8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Planted Aquarium V14

davido
post Mar 7 2016, 03:32 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(WaSzupDupe @ Mar 6 2016, 05:50 PM)
Nice!! Very inspiring. Feel like setting up something like this from scratch. The only problem is that its quite a dollar investment - chiller, lights, and so on...
davido
post Mar 8 2016, 08:58 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(WaSzupDupe @ Mar 7 2016, 05:56 PM)
Yeah, but the reward will worth the money...Im setting up my 1st tank, i do it around Rm600, tanks, soil, light, filter, rocks and plants.
Interesting. But how do you keep your tank cool?

Without chiller, my tank runs between 31C to 32C. Since I use chiller, I set it at 24C. Keeping the tank cool is my biggest challenge.

davido
post Mar 8 2016, 07:52 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(WaSzupDupe @ Mar 8 2016, 06:09 PM)
Use fan, those aquarium fan, but it will drop 2 to 4 degree only. If not, switch your location to another room or place.I havent buy yet as i am still keeping my tank empty from water for now.

Now with the plastic sealer i put ontop, and i put them on 1st floor, the temperature inside the tank is way higher than room temperature, but my carpet grass still able to survive

Nice scape. I don't like to use fan because of evaporation, and as you said, it only drop I think max 2 degrees. Then have to top up often. Prefer a more passive solution like those peltier cooling system, but as far as I know, they are not available in Malaysia or not easy to setup.

Nice scape btw. What carpet is that? And how long since setup?

I''m looking for mini fissidens and mini pelia. Anyone have some to spare? I can buy..
davido
post Mar 8 2016, 07:55 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(jenniferjen @ Mar 8 2016, 05:55 PM)
My monte all grew dark yellow not sure why out of sudden
Only thing i see changed in my tank is that i added 10 rummy nose (before that only a amano) and the temp become 31 from 29 since weather very hot nowadays....

It looks very bad like my green carpet kena bakar.... sob
IMHO, 31C is too hot. 29C is already at the top end.

davido
post Mar 9 2016, 10:06 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(fookie @ Mar 9 2016, 12:15 AM)
Magic seeds? No one actually knows what plant it is. It's famous in the indonesian aquascaping scene though. The thing is this plant needs constant trimming as it grows upwards more than creeping on your soil like monte carlo or cuba. I have a botttle of these seeds coming in from china. Do update hows the growth here.

A close up of the leaf at about 12 days old from one of the indo guys.
From seed to that in 12 days!!! is amazing growth... even for dry start.
davido
post Mar 11 2016, 04:07 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(mingyan @ Mar 11 2016, 12:44 PM)
Hi Guys,

What is the procedure for planted aquarium if the fish kena ich?
Depending on your inhabitants. Raise your water temp until 32C for ten days. It will rid of the Ich. It worked for me.

davido
post Mar 18 2016, 06:37 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ Mar 16 2016, 11:49 PM)
guys, how do you trim your stem plant?

i cut in the middle of the plant, as it will grow back. but the thing is, it will grow another branch near the cut i made, making it look weird and not systematic laugh.gif
Cut as low as possible. It splits in two there, so you will have a thick bush.

davido
post Mar 18 2016, 06:40 PM

36 posts

Before I forget, anybody wants Bucephalandra? I'm giving away free.
Because I need to trim my plant soon. Sayang to throw away since its an expensive plant and also not very common.

Contact me via PM is anybody interested. Self pickup in PJ.

This post has been edited by davido: Mar 18 2016, 06:41 PM

davido
post Mar 19 2016, 08:59 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(davido @ Mar 18 2016, 06:40 PM)
Before I forget, anybody wants Bucephalandra? I'm giving away free.
Because I need to trim my plant soon. Sayang to throw away since its an expensive plant and also not very common.

Contact me via PM is anybody interested. Self pickup in PJ.
Thank you. Offer has been taken up. Offer is now closed, but maybe next time I will need to trim again.
No more PMs please.

davido
post Mar 22 2016, 07:13 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ Mar 22 2016, 08:18 AM)
i see.. so every time i cut it will split in 2?
so by the third time i cut 1 stem will have 8 branch?  rclxub.gif

1 stem can sustain so much ah? hahaha
I think you have no idea what you're talking about. If you think its fake, do some research or just watch this video here that teaches you how to make rotala bushy.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c0y5h5COwB8

See more rclxub.gif
davido
post Mar 22 2016, 07:16 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(blizzardcarl92 @ Mar 22 2016, 02:34 PM)
does anybody has extra christmas moss? pm me price yeah. if anybody kind hearted wanna donate to me also can =D
I throw away lots of Christmas Moss every week. Can pass to you - no problem...
davido
post Mar 28 2016, 01:37 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ Mar 28 2016, 09:02 AM)
for drift wood, i suggest u brush it and soak it in water overnight before putting in your tank

as for java moss, if you're confident that it is snail-free and no parasites, then feel free to put it in
I mean it doesn't make sense. If the java moss is on the driftwood, then how can you can brush it?
Unless you're confident about the source, snail eggs and parasites cannot be seen by the naked eye.

But you can sanitize the entire wood + moss. As I usually do with new plants.

1. Mix one part bleach into 19 parts water (19 parts water to 1 part bleach). The normal Chlorox will do.
2. Fill one bucket of normal tap water and put double the dosage of Anti-Chlorine.
3. Soak the entire wood + moss into the bleach mix and let it rest for one minute. For moss, I reckon 90 seconds shouldn't be a problem. For tougher plants, you can soak until 3 minutes.
4. Remove it and soak it into the bucket with double dosed anti-chlorine. This will neutralize the bleach.
5. Finally rinse the plant with lots of dechlorinated water.

There are variations to the above, but you can google how to disinfect plants - but that is the extract of it and how I do it.

davido
post Mar 28 2016, 01:48 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(WaSzupDupe @ Mar 22 2016, 08:20 PM)
May i have some also?
Yes sure, please PM for appointment. Pickup in PJ, on weekends after 2pm.
davido
post Mar 29 2016, 11:21 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(jctasoga @ Mar 28 2016, 11:58 PM)
AFAIK, moss n bleach don't mix smile.gif so best to quarantine inside a separate tank. any plants + bleach = sure death
Err, not according to my experience. I bleached my moss, and its still growing like weeds.. tongue.gif

davido
post Apr 1 2016, 11:12 AM

36 posts

My Buce flowering..

davido
post Apr 2 2016, 09:45 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(icedlink @ Apr 1 2016, 08:17 PM)
wow nice !

btw what type/sp of buce is it?
Hi icelink, I believe that is sp Iris. The one I gave away I think is Brownie Brown or Ghost. Btw, it you look at the stem you got, the top part is actually a budding flower.

Btw, I'm giving away MC culture. Just trimmed. Any takers, please PM me (or whatsapp if you have my number). Self collection anytime today or after 2pm tomorrow.

Must collect latest by tomorrow. In PJ area.

[Update: Offer has been taken up. No more PMs please.

This post has been edited by davido: Apr 2 2016, 07:24 PM

davido
post Apr 2 2016, 02:12 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(artsyfarty @ Apr 2 2016, 01:34 PM)
My MC root is melting like there's no tomorrow. Thinking of removing all of it and plant mini dwarf hair grass instead. Do you trim your hairgrass or it always stay the same height?
My hairgrass no need to trim. If you want dense growth, then trim. Once it reaches your desired density, no need to trim anymore. It does not grow long.

davido
post Apr 2 2016, 07:38 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(Bigboyz @ Apr 2 2016, 07:16 PM)
Wow nice? Where u bought the buceps from?
I'm not sure whether MC can grow in low tech tank. Need to check its parameters.
The buce I got from aquacult - the lelong store. The same place I got the Tigers from. The buce is surprisingly expensive. A one inch runner already RM30. sad.gif

davido
post Apr 3 2016, 09:23 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(Bigboyz @ Apr 2 2016, 07:58 PM)
Yeah the buceps here are expensive!

I bought those for rm60.
Was the one you bought from aquaculture healthy? See that the hey have quite a few varieties.

Our friends in Singapore have access to cheaper price. This Dark velvet is going for SGD 15 only.
Anyone going to SG? 😁

Btw davido, if you still have some MC to spare I'd like to try.
Did you buy from aquacult too?
I drove all the way to Penang to visit his store. Yes, it was certainly healthy. The aquacult one have a certain quality that I trust. His plants are sold submersed, so it have already acclimatize to underwater growth. And he gave the assurance that any plants or fishes I get from him are disease free and can be added straight to the tank without risk of introducing disease. He has many interesting shrimps and collection of buce.

Yesterday just gave away my MC. Let me know earlier so I can reserve for you, but the next trimming is 3-4 weeks later.

Please share your water parameters if possible. GH/KH, PH, substrate, etc.

This post has been edited by davido: Apr 3 2016, 09:24 AM
davido
post Apr 6 2016, 04:34 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(ckck_92 @ Apr 6 2016, 11:45 AM)
The tank is not heated, temperature about 30C
Realised I made a big blunder, I have been reading up on starting a tank with ADA aquasoil and it seems like it needs alot of care at the beginning. Now that the tank is 5 weeks old maybe I am pass the stage of frequent WC or should I still be doing frequent water changes? I don't dose ferts. Quite afraid of the algae to bloom again. So far its been 1 week after clean up and big water change and no algae yet. Ammonia 0.25-0.5ppm, Nitrite 0ppm. In the tank now got rotalas about 15 stems and anubias nana, getting some staurogyne and crypts soon.

Appreciate some feedback thx.
Hi ck,
Algae bloom for a new tank is normal. If not mistaken, it starts with diatoms (brown dusty algae). This is usually around day 10. One week later, you'll start to see green hair algae. From my experience, BBA and BGA will set in later, but typically after 1 or 2 months, while continue to struggle with Green hair.

And any tank that goes for a month without maintenance, will look a mess. My glass will become all green and plants overgrown like jungle if I don't maintain my tank for a month. So your tank's condition is not surprising (actually expected, especially for a new setup).

At your situation now, this is what I will do if I take over your tank. 50% WC twice a week. Re-plant the carpet plants and all other plants that melted. Start dosing ferts, everyday.

Your tank is not cycled yet - because you still have Ammonia. Your Nitrite is zero, but once your Ammonia is zero, your Nitrite will spike. When your Nitrite is zero, then your Nitrate will spike. This gives you an idea of how far your cycling is. This is from my experience yeah. For algae control, if its bad, I will add in 2 SAE, a few Ottos, maybe 6 Yamatos. I think folks here gonna kill me for saying this, but the fishes will probably survive eventhough the tank is not fully cycled. If they die, then its ok, SAE is not a very expensive fish. But careful they will uproot the carpet plants. So at this stage I will use wabikusa for the carpet.

But after the cycling is all done and if I have no more need for algae control, I will remove the SAE and give back to LFS. Its too big anyway for a 2 footer. For any plants to add, I would check its requirements first, especially when temp is at 30C.

This post has been edited by davido: Apr 6 2016, 04:42 PM

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.1135sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:44 PM