125 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Bottom

Fundsupermart.com v8, The MS Excel Masterclass version!

woonsc
post Jan 15 2015, 09:32 AM

Financial Padawan
2,032 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Jan 15 2015, 09:26 AM)
Speaking of Malaysian funds, the first thing which comes to my mind is iCapital. But I don't trust TTB...
what's TTB?
adele123
post Jan 15 2015, 09:34 AM

4,724 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Jan 15 2015, 09:32 AM)
what's TTB?
tan teng boo... you can look up stock code 5108

woonsc
post Jan 15 2015, 09:42 AM

Financial Padawan
2,032 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Jan 15 2015, 09:34 AM)
tan teng boo... you can look up stock code 5108
aaah.. close end fund.. >.<
No volatility.. haha dangerous..
adele123
post Jan 15 2015, 09:54 AM

4,724 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Jan 15 2015, 09:42 AM)
aaah.. close end fund.. >.<
No volatility.. haha dangerous..
OT: You mean low liquidity. Of course the price moves, when one buys and sells. Obviously not every day I decide to buy today, then sell it one week later. This is NOT for speculation. Though there was a weird period back then but let’s ignore that.

Just like when you buy into a unit trust, you do not expect to cash out 1 week later.

but ya, not that i'm supporting. don't own any either. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by adele123: Jan 15 2015, 09:55 AM
dasecret
post Jan 15 2015, 04:23 PM

1,498 posts

Just updated 2014 annual return on the funds I hold

CIMB Asia Pac & GTF are among the best performing.
Surprisingly RHB-OSK Asian Income Fund which is a balanced fund give me double digit return higher than most of my equity funds.

All Affin Hwang funds are performing very poorly in the past 6 months, I seriously suspect it's the merger... hmm, should I sell some of them...
It's ashamed, cos I wanted to put EPF Acc1 amount in Select Opportunity Fund for the foreign exposure
SUSyklooi
post Jan 15 2015, 04:36 PM

8,188 posts

rclxm9.gif 2014 whole year
My HSAQ + 8.8%
My H Sel Dividend + 7%
My H China + 16%
hmm.gif yes, my other hwang's performed badly last 6 months (at least still + 2.5% min except PRS -0.7%)..so are some of my other non hwang's funds of almost the same mandate. many are in RED cry.gif cry.gif doh.gif doh.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jan 15 2015, 04:47 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Jan 15 2015, 04:23 PM)
All Affin Hwang funds are performing very poorly in the past 6 months, I seriously suspect it's the merger... hmm, should I sell some of them...
It's ashamed, cos I wanted to put EPF Acc1 amount in Select Opportunity Fund for the foreign exposure
I also rclxub.gif ...fund manager still the same, head is still Teng Chee Wai...why underperformed doh.gif
MGM
post Jan 15 2015, 05:00 PM

18,404 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jan 15 2015, 04:36 PM)
My HSAQ + 8.8%
My H Sel Dividend + 7%
My H China + 16%
hmm.gif  yes, my other hwang's performed badly last 6 months (at least still + 2.5% min except PRS -0.7%)..so are some of my other non hwang's funds of almost the same mandate.  many are in RED  cry.gif  cry.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
So all lump together what is your gain in %?
SUSyklooi
post Jan 15 2015, 05:04 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jan 15 2015, 05:00 PM)
So all lump together what is your gain in %?
lump sum... % is for whole 2014
SUSyklooi
post Jan 15 2015, 05:07 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 15 2015, 04:47 PM)
I also rclxub.gif ...fund manager still the same, head is still Teng Chee Wai...why underperformed doh.gif
hmm.gif I think must be those that are heavy on M'sia kena....
those that are heavy in Asia Pac will ha-ha
noticed for most Hw, that are heavy in M'sia started to slide in Aug/sept period ......
river.sand
post Jan 15 2015, 05:32 PM

3,806 posts

Newbie here...
My FSM account has just been activated, and I am ready to buy rclxm9.gif
Other than studying fund performance, what I need to be aware of hmm.gif
SUSyklooi
post Jan 15 2015, 05:42 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Jan 15 2015, 05:32 PM)
Newbie here...
My FSM account has just been activated, and I am ready to buy  rclxm9.gif
Other than studying fund performance, what I need to be aware of  hmm.gif
hmm.gif
Risk rating
countries/sector PE
asset allocation
countries/sectors % of allocation
Diversification
forming a portfolio
etc
most of these guide can be found in the FSM site.

if got time go to this Sat seminar.
aurora97
post Jan 15 2015, 05:46 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Jan 15 2015, 04:23 PM)
Just updated 2014 annual return on the funds I hold

CIMB Asia Pac & GTF are among the best performing.
Surprisingly RHB-OSK Asian Income Fund which is a balanced fund give me double digit return higher than most of my equity funds.

SoF, I would blame it on the lack of foreign exposure actually because EPF cap foreign equity exposure at 30%.

I have SoF and SA(ex Jipun) QF, the numbers seem to suggets fund manager is playing some catching up.

SoF- i bought my SoF sometime 6/8/14 (a bit flattish)
RoI
As at month end 2014
31/8 (-2.36%)
30/9 (-0.38%)
31/10 (-0.41%)
30/11 (+0.28%)
31/12 (-2.12)
(as of today @ 15/1= -3%)

SaQF – I bought mine sometime in 2013
RoI
(as of today @ 15/1 = +9%)

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jan 15 2015, 04:36 PM)
My HSAQ + 8.8%
My H Sel Dividend + 7%
My H China + 16%
hmm.gif  yes, my other hwang's performed badly last 6 months (at least still + 2.5% min except PRS -0.7%)..so are some of my other non hwang's funds of almost the same mandate.  many are in RED  cry.gif  cry.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
That’s probably because you just entered the Fund I guess… Am registering about 10+%.

I saw from a former she mentioned, she invested in CIMB PRS Asia Pac Fund (I don’t know the name) and it performed really well. Going to hunt it down later.

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 15 2015, 04:47 PM)
I think the merger has left everything status quo. (unless your affin fund managers of course LOL.)

I don’t think TCW actively manages fund. His ma Chai does that for him. The equity side, there is Gan Eng Peng (FM for SAQF) but overall is with David Ng (CIO).

I think the most obvious reason the funds are performing poorly is that the fund managers made the wrong call.

We are all human after all…

This post has been edited by aurora97: Jan 15 2015, 05:48 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Jan 15 2015, 06:10 PM

16,872 posts

Affin Hwang funds December 2014 fact sheets are out

Seems that they've gone cash-heavy
SUSPink Spider
post Jan 15 2015, 06:14 PM

16,872 posts

See this chart...

Affin Hwang Select Opp and AMB Dividen Trust which can have up to 30% foreign exposure beat their 100% Bolehland rivals biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Jan 15 2015, 06:16 PM
SUSDavid83
post Jan 15 2015, 06:22 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 15 2015, 06:10 PM)

Mr Chen said their bolehlad funds also retain high level of cash!
aurora97
post Jan 15 2015, 06:44 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 15 2015, 06:10 PM)

Goldman forecasted oil will dip below USD 40.

m.economictimes.com/markets/commodities/crude-oil-extends-decline-after-goldman-sachs-lowers-price-forecast/articleshow/45865556.cms

Maybe overhyped or not...

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 15 2015, 06:14 PM)
See this chart...

Affin Hwang Select Opp and AMB Dividen Trust which can have up to 30% foreign exposure beat their 100% Bolehland rivals biggrin.gif
Nice comparison
SUSyklooi
post Jan 15 2015, 07:00 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Jan 15 2015 @ 06:14 PM)
........have up to 30% foreign exposure beat their 100% Bolehland rivals biggrin.gif
mad.gif in year 2013, I was the champion of all, with +>60% ROI for the 12 months period...I ONLY concentrate on 100% BOLEHLAND...
NOW I am being casted?.. cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
I am EI SCF.
I shall return and I WILL.
SUSyklooi
post Jan 15 2015, 09:30 PM

8,188 posts

2015 investment outlook....seizing alpha, by Eastspring Investments

https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/artic...ing%20Alpha.pdf
SUSyklooi
post Jan 15 2015, 09:55 PM

8,188 posts

just one of the noise.....
Currency market furore wipes $100 billion off Swiss stocks.....

* Swiss stocks slump after SNB scraps euro cap on franc

* Biggest one-day fall for Swiss index since 1989

* Market cap destruction estimated at $100 bln

* Huge swings in major stocks Swatch, Richemont

http://www.reuters.com/article/2015/01/15/...N0UU2OS20150115

Will GTF be affected??

125 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.0290sec    0.17    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:32 AM