Planted Aquarium V14

usmanjailani
post Jan 27 2016, 03:52 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(davido @ Jan 27 2016, 01:08 PM)
Yes usman, I use CO2.
I remember you used to find some interesting plants at the sungai. How did they work out?
its not entirely sungai..just some stream between waterfall..it going well..from 3 leaves to maybe around 8 or maybe 9..even new sprout coming out before..

the growth is not that significant..maybe because i put it in between pack of vallis..later i try take some pic..
usmanjailani
post May 26 2016, 03:29 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(kimimaro_kun @ May 24 2016, 05:42 PM)
silver flying fox is better than sae
#truestory
any supplier in jb?
usmanjailani
post May 26 2016, 03:33 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ May 18 2016, 06:10 PM)
Just realized that Dophin is a Malaysian brand. I never knew that.

http://www.kwzone.com/contact.htm
wait..JB??..that's the main road to the cinema..why i didn't perasan it before?.

stalk using google street view..didn't saw any signage pun..
usmanjailani
post May 30 2016, 11:19 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(davido @ May 27 2016, 02:27 PM)
Wanted to post this BBA update for sometime, but did not have the time (until now).

So in the first pic, I applied Excel at full strength to the Buce using a brush. Yes, I removed it from the tank first, and retied it to another stone. You can see the result. All the BBA cleared from it after about a week, but I also notice the plant shed a lot of leaves and that leaf looked like burnt by acid. The other leaves are doing better though, but there's no doubt that full strength Excel does the job, but also harms the plant to an extent.

Another thing I did was to increase my CO2 to 30ppm. And to stabilize the PH as much as possible during the photo period. For the record, I was pumping 2.5bps for 10 hours. Now increased to 4bps and started injecting 2 hours before lights on, so in total its 12 hours.

Its been almost 2 weeks now with this new CO2 setup. For those who are interested, this had a positive effect on controlling BBA and I thought I'd share this for those who are also combating BBA. It have receded, not fully, but I can see visible and conclusive results that CO2 really does get BBA under control. I'll try to post some more updates later.

Cheers.
what about fish?.can they cope with 4bps for 12hours duration?
usmanjailani
post Jul 19 2016, 05:21 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(artsyfarty @ Jul 19 2016, 04:49 PM)
I see, decided to cut all the leaves and see how it goes.
Anyway, I have some extra equipments for sale - T5 light and skimmers (large and small), link at below.
nice item..no money d..
usmanjailani
post Jul 26 2016, 01:01 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(fookie @ Jul 26 2016, 12:32 PM)
My tank is about 5 months old. But i just got the rasboras last week. Could you define stable?
i think he referring to stable water parameter..

on the side note, my cherry barb looks really red when it healthy and eating good food..im giving hikari micro pellets..
usmanjailani
post Jul 26 2016, 01:44 PM

174 posts

not sure if it can be redder than this..but I'm satisfied looking at it swim around the tank..

pls ignore those fluffy algae at the back. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by usmanjailani: Jul 26 2016, 01:46 PM
usmanjailani
post Jul 26 2016, 02:24 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(fookie @ Jul 26 2016, 02:11 PM)
I had cherry barbs last time but they're not shrimp friendly. I bought like 20 cherry shrimps and dumped them into my tank. Those cherry barbs had them for supper and breakfast. Those red cherry barbs are males, those brownish ones are females.
i bought male and female just in case they're feeling abit lonely..haha..plus it could make the dominant male more reddish than normal..

QUOTE(artsyfarty @ Jul 26 2016, 02:10 PM)
Very nice!! How long have you keep them? I need to choose some fishes for my rescaped 60cm. Somehow I always get attracted to cherry barb.
emm..going to be 1 year i guess..still, i remember the first time seeing it at fish shop and it's really red and fat..haha..at that point it's on my wanted list..
usmanjailani
post Jul 26 2016, 03:12 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(artsyfarty @ Jul 26 2016, 02:28 PM)
When you first bought it, it should be quite pale yeah? That's what I always see in the first shop. Until you put it in planted tank and well fed, it will become redder, and even redder when it's ready for mating.

I used to have them as well, I like how they always swim through holes and plants to find food, which is dangerous for baby shrimps.
yup..quite pale in their selling tank..but in the shop display planted tank its look really healthy..will try to introduce cherry shrimps if my shrimp tank is over populated..
usmanjailani
post Jul 26 2016, 03:44 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(fookie @ Jul 26 2016, 03:35 PM)
Usually in the shop, they're stressed and they'lll look pale. After a few days or maybe a week, it'll turn full red. Like this ---> mad.gif
Cherry barbs are fun to watch when they're schooling but they're not really shrimp friendly. I've even seen them nibble on my HCs before. ranting.gif
Cherry shrimps and cherry barbs does not mix. I've seen my cherry barbs attacking my amanos before too.
yup..but if the shrimp tank is overpopulated, it might become a better snack to the fish.. devil.gif
usmanjailani
post Jul 26 2016, 04:22 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(fookie @ Jul 26 2016, 03:48 PM)
What shrimps do you have in your tank? Sell some to me at a discounted price if it's overpopulated. biggrin.gif
hahaha..actually this is my second attemp..i just starting last 2 weeks with 10 cherry shrimp..so still a lot to be learn practically though already reading about shrimp for 1yr back..

so hopefully those shrimp can be my small secondary income besides being my fish snack..
usmanjailani
post Jul 27 2016, 05:34 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(psyduck89 @ Jul 27 2016, 05:10 PM)
Any disadvantaged of having normal tank.instead of aluminum 1?
My friend recommended me to get aluminum 1...

One of the reason i get a small cylinder is becoz i.don want to caught ny moms attention... laugh.gif
ugly looking gas tank vs aluminium finish gas tank..
cheap cost per volume vs expensive cost per volume (only for buying the tank, refilling cost would be standard depending on the volume i guess)..

pretty sure your mom will question u if she saw the fire extinguisher..
usmanjailani
post Jul 28 2016, 10:15 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Jul 28 2016, 09:56 AM)
actually very easy only. just put in like 2-3 assassin snails. can get rid of them easily, but make sure you remove all other snails la.
do puffer fish eat small snail only or any snail it sees?.or it depend on puffer fish size?
usmanjailani
post Aug 2 2016, 11:37 AM

174 posts

niceeeee..

just wondering..does tannin from wood/ketapang affecting how the plant grow?..it's not on blackwater level, just a bit tint of tannin..
usmanjailani
post Aug 2 2016, 03:07 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(artsyfarty @ Aug 2 2016, 12:01 PM)
Apparently it doesn't, mine is quite tannin...
even in long term?.
usmanjailani
post Aug 5 2016, 09:27 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(davlee @ Aug 4 2016, 05:12 PM)
I am facing this issue also and reading from internet really makes you headache... If it's on your hairgrass, yes, you can just trim the top part. Mine is stucked on my driftwood and moss... Some ppl suggested higher CO2, some suggested using seachem phosguard, some said h2o2..  rclxub.gif
h2o2 works for me..spot treatment using syringe..carefully read instruction on the net and description on your bottle..there's 1 time i thought 3% & 6% concentrated is not much different..the net using 3% type, mine is 6%, and i use same dose just like on the net..and boommm..more than half of my fish population (neon+cherry barb) died.. T_T

3 days blackout also works..if it doesn't, try doing 3days blackout - 3days light and follow by another 3days blackout..

did try zero algae..this one is super strong liaoo..half of recommended dosing is quite enough..or maybe 60% from recommended dosing..dont try doing full dosing..

never try excel..
usmanjailani
post Aug 5 2016, 09:37 AM

174 posts

is bio ring is enough for HOB filter or should invest on the other one?.

they got bigger box..maybe double this size.

usmanjailani
post Aug 5 2016, 12:38 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(davlee @ Aug 5 2016, 11:59 AM)
Guess I have the liberty to play with the zero algae as my tank is without any fauna right now.
use zero algae with caution bro..if have shrimp then i dont recommend as it might be to strong..mind you i only have 2 yamato and no cute2 shrimp..

QUOTE(davido @ Aug 5 2016, 10:43 AM)
It depends, bro. On your tank's bio load. For shrimp only tanks or nano tank with fishes, I think ok. For 2 footer planted tank with fishes, then no.
this one is for my 1.5ft tank..only have 3 guppies and 2 yamato..the water turn to cloudy white and some recommended using biohome, but that one might cost me too much..
usmanjailani
post Aug 8 2016, 09:35 AM

174 posts

what color u see?..is this too much or just ok?.taken after 4hour injecting co2..

i'm trying "increasing co2" method in fighting bba in my 2.5ft..
usmanjailani
post Aug 8 2016, 10:33 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(davido @ Aug 8 2016, 10:07 AM)
From the color I see, too much CO2.  Target is lime green, but I think yours look like Lemon Yellow already tongue.gif
2 parts to the equation. Part 1 - lime green CO2. Part 2 - stable CO2 during photo period.

This means you need to start injecting CO2 before lights on. So once lights on, your drop checker is almost lime green. So maybe 1-2 hours later, it becomes lime green and stays that way until lights out.

You need to play with your setup - for me, I started injecting 2 hours before lights on, 4 bps (3 footer, 160 liters tank) and cut 15 minutes before lights off. Not saying you should follow my timing, but you need to find your own setup to try to keep your CO2 as stable as possible during the photo period.

If you have shrimps, observe closely. My shrimp activity, feeding, breeding - all drop like crazy. 3-4 weeks later, no sight of BBA.
I have since set my CO2 back to its original setup but a wee bit higher. Its been 3 or 4 weeks now - finally saw shrimplets during WC yesterday. I believe this is all related to CO2.

Good luck.
ic..i start my co2 2hours before light..off 1hour before light..the checker solution always giving light/clear color hence problem deciding too much or too low..
i think this is the proper target for me?.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.1125sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:06 PM