87 Pages « < 81 82 83 84 85 > » Bottom

Teeth braces, for the perfect smile

glitz2z
post Jan 22 2018, 11:22 PM

60 posts

Want to share my experience in wearing ClearPath. It's not for everyone and make sure that you ask yr doctor to explain everything. My doc told me that I'm a suitable candidate but when I look at the before and after photo, there is not much difference and I wasted rm14k!!!! I'm now considering damon braces which means I have to spend more $$ 😭
Mattrock
post Feb 17 2018, 06:10 AM

346 posts

Question - after the initial fixing of the braces, how often does one need to go to see the dentist, and can he go to another dentist for follow up?

I am looking at scenario of a student studying overseas getting braces installed in Malaysia during his holiday, and then goes back to college. Will this be practical? Any suggestion for best solution for this situation? The cost to fix braces overseas is very high.

hjh87
post Feb 28 2018, 09:09 AM

773 posts

Hi Guy,
Would like to ask whether anyone here know the current pricing for Hawley and permanent retainer (for up and bottoms)?

And if I plan to do it at a new clinic, will the doctor charge additional fees for reviewing my case? If yes, what the charges might be for a rough estimation.

Not going back to the existing one, as their price is quite high (even though for their old customer).

Hope you guy can provide some info, thanks.
SUScitacitata
post Mar 2 2018, 01:09 AM

482 posts

QUOTE(hjh87 @ Feb 28 2018, 09:09 AM)
Hi Guy,
Would like to ask whether anyone here know the current pricing for Hawley and permanent retainer (for up and bottoms)?

And if I plan to do it at a new clinic, will the doctor charge additional fees for reviewing my case? If yes, what the charges might be for a rough estimation.

Not going back to the existing one, as their price is quite high (even though for their old customer).

Hope you guy can provide some info, thanks.
Hawleys I charge 400. No extra fee. I don't do lingual retainers due to hygiene reasons.
hjh87
post Mar 2 2018, 09:42 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(citacitata @ Mar 2 2018, 01:09 AM)
Hawleys I charge 400. No extra fee. I don't do lingual retainers due to hygiene reasons.
May I know where is your clinic located and the clinic name please.

By the way, have anyone here did their treatment with the following doctor before? Any feedback and review to share with.

1. DR TIU SU LENG
MyBraces Orthodontic Specialist Dental Clinic
No. 62-1, Lorong Batu Nilam 21A,
Bandar Bukit Tinggi 2,
41200 Klang, Selangor.

2. DR CHOO SOO CHING
Klinik Pakar Ortodontik & Pergigian Choo
14A-16A, Jalan Kawasari 8,
Taman Eng Ann,
41150 Klang,
Selangor.

3. DR FARAH SALWA BT ABD RAHIM
Unit Ortodontik
Klinik Pergigian Jalan Sultan Mahmud
20400 Kuala Terengganu,
Terengganu.

Above info is from MAO website.

This post has been edited by hjh87: Mar 2 2018, 11:50 AM
tanyuangrow
post Mar 23 2018, 01:59 PM

I wanted invisalign, but didn't want to pay almost double (18K) for it. I just finished whitesmileclear aligners at the Whitesmile Dental Clinic, i think it's just the same as invisalign. I am happy, anyways. As for retainers, the upper is a clear one, the lower retainer the doctor did something called"Orthoflextech". When I asked her, she said it is 14K gold!!!! She said all the orthodontic treatment in Australia used them. I did some research online and indeed, it is made of gold.... Apparently, it is a more stable retainer. Given the price (RM 9K+ for the similar to invisalign treatment) am quite happy with whitesmiles.......
Capt olympic
post Mar 25 2018, 07:39 PM

181 posts

I wore braces between raya 2013-raya 2016.
Damon - 5,5k
Extraction- 60-80/each, took out 3 to make space
X-ray - 80 at Tung shin hospital
Retainer - 400

Overall, i love my well aligned teeth.

You need your dentist to carefully review your case.

In my case, my dentist run his own clinic. No trainees are allowed to attend to me. Think again if you are not able to make appt on Sat with your dentist, i suggest you to find another dentist/orthodontic.

There are situations like emergencies. I.e. Wire moved out of position, your dentist need to adjust for you. When there is loose bracket, your dentist need to stick it back. All these are carefully and gentle-ly done because you can be in any low-high range of pain.

My dentist is not an orthodontist, but i put my trust on him. I do not need big name, i just need a good dentist. My advise, find a dentist you can trust.

His office is just walking distance from lrt salak selatan, same row with maybank. 2nd floor. Find him if interested.

Price (2013)
Traditional - 4.5k
Damon - 5.5k

Upfront - 1.7k (upper) and 1.7k (lower).
Balance - monthly installments of 100.

This post has been edited by Capt olympic: Mar 25 2018, 07:42 PM
chickunburrito
post Apr 21 2018, 02:14 PM

130 posts

anyone can recommend me a good dentist in batu pahat JB, if theres any? planning to wear braces

if not in batu pahat, skudai oso can.

This post has been edited by chickunburrito: Apr 21 2018, 02:16 PM
Miyukiyuki
post Jun 25 2018, 02:22 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(RiddleRick @ Jan 18 2018, 02:12 PM)
I went for consultation at White Smile too recently and I can feel you. It was so hard to get an appointment there, once cancelled have to wait for another one month for new appointment. But the main issue was Dr Reuben was not there during the consultation I met 3 junior doctors on duty that day. All graduated in 2013/2014. Asked the nurse and confirmed that Dr Reuben is the only orthodontist there, he only do treatment plan but leave the other jobs to the other (junior) general dentists. But White Smile is supposed to be a specialist orthodontist clinic and the fees they asked for is specialist price, what would the patients feel if they have to pay specialist fees but handled by some young GP instead? Normal dentists charged half or less for braces ok. I investigated further and found out Dr Reuben only works in the clinic 5-6 days in January and he works in another clinic in Singapore called Smile Focus too. No wonder always not around. Sounds a lot like the other 'famous' orthodontist clinic in Bangsar right?

What really puzzled me is their business looks good with a lot of patients. So many patients can actually accept this situation in Malaysia? I did observe quite many patients are foreigners (non Malaysian) may be due to easily accessible via public transport. The first question the dr asked me during consultation was where are you from(?). I don't know when did all this started but Dr Reuben used to station at WhiteSmile last time judging from previous patients comments and experience on this forum. I know it's a business model and there's no right or wrong actually, it's up to individual preference, comfort level and confidence in the doctors/clinic.

For me, I consulted another orthodontist on the MOA list right away. Lol. This other orthodontist knows Dr Reuben personally too and he said he has other patients that came to him from WhiteSmile and felt the same as I did. Then he mentioned that Dr Reuben is actually quite okay and he would make sure things are ok. So judge for yourselves guys and girls. Choose (your orthodontist) wisely. We only have a set of teeth.

Update: I decided not to do my braces at White Smile already since my confidence and comfort level is not high for the way they handle the patients. Coz I prefer an orthodontist to handle my case personally from start to finish. So I have chosen another orthodontist that I feel comfortable with talking about my expectations and willing to listen to me patiently. Choosing a suitable doctor that you like and comfortable with is really the utmost important thing in this braces journey coz have to see him/her regularly for 2-3 years. All the best in your journey everyone!
Hi... I definitely feel you. May I know where did you do your braces then? Can recommend?

moon yuen
post Jul 1 2018, 01:29 AM

2,293 posts

I m wearing braces and my teeth lean inwards and gummy smile after wearing braces..

Any solution?
murv90
post Jul 9 2018, 11:24 PM

627 posts

QUOTE(Gummy P @ Jul 1 2018, 05:13 PM)
agree on tis u're talking bout tis product right?

Teeth Trainer Alignment Orthodontic Braces - https://shopee.com.my/Invisible-Teeth-Train...ASABEgKQ_fD_BwE

i really wonder how it  can work tho cause eveerybody's teeth sizes & shape are different.. the product bought may not fit us even...
how??  icon_question.gif
QUOTE(Jayne K @ Jul 5 2018, 10:50 AM)
i saw tat too, but i'm doubting on the outcome though..
doesn't seems to be convincing to me, just like u've mentioned, the size might not even fit every individual and there's no size options when we buy if not mistaken..
so how?  ohmy.gif
Teeth trainers work well only on growing children, it is more of an interceptive device when the jaws are growing and teeth have yet to reach the final position therefore trainer could be prescribed by the dentist to not cause further malalignment. Note that trainers alone does not create perfect aligned teeth but and also can differ from case to case basis.

My advice if you're over 15 years old, don't waste your time on trainers, if you're below 15 years old, do consult a dentist and get an opinion(preferably an orthodontist or pedodontist)
murv90
post Jul 14 2018, 10:31 AM

627 posts

QUOTE(Jayne K @ Jul 13 2018, 04:47 PM)
but the collaterals are all using adults as example though..
Well then that's false advertising from a seller then, I'm merely providing information as a humble dentist that the mechanism of action for trainers do not work for permanent teeth and the application of use is during growth phase.

Quoting from myoresearch for their t4k trainers(actual professional manufacturers of trainers) :

The optimum patient age for the T4K® is 6 - 8 years of age

http://myoresearch.com/appliances/appliances/t4k_phase1

For self reading.
murv90
post Jul 15 2018, 08:40 PM

627 posts

QUOTE(Jayne K @ Jul 15 2018, 03:09 PM)
ohh didn't know tat u're a dentist! well, then tis is credible enuf! thanks for the insight!  rclxms.gif
No issues, just trying to help people by spreading awareness as much as I can do, too many fake and wrong things out there now just to make a quick buck.

Do shoot more questions and I'll try answering when I can smile.gif
LimitEDition
post Aug 17 2018, 05:38 PM

273 posts

Any adults here wearing braces?
Want to share experience?
Using self ligating here
Isa kim
post Sep 25 2018, 02:58 AM

QUOTE(RiddleRick @ Jan 18 2018, 02:12 PM)
I went for consultation at White Smile too recently and I can feel you. It was so hard to get an appointment there, once cancelled have to wait for another one month for new appointment. But the main issue was Dr Reuben was not there during the consultation I met 3 junior doctors on duty that day. All graduated in 2013/2014. Asked the nurse and confirmed that Dr Reuben is the only orthodontist there, he only do treatment plan but leave the other jobs to the other (junior) general dentists. But White Smile is supposed to be a specialist orthodontist clinic and the fees they asked for is specialist price, what would the patients feel if they have to pay specialist fees but handled by some young GP instead? Normal dentists charged half or less for braces ok. I investigated further and found out Dr Reuben only works in the clinic 5-6 days in January and he works in another clinic in Singapore called Smile Focus too. No wonder always not around. Sounds a lot like the other 'famous' orthodontist clinic in Bangsar right?

What really puzzled me is their business looks good with a lot of patients. So many patients can actually accept this situation in Malaysia? I did observe quite many patients are foreigners (non Malaysian) may be due to easily accessible via public transport. The first question the dr asked me during consultation was where are you from(?). I don't know when did all this started but Dr Reuben used to station at WhiteSmile last time judging from previous patients comments and experience on this forum. I know it's a business model and there's no right or wrong actually, it's up to individual preference, comfort level and confidence in the doctors/clinic.

For me, I consulted another orthodontist on the MOA list right away. Lol. This other orthodontist knows Dr Reuben personally too and he said he has other patients that came to him from WhiteSmile and felt the same as I did. Then he mentioned that Dr Reuben is actually quite okay and he would make sure things are ok. So judge for yourselves guys and girls. Choose (your orthodontist) wisely. We only have a set of teeth.

Update: I decided not to do my braces at White Smile already since my confidence and comfort level is not high for the way they handle the patients. Coz I prefer an orthodontist to handle my case personally from start to finish. So I have chosen another orthodontist that I feel comfortable with talking about my expectations and willing to listen to me patiently. Choosing a suitable doctor that you like and comfortable with is really the utmost important thing in this braces journey coz have to see him/her regularly for 2-3 years. All the best in your journey everyone!
Which clinic you went for orthodontics?
SmallPenguin
post Nov 11 2018, 05:45 PM

975 posts

QUOTE(Capt olympic @ Mar 25 2018, 07:39 PM)
I wore braces between raya 2013-raya 2016.
Damon - 5,5k
Extraction- 60-80/each, took out 3 to make space
X-ray - 80 at Tung shin hospital
Retainer - 400

Overall, i love my well aligned teeth.

You need your dentist to carefully review your case.

In my case, my dentist run his own clinic. No trainees are allowed to attend to me. Think again if you are not able to make appt on Sat with your dentist, i suggest you to find another dentist/orthodontic.

There are situations like emergencies. I.e. Wire moved out of position, your dentist need to adjust for you. When there is loose bracket, your dentist need to stick it back. All these are carefully and gentle-ly done because you can be in any low-high range of pain.

My dentist is not an orthodontist, but i put my trust on him. I do not need big name, i just need a good dentist. My advise, find a dentist you can trust.

His office is just walking distance from lrt salak selatan, same row with maybank. 2nd floor. Find him if interested.

Price (2013)
Traditional - 4.5k
Damon - 5.5k

Upfront - 1.7k (upper) and 1.7k (lower).
Balance - monthly installments of 100.
I heard you need to wear some sort of retainer after teeth bracing, now after 5 years, do you still wear them every night?

My teeth is okay generally just the bottom part protrude out abit making my lower lips lool bigger(aesthetically dont look good)

But my main concern is about the retainer, i understand for the first few years after bracing you MUST wear the retainer but how about 5 yr?10yr?later still need to?
nightshade_nova
post Nov 11 2018, 11:04 PM

443 posts

QUOTE(SmallPenguin @ Nov 11 2018, 05:45 PM)
I heard you need to wear some sort of retainer after teeth bracing, now after 5 years, do you still wear them every night?

My teeth is okay generally just the bottom part protrude out abit making my lower lips lool bigger(aesthetically dont look good)

But my main concern is about the retainer, i understand for the first few years after bracing you MUST wear the retainer but how about 5 yr?10yr?later still need to?
Retainer depends on your teeth. This is what my doctor told me. If your braces were put on very tight to meet some kind of deadline, it will have more tendencies to move back. Hence, the use of retainer.
My doctor specifically didn't make my braces very tight. The movements are very slow and gradual, but it also allowed my jaw to expand and adapt.
The plan is to not have to wear retainer for me if possible.

You are really trading money and time here. Wearing braces longer will mean more $$$ and more time, but what you gain is the time you dont have to wear retainer.

SmallPenguin
post Nov 11 2018, 11:42 PM

975 posts

QUOTE(nightshade_nova @ Nov 11 2018, 11:04 PM)
Retainer depends on your teeth. This is what my doctor told me. If your braces were put on very tight to meet some kind of deadline, it will have more tendencies to move back. Hence, the use of retainer.
My doctor specifically didn't make my braces very tight. The movements are very slow and gradual, but it also allowed my jaw to expand and adapt.
The plan is to not have to wear retainer for me if possible.

You are really trading money and time here. Wearing braces longer will mean more $$$ and more time, but what you gain is the time you dont have to wear retainer.
so you can actually do the bracing longer to exchange for less use of retainer(i understand its needed for maybe first year after bracing)
but i dont really want to wear something, every night, for the rest of my life

so lets say...
normal bracing(2/3 years)
what would be the years required for "slow" bracing then?
nightshade_nova
post Nov 12 2018, 12:24 AM

443 posts

QUOTE(SmallPenguin @ Nov 11 2018, 11:42 PM)
so you can actually do the bracing longer to exchange for less use of retainer(i understand its needed for maybe first year after bracing)
but i dont really want to wear something, every night, for the rest of my life

so lets say...
normal bracing(2/3 years)
what would be the years required for "slow" bracing then?
Yup, that's how my dentist explained to me.
Because most people said they would experience pain for the first 1-2 days of re-fitting/tightening of braces.
But I don't experience such pain. (less force exerted on my teeth)

Really depends on your teeth like I said. Like some ppl, they dont even have to wear braces that long cos their teeth arrangement only need minor changes.
Im not a dentist, so I can't answer your question. sweat.gif
You can negotiate with your dentist and ask though.

I follow someone who wears retainer on social media.
From what I understand, you can have "cheat days" for retainer.
Not recommended, but I dont think you have to worry that much. It's probably not gonna be the rest of your life lol.
There's also fixed vs removable retainer. Both have pros and cons.

A bit more info.
Apparently my case is a bit experimental.
Traditionally, I would have to remove my teeth before I put on my braces. But my dentist tried to create space by expanding my jaws.
It's working, and she is looking to document the process and maybe present it in conference or something.

For me, I dont have problem with time. Takes longer, but I didnt have to remove any teeth.
I dont think it will add that much time though by doing the process slower.

This post has been edited by nightshade_nova: Nov 12 2018, 12:31 AM
SmallPenguin
post Nov 12 2018, 08:45 AM

975 posts

QUOTE(nightshade_nova @ Nov 12 2018, 12:24 AM)
Yup, that's how my dentist explained to me.
Because most people said they would experience pain for the first 1-2 days of re-fitting/tightening of braces.
But I don't experience such pain. (less force exerted on my teeth)

Really depends on your teeth like I said. Like some ppl, they dont even have to wear braces that long cos their teeth arrangement only need minor changes.
Im not a dentist, so I can't answer your question.  sweat.gif
You can negotiate with your dentist and ask though.

I follow someone who wears retainer on social media.
From what I understand, you can have "cheat days" for retainer.
Not recommended, but I dont think you have to worry that much. It's probably not gonna be the rest of your life lol.
There's also fixed vs removable retainer. Both have pros and cons.

A bit more info.
Apparently my case is a bit experimental.
Traditionally, I would have to remove my teeth before I put on my braces. But my dentist tried to create space by expanding my jaws.
It's working, and she is looking to document the process and maybe present it in conference or something.

For me, I dont have problem with time. Takes longer, but I didnt have to remove any teeth.
I dont think it will add that much time though by doing the process slower.
thanks for the detailed explanation it really give me a lot of info
cheat days, i heard of a friend who has done bracing, but sometimes she skipped abit for the use of retainer(lazy to put it on every night)
she ended up to do bracing again lol

looks like what we need is an experienced dentist hmm.gif
so its better to go each dentist ask if they provide the "slow" bracing and their professional opinion first
then decide which one to choose from

87 Pages « < 81 82 83 84 85 > » Top

0.0287sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 07:51 PM