Mortgage Loan Package Inquiries, (Strictly NO Promotion Allowed)
lifebalance
May 23 2020, 11:35 AM
QUOTE(Sammie7 @ May 22 2020, 04:50 PM) Hi I got a question. During the MCO period I've told my bank I want to continue my loan payment instead of taking the moratorium. The bank staff told me that I just need to continue my payment as usual if I wish to opt out. So I paid my loan as usual last month, but I realized that my outstanding amount remains the same despite I made the payment (although the remaining installment period is minus by 1 month). There is also another amount called "paid off amount" which is differ than the outstanding amount. the paid of amount is reduced after I made my payment. what is that suppose to mean? Thanks sifus. You are suppose to confirm an agreement whether to continue or not in your bank online account.
Sammie7
May 23 2020, 02:41 PM
QUOTE(lifebalance @ May 23 2020, 11:35 AM) You are suppose to confirm an agreement whether to continue or not in your bank online account. Rhb is automatically applied. We have to opt out ourselves. And that's the answer (my previous post) I received when i ask the staff at branch. My online bank account doesn't say anything.
Chancs27
May 24 2020, 03:17 PM
Hi I was offered (Loan amount = ~700K with MRTA included) - UOB (3.25%, inc. MRTA, Tenure=30y). - Affin (3.30%(House), Tenure=30y + 3.37%(MRTA), Tenure=10y).
Which one is a better deal a? I calculated the total repayment, Affin is 10K lesser.
This post has been edited by Chancs27: May 24 2020, 03:18 PM
eric.tangps
May 24 2020, 07:50 PM
QUOTE(Chancs27 @ May 24 2020, 03:17 PM) Hi I was offered (Loan amount = ~700K with MRTA included) - UOB (3.25%, inc. MRTA, Tenure=30y). - Affin (3.30%(House), Tenure=30y + 3.37%(MRTA), Tenure=10y). Which one is a better deal a? I calculated the total repayment, Affin is 10K lesser. Impossible that Affin is RM10K lesser if rate is higher.
Chancs27
May 24 2020, 08:07 PM
QUOTE(eric.tangps @ May 24 2020, 08:50 PM) Impossible that Affin is RM10K lesser if rate is higher. Affin MRTA tenure is only 10years, rather than 30years for UOB. So it is lower by ~10K based on the monthly payment provided by both bankers.
Ekash
May 24 2020, 08:31 PM

QUOTE(Chancs27 @ May 24 2020, 08:07 PM) Affin MRTA tenure is only 10years, rather than 30years for UOB. So it is lower by ~10K based on the monthly payment provided by both bankers. comparison should be apple to apple, not apple vs orange... what if UOB MRTA is also 10years term? what if you buy MRTA from other insurer yourself?
eric.tangps
May 24 2020, 09:20 PM
QUOTE(Chancs27 @ May 24 2020, 03:17 PM) Hi I was offered (Loan amount = ~700K with MRTA included) - UOB (3.25%, inc. MRTA, Tenure=30y). - Affin (3.30%(House), Tenure=30y + 3.37%(MRTA), Tenure=10y). Which one is a better deal a? I calculated the total repayment, Affin is 10K lesser. So you are buying RM700K house and willing to cover with 10 years MRTA ? Hopefully you have Endowment Policy of RM1.0M to cover for the house. As for rate, should be able to get 3.22% or lower with RM700K. This post has been edited by eric.tangps: May 24 2020, 09:21 PM
Chancs27
May 25 2020, 12:17 AM
QUOTE(Ekash @ May 24 2020, 09:31 PM) comparison should be apple to apple, not apple vs orange... what if UOB MRTA is also 10years term? what if you buy MRTA from other insurer yourself? Sorry a, I think maybe I used the wrong term or I am not suppose to compare like this. Actually both coverage year is the same, 20y MRTA. Just that the repayment package is different 1) UOB - housing loan + MRTA = 30y, 3.25% 2) Affin - a) housing loan = 30y, 3.30% b) MRTA = 10y, 3.37%
Chancs27
May 25 2020, 12:19 AM
QUOTE(eric.tangps @ May 24 2020, 10:20 PM) So you are buying RM700K house and willing to cover with 10 years MRTA ? Hopefully you have Endowment Policy of RM1.0M to cover for the house. As for rate, should be able to get 3.22% or lower with RM700K. The MRTA coverage year is 20y. Just that the repayment package (tenure) is different 1) UOB - housing loan + MRTA = 30y, 3.25% 2) Affin - a) housing loan = 30y, 3.30% b) MRTA = 10y, 3.37%
lifebalance
May 25 2020, 11:22 AM
QUOTE(Chancs27 @ May 25 2020, 12:17 AM) Sorry a, I think maybe I used the wrong term or I am not suppose to compare like this. Actually both coverage year is the same, 20y MRTA. Just that the repayment package is different 1) UOB - housing loan + MRTA = 30y, 3.25% 2) Affin - a) housing loan = 30y, 3.30% b) MRTA = 10y, 3.37%  why bother even buying MRTA if you intend to buy for such a short period ? Do you know that the MRTA coverage will drop faster than the loan outstanding if you do so ?
Cyclopes
May 25 2020, 06:57 PM
QUOTE(Chancs27 @ May 25 2020, 12:19 AM) The MRTA coverage year is 20y. Just that the repayment package (tenure) is different 1) UOB - housing loan + MRTA = 30y, 3.25% 2) Affin - a) housing loan = 30y, 3.30% b) MRTA = 10y, 3.37% You could be exposing yourself to risk upon expiry of the MRTA before the end of the loan tenure. You can consider alternatives such as life insurance as MLTA for the whole tenure of the loan.
Cyclopes
May 25 2020, 07:03 PM
QUOTE(ycant @ May 21 2020, 05:44 PM) Hi would like to check. I am paying progressive interest since my condo is yet to complete. if I paying extra, will the monthly installment amount be revised again when my condo is completed. Or the amount is fixed unless refinancing? MBB semi flexi The monthly installment should remain the same. Excess payment likely will likely knock off the interest element, reducing the monthly interest charge.
RAGALIA
May 26 2020, 10:14 AM

QUOTE(Sammie7 @ May 23 2020, 02:41 PM) Rhb is automatically applied. We have to opt out ourselves. And that's the answer (my previous post) I received when i ask the staff at branch. My online bank account doesn't say anything. Hi, may i know how you opt out for the moratorium? Because my RHB loan currently show installment due as RM0.
BlackPen
May 26 2020, 10:22 AM
Sifu, wanna get some advice if my wife working in Singapore and I working at KV.
I and my wife is planning to purchase a property in Selangor, by using both names to loan the property. Are there any advantages or disadvantages? I wanted to get more information before moving to the next step.
anythings I need to take note of that? How the banks evaluate the sg payslips?
l3iTi
May 26 2020, 11:38 AM
QUOTE(BlackPen @ May 26 2020, 10:22 AM) Sifu, wanna get some advice if my wife working in Singapore and I working at KV. I and my wife is planning to purchase a property in Selangor, by using both names to loan the property. Are there any advantages or disadvantages? I wanted to get more information before moving to the next step. anythings I need to take note of that? How the banks evaluate the sg payslips? For your wife, Banker still will ask for past 3 mths payslip, bank statement to show the mthly salary bank in, Credit Bureau report --> can get from creditbureau.com.sg, CPF statement. Some bank will ask for "Company Letter" either the latest from HR stating ur position, salary, years of service or "Offer Letter"
BlackPen
May 26 2020, 12:19 PM
QUOTE(l3iTi @ May 26 2020, 11:38 AM) For your wife, Banker still will ask for past 3 mths payslip, bank statement to show the mthly salary bank in, Credit Bureau report --> can get from creditbureau.com.sg, CPF statement. Some bank will ask for "Company Letter" either the latest from HR stating ur position, salary, years of service or "Offer Letter" Thanks for your reply. I think the documentation wise should not be a problem. Any idea of how banker evaluates the salary conversion SGD > MYR? or anything I need to take note of? This post has been edited by BlackPen: May 26 2020, 12:19 PM
realitec
May 26 2020, 06:54 PM
Hi, where to check if my house is strata or individual?
lifebalance
May 27 2020, 01:19 AM
QUOTE(BlackPen @ May 26 2020, 10:22 AM) Sifu, wanna get some advice if my wife working in Singapore and I working at KV. I and my wife is planning to purchase a property in Selangor, by using both names to loan the property. Are there any advantages or disadvantages? I wanted to get more information before moving to the next step. anythings I need to take note of that? How the banks evaluate the sg payslips? Answered you in another thread QUOTE(BlackPen @ May 26 2020, 12:19 PM) Thanks for your reply. I think the documentation wise should not be a problem. Any idea of how banker evaluates the salary conversion SGD > MYR? or anything I need to take note of?  Different banks will take different %
Sammie7
May 27 2020, 04:41 PM
QUOTE(RAGALIA @ May 26 2020, 10:14 AM) Hi, may i know how you opt out for the moratorium? Because my RHB loan currently show installment due as RM0. that's the problem. I'm getting diff answer from branch staff/customer service/ppl i know who work in banking. I'm having the same situation as you. That's why trying to get the right answer as well.
Refuzed
May 28 2020, 04:48 PM

Say I have RM30k in hand; is it advisable to dump all of those into my semi flexi home loan account of RM500k just to reduce the principal?
Or I should dump that amount elsewhere i.e. stocks, FD, gold, bitcoin etc.