16 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Interest changing to BLR + 0% and higher?, Starting from 1 January 2015

InvestThing
post Dec 8 2014, 03:50 PM

274 posts

No way its gonna be BLR + onwards. By doing so the number of defaulters will shoot exponentially higher causing instability on the money flow and further plunge deficits. I would not simply believe those messages without doing DD.

Its like believing an article on the internet saying that drinking piss is good for you.
Gaza
post Dec 10 2014, 04:10 AM

483 posts

QUOTE(PTX @ Dec 7 2014, 12:51 AM)
Not much different between BLR (Base Lending Rate) which are using right now compared to BR (Base Rate) which going to implement soon. For BLR, the spread by the bank can be either + or - ; For BR, the spread will be only +. BR is implement to provide transparency (to consumer) of costs & profit imposing by the bank with the spread (+) they offered as previously the spread (+ or -) is quite confusing to consumer which do not have financial knowledge.

Despite BLR going to be replaced by BR. The effective rate for BLR & BR will be the same.

Assume BR @ 3.6% & BLR remained 6.85%.

Scenario 1:
BLR 6.85% - Spread 2.4% = Effective Rate 4.45%
BR 3.6% + Spread 0.85% = Effective Rate 4.45%

Scenario 2:
BLR 6.85% + Spread 0% = Effective Rate 6.85%
BR 3.6% + Spread 3.25% = Effective Rate 6.85%

Existing Loan with BLR will be remain based on BLR. Only new loan will start using BR. I dun think bank will set the effective rate differently for both BLR & BR. Else, all existing customer (using BLR) will refinance within the bank or to others bank. Just my opinion. smile.gif
I think thats a good explanation.
Was just talking with some management level staff with a local bank and early indications are at current rates, BNM will not let banks price the BR plus higher than the current BLR minus.
IINM instead of BNM setting the BLR based on OPR, BR will be based on market 3m KLIBOR rates but all the nitty gritty details are still being finalised.

QUOTE(bearbearwong @ Dec 5 2014, 02:33 PM)

OPR is rumoured to increased 25 points Jna 2015

I think currently people are only expecting a slight OPR hike in 2H2015 (if any) as forecasted inflation in 2015 will be mainly driven by cost push rather than demand pull.
Jasoncat
post Dec 10 2014, 07:51 AM

9,913 posts

Yes, most banks will use 3M KLIBOR as their reference for their BR setting. Though OPR is not used, KLIBOR normally moves prior to the OPR change as the market would have priced in earlier before BNM makes decision on the OPR.
Jasoncat
post Dec 10 2014, 07:54 AM

9,913 posts

The current expectation is that the effective rate after the BR implemented starting from 2/1/15 will not deviate much from the current BLR-based pricing.
nijiyaautohaus
post Dec 11 2014, 11:25 AM

89 posts

May I know what is the BLR rate for Soho title under commercial unit? Recently got a loan approved from RHB that is BLR minus 2.15% .. Is that okay?
ctwk6637
post Dec 11 2014, 06:41 PM

29 posts

so BNM or bank will maintain 2 systems for existing and new customer?
Say,When OPR increase 25 points
BLR and BR will increase to the same?
E.G, BLR = From 6.8% to 7.05%?
BR = From 3.8% to 4.05% ?

kinda confuse how they manage..

P/S: All based on assumptions...
Jasoncat
post Dec 11 2014, 08:25 PM

9,913 posts

QUOTE(ctwk6637 @ Dec 11 2014, 06:41 PM)
so BNM or bank will maintain 2 systems for existing and new customer?
Say,When OPR increase 25 points
BLR and BR will increase to the same?
E.G, BLR = From 6.8% to 7.05%?
      BR = From 3.8% to 4.05% ?

kinda confuse how they manage..

P/S: All based on assumptions...
Yes, BLR and BR will co-exist as the existing consumer loan will still be priced using BLR, unless the borrower requests for a change to BR. However those existing credit facility which is revolving in nature, eg OD will in next review be changed from BLR to BR.
yahiko
post Dec 11 2014, 11:19 PM

1,215 posts

is BR and FD same ? or this there any different?
My previous loan is FD+

Seem the calculation is same..
Jasoncat
post Dec 11 2014, 11:48 PM

9,913 posts

QUOTE(yahiko @ Dec 11 2014, 11:19 PM)
is BR and FD same ? or this there any different?
My previous loan is FD+

Seem the calculation is same..
BR=/FD. BR is used by bank to price the loan. FD rate is how much the bank is willing to give you as depositor for the money you "lend" to them to lend out to borrowers.

May I know which bank offer you loan with loan interest of FD rate + spread?
yahiko
post Dec 12 2014, 10:27 AM

1,215 posts

QUOTE(Jasoncat @ Dec 11 2014, 11:48 PM)
BR=/FD. BR is used by bank to price the loan. FD rate is how much the bank is willing to give you as depositor for the money you "lend" to them to lend out to borrowers.

May I know which bank offer you loan with loan interest of FD rate + spread?
QUOTE(manapergi @ Dec 11 2014, 11:49 PM)
previously Eon had FD+ but no more. yours from which bank?

concept wise same but slightly diff spread because FD/ BR rates not same
EON lo.. before change to HLB.. i have ask my banker that my loan still under this type..

how much is BR now?
smartinvestor01
post Dec 12 2014, 11:59 AM

Saving and Investing for Retirement (The SIR Concept)
1,423 posts

QUOTE(Minolta @ Dec 7 2014, 01:15 AM)
Rumor that RPGT gonna be abolished Jan 2015 and LTV 100% allowed for 4th home and above starting April 2015 lol
i dont think that this would happen..

Because the intention of the government is to curb property speculation..
Jasoncat
post Dec 12 2014, 12:16 PM

9,913 posts

QUOTE(smartinvestor01 @ Dec 12 2014, 11:59 AM)
i dont think that this would happen..

Because the intention of the government is to curb property speculation..
Haha bro, don't take it serious. I think this was his sarcastic reply to someone.
suadrif
post Dec 17 2014, 11:11 AM

<Safe Online Trader>
2,650 posts

quick question:
why i saw so many forumers keep spreading info that people will desperately sell off their asset next year? anything to do with inflation or this BLR/BR?
wild_card_my
post Dec 17 2014, 11:59 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Dec 17 2014, 11:11 AM)
quick question:
why i saw so many forumers keep spreading info that people will desperately sell off their asset next year? anything to do with inflation or this BLR/BR?
Most likely the GST. As for the changes from BLR to BR, no one really knows the rate yet, most likely it will be similar to what we are getting now anyway.
suadrif
post Dec 17 2014, 12:08 PM

<Safe Online Trader>
2,650 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Dec 17 2014, 11:59 AM)
Most likely the GST. As for the changes from BLR to BR, no one really knows the rate yet, most likely it will be similar to what we are getting now anyway.
does it nothing to do with inflation or economy coming down?
wild_card_my
post Dec 17 2014, 12:13 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Dec 17 2014, 12:08 PM)
does it nothing to do with inflation or economy coming down?
Well.. when GST in implemented, surely there will be inflation! biggrin.gif

However, the economy going down or not, I cannot speculate. It may seem like the case and people would like to hedge their investments by buying gold and other precious metals, or bond unit trusts funds. When the rental market is down, you may find it difficult to hold onto your properties too. So they may think it would be better to let it go and wait until the storm passes.
suadrif
post Dec 17 2014, 12:29 PM

<Safe Online Trader>
2,650 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Dec 17 2014, 12:13 PM)
Well.. when GST in implemented, surely there will be inflation! biggrin.gif

However, the economy going down or not, I cannot speculate. It may seem like the case and people would like to hedge their investments by buying gold and other precious metals, or bond unit trusts funds. When the rental market is down, you may find it difficult to hold onto your properties too. So they may think it would be better to let it go and wait until the storm passes.
why would this can happen?
isn't one of way for living?
its not like the tenant can move or buy their own house in a short time rite?
wild_card_my
post Dec 17 2014, 12:37 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Dec 17 2014, 12:29 PM)
why would this can happen?
isn't one of way for living?
its not like the tenant can move or buy their own house in a short time rite?
Rental for commercial properties can go down during an economic recession. If there are mass layoffs, the residential rental market can be affected too. If they have no jobs, how can they pay? As some move back to their hometown, there will be less prospects to rent out to, or some will delay the payments. Im not saying it will happen, but it can happen. I dont like to speculate on the economies, but if it is true that people are dumping their assets to hedge on other assets.. then maybe it's important to take note.

Anyway, we are way off topic here...

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Dec 17 2014, 12:46 PM
Hunakadoo
post Dec 30 2014, 03:35 PM

Call me Gold Man !
2,494 posts

Just met UOB agent , and been inform 2/1/2015 all bank will change BLR rate -> BR rate
and he do counted already .
for a property RM500k loan equally you need to bear more RM140++ if BLR -> BR .

so , i would say xxxx up already now

This post has been edited by Hunakadoo: Dec 30 2014, 04:20 PM
wild_card_my
post Dec 30 2014, 03:49 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(Hunakadoo @ Dec 30 2014, 03:35 PM)
Just met UOB agent , and been inform 2/1/2014 all bank will change BLR rate -> BR rate
and he do counted already .
for a property RM500k loan equally you need to bear more RM140++ if BLR -> BR .

so , i would say xxxx up already now
Thanks for sharing. No news form my side of banks yet.

But I dont quite get what you said, it means for the same loan amount you need to pay RM140/month more when we start using BR? That's... not very nice :|

16 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0239sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 07:03 PM