4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Planted Aquarium V14

victorsoo
post Jan 10 2018, 05:25 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(secondrate @ Jan 10 2018, 05:02 PM)
According to the internet can. I use CO2 replacement (Seachem Excel) but I think should be fine gua, maybe slower growing? I also use a lot of fertilizers (trace and NPK) so mine grows super fast. I can pass you some to try when they regrow.

In gravel you can try "water sprite" and cabomba but to me they don't look good and the little leaves get everywhere. Anacharis (elodea) also works but don't use with Excel cause it melts the leaves.

If not in gravel can try anubias, Java fern and Java moss. Don't need to be planted. In my pics can see the anubias and Java moss on the big wood in the middle.

I also have "giant hygro" (H. corymbosa) but grows slower and needs a lot of potassium supplements. Maybe in a few months I can give them away as well  flex.gif
I have elodea in my tank. Grows like weeds even in gravel and without ferts. laugh.gif
Also tried cabomba before but I agree with you, the leaves get everywhere and they seem to need very strong light.

I think a few people are waiting for your dwarf hygro cuttings already so I will take a number and get in line. laugh.gif
victorsoo
post Jan 24 2018, 08:31 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(secondrate @ Jan 24 2018, 07:55 PM)
Sorry if anyone wants any plants from me or I didn't reply someone. I'm currently recovering from pneumonia sad.gif
Get well soon, bro. I heard sitting in front of your aquarium and staring at fish helps. laugh.gif
victorsoo
post Mar 2 2018, 12:11 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(Dlee4896 @ Mar 2 2018, 11:08 AM)
any idea on "birth control" for the guppy.... started with 4 end up more than 20+ in 8month times...
LOL. Keep only males. biggrin.gif
victorsoo
post Dec 24 2018, 10:07 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(haimirmaya @ Dec 23 2018, 12:09 PM)

Guys. Seeking for your advise.
Just got my guppy aqua last night but barely can't to keep water crytal clear like yours above. This aqua come with the water filter. Is it not enough?
Do I need to put cemical agent like Clarity?

Planning to add more plants later. Life plants.
This usually happens if your water is not cycled. Maybe you could try putting some activated carbon which can help keep your water clear.
victorsoo
post Jul 11 2019, 11:23 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(junsheng @ Jul 11 2019, 09:42 AM)
not sure if u miss out anything but i will slightly guide u on the things u mention

3. light for planted tank is quite a investment, and if u let your light on for 8 hours a day, u nid to change out after 3-4 years even it is LED
finnex, wave point, viv brand etc their LED lifespans is not gud u will see they start to wear out in the 2-3 years (light is not bright as last time)
fluval, eheim, twinstar etc their LED can last 3-4 years but driver die fast due to heat, hard to order the parts in malaysia
gud 1 like ADA & kessil will burn holes in ur wallet

i have tried mani brand, in the end i was convinced by ujelly to use cheap philips / orsam bulb, many brand are cheating consumers using the full spectrum marketing
which had not much effect compare to light intensity PAR, generally philips CFL which last 2 years or LED 3-4 years tat which produce 1300 lumens give 80 PAR at 13 inch height sufficient to grow HC
their spectrum is gud can match reputable brand like twinstar, then pair those with ikea fixture like desk lamp which can adjust height for adjusting the intensity
https://www.ikea.com/my/en/p/tertial-work-l...-grey-40450802/
https://www.ikea.com/my/en/p/hektar-pendant...-grey-80390359/

Hi bro. I'm interested to know how is your lighting setup using those CFL bulbs. Possible for you to share any photos of your lighting setup? hmm.gif

Many LFS I see also still using fluorescent tube over their tanks and their plants also growing well so I did wonder before if it was necessary to spend so much on those expensive LED light. Like you said, might be marketing gimmick only.
victorsoo
post Jul 12 2019, 10:54 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(junsheng @ Jul 11 2019, 07:44 PM)
this photo is not my tank but it look like this, for the small tank, i'm not using CFL but LED bulbs, mainly bcauz of the heat
to adjust the light intensity by adjusting the height

well it is not really marketing gimmick, but half truth, it is true tat plant absorb blue & red end of the spectrum better thn green
but wat they didn't tell u is blue & red spectrum does not penetrate well, brand like twinstar & kessil does have optical 2 help the light penetrate
thn they also didn't tell u how much light (PAR) reach the substrate, like green light spectrum with 1300 lumen light bulb generally at 13 inch height gives 70-80 par
where blue & red does not and how much PAR it gives at 13 inch height they didn't tell, unless u buy a par meter to measure which is very expensive

thn it is not like normal CFL & led bulb does not have blue & red spectrum, they do have it
like a 3000k bulb have higher red spectrum 6000k bulb have higher blue spectrum

then having a gud light doesn't mean success, bcauz u still have other variables to look into like CO2 & nutrients
example HC plant in nature only need 60 par of light and 30 ppm of CO2 to grow well
if you were to increase to 120 par of light then 30 ppm of CO2 is not going to be sufficient
then u still haven't count in water circulation (flow of nutrients), temperature (at higher temp gas is not going to be easily dissolve in water)
thn fish waste & food waste & nutrients in the water, when one of the parameters whn off, like CO2 it will stun the grow of your plants
& when waste & nutrients is not used up, it is a recipe for algae growth, then u have another thing to concern about algae fighting for nutrients with your plants
if your plants start to rot, then another variable to concern about, plants waste

so in the end it all come down to how much time u r willing to spend control the variables
n i won't denial, if ur spend ur moneh correctly especially on the expensive parts it sure make ur life little bit easier
but the problem is parts replacement availability in malaysia, i'm not master of the cheap way as last time i just buy expensive stuff
only recently annoyed and change to the cheap way, if u want 2 learn more u can ask ujelly
Wow, thank you for the detailed advice. I only have a small low-tech tank at the moment so CO2 level is not an issue. Usually it's the light intensity because the lights that I have bought before are either not intense enough or too intense. I've seen some full spectrum LED sold at some LFS that come with dimmer control but of course those are very expensive.

For sure those very beautiful planted tanks people spend many hours to control all the variables. So I myself am also guilty of not spending enough time maintaining so cannot complain much also. laugh.gif

But I enjoyed reading what you shared with the other forumer about starting a planted tank. Can learn a lot from there. nod.gif
victorsoo
post Jul 15 2019, 11:39 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(Clueless07 @ Jul 15 2019, 11:11 AM)
Been cycling for last 48hrs.
Running 8 hrs light and CO2

Should I do a partial water change?
And how do I know if it is suitable to put back the fishes?
Do you have a test kit? Useful to have one especially when starting a new setup so you can test for ammonia and nitrate levels because your new Amazonia will leech ammonia.

Eventhough you used old tank water and starter bacteria to cycle, you should still let it cycle a few days or up to a week. But important is to test the water and do a water change if ammonia readings are high.
victorsoo
post Aug 22 2019, 10:26 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(kizwan @ Aug 22 2019, 09:45 AM)
Update: I have algae problem which I expected because the tutorial I follow have this problem too. However, the shrimp that I ordered when I started this tank did not arrived. So algae have spread pretty bad. I managed to get an algae eater snail & fish.

The only problem is that the snail destroyed my Rotala Indica. I put the snail for now in my non-planted tank. The snail is pretty good in clearing algae though. I read Rotala Indica is breakable plant, so go figure. Lol

I end up re-planted new Rotala Indica, also another species of plant & floating plants.

Is there any online store that allow me to buy aquatic plants & algae eater shrimp? Local of course.
Looks like an apple snail. They are quite aggressive with plants and they eat very fast.

Online aquatic stores, maybe you can explore these:
1. Beebies Mart
2. Ace Story Aquatic
3. Aquacult Studio
victorsoo
post Aug 26 2019, 03:34 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(kizwan @ Aug 22 2019, 03:05 PM)
Thanks. I read that we can feed them boiled vegetables. Is any vegetables will do?
For snails? Yeah, any boiled green leafy vegetable will do. Some people feed cucumbers also.

QUOTE(kizwan @ Aug 26 2019, 01:37 PM)
Thank you.  thumbup.gif  I just planted a few. Hopefully everything all right.
Anacharis is a very low maintenance plant and they grow like weeds. You can even leave them floating and they will grow just fine.

This post has been edited by victorsoo: Aug 26 2019, 03:37 PM
victorsoo
post Aug 29 2019, 09:54 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(Zontes @ Aug 29 2019, 02:55 AM)
Newbie here wanted to start keeping fish as pet, may i know does normal fish shop sells aquatic plants?
AFAIK, most fish shops sell aquatic plants. Just whether they sell many varieties or not.
victorsoo
post Sep 4 2019, 10:06 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(kizwan @ Sep 3 2019, 08:24 PM)
Same here. Green algae destroyed my Rotala Indica. Managed to salvage some of them. I have 6 (lazy) Albino Bristlenose Pleco & 4 Albino Corydoras reinforcement to take care algae.

Didn't you have a pair of Apple Snail in your tank?
Hmm, from what I know corydoras don't eat algae. Plecos are okay but yeah, they can get lazy. laugh.gif
Maybe you can try looking for a few otocinclus to help with your algae problem.
victorsoo
post Sep 5 2019, 10:07 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(kizwan @ Sep 4 2019, 11:20 AM)
I first thought that too. The shopkeeper told me that too. I bought two anyway because they're cute & tiny but they turn out devour the green algae when I put them in the tank. So I got two more. Some articles claim they are carnivores while others claim they are omnivores.

Hopefully Rotala Indica grow fine this time.
Lucky you then. My corys never bother to eat my algae so I use otos and cherry shrimps. Maybe your algae sedaps so your corys eat. laugh.gif

Good luck with your rotala. I never had luck with rotala in my tank. Twice I planted, twice melted. Although the guy at the fish shop did warn me that rotala needs CO2 to grow well and I decided to risk it.
victorsoo
post Oct 16 2019, 09:45 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(N900rocks @ Oct 16 2019, 08:05 AM)
hi guys, im new to aquascaping. im thinking to build a betta tank. any suggestion where i can get nice and affordable fish tank or even custom made one? so far ive been asking from taobao but most of them dont deliver to malaysia though.

im from sunway, selangor. so klang valley is fine for me
Maybe you can try Fish Depot in Aman Suria. They have quite a lot of tank options and I overheard customers enquiring about custom made tanks before too.
victorsoo
post Oct 18 2019, 05:34 PM

53 posts

Legend.

This post has been edited by victorsoo: Oct 18 2019, 05:38 PM
victorsoo
post Oct 24 2019, 10:54 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(N900rocks @ Oct 23 2019, 10:38 PM)
Hi Guys,

Im very new to aquascaping, im here to share my experience and hope to learn more from sifu2 and otai2.

My intention is to set up a tank with low maintenance (mainly because dont want to bleed too much), hence i opt to no CO2.

Lets start with

[/U]Equipment[/U]
Tank - Crystal Clear 40x40x40 (64L)
Filter - Shiruba Hang On filter XB-2060 (Max 400L/h)
Light - Deebow Dee-301 (7W)

Soil - Ista Premium Aqua Soil 8L
Gravel - Pro JBL Florapol
Fert - Ista water plant fertilizer
Ista - Clarifying Nitrifying Bacteria

Most of the items were bought from Fish Depot. Great shop btw.

So because this is my first tank, i did some research, and together with some advices from the salesperson (he seems like he knows what he is selling)

I put gravel first, then fert, then aqua soil.

(before planting)

I did wash and let the scapewood and stone rendam for a day, to wash away all the yellowish and dust.
As mentioned, i aim to build a low tech tank, hence i went to aquacult, to get some advice , bought the below low maintenance plant:

1)Anubias wave leaf
2)Anubias barteri var nana
3)Anubias golden nana
4)Rotala red
5)Thalicerodes
6)Aquatica
7)Limnophila sessiliflora
8)mini hairgrass wabikusa
9)monte carlo wabikusa
10)Java Moss

(after planting)
here is what went wrong, i believe most beginners are like me, very excited and cant wait to get everything in place.

I used aqua friendly super glue to glue java moss, and all my anubias plant.

I damn regret for not taking care of it, and just simply glue it to the hardcape. some batang patah because of the use of force.

then when planting those taller plant, some i didnt put deep enough, while some, due to first time plant, the root patah in half when i plant.

as for java moss, after removing it from the iron, i just simply glue and paste.

today is day three, after setting up everything on last sunday.

I found my rotala red, go botak, left a few leaves at the bottom part, my limnophila like melted. when i touch the leaf, it putus right away.  then a few leaves from anubias turned yellow, because the stem snapped in half. some moss is turning brown at the glue part.

its only day three and i already getting frustrated, i cant wait to see them grow and go green  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

so im thinking if i should get some shrimp this weekend. help to manage my dead leaves. ive been having the thought of rescaping alrd. but its too expensive to buy those plant again.

so yea, thats all from me. So sifu2 sekali, please ajar me how to make it better. should i remove all the plant and replant?

heres side views foto.

i on 7-8 hours before i sleep. and off before i head to work.

night view

I'm no expert but here are some thoughts based on my experience with my low tech tank. Plant melt is common for a newly setup planted tank because your parameters are still wonky and some plants cannot adapt from the parameters in the fish shop to yours. Personally, I find rotala and limnophila sessiliflora quite temperamental as I have had little success with them for quite some time until recently. Also, I think plants like mini hairgrass and monte carlo require CO2 to thrive/survive.

Perhaps what you can do is take out the plants that are not doing well, remove all the melted parts and dead leaves and replant the stems that are still green. Is your ista fert the root tab kind or liquid? If it is the root tab kind, you might want to have some liquid fert like Seachem Flourish to dose in your water.

Yeah, I can understand the cost of buying those plants. If you need to replace some plants, try going for really hardy plants like anacharis (egeria densa) - Fish Depot sells it. It grows like a weed in a low tech setup and can help to balance your tank conditions for starters. Try not to introduce any livestock yet as your tank is not fully cycled - you might end up killing them instead.

Another forumer here kizwan is also doing a low tech setup. He may be able to offer you more advice from his experience.
victorsoo
post Oct 25 2019, 10:54 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(N900rocks @ Oct 24 2019, 02:45 PM)
woah thats really some good info there ! thank you! also im getting mossball and duckweed. will run the cycle with weekly 20-30% water change for a month before putting live stock.

the fert is root tab like, thanks for the suggestion though. but wont too much fertiliser make my algae goes nut? i had about 6 fert roottab in it
If you have enough plants, they will absorb the nutrients and prevent algae from blooming. Since you don't have livestock, as long as you have lots of plants and don't leave your light on for more than 8 hours a day, you can dose some liquid ferts to help.

QUOTE(N900rocks @ Oct 24 2019, 08:13 PM)
im wondering do you guys have a whatsapp group? so we can share better

this little one is growing taller. not sure why 😂😂

i also added duckweed in it. most of it has its root detached. can i still put in my tank?
Haha. I'm not aware if there is a WhatsApp group. But you can join the Malaysian Aquascaping Club Facebook group and post your questions there too to get more advice.

Duckweed is great for balancing water parameters. They spread very fast though so beware. laugh.gif

victorsoo
post Oct 30 2019, 10:12 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(N900rocks @ Oct 29 2019, 11:57 PM)
ahhh! that thing is called canister filter and lily pipe. i didnt dare to ask the seller dude  i thought some canggih filter i probably cant afford. thanks for the suggestion though, but probably nrxt month, more budget for this. then i can change. looks really cool.

btw are these tiny hair below algae? i dont have any livestock though. anyway im gonna do some soil cleaning plus 30% water change this weekend.

I'm not familiar with moss ball but that monte carlo looks like it's got algae growing already. You could try trimming off the parts that aren't covered with algae and see if it helps.

Personally, I think you have a decent HOB filter already. I've been using my Dophin H500 HOB filter for over 4 years already for my 45cm tank and still works fine. whistling.gif
victorsoo
post Nov 1 2019, 05:47 PM

53 posts

Aquascaping techniques masterclass.

victorsoo
post Nov 4 2019, 09:50 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(N900rocks @ Nov 3 2019, 05:55 PM)
hi guys, i just bought amano shrimps, cherry shrimps and 2 zebra nerite snail today. i did let them get used to the water temperature before putting them in the tank.

but im not sure why most of them like to cluster in a corner. are they afraid and still trying to get used to new tank ?

Erm, something died? laugh.gif

My shrimps only do that when they're picking on some dead carcass.
victorsoo
post Dec 26 2019, 09:52 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(kizwan @ Dec 25 2019, 05:36 PM)
I have a bunch of Ludwigia sp. 'Dark Orange' & Bacopa caroliniana after trimming. How can I store them if I don't have extra tank? I hate throwing them away.

user posted imageBacopa caroliniana & Ludwigia sp. 'Dark Orange'
If you don't have place to store them, what I noticed people doing is that you can post it on FB - either sell them or trade with other people for other plants.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.1294sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:29 AM