28 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Standard SETUP.., Look @ this b4 u plan to setup ICE

TSmattchin
post Sep 20 2006, 01:18 AM, updated 6y ago

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

This is roughly how basic ICE worls.. i hope that this can b pinned up so that beginners can get a picture how it is normally run..

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
DeReturner
post Sep 20 2006, 09:29 AM

99 posts

thumbup.gif Cool.

I got some diagram from MTX web which can use and reference too.

rclxm9.gif Pin it. tongue.gif

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
KidsCode
post Sep 20 2006, 11:01 AM

-----NoLimits!-----
6,649 posts

Information for Amps and Subwoofers

When you're ready to put a sub into your vehicle, there are a lot of options to choose from. Once you get past the basic question of the size and number of subs you want in your system, you need to decide on the type of sub(s) and the type of amplifier(s) you'll use.

When picking subs, you've got a choice between single voice coil (one set of terminals) and dual voice coil (DVC) models (two sets of terminals). Dual voice coil subs give you more wiring options than single voice coil models. Usually, but certainly not always, dual voice coil models are built for higher power handling and performance.

When choosing an amplifier, the most important thing is to pick one with the right amount of power for your subs (you can read more about that here.) Once you've decided how much power you need, you'll need to decide which type of amp to use. For most sub systems, you'll want to choose either a mono amp or a two-channel amp.

To get you on the fast track to big bass, let's look at four common combinations of subwoofers. We'll check out the advantages of each, the best wiring configuration, then discuss the type of amp to choose. We'll even show you how to hook 'em up!

One single 4-ohm voice coil sub

Advantages
Simplicity, price, and compactness are the big advantages of a single sub system. A single sub is pretty easy to hook up, there are a lot of reasonably priced models to choose from, and it won't take up too much room (although a 15" sub isn't exactly small!) You may not knock over small buildings with one sub, but you can still get a lot of solid bass.

The right type of amp to use
This is a perfect place for a two-channel amp. By bridging the output of the amp, you'll get lots of power for a relatively low cost. Avoid using a mono amp here - they work best at a lower impedance than 4 ohms.

One 4-ohm dual voice coil sub

Advantages
Don't be confused about dual voice coil (DVC) subs - having two voice coils simply gives you more ways to hook them up. In addition to wiring flexibility, the advantages of using one dual voice coil sub are power handling (most dual voice coil subs are built for heavy-duty use) and compactness.

This is a perfect situation for a mono sub amp. Why? Mono amps are built to provide the most power at lower impedances, typically around 2 ohms. By wiring the voice coils in parallel, we can present a 2-ohm impedance to the amp and get maximum power output. Check the diagram below for how to hook it up.

Two 4-ohm single voice coil subs

Advantages
When you're looking for big bass, having two subs makes a lot of sense. After all, sound is just the movement of air, and with two subs you can move lots of air! As before, price can be an advantage when selecting 4-ohm single voice coil subs. Sure, two subs will take up more room, but what do you want - trunk space or bass?

This setup is perfect for a mono sub amp. By wiring the two subs in parallel (see the diagram) you'll show a 2-ohm impedance to the amp. Mono amps are built for just this kind of situation, so you'll get maximum power output from your amp investment. Check the diagram below for how to hook it up.

Two 4-ohm dual voice coil subs

Advantages
Wiring flexibility is the key here. You've got lots of different ways to hook up this combination. With two subs, this is a great way to get the pounding bass you're looking for. Hook 'em up and hold on tight!

This is a great place to use a two-channel amp. When you wire the subs as shown in the diagram below, the total impedance will be four ohms. A bridged two-channel amp can provide plenty of power at a reasonable price. Get some good subs and a good amp and let it rip!

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
haobeck
post Sep 20 2006, 01:04 PM

~ n!c3 b0dy ~
1,434 posts

COOL JOB ...GUYS!!! rclxms.gif

at least know some basic ICE knowledge around here...

thanks !!!! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
TSmattchin
post Sep 21 2006, 12:56 AM

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

glad that it helps u.. smile.gif
sleepwalker
post Sep 21 2006, 04:45 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

Topic pinned as requested by topic starter since this is a good reference for ICE setup.
TSmattchin
post Sep 22 2006, 12:42 AM

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

thanks, bro!! biggrin.gif
CaLz
post Sep 25 2006, 12:05 PM

59 posts

can label which kind of wire used to connect every single item as well??
TSmattchin
post Sep 25 2006, 12:33 PM

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

fren...

it's either RCA o speaker cable.. if it is speaker cable then it is for speaker.. and RCA is used between the crossover, amp and HU smile.gif
Levin92
post Oct 14 2006, 04:02 AM

61 posts

great info for who new in ICE like me...
eddychstu
post Nov 8 2006, 02:00 PM

Why so serious?
2,347 posts

- message moved -

This post has been edited by eddychstu: Nov 8 2006, 02:10 PM
Smileyface
post Jan 6 2007, 02:15 PM

104 posts

actually wat is the full name of ICE? im sorry to ask such a noobie question but really curious about it...
thanks answering my ques... smile.gif
Phoenixwunin
post Jan 6 2007, 02:57 PM

841 posts

In car entertainment smile.gif
Smileyface
post Jan 6 2007, 07:11 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(Phoenixwunin @ Jan 6 2007, 02:57 PM)
In car entertainment smile.gif
LOL shocking.gif o gosh! im really a noobie!!
thanks anyway for answering my ques!
kahheng
post Mar 24 2007, 01:31 AM

478 posts

im using this setup,bought at rm1300 one and a half years ago.. wat i can say is, for me its powerful enuf,blast without pecah suara....haha

i even blow my 12" sub wen i first got it..luckily after claim waranty until now no prob... now tak berani go maximum lar..haha

Tohsan
post Mar 24 2007, 07:19 AM

1,133 posts

kahheng

mind tell me whats ur setup?
singchaii
post Mar 24 2007, 07:45 AM

~N0 Pa|n,N0 Ga|N~
7,842 posts

QUOTE(kahheng @ Mar 24 2007, 01:31 AM)
im using this setup,bought at rm1300 one and a half years ago.. wat i can say is, for me its powerful enuf,blast without pecah suara....haha

i even blow my 12" sub wen i first got it..luckily after claim waranty until now no prob... now tak berani go maximum lar..haha
Same like my setup lor. But wanted to get a 2 channel amplifier to kick my component set, and bridge my 4 channel amp into 1 channel and kick my 12inch sub woofer.
Tohsan
post Mar 24 2007, 09:42 AM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(singchaii @ Mar 24 2007, 07:45 AM)
Same like my setup lor. But wanted to get a 2 channel amplifier to kick my component set, and bridge my 4 channel amp into 1 channel and kick my 12inch sub woofer.
why do u want to waste your 4 channel to kick a sub? Becos most 4 channel is meant to power components, for sub u either get a 2 channel or a monoblock will do the job.
singchaii
post Mar 24 2007, 09:48 AM

~N0 Pa|n,N0 Ga|N~
7,842 posts

QUOTE(Tohsan @ Mar 24 2007, 09:42 AM)
why do u want to waste your 4 channel to kick a sub? Becos most 4 channel is meant to power components, for sub u either get a 2 channel or a monoblock will do the job.
Eh.. Mean I terbalik already?? Erm.. Actually I think to use 4channel to kick my 12 inch woofer because, I wan to add another 12 inch woofer. So 4 channel kick 2 woofer and 2 channel kick my component set. If i use 2 channel amp to kick a pair of my 12inch woofer, I scare it not enough power to kick.
kahheng
post Mar 24 2007, 10:41 AM

478 posts

QUOTE(singchaii @ Mar 24 2007, 09:48 AM)
Eh.. Mean I terbalik already?? Erm.. Actually I think to use 4channel to kick my 12 inch woofer because, I wan to add another 12 inch woofer. So 4 channel kick 2 woofer and 2 channel kick my component set. If i use 2 channel amp to kick a pair of my 12inch woofer, I scare it not enough power to kick.
can jus use one monobloc to kick two 12 woofer bcz u can bridge the woofer together, jz check dereturner diagram....

tohsan,my setup is jz like the drawing,simple....

28 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0180sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 12:32 AM