28 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 >Bottom

Standard SETUP.., Look @ this b4 u plan to setup ICE

Shortyeyek
post May 4 2013, 07:19 PM

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Apr 22 2013, 05:09 PM)
Can. Front RCA out can go to channel 1 & 2 of the amp to power the front component set. Then Sub RCA out can go to channel 3 & 4 and then connect the sub to these channels in bridge mode. As for the 6x9 speaker, just directly connect to the speaker output of the HU so not powered from the amp but directly from the HU.
Note that this is provided that your power amp has sufficient power to drive the component set and sub, and can bridge. If your amp does not have enough power to drive the sub, then need to get 1 more mono or 2 channel amp to power the sub. Then channel 3 & 4 can be connected to RCA out 3 & 4 from the HU to power the 6x9.
The amp definitely can power the component set an a sub and it is bridgeable. The last question is I prefer SQL, does this setup is SQL or otherwise? If its not the SQL setup, which setup is SQL setup for the Hu and amp that I got?
6UE5T
post May 5 2013, 12:15 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(Shortyeyek @ May 4 2013, 07:19 PM)
The amp definitely can power the component set an a sub and it is bridgeable. The last question is I prefer SQL, does this setup is SQL or otherwise? If its not the SQL setup, which setup is SQL setup for the Hu and amp that I got?
For SQ setup is usually about using good quality product with minimal distortion and natural sounding package. Many purist even do away without rear channel at all, and SQ I think never uses coaxial at all as coaxial is for economical use. If going for SQ, if I'm not mistaken mostly use active setup whereby each speaker of the component is driven individually by each amp channel and use active cross over connection, as opposed to passive. Sub also normally don't use bridge connection since bridge gives more power at the expense of distortion, so usually driven by a real mono amp. So it's like channel 1 & 2 drives the tweeter then channel 3 & 4 drives the mid, all for front only. Then got one mono amp just for the sub, and not use rear speakers at all.

I'm nowhere near any expert on this and my ears are just very normal and insensitive like regular people but your kind of setup I think is just a normal economical setup, not SQ or SPL. smile.gif Experts like Howiechoo should be able to explain more on this.
jaklogs
post Dec 6 2013, 04:45 PM

hey all pros and sifus, would like some advice on my soon-to-be setup. rite now my 2009 myvi 1.0 is all stock. only got a pair of speakers in the dash with the HU.

im thinkin of getting a brand new pioneer deh 3550ui HU (online) n just bought 2nd hand monoblock (Dynaquest) + 12" sub (Pioneer) from my fren for rm 600.

im not earning loads every month but would love some crisp n bassy sound in the car, listen to mostly trance n electro. is this setup enough to satisfy even the non-audiophiles? i jz wan a simple and budget ICE and the most i will add next time is change the stock 4" to aftermarket pair of 4"s. i wana know if i wana add another pair of 5" or 6" CS on my front door, do i need x-overs or another amp? or can be powered from my HU as well?

icon_question.gif im a relative noobie in ICE, just started doing some homework, would appreciate all ur advice! cool.gif

This post has been edited by jaklogs: Dec 6 2013, 04:56 PM
howiechoo
post Dec 7 2013, 01:20 AM

Sincerely providing good music since 2004
1,919 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ May 5 2013, 12:15 AM)
For SQ setup is usually about using good quality product with minimal distortion and natural sounding package. Many purist even do away without rear channel at all, and SQ I think never uses coaxial at all as coaxial is for economical use. If going for SQ, if I'm not mistaken mostly use active setup whereby each speaker of the component is driven individually by each amp channel and use active cross over connection, as opposed to passive. Sub also normally don't use bridge connection since bridge gives more power at the expense of distortion, so usually driven by a real mono amp. So it's like channel 1 & 2 drives the tweeter then channel 3 & 4 drives the mid, all for front only. Then got one mono amp just for the sub, and not use rear speakers at all.

I'm nowhere near any expert on this and my ears are just very normal and insensitive like regular people but your kind of setup I think is just a normal economical setup, not SQ or SPL. smile.gif Experts like Howiechoo should be able to explain more on this.
just a reminder, a mono amp can easily having more distortion than you bridge a 2ch amp smile.gif
yuan415
post Dec 20 2013, 11:14 AM

NoBoDy
827 posts

hi, my current setup:
1) DLS R6A 2 way component
2) DLS CA-51 5 channel amp
3) DLS KW-12 12" subwoofer
4) Stock HU sweat.gif
5) Audison Bit Ten (should I?)

can give some comment and advice for my setup? i listen to many types of song (r&b, sentimental, trance, etc)
what is the differences if change from passive to active setup? many said it will sound better but better in terms of what? im not going to change HU atm, but the audison dsp will be a choice.
jyane
post Jan 6 2014, 11:07 PM

88 posts

Hi sifus,

Currently my fren set up for 1 set component, 1 4chn amp and 12 inch woofer.. My question is, y does his bass sound so hard? It like cant hear low bass based on other ppl car setup.. mind to share some infor wit me? thanks
jyane
post Jan 8 2014, 10:26 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(jyane @ Jan 6 2014, 11:07 PM)
Hi sifus,

Currently my fren set up for 1 set component, 1 4chn amp and 12 inch woofer.. My question is, y does his bass sound so hard? It like cant hear low bass based on other ppl car setup.. mind to share some infor wit me? thanks
Any sifu's can help my fren out? he is despo.. hahah.. thanks a lot for ur time
howiechoo
post Jan 9 2014, 04:29 PM

1,919 posts

QUOTE(jyane @ Jan 8 2014, 10:26 PM)
Any sifu's can help my fren out? he is despo.. hahah.. thanks a lot for ur time
by gathering the possible solutions will be like picking a needle from the sea....send to another installer and have a check on the prob will be easier....
jyane
post Jan 9 2014, 05:18 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(howiechoo @ Jan 9 2014, 04:29 PM)
by gathering the possible solutions will be like picking a needle from the sea....send to another installer and have a check on the prob will be easier....
Thanks for the reply.. haha.. is that hard to solve? What is the possibility that make the bass so hard? normall how to tune to soft/low bass?
HeLLonEarTH
post Aug 8 2014, 11:17 PM

311 posts

sifu sifu ice. I have a question. I want to go full active crossovers in my ice setup as i heard active is better than passive n easier control over my speakers. I have a 3-way setup up front, a 8' kicker freeair on my passanger floor well, and a 10' soundstream rubicon SQ woofer at the boot. If i ditch the passive crossovers and directly connect my 3 way speakers into every channel on the amp, can i do this? example.

4 channel amp.
channel 1 and 2 *HPF/FLAT/LPF* i use my 3' speakers on this (running of flat)
Channel 3 and 4 *HPF/FLAT* i use to connect my tweeters (running on HPF)

4 channel amp
Channel 1 and 2 *HPF/FLAT/LPF* use to connect my 8' sub (running on LPF with different low frequency)
Channel 3 and 4 *HPF/FLAT* use to connect my 6'5 mid bass speaker (running on HPF)

1 Monoblock Class D (set to 52hz) to run my R10SQ sub.

My main concern is, can i do this? how many active crossovers do i need? for example there are 3 way and 2 way crossovers out there. What would i need? Do i need both? or should i just keep my current setup? Im currently running 2 amps at the moment.

4 Channel Amp
Channel 1 and 2 bridged running my 8' front woofer at LPF
Channel 3 and 4 for my 3 way components in the front running HPF

1 monoblock amp
running my 10' sub.

Need some replies. if my words are too complicated, i can make a TL;DR version. thanks
k3lvinNdad
post Aug 9 2014, 12:42 AM

Uulala
511 posts

QUOTE(HeLLonEarTH @ Aug 8 2014, 11:17 PM)
sifu sifu ice. I have a question. I want to go full active crossovers in my ice setup as i heard active is better than passive n easier control over my speakers. I have a 3-way setup up front, a 8' kicker freeair on my passanger floor well, and a 10' soundstream rubicon SQ woofer at the boot. If i ditch the passive crossovers and directly connect my 3 way speakers into every channel on the amp, can i do this? example.

4 channel amp.
channel 1 and 2 *HPF/FLAT/LPF* i use my 3' speakers on this (running of flat)
Channel 3 and 4 *HPF/FLAT* i use to connect my tweeters (running on HPF)

4 channel amp
Channel 1 and 2 *HPF/FLAT/LPF* use to connect my 8' sub (running on LPF with different low frequency)
Channel 3 and 4 *HPF/FLAT* use to connect my 6'5 mid bass speaker (running on HPF)

1 Monoblock Class D (set to 52hz) to run my R10SQ sub.

My main concern is, can i do this? how many active crossovers do i need? for example there are 3 way and 2 way crossovers out there. What would i need? Do i need both? or should i just keep my current setup? Im currently running 2 amps at the moment.

4 Channel Amp
Channel 1 and 2 bridged running my 8' front woofer at LPF
Channel 3 and 4 for my 3 way components in the front running HPF

1 monoblock amp
running my 10' sub.

Need some replies. if my words are too complicated, i can make a TL;DR version. thanks
hi bro...i am not a sifu but i am free to try to help...might be wrong, so you might need double confirm my idea...
You only need 1unit of 3way electronic xover...
i believe ur 3way speaker should be component since u mention there is a passive xover...
so i think you should have 1pair tweeter, 1pair 3" mid, 1pair 6.5" midbass, 2 unit of woofer...

i think you should do this way:

4 channel amp
Channel 1 and 2 = tweeters + 3" mid(with your passive xover) set at hi-pass
Channel 3 and 4 = 6.5" mid-bass set at band-pass

1 monoblock/good bridgeable amp = 8" kicker

1 monoblock amp =10' sub

btw full active sound really nice but just need sometime to tune to suit your ear...unless you got equipment for tuning...
HeLLonEarTH
post Aug 9 2014, 01:19 AM

311 posts

QUOTE(k3lvinNdad @ Aug 9 2014, 12:42 AM)
hi bro...i am not a sifu but i am free to try to help...might be wrong, so you might need double confirm my idea...
You only need 1unit of 3way electronic xover...
i believe ur 3way speaker should be component since u mention there is a passive xover...
so i think you should have 1pair tweeter, 1pair 3" mid, 1pair 6.5" midbass, 2 unit of woofer...

i think you should do this way:

4 channel amp
Channel 1 and 2 = tweeters + 3" mid(with your passive xover) set at hi-pass
Channel 3 and 4 = 6.5" mid-bass set at band-pass

1 monoblock/good bridgeable amp  = 8" kicker

1 monoblock amp =10' sub

btw full active sound really nice but just need sometime to tune to suit your ear...unless you got equipment for tuning...
but what if i want to go full active? what do i need? icon_question.gif
k3lvinNdad
post Aug 9 2014, 07:38 AM

Uulala
511 posts

QUOTE(HeLLonEarTH @ Aug 9 2014, 01:19 AM)
but what if i want to go full active? what do i need?  icon_question.gif
your set up there actually is 4way...tweeter+mid+midbass+sub
get a 4way electronics xover i think hmm.gif
then tune like no tomorrow icon_idea.gif

HeLLonEarTH
post Aug 11 2014, 12:19 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(k3lvinNdad @ Aug 9 2014, 07:38 AM)
your set up there actually is 4way...tweeter+mid+midbass+sub
get a 4way electronics xover i think hmm.gif
then tune like no tomorrow icon_idea.gif
2 separate subs to be exact. both tuned to different frequency.
PedangGila
post Dec 26 2014, 02:53 PM

918 posts

Do you guys think i need a 6 channel amp to boost a gothia 6.3? It's in the manual. Facepalm

This post has been edited by PedangGila: Dec 26 2014, 09:39 PM
darkdevilrey
post Jan 18 2015, 08:44 PM

Silly Fools
1,156 posts

im new to ICE.

current ride is a Perodua Alza.

was thinking MBQ 10" underseat active subwoofer, but worry the bass level is not satisfying, especially as review by others ( no heart pumping feeling / heart vibration feeling )

so now, was thinking a little bit wild but maintain as simple / basic as possible.

HU - reuse existing oem alza player.

front and rear door panel speaker - reuse ( since my focus is on BASS only, sound does not really matter much for now )

Subwoofer - since my ride does not really have "boot" to store 2x10" subwoofer with enclosure, so i was expecting maybe a removable / flexible single 10" / 12" subwoofer with enclosure, can unplug when i need to use my "boot" space.

so from my understanding is monoblock amp + 10"/12" subwoofer with enclosure.

please advise which model / brand / shop to go for value for money.

budget limit to below rm500 / advise me.

was looking for something like below since space is also my concern.

can the below slim subwoofer fit into under front seat ?

tq very much cool.gif

This post has been edited by darkdevilrey: Jan 18 2015, 09:13 PM
PrinceQQ
post Mar 3 2015, 12:28 PM

hi all sifu, im new in here

currect using 2channel (400w) Pioneer amp

i doesnt need a woofer,
izzit possible to a 2channel amp to run 4speaker that 6.5inch mid bass door speaker?
howiechoo
post Mar 17 2015, 09:50 PM

1,919 posts

QUOTE(PrinceQQ @ Mar 3 2015, 12:28 PM)
hi all sifu, im new in here

currect using 2channel (400w) Pioneer amp

i doesnt need a woofer,
izzit possible to a 2channel amp to run 4speaker that 6.5inch mid bass door speaker?
u can, but better not...

1. 2 ohm generate high load on amp..
2. no fader adjustment. the lower power cunsumption speaker will sound louder.
3. acc shop cant sell u second amp...tongue.gif
peaceboy97
post May 18 2015, 01:54 PM

Hi All taiko taiko & ICE sifu sifu,

I'm very interest in ICE, so I prefer for SQ & SQL, there are 2 options where the picture show below. so which is the best for SQ or SQL system.? TQTQTQTQ..

1) with X-over on the component set for Front door only (x-over need or no need better).?
2) carry on to use the 5" Mid-bass rear speaker.?
3) w/o rear speaker better.?

icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

pacikmuda
post May 17 2016, 08:35 AM

25 posts

Hai to all otai..my ice setup is like this..
1.HU-PIONEER DEH1550 1PREOUT
2.1 poweramp 4 channel brand the punch
3.mohawk comp. Set for front
4.kicker subwoofer
5.pre amp 5 band
6.standard persona rear speaker..

Use 4 chnel amp to kick sub and my comp set..My questions is,why i cant use the fader function on the preamp..?

28 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 >Top

0.0222sec    0.86    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 07:01 PM