Planted Aquarium V14
fookie
Sep 22 2016, 12:15 PM
I'm trying black-out method for my tank. My hairgrass and flame moss is plagued with BBA.
Yesterday night was day 3, i opened up and shone some light into the tank and it seems like the BBA is still there, no color change on the BBA and the BBAs doesn't seem weakened.
I'm trying for a few more days. Ideas or tips anyone?
fookie
Sep 22 2016, 03:26 PM
QUOTE(artsyfarty @ Sep 22 2016, 12:31 PM) Blackout is good for hair, green spot, green dust algae. I think BBA need spot treatment (H2O2, Seacheam excel...) QUOTE(usmanjailani @ Sep 22 2016, 02:32 PM) just make sure there a gap between blackout session..3day off, 3day on, 3day off and so on until satisfied..if go straight 6day off then pokok also can die.. if want faster result, spot treatment with h202 or others. i'm kinda afraid to use h2o2. first time i used, i lost like 50% of my shrimps.
fookie
Sep 23 2016, 01:32 PM
QUOTE(artsyfarty @ Sep 22 2016, 05:32 PM) I experienced the same thing. You can either isolate the shrimp or take out the wood/rock/plant with BBA and do isolated treatment. I can't isolate now. I have baby shrimps in my tank. Sayang la if they die. QUOTE(kurangak @ Sep 23 2016, 08:16 AM) isnt bba cause mainly becoz insufficient co2? try bumping up ur co2? I'm not sure. But so far my co2 indicator is lime green all the time.
fookie
Sep 26 2016, 04:41 PM
QUOTE(kurangak @ Sep 26 2016, 03:09 PM) when is the last time u changed the reagent in ur indicator  reagant every 2 months. I've concluded. blackout doesn't work for BBA at all.
fookie
Nov 7 2016, 07:24 PM
Hi guys, i recall someone said that the co2 have to be turned on about 1 hour before the lights are on and the co2 also have to be turned off 1 hour before the lights are off. Can someone clarify?
fookie
Nov 8 2016, 08:31 PM
QUOTE(usermode @ Nov 7 2016, 10:09 PM) if you use solenoid, then yes that setting would maximize the efficiency and save ur co2 (since u got solenoid liao). - start co2 1hr before lights on: so when ur light on, plants straight away kickstart photosynthesis with carbon source already in the water. - off co2 1hr before lights off: so in the last hour of photoperiod, ur plants sucks up all the remaining balance co2 in the water and rest assure no co2 spike later at night for fishes. but it's NOT A MUST do. i never use solenoid. all my co2 system is using manual and i turn on 24/7. never had problem (related to this). This. Is what I'm looking for. Haha thanks!
fookie
Nov 24 2016, 05:58 PM
I'm thinking of moving my fishes & shrimps to a separate tank and injecting very high dosage of co2 to kill off the BBAs.
Thoughts guys? Will high dosage of co2 kill BBAs?
fookie
Nov 25 2016, 11:10 AM
QUOTE(jctasoga @ Nov 25 2016, 10:57 AM) i think it will not work well because co2 will dissipate before it touches the BBAs. better nuke it with excel to ensure more effectiveness. I've tried h2o2. But after a few weeks, it'll come back.
fookie
Nov 29 2016, 03:37 PM
QUOTE(vandechrome @ Nov 29 2016, 10:35 AM) thanks guys! AFAIK, Aquacult is in Penang right? googled edi, couldnt find any KL outlet. https://www.facebook.com/Aquacult-Studio-Da...63259540547309/
fookie
Dec 29 2016, 06:06 PM
QUOTE(frankzane @ Dec 29 2016, 06:04 PM) 2 feet, common aquatic plant (Val, Sword plant, Cabomba, etc). No specific budget. thanks. this guy's root tabs are cheap and reliable. https://www.facebook.com/kedaiufo/
fookie
Dec 30 2016, 12:20 PM
QUOTE(frankzane @ Dec 29 2016, 06:12 PM) Thanks...but shop too far...wonder if they courier? yes, he couriers. but if you need it urgently, he does have a reseller in ipoh & kl.
fookie
Jan 5 2017, 09:22 PM
fookie
Jan 10 2017, 12:26 PM
Can black sand / silica sand be used as substrate for aquascaping? I'm planning to put only java ferns, amazon swords and anubias.
Main concern here is the soil is loose and the plants might float. Any experience here?
This post has been edited by fookie: Jan 10 2017, 12:29 PM
fookie
Jan 19 2017, 11:45 AM
QUOTE(Punanister @ Jan 18 2017, 11:53 PM) My DIY CO2 thing just came today. Now I need to find 2L soda bottles. All groceries only have 1.5's. DIY is for really low tech / maintenance tank. Suggest you spend more moolah to get a manual regulator. Like what the other sifus mentioned before, just let it run at low bps all the time. If you have unstable co2 levels in your tank, algaes are inevitable.
fookie
Feb 17 2017, 05:58 PM
QUOTE(psyduck89 @ Feb 14 2017, 03:28 PM) i tried, ceramic cloged, no air can be pass tru..  Did you scrub the ceramic? under no circumstances, you should scrub the ceramic even with the thinnest bristle. I learned my lesson last time. Ceramic diffuser became a stone bubble.
fookie
Feb 21 2017, 05:15 PM
QUOTE(frankzane @ Feb 20 2017, 01:48 PM) You meant scrub or dont' scrub? DON'T scrub.
fookie
Feb 22 2017, 02:21 PM
QUOTE(frankzane @ Feb 22 2017, 01:29 PM) If don't scrub how to clean ya? Nowadays even the most basic ceramic type cost a bomb! some use bleach, some use vinegar etc. etc.
fookie
Apr 24 2017, 07:45 PM
Anyone interested in eriocaulon sp. polaris? RM20 each. Get more then 3 pcs RM15 each. Sapu all special price. Self collect at Wangsa Maju. https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=4274081
fookie
Apr 24 2017, 07:45 PM
QUOTE(davido @ Apr 24 2017, 06:37 PM) Thanks for the tip. I googled it and indeed its a gem for CO2 refills. http://umbrellarec.blogspot.my/2011/09/co2...e-syarikat.htmlUnfortunately Sg Besi is quite far for me. Any place around PJ or Damansara would be great. Any idea what company is Syarikat City Corporation? It's a fire extinguisher company.
fookie
Aug 14 2017, 11:33 PM
Has anyone seen these red spots on their driftwoods bedore? Attached thumbnail(s)