='_blank'>https://pictr.com/images/2019/12/05/5wbZJj.md.jpg </a> |
Dec 7 2019, 01:31 PM
QUOTE(bayrowser @ Dec 7 2019, 01:11 PM) Hi, You can sell at Garage Sales section in this forum. Or shopee.I have previously given up on my planted tank but always thought I would start again. I now have decided to give it up permanently and looking to sell off the stuff I have - chiller, lights, pumps - even the large cabinet I have. The 5ft tank suffered a crack so thats been taken away. Any advice on where I can put these items up for sale - I am not looking for a high price at all - more like just to clear out my storeroom- so its a firesale! thanks for some selling advice - where should I post this?? if not here. cheers : |
Dec 8 2019, 10:12 AM
You can't do that here. Open a thread in garage sales section & post the link here.
Dec 11 2019, 03:29 PM
Whoa, that one is cheaper than Ista Aqua soil that I used in my tank.
Dec 18 2019, 04:27 PM
Pearling. So satisfying to watch.
Dec 25 2019, 05:36 PM
I have a bunch of Ludwigia sp. 'Dark Orange' & Bacopa caroliniana after trimming. How can I store them if I don't have extra tank? I hate throwing them away.
Bacopa caroliniana & Ludwigia sp. 'Dark Orange' |
Dec 26 2019, 03:30 PM
QUOTE(victorsoo @ Dec 26 2019, 09:52 AM) If you don't have place to store them, what I noticed people doing is that you can post it on FB - either sell them or trade with other people for other plants. Thanks. I'll try to find aquascapers nearby if they are interested.This post has been edited by kizwan: Jan 4 2020, 09:52 AM |
Dec 30 2019, 10:56 AM
This post has been edited by kizwan: Jan 4 2020, 09:52 AM |
Jan 4 2020, 09:51 AM
My albino BN plecos doing good very good job in keeping my driftwood clean. Also them together with ghost shrimps (mine riceland prawn) helps eats leftover food at the bottom.
Regarding riceland prawns, becareful with the adults because they are vicious, kill & eat small fish like guppies , even young plecos not safe. I feed the adults to my big fish. This post has been edited by kizwan: Jan 4 2020, 10:02 AM |
Jan 6 2020, 12:39 PM
Jan 11 2020, 10:10 AM
If anyone got fed up with algae bloom & thinking starting over or stop alltogether, watch this video.
QUOTE(Jenglot @ Jan 6 2020, 11:13 PM) Sorry for replying late. I live in bandar baharu, kedah. QUOTE(K-o-E @ Jan 9 2020, 11:01 PM) guys, Did you do water change after? I think don't do anything, just monitor for now & do water change frequently. Get a turkey baster & strap it to your syphon tube. This way while siphoning the water, you can use the turkey baster to blow organic matter on the substrate & will get suck out of the water.any "local" solutions to black hair algae? i spotted a few clumps on the stones and leaves. temporarily gotten rid of those on the stone with scrubbing and trimming out the leaves, but i afraid it will make a return. tank currently has a few small plecos, 5-6 pieces of malaya shrimps, about 10 pieces of small fish similar to guppies and baby nerite snails. tank has timers that control the light which is on for 6.5 hours, and co2 injected. i dont have a light meter but it is certainly not at the brightest setup; light is dimmable - currently about 3 steps down from brightest. fish and other creatures are fed on alternate days. perhaps reducing the light further and lesser foods? |
Jan 17 2020, 10:34 AM
Can anyone recommend place where I can buy amano shrimps & nerite snails?
Jan 18 2020, 11:45 AM
Jan 24 2020, 03:22 PM
QUOTE(Dlee4896 @ Jan 24 2020, 12:36 PM) Anyone tried Walstad aquarium method? Planning to do it but don't know which kind of organic soil is usable... Boleh intro intro? You can use the cheapo organic soil with compost. That doesn't contain chemical. Gravel or sand on top as a cap. Choose plants properly. I did share list of plants in this thread. You can find it by filter my name. |
Feb 8 2020, 09:56 PM
QUOTE(DjTranceHan @ Feb 4 2020, 03:57 PM) I planning to make back and side aquarium with wall moss and at the back full with jungle val. For middle bunch of drift wood with moss. All I know java moss require heater & good water current. Unless you have aircon turn on, at most water temp drop to 29 - 30C at night or during raining in our climate. Need advice what temperature should moss to stay green and the lighting? QUOTE(Foxngn @ Feb 8 2020, 09:20 PM) Hi guys, All beneficial bacteria are on the surface like on the glass wall, deco, driftwood, filter material, etc. There is no benefit in reusing water from your current aquarium. If you reuse the filter from your current aquarium, at best it speed up the cycle, not eliminate it.I just purchase a 30cm cube, i would like to ask if i were had setup everything. Can i just transfer abt 50% - 60% from my existing tank, as well as i will straight transfer the current canister filter to the new tank. Can this eliminate the need for cycle? |
Feb 10 2020, 03:55 PM
QUOTE(Foxngn @ Feb 9 2020, 03:41 PM) I wish to transfer all the hardscape as well, but they all cover with algae, im not sure going to use it or not. Well if the hardscape covered with algae then your current tank is not balanced yet. People usually recycle hardscape & filter media including substrate from balanced tank to new tank.But most probably i will move some of the substrate to it though I would suggest focus your resources on the current tank. Figure out why algae is blooming in it. If you keep starting over whenever you have algae problem, you will not learn anything & it just going to waste your money. |
Mar 1 2020, 12:44 PM
QUOTE(Luis21 @ Feb 29 2020, 03:18 PM) for java moss and some plant for my shrimp tank, currently using e27holder 10w 6500k led bulb, and my moss turning yellow, so thinking of getting a proper aquatic led, Maybe it is not light issue per se but temperature as well. Did you check your water temperature in your tank? Did it go beyond 30C? I once managed to get a clump of java moss staying green (but it is not bright green) in complete darkness for a week or two.noted, thanks for the suggestion You don't specifically need proper aquatic led actually. |
Mar 1 2020, 11:59 PM
QUOTE(Luis21 @ Mar 1 2020, 11:19 PM) Even with fan it still affected by room temperature. Sorry, I can't advice you anymore on the java moss & whether you need a water chiller or not but temperature look OK to me. Mine died because of BBA. My mistake is my light too bright & this caused the algae to grow on the moss.This is after I do some reading:- - yellow pretty much mean your moss is dead - dimmer light is the way to go - moss grow faster at lower temperature ~21 to 24C - I found several aquascapers that also have yellow problem when light is too bright If you have some part that still green, try save that. Try adjust your light position a bit higher. |
Mar 30 2020, 02:19 PM
QUOTE(mtgh @ Mar 29 2020, 08:10 PM) I am confused by co2 cylinder thread gs5/8 and I did little google & I found "This ista CO2 bottle uses the American CO2 valve thread size CGA 320".W21.8 Our standard regulator like ista is which type? Thamks Source: https://www.google.com/search?q=ista+co2+re...chrome&ie=UTF-8 You may need converter like W21.8 to CGA 320. |
| Change to: | 0.1168sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:45 PM |