post Mar 15 2009, 09:49 PM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(PcWork @ Mar 15 2009, 07:02 PM)
spice for this thread..

wahlau u did a throughout surgery with my akg sweat.gif
wahsai......bro my akg now not virgin ler all naked from head to toe.... doh.gif
theng_ye
post Mar 15 2009, 10:01 PM

265 posts

haha..PCwork like to help all the headphone to do plastic surgery..
lol
PcWork
post Mar 15 2009, 10:23 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(sep90 @ Mar 15 2009, 09:49 PM)
wahlau u did a throughout surgery with my akg sweat.gif
wahsai......bro my akg now not virgin ler all naked from head to toe.... doh.gif
i have no choice. in order to reach the driver. all things must be taken out..
and believe me. this AKG has twice as much as all screw in my ipod. lol

Added on March 16, 2009, 1:25 amuser posted image

haven't final touch up yet.

This post has been edited by PcWork: Mar 16 2009, 01:25 AM
sep90
post Mar 16 2009, 02:00 AM

2,137 posts

akg all crazy screws that y so much sibliance and resonance issue with them.....
unlike like senheisser snap in and doesnt require any screws
damm i must come back soon and try my newly reborn akg.......

EFN
post Mar 16 2009, 01:25 PM

215 posts

My recabled AKG K701.....which will meet a new owner very soon....

Masamune
post Mar 26 2009, 09:58 PM

Just A Kid
1,228 posts

Hey..which AKG HP is the best for budget around RM200-300?
PcWork
post Mar 26 2009, 10:13 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

go for sennheiser lah imho for RM 200-300.
get a K240M if u can strech ur budget. but remember it's a monitor type of headphone. big no no for bassy buy.
infact u already has senn 555. which is quite good. why borther for 200-300 AKG?

walabies
post Mar 27 2009, 12:38 AM

Jaben Network.. A headphones store with teddy bears...
6,934 posts

how serious is this k701?
PcWork
post Mar 27 2009, 12:51 AM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

=P
when sep heard it. u ask him. lol

Added on March 27, 2009, 12:53 amit's not good for me to describe how it is. else ppl think i am singing over my own tune. lol

This post has been edited by PcWork: Mar 27 2009, 12:53 AM
Masamune
post Mar 27 2009, 03:52 AM

Just A Kid
1,228 posts

QUOTE(PcWork @ Mar 26 2009, 05:13 PM)
go for sennheiser lah imho for RM 200-300.
get a K240M if u can strech ur budget. but remember it's a monitor type of headphone. big no no for bassy buy.
infact u already has senn 555. which is quite good. why borther for 200-300 AKG?
I enquiring for my friend. He wants to get one..
sep90
post Mar 27 2009, 10:29 AM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(PcWork @ Mar 27 2009, 12:51 AM)
=P
when sep heard it. u ask him. lol

Added on March 27, 2009, 12:53 amit's not good for me to describe how it is. else ppl think i am singing over my own tune. lol
ahem?
well i heard the alo recabled akg 701 b4 and it overcome the weakness of akg's the bass and high's sibliance...while giving more impedance and making it harder to drive...but since akg is meant for desktop amp so that is not an issue...
i havent heard my akg reborn yet sweat.gif
but i will post it up when i heard it and i will compare with stock akg 702
r_aquarii
post Apr 1 2009, 02:27 PM

20 posts

hi, just recabled my newly bought k701.
using mogami 2532 cable.

now looking for a better amp to drive it, any recommand? i need it with a preamp out to connect my speaker also.
sep90
post Apr 1 2009, 03:19 PM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(r_aquarii @ Apr 1 2009, 02:27 PM)
hi, just recabled my newly bought k701.
using mogami 2532 cable.

now looking for a better amp to drive it, any recommand? i need it with a preamp out to connect my speaker also.
try with stello hp amp, heed canamp and little dot series
cayin hp is has great synergy with akgs as well...
G_KeN
post Apr 1 2009, 09:39 PM

~~Cheers love <3~~
1,453 posts

hmm, was wondering if recabling might improve the sound quality just like pcwork's work above.. can someone enlighten me? smile.gif

might as well ask pcwork to recable my akg 701 if its worth it.. smile.gif
PcWork
post Apr 1 2009, 11:31 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

the work is not only involve in recabling. it also involve some tuning of the driver and element within the driver (reversible)
only the hole drill at right ear cup is unreversible.
anyway
akabane, nicholas had heard it.
sep i think not yet heard it as the headphone were on his brother's hand.

viscy
post Apr 2 2009, 12:15 PM

50 posts

What's this tuning of the driver and element you speak of? How do I go about doing it and what effect does it bring?

I was thinking of recabling my AKG with a canare starquad, but never knew about this tuning-of-driver thing. Could you elaborate please? I'm really interested.
theng_ye
post Apr 2 2009, 02:16 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(viscy @ Apr 2 2009, 01:15 PM)
What's this tuning of the driver and element you speak of? How do I go about doing it and what effect does it bring?

I was thinking of recabling my AKG with a canare starquad, but never knew about this tuning-of-driver thing. Could you elaborate please? I'm really interested.
Haha..this is the POWER of PCwork lo...
His trade secret ma...
But he told me he repeat the same process for more than 7 times to get the result he wan..
I think he is crazy enough..
sep90
post Apr 3 2009, 01:52 AM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(theng_ye @ Apr 2 2009, 02:16 PM)
Haha..this is the POWER of PCwork lo...
His trade secret ma...
But he told me he repeat the same process for more than 7 times to get the result he wan..
I think he is crazy enough..
haha that our pcwork's undying affection and love with audio..... thumbup.gif
bro faster change yur desktop amp power socket to iec socket ler..... i got some crazy things for u to try....... brows.gif
i am too crazy here.......i need my akg fast to try my amp with silver reference to c it has the full range as my beyers and sened.... laugh.gif
they woke up!!!! and fed with steroids!!!!!!! rclxm9.gif
PcWork
post Apr 3 2009, 02:15 AM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(viscy @ Apr 2 2009, 12:15 PM)

a lot. basically all the internal. like internal damping. internal acoustic film. internal acoustic foam.
driver position.
all i had tried.
getting one of them modified is easy. but getting all altered. and wanna get a good combination is PITA.
i will seriously advice you don't ever mess with the driver.
i have no turning back as i already alter it and found out.. "shhit.. this sounds really sucks compare to an stock AKG701."
and i consider i was lucky to get a great combination of what i alter. material i replaced. to work in a good sound with accurate tonality.
what sep90 wants me to do is.. "maintain the treble and mid of AKG. maintain the soundstage.. and reduce sibilance and increase in bass"

what i tested when recable it with pure copper cable. is the sound stage shrink. although get much more impact of bass. BUT the bass isn't hit deep
it's internal damping makes it sounds soft.
so i took off the internal damping. and it sounds like shit. even much more hollow than the original K701 (i felt the original 701 sounds very hollow especially in mid.)
i put it back again, try different position..
add some more damping at behind of driver... YADA YADA..
including of recabling process. i had opened up that specific K701 for more than 9 times.
and.. honestly. it's a nightmare.. each earcup has 7 screw.. with numbers of hatches and plastic hooks. lol

This post has been edited by PcWork: Apr 3 2009, 02:19 AM

109 Pages « < 56 57 58 59 60 > » Top

0.0345sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:03 AM