PROTON EXORA BOLD OWNERS THREAD! V4, Turbo vrooom vrooom pssssstt

SleeplessEyes
post May 17 2017, 12:51 AM

2,429 posts

hi guys,

Just wanted to ask, do you experience this, after changing to a fresh new oil, the radiator fan rarely comes on after shutting down the engine. And even if it does come on, its only for a short while.
No i am not worried about it. Im just wondering if its anything positive effect from the engine oil i used.
But thats what i noticed after driving for like 600kms on the new engine oil. Even after driving hard, the fan nowadays rarely comes on. Im sure its not a faulty sensor.

Also i noticed that the water temperature cools down quicker (down 1 bar from usual 3 bars) after engine turned off like 1.5 hours.
Im using Petronas Urania 15W-40. Good engine oil btw.
Previously was using Shell Helix hx7 which was supplied by Proton dealer.

If really the engine oil does wonders to keep the engine operating temperature lower, then im correct.
SleeplessEyes
post Jun 17 2017, 11:02 AM

2,429 posts

Dear friends,

I just recently bought a thermometer, rated up to max 400 deg Celcius. And its a Kitchen thermometer to measure cooking oil. blush.gif (Bought at Ace Hardware for Rm 34, still cheaper than infrared laser thermometer)

I tried to measure the turbo oil line return, it shows 150 deg celcius. Was wondering it was the correct place to poke. (this is a touch thermometer, not a contactless thermometer)

Picture of thermometer

This post has been edited by SleeplessEyes: Jun 17 2017, 11:09 AM
SleeplessEyes
post Jul 6 2017, 07:14 PM

2,429 posts

Hi.
Anyone face this issue whereby the radiator fan goes on for a very long long long time?

Today i raced up Genting Highland.. tapao Vw Sirocco , Toyota Wish, Audi (on Karak highway) .but just could only keep up behind Vellfire V6 (yeah..i know.. 3.5l V6..loads more torque than Exora) . He wasnt cruising either. So obvious he doesnt want a Proton to smoke his ride.
But good enough if can keep up with a V6.

As i stopped my car with the engine idling and already driving slowly (finding car park space).. still the fan runs very long even with the engine still running.
Temperature indicator showing normal 3 bars.

My oil is new. Only done 2000km.
Fuel i am using Petron ron 97, just for Genting runs.

But if i run at 140 for hours..no issue.

This post has been edited by SleeplessEyes: Jul 6 2017, 07:17 PM
SleeplessEyes
post Jul 6 2017, 08:38 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(zaidi @ Jul 6 2017, 07:18 PM)
please be kind to the CVT gearbox biggrin.gif. engine/turbo should be able to cope, but the CVT is questionable. prolonged radiator fan turning on is normal for such aggresive driving biggrin.gif
I think you have a point. Either the ecu detected high cvt temperature (yeah i was pushing it.. L gear.. 3000-4000rpm, giving all it got , trying to tailgate that Vellfire) then its trying to cool down the CVT, of which Punch representative did mentioned should the CVT overheat it will trigger the fan..only in extreme cases. (No Cvt warning light also) .

I tried to feel the air coming out from the radiator fan, if it was blasting hot air...then i know engine / turbo temp is hot.
But in this case the air was warm. Meaning engine temperature was at optimum temp even with all those abuse.
Dear Punch Cvt, sorry if i raped you hard on Genting hills.

SleeplessEyes
post Jul 8 2017, 05:54 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Jul 7 2017, 11:26 PM)
L gear actually is better for the CVT, as it switches between more ratio, compared to D.
If in D, it will keep to 2k~2.4k RPM, where the ratio is closer.

When did you last change CVT oil?
Now the mileage 31k only. Its a 3 yrs old car.

If my memory recalled, haven't changed. I think i should consider changing later. I know its 60k.. Cant remember how many "months" interval.

Well i tried D, if casually cruising up Genting, it still does do the job though i can hear the engine rumbling at 2000rpm. Sounds like its not happy taking it easy uphill.
Putting it into L, and it wakes up the turbo monster. Even the Hilux, supposedly diesel king of uphills, had to give way.

But like i mentioned earlier, i was shocked when the fan continuously ran for so long. From the time i slowly cruise inside First World car park until i park my car and unload the luggages (engine still running) , I think thats a total of more than 15-20 mins. And more, even when i switched off the engine after idling for few mins, still ran.

But when I'm back home, it behaved like normal again. But of course i didn't do any Dominic Torreto driving style back home. Cruising only 60-70km/h.

Update: Drove to Klang.. doing max 80 only instead of blasting at 130 on Shah alam klang highway. Fan didnt turn on upon arrival..which is a good sign. Now i know why.

This post has been edited by SleeplessEyes: Jul 8 2017, 08:29 PM
SleeplessEyes
post Aug 13 2017, 01:50 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(imin @ Jul 31 2017, 12:30 AM)
Hi. My exora cfe is 4 years+ old now. recently I went for 52k service, and after that I realized that my turbo cooler/fan radiator (the one that usually will still berbunyi loud even after we've turned off our car engine) won't be turned on as often as previous anymore. previously, even when I drive for a few minutes, already can hear the turbo cooler/fan radiator works/berbunyi for a few seconds (or minutes) ate least... nowadays it will still work, but not as often as previous... that day I drove from bangi to selayang, and after I turn off the engine, the turbo cooler/fan radiator doesn't turn on.

I went to the proton service center again after that, telling them about this and they said this is just the setting and they've fixed that... but then it's still the same

Should I be worried? Thanks!
You did an oil change right? Mine also display the same habit. Even now after 3000km. Still hardly runs. But if i turn on the ignition (without engine running) and off again it does turn on. So i conclude its not a defect. Something gotta do with fresh engine oil help to cool engine down.

Btw i am not using Synthium. Using Petronas Urania 15w-40

SleeplessEyes
post Sep 30 2017, 01:51 AM

2,429 posts

Hi guys,
Anyone here using any lubricant thinner than 10W-40, like a 10W-30 for our hot blooded turbo?

Currently running on 15W-40 mineral (turbo certified) but seems to drop the FC slightly although lubricant is doing is job very well.
SleeplessEyes
post Oct 2 2017, 04:56 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Oct 1 2017, 12:21 AM)
I think 5W-30 is the recommended.
Actually I dont think its the recommended. Cause this is what the manual says :
[attachmentid=9194127]

And I have to agree with it. 5W-30 seems too thin for the turbo engine.
[attachmentid=9194130]

Quite interesting to see the viscosity charts biggrin.gif

But what puzzles me is why the 5W-40 & 5W-50 oil seems to be lower temperature tolerance than regular 10W-30 oil. confused.gif

However it seems Proton uses 10W-40 to be on the safe side.
That's why I wanted to see if any Exora owners here uses 10W-30 (anything lower than 10w-40)

This post has been edited by SleeplessEyes: Oct 2 2017, 05:00 PM
SleeplessEyes
post Oct 4 2017, 10:43 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Oct 2 2017, 09:07 PM)
SleeplessEyesRecommended 10W-30, right?
For cold places, the first number is important.
Agree with you on this. Cause in very cold places (colder than Genting or Cameron) , oil tend to become honey like.
But in Malaysia, whats the coldest temperature in your car porch? I think around 25C only. Room temperature.
Therefore the oil at that temperature still flows well.

So when I look back at the chart...15W-40..is a great oil at that viscosity..though it's like overkill. laugh.gif

BTW, just share a video here

Motor Oil | Fine Print and Misconceptions

SleeplessEyes
post Oct 5 2017, 09:31 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(tonertoner @ Oct 5 2017, 09:03 PM)
Thanks for informing. If the mileage is the same but price of 97 is 14% more then I won't experiment in.
Save me efforts and money. Thanks 👍👍
This is what i learn from a few factors that work on the exora.
i) your right foot. How hard you drive determines how mich u save or dont save. But i notice if u drive gently (around 60km/h) it wont save that much. Drive it abit harder then its feels better. But drive too aggressive and it does hit the FC.
ii) Petrol brands - For Exora it seems to prefer Petron for.best mileage.
Iii) engine oil used - Previously i used 10w40 semi syn oil for my exora. Then i switched to Petronas 15w40 Heavy Duty Diesel Engine Oil (mineral), Fc got worsen. But oil protection is there. So thats why on my next oil change im going for 10W30 semi.
Iv) Traffic conditon - its quite obvious...more traffic jam means higher fc..and it seems for Exora...its very noticeable.
SleeplessEyes
post Oct 5 2017, 11:34 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(tonertoner @ Oct 5 2017, 09:43 PM)
Thanks for the info. I wanted to compare apple to apple meaning if other factors remain the same will 97 safe more petrol than 14%.

Good point on the Petron brand and 10W30 though. I will try Petron. BTW do u happen to have any scientific explanation on this? Just curious.
Hi Toner,
If you watch this video, it will explain very well difference between RON 95 (BP Standard Unleaded & ASDA brand) vs ROn 97 (Shell VPower ,BP Ultimate and Esso) and different brands. Tested on a turbocharged Golf GTI.
Thats scientific evidence proven by Fifth Gear.

The results on a chart is at minute 4:48. Yes, some horsepower difference on the dyno,possible to help with horsepower with the Exora, but in real life FC on my Exora, very minimal effect. If you are looking to save more fuel with RON 97, nope. It wont. (Thats why I drive my Axia daily, that alone saves 50% more fuel than my Exora on RON 95 laugh.gif )

For the lubricant part, you may refer to my earlier posts
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=86575155

SleeplessEyes
post Jan 21 2018, 07:08 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Oct 16 2017, 12:15 AM)
Long time no post.
After few years using this car, how is the FC for you guys?
Has it remained roughly the same?

My 3.5yrs old Exora with only 35k (low mileage because i only drive short distances once a week or long distances only).

Does about 13L per 100km on 100% city driving. Is that normal?
I have tried running long distance and i got around:
9L per 100km if running on highway.
Close to 10L per 100km if i mix highway and city driving.

Used to love fueling up with Petron but lately i feel their fuel quality degraded, causing an increased of the FC. So now i am trying out Shell although i am a Petronas supporter.

Now running on 10w30 instead of the past 15w40. I switched to 10w30 to see if it helps with the FC.
SleeplessEyes
post Jan 23 2018, 07:43 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(JollyRogers @ Jan 22 2018, 02:38 PM)
Same yr as yours , all housing estate and some shopping centre driving 15.5L/100km
I'll faint if its 15.5L/100km around town. 13L and below is acceptable. Thats why i have my Axia as my daily workhorse. I know its not a direct comparison with Axia but im trying to compare with Mpvs or SUVs weighing the same and with a 2.0L engine.

But here is something i notice. If i drive it very gently..sometimes it gets worse. I drive it abit harder with boost it seems to help.
SleeplessEyes
post Feb 3 2018, 06:25 PM

2,429 posts

Yes! I have finally break the official fuel consumption rate. Was it 7.2L per 100km at 90km/h as quoted by Proton?

I managed to get 6.4L per 100km highway drivibg from Kota Kemuning to Ayeh Keroh Melaka. Only doing 80-90 on the slowest lane. No speeding at 110 or 130. Only once in a while overtake a lorry or two.

Using Shell (which seems to contribute this amazing Fc).

After driving around in Melaka town and before setting off to Muar, i got 7.5L per 100km (which means its better than proton's claim) for combine city and highway FC.

This post has been edited by SleeplessEyes: Feb 3 2018, 06:28 PM
SleeplessEyes
post Feb 21 2018, 11:12 AM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(androidj7 @ Feb 19 2018, 11:00 PM)
Hi anyone using EB do the grab/uber? How tahan this  car doing long run everday?
Well i spotted Exora CPS and few exora turbo being used as 1 malaysia taxi being used. But however mostly are fitted with NGV.

Personally i would take the Cps if i were to use it for commercial usage. Turbo engines tend to run much hotter unless you drive frequently without boost.

Also is because of the high city driving FC. No doubt Grab charges more for MPV customers but fuel is the main cost..

i will only use sedan or Axia for full time Grab and Uber.
SleeplessEyes
post Mar 12 2018, 10:25 AM

2,429 posts

Hi. Anyone knows how much to replace a key? Last week in an unfortunate event, I lost my car key (dont know how it slipped out of my pocket), luckily I was not far from home to ask family members to fetch my spare keys.

Now wanna know how much it would cost since it has a remote and a microchip. Dang. I dont think I can duplicate the tiny immobilizer microchip at any locksmith right?
SleeplessEyes
post Mar 15 2018, 10:23 AM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Mar 12 2018, 09:18 PM)
SleeplessEyesSorry, not sure. I think there's an original metal tag with number that you'll need to bring to P1SC to request for new key fob.
I just went to Proton dealer and they quoted keys + remote + immobilzer chip + reprogram = rm 286.
Ouch.
SleeplessEyes
post Jul 25 2018, 06:30 PM

2,429 posts

Now for my list of problems.
4yrs old Exora Turbo. Only done 38K.

1) Driver side - Whenever going over speed bump, it emits a frog sound. Tried to test absorbers strenght seems okay but making noise each time go over speed bump. Sad..
Could it be absorber mounting on its way out? Thats abit early.

This post has been edited by SleeplessEyes: Jul 26 2018, 05:07 PM
SleeplessEyes
post Jul 30 2018, 02:56 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Jul 27 2018, 11:15 PM)
I think it's from the seat.
Hie Alexei smile.gif

Maybe this video and sound will give a clearer picture of what exactly happened.
Definitely not from the seat (as show in this video)
I used my body weight to push the side of the car, and it sure is tough to push, meaning the absorber is still in good condition. Only mystery is where does the sound come from..

SleeplessEyes
post Aug 4 2018, 03:50 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(JollyRogers @ Aug 3 2018, 09:00 PM)
If your car vibrates even when in N , then its the engine ountung
Rm500 per pair  including installation  cool2.gif
Touchwood. I check for any vibration when in P or N. No vibration.
However if i stand outside the car with the gear in P or N there is this slight extra buzzing noise (aircond not turned.on) apart from the "tick tick tick" sound which i know its the fuel injector noise. Maybe its the plastic engine cover noise.

Need to record a separate video for that.

8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0948sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 12:15 AM