Interest changing to BLR + 0% and higher?, Starting from 1 January 2015

wild_card_my
post Dec 31 2014, 11:23 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(wwoosy @ Dec 31 2014, 11:10 AM)
Sorry, it should be BLR - 2.45%
Yes, BLR - 2.45% is actually quite good. That gives you about 4.4% Effective interest rate, which is what you will probably get with BR rates, as reported in some posts above.
epie
post Dec 31 2014, 11:26 AM

1,590 posts

they only changed the mechanism...the final rate will be the same
katijar
post Dec 31 2014, 11:30 AM

2,294 posts

maybe BNM want this,

when ppl see rate - x% => wah so nice!? BBB!

when ppl see rate + % => think think first... tell u later.

wwoosy
post Dec 31 2014, 11:31 AM

508 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Dec 31 2014, 11:23 AM)
Yes, BLR - 2.45% is actually quite good. That gives you about 4.4% Effective interest rate, which is what you will probably get with BR rates, as reported in some posts above.
Thanks for your advice.
In other words, no need to worry, right?
polarzbearz
post Dec 31 2014, 11:34 AM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Dec 31 2014, 10:34 AM)
Thanks for the tip

They say that the BR can change every 3 months.

Overnight-policy-rate  (OPR) is set by the BNM, which is the interest rates charged by the BNM for the loans that they extend to the commercial banks. In turn, the banks would loan out the money to the public in the form of mortgage/pl/hl/asbloan/etc. based on the BLR. As such, when OPR changes, BLR changes too. But BLR has the "advantage(??)" of relying on a single metric which is the OPR as the basis to set its own interest rates. And since OPR doesn't change that ofter, BLR stays the same way too.

BR on the other hand, is the average borrowing cost for the banks, and these are based on a matrix of loans available to the banks. Different banks would have different abilities/capacity to borrow, as well as interest rates charged to them. As such, chances are the BR will be more... what's the word... variable (?)... have higher entropy (??) than BLR since BR is based on the average borrowing costs which changes on a daily basis for the bank. Remember, banks borrow from each other too, and from their depositors too, and these things have costs associated to them in the form of payable interests.

As such, BR is similar to KLIBOR but not exactly the same. I expect the BR would change (up/down) every quarter as they are allowed to.
But at the end, would it put consumers in a disadvantaged position? Since its bases on BR + Spread.
Let's take two examples, Maybank and RHB Bank.
Based on screen shot recently released, Maybank has BR=3.2 and RHB has BR=4.0. Say if Maybank charges spread of 1.2 = effective rate 4.4; whereby RHB charges spread of 0.4 = effective rate 4.4.

On paper both have the same effective rates, however, let's say on next quarter, Maybank's BR is increased to 4.0 due to certain circumstances, and RHB's also increased to 4.1. Wouldn't this put Maybank borrowers in a disadvantaged position, having to pay effective rate of 5.2 now as compared to 4.5 from RHB? since the spread is now tied to BR.

Correct me if I understood it wrongly. notworthy.gif
wild_card_my
post Dec 31 2014, 11:40 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Dec 31 2014, 11:34 AM)
But at the end, would it put consumers in a disadvantaged position? Since its bases on BR + Spread.
Let's take two examples, Maybank and RHB Bank.
Based on screen shot recently released, Maybank has BR=3.2 and RHB has BR=4.0. Say if Maybank charges spread of 1.2 = effective rate 4.4; whereby RHB charges spread of 0.4 = effective rate 4.4.

On paper both have the same effective rates, however, let's say on next quarter, Maybank's BR is increased to 4.0 due to certain circumstances, and RHB's also increased to 4.1. Wouldn't this put Maybank borrowers in a disadvantaged position, having to pay effective rate of 5.2 now as compared to 4.5 from RHB? since the spread is now tied to BR.

Correct me if I understood it wrongly. notworthy.gif
Ill be honest that I too, am not too clear about this. But given the nature of BR being more "transparent" and probably would change more in a shorter time compared to BLR, the customers stands to "lose" in the form of uncertain and constantly changing interest rates. BLR can actually be individually set by each bank differently, only that most banks decided that they would set it at the same levels of 6.85% but there were some banks who set it a little high (but with better spread)

I doubt that the changes in BR would change so drastically from one quarter to another. But in the end of the day... customers will now have to be keep track of each bank's BR for each loan that they have (unless they keep on signing with the same banks) while they used to only have to keep up with one single BLR. Very inconvenient, but Zeti must have her reasons.

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Dec 31 2014, 11:48 AM
wild_card_my
post Dec 31 2014, 11:43 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(epie @ Dec 31 2014, 11:26 AM)
they only changed the mechanism...the final rate will be the same
Maybe, maybe not. OCBC's effective interest rates for their reported BR so far is much higher than BLR. But that number i got isnt official. Also, BR is expected to change more often than the BLR, since BR is based on the average borrowing costs for each bank which changes often, while the BLR is based on the OPR set by the BNM that has not been changing too ofter (last change was in June, before that it was quite a few years apart)

QUOTE(katijar @ Dec 31 2014, 11:30 AM)
maybe BNM want this,

when ppl see rate - x% => wah so nice!? BBB!

when ppl see rate + % => think think first... tell u later.
Effective interest rates is all that matter. If they are similar, and you need to buy a house.. i dont think it matters.

QUOTE(wwoosy @ Dec 31 2014, 11:31 AM)
Thanks for your advice.
In other words, no need to worry, right?
If I were you, I would take the BLR. it hasn't changed too much over the years, while the BR is "expected" to change on a quarterly cycle. This would throw a havoc on your personal financial management.
stormaker
post Dec 31 2014, 11:58 AM

3,130 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Dec 31 2014, 11:43 AM)
If I were you, I would take the BLR. it hasn't changed too much over the years, while the BR is "expected" to change on a quarterly cycle. This would throw a havoc on your personal financial management.
But according to BNM, after BR introduced, BLR will change as frequent as BR too.

BLR-based loans prior to 2015 will continue to be referenced against the BLR. However, when a financial institution makes any adjustments to the Base Rate, a corresponding adjustment to the BLR will also be made.

This post has been edited by stormaker: Dec 31 2014, 11:58 AM
Hunakadoo
post Dec 31 2014, 12:01 PM

Call me Gold Man !
2,494 posts

QUOTE(stormaker @ Dec 31 2014, 11:58 AM)
But according to BNM, after BR introduced, BLR will change as frequent as BR too.

[i][/i]
depends on Loan Agreement from bank , usually bank will protect themselve with ** subjective to bank change ** etc terms & conditions . hahaha
end up we,as a end user we'll have to suffer for the cost
phlegmon
post Dec 31 2014, 12:22 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(stormaker @ Dec 31 2014, 11:58 AM)

[i][/i]
Sorry,u have the source from BNM confirming your statement?just want reassurance
stormaker
post Dec 31 2014, 12:32 PM

3,130 posts

QUOTE(phlegmon @ Dec 31 2014, 12:22 PM)
Sorry,u have the source from BNM confirming your statement?just want reassurance
Source
epie
post Dec 31 2014, 12:34 PM

1,590 posts

before BLR -x%
now BR +x%

imho,
nothing to shout about
robert82
post Dec 31 2014, 01:07 PM

1,924 posts

if i look at my current loan interest rate. It is 4.35%
Then I look at the submitted rate, it is obvious all banks are higher.

Means with this BR, it is higher cost for consumers!
Jasoncat
post Dec 31 2014, 01:27 PM

9,913 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Dec 31 2014, 10:04 AM)
As some of us predicted, the effective rate is similar to what we are getting now.

Asgaard, what is the source for all these numbers ya? BNM?

edit: how to summon?
The banks are required to submit to BNM their proposed BR and the effective lending rate (ie BR+spread) by 26/12. The effective lending rate is based on the scenario of RM350k loan for 30 years without lock-in period for the best profile customer. BNM has then sent to the banks the list of FI, Islamic FI and Development FI with their proposed BR and effective lending rate.
hondaracer
post Dec 31 2014, 01:43 PM

1,614 posts

QUOTE(Jasoncat @ Dec 31 2014, 01:27 PM)
The banks are required to submit to BNM their proposed BR and the effective lending rate (ie BR+spread) by 26/12.  The effective lending rate is based on the scenario of RM350k loan for 30 years without lock-in period for the best profile customer.  BNM has then sent to the banks the list of FI, Islamic FI and Development FI with their proposed BR and effective lending rate.
Does anyone have the list?
Jasoncat
post Dec 31 2014, 01:50 PM

9,913 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Dec 31 2014, 10:34 AM)
Thanks for the tip

They say that the BR can change every 3 months.

Overnight-policy-rate  (OPR) is set by the BNM, which is the interest rates charged by the BNM for the loans that they extend to the commercial banks. In turn, the banks would loan out the money to the public in the form of mortgage/pl/hl/asbloan/etc. based on the BLR. As such, when OPR changes, BLR changes too. But BLR has the "advantage(??)" of relying on a single metric which is the OPR as the basis to set its own interest rates. And since OPR doesn't change that ofter, BLR stays the same way too.

BR on the other hand, is the average borrowing cost for the banks, and these are based on a matrix of loans available to the banks. Different banks would have different abilities/capacity to borrow, as well as interest rates charged to them. As such, chances are the BR will be more... what's the word... variable (?)... have higher entropy (??) than BLR since BR is based on the average borrowing costs which changes on a daily basis for the bank. Remember, banks borrow from each other too, and from their depositors too, and these things have costs associated to them in the form of payable interests.

As such, BR is similar to KLIBOR but not exactly the same. I expect the BR would change (up/down) every quarter as they are allowed to.
How the BR is set is based on 2 primary factors, ie the FI benchmark cost of funds and the SRR. Most banks have used 3M KLIBOR as the benchmark COF, so that's why most of the BRs are around 4%.

KLIBOR moves (in advance) when the market expects BNM will revise the OPR in the coming MPC meeting. So, OPR changes do impact BR too (if the BR setting use KLIBOR as the benchmark COF). I reasonably believe that OPR change will trigger the BR change too even if KLIBOR is not taken as the benchmark in BR setting.

As for the frequency of revision in BR, it may not necessary on quarterly basis. BNM requires the FIs to put in place the policy to determine under what circumstances will trigger a revision in BR.
Jasoncat
post Dec 31 2014, 01:57 PM

9,913 posts

QUOTE(robert82 @ Dec 31 2014, 01:07 PM)
if i look at my current loan interest rate. It is 4.35%
Then I look at the submitted rate, it is obvious all banks are higher.

Means with this BR, it is higher cost for consumers!
Bro, I believe your loan is much higher than RM350k (the loan amount that is used as the basis for determining the effective lending rate for illustrative purpose). As such, the all-in pricing could be more attractive and near to your current BLR-based rate.
robert82
post Dec 31 2014, 02:34 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(Jasoncat @ Dec 31 2014, 01:57 PM)
Bro, I believe your loan is much higher than RM350k (the loan amount that is used as the basis for determining the effective lending rate for illustrative purpose).  As such, the all-in pricing could be more attractive and near to your current BLR-based rate.
Yes it is.
Hmm. I think it is still too early to confirm if it is indeed better or worst.
But what I would do is I would go to the bank next week and pretend stupid and try to apply for a loan of similar amount and see what's the rate I would get...
rockccf
post Dec 31 2014, 03:20 PM

215 posts

Out of topic question,

If I sell my residential property after GST is implemented, will I kena GST tax?
propusers
post Dec 31 2014, 03:23 PM

2,006 posts

QUOTE(rockccf @ Dec 31 2014, 03:20 PM)
Out of topic question,

If I sell my residential property after GST is implemented, will I kena GST tax?
No kena

This post has been edited by propusers: Dec 31 2014, 03:23 PM

16 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0241sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 08:54 AM