8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

PROTON EXORA BOLD OWNERS THREAD! V4, Turbo vrooom vrooom pssssstt

SleeplessEyes
post Jan 20 2015, 11:13 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(the100308 @ Jan 20 2015, 09:13 PM)
dear all exora owner, would like to check. For a single bed, 3 inch thick, unfoldable, can it be fit into the car?
My record so far.

A inflatable Tesco swimming pool. Dimension is 2m (L) x 1.5m (w) x 0.5m (h)
In inches, its 79inch x 59 x 20 inch.

Brought it to the nearest petrol station to inflate it.
Can fit in term of lenght, but was stuck by the side after inflating it.
So i had to deflate slightly, tilt it up slightly.. Inflate again. Better but still stuck by the side.

So there you have it. The interior cabin tested to the limits biggrin.gif .
SleeplessEyes
post Jan 21 2015, 01:57 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(my plumred @ Jan 21 2015, 12:41 PM)
My EB CVT shows 9.5l\ 100km on the panel. It is too much? Any idea too make it more lower? .
Is it city driving ..or highway driving?
If highway driving, can be better.
But if City driving, it's already good already lo.

Pls remember this is Litre/100KM, not KM/Litre. Lower reading means better FC

You can read the pages here too, I dont mind also sharing my FC.
But City driving and highway driving, alot of differences.

This post has been edited by SleeplessEyes: Jan 21 2015, 01:59 PM
SleeplessEyes
post Jan 30 2015, 01:39 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(vivakarna @ Jan 29 2015, 10:07 PM)
the pattern is not normal and got sound like 'tak' 'tak', it seem the fan struggling to turn on...need to turn on the engine again to activate the cooling fan.
I think the tak tak sound, probably comes from the exhaust/metal cooling down.
Mine also have this sound, but I'm not too worried, cause some cars do have this sound.

Also, mine also, sometimes the fan doesn't run after shutting down the first time, but the water pump still does run (by hearing the water sound).

Sometimes I just turn it into ON position for few seconds, then turn off ignition ; you don't need to start the engine.
Yes, it will run after that, but sometimes it doesn't. Depends.

Again I'm not to worried, cause like alexei says, probably haven't hit the 90C threshold yet.
It's not compulsory to try run the fan for 2nd time, but just me, I prefer to have the fan running, for assurance feeling, so that the radiator coolant temperature is cooler, so that the turbo gets cooled down properly. (Sometimes I even open my bonnet, in my car porch)

Last time (when I first got the car), I idle the engine for 1 minute, but after that I read certain forum, it's not necessary for water-cooled turbo.
SleeplessEyes
post Feb 4 2015, 01:25 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(ir5 @ Feb 4 2015, 12:20 PM)
Guys,
Any tyre shop (good service) that you guys can recommend to me near bukit jalil or puchong area?
I've accidently hit to a divider on the way to KL city centre last weekend and broke my front left tyre sad.gif going to search for a good second hand tyre also plan to do allignment n balancing...
You can try this company:

TTH Tyre S/B
38 & 40, JALAN TPP 1/17,
TAMAN PERINDUSTRI PUCHONG,
Puchong 47100, Selangor.
Next to Tesco Puchong,industria area.
Landmark: Indian Temple/Honda Showroom.

http://www.mudah.my/Continental+Contact+ty...16-14252869.htm

I have bought previously 2 pieces 13" tyres (for my other car, not Exora), and their tyres are decent quality.
All they stock up, is imported, used tyres, brands/models you will never see/find in Malaysia.
The tyres lasted for about a year plus (I bought that time was 70% tread)

However you need to check the used tyres before installing, as sometimes their tyres may have defect in their tyre pile, but they are willing to replace for you (they offer short warranty)

My advice? Swap your rear good tyre (just 1 pc) to the front left, and install the new (used) tyre at the back.
Usually rear tyres (front wheel drive) have more thread than the front tyres.

This post has been edited by SleeplessEyes: Feb 4 2015, 01:30 PM
SleeplessEyes
post Feb 6 2015, 05:03 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(ir5 @ Feb 4 2015, 02:37 PM)
thanks bro for the info. does the company do alignment n balancing too?
i'm thinking to still put the 2nd hand tyre under the hood (for spare tyre) and will swap both rear tyres to front when doing the alignment n balancing...
Sorry for late reply bro.

This shop unfortunately only do balancing and they charge separately for balancing unlike other tyre shops which bundle together with the tyre price.
SleeplessEyes
post Mar 14 2015, 12:17 AM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(comflash2 @ Mar 13 2015, 10:46 AM)
I'm using SAT for traffic jam @ full city driving. Gear ratio is more aggressive when start moving and feel more pickup.

I'll use CVT (D) in suburban@highway driving. Gear ratio more conservative and feel little bit "no pickup" when start moving. However, it is most petrol efficient mode, and the gear change is smooth. I have problem with this mode at stop and go traffic, where my Exora sometimes (around 1-2 times per week) will be "jerking" when my Exora start moving. My ECU and TCU already the latest version and Proton can't solve this problem for me.

I'll use CVT (L) when climbing steep hills. Gear ratio extremely bias to high@aggressive your engine will be loud but the torque is maximum.
Thats odd.

For me,
I'm the opposite of yours.

SAT - Good for highway driving (reduce the RPM from constantly going up and down) or more relaxed driving.

SAT mode actually makes it "feel" artificially "more pickup" when you press harder, but in real life, I find sometimes it can bog down the engine too much when it changes gear. only good only if trying to keep the revs as low as possible but not good when you trying to accelerate hard.

The RPM may go higher than 2K on each change, but each virtual gear change, you can feel the engine being stressed.

D mode (SAT mode off) - For more spirited driving. No doubt that it always maintains around 2K RPM and abit more, but however I feel it launch faster. Apparently there is a Eco-mode program built in the TCU, but you need to have very light foot to get to rev low. But this means your turbo boost is off most of the time.

I only tried once L mode when going downhill a parking lot ramp, that helps some. Not much.
But I've tried driving up Karak highway-Bukit Tinggi with D mode. Does the job well uphill even with 5 adults.

Anyway, this just my views.
SleeplessEyes
post Mar 17 2015, 08:07 AM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(Ronnie61 @ Mar 16 2015, 11:38 PM)
After my 1K service last week, took my bold turbo to 120kph... felt vibrations on steering wheel....took to my regular tyre shop thinking it needs balancing... boss told me the swelling in stock champiro tyres is the problem and advised me to take it up with proton. Will be taking it to Kesas service centre this Wednesday... any bros encountered this new tyre problem before? Thanks
Same here but vibrations can feel abit. Balanced already once, gone, then came back again later.
If I am not mistaken only happens around 120-130Km/h. After that... (i.e 130, 140KM/h..) it doesn't appear.

As so long it doesn't vibrate below 110, I can live with it until next service.
SleeplessEyes
post Apr 16 2015, 02:00 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(Piccolo @ Apr 15 2015, 10:35 AM)
Hello everyone. I am a new owner of a Mc2 premium.

Overall, a great mpv with the exception of 2 points that is bugging me. Maybe its just me but after 1300km
1. FC is 7.2km/l - mostly city drive on RON95, 50-50 SAT-CVT
2. Engine minor knocking (ping) - reminds me of my old wira. Runs in family of Proton is it?

No. 1 giving me nightmares because my wallet is more used to 9.9km/l smile.gif
Hi there.

I'm getting also around 11-12Litre/100Km. (translates around 8-9KM/L) around city driving.
Actually I've achieved below 11L/100KM before.
If you are using Shell I notice it will be around 13Litres/100KM and above.

So you have to try other petrol apart from SHELL.
SleeplessEyes
post Apr 16 2015, 03:01 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(Piccolo @ Apr 16 2015, 02:17 PM)
The 13.9l/100km I got here was from Petronas. Giving BP a shot now. Thanks for the feedback.

Anyone knows if EB has manual adjustable timing via the distributor? Or should I request retarding it at SC? Reason is the engine pinging (minor) when engine is under load.
Oic...haven't tried BHP (and Caltex) though. Tried Petron, Petronas (middle) and Shell, so far Petron seems to be good followed by the worse - Shell.

Regarding about manual adjustable timing, welcome to the era of fuel injection.

In fact you won't even see a distributor; its all computer controlled. From your engine ignition timing, turbo, to the gearbox.
I've tried RON 97 petronas , doesn't seem to improve vastly.

SleeplessEyes
post Jun 22 2015, 05:02 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(jemmi @ Jun 22 2015, 07:56 AM)
CPS should be better FC coz no Turbo or VTEC, CPS manual will be better FC coz you can control the speed & gear(5 gear).
The real different only the performance, like Kancil compare with Myvi.
Actually CPS is a "VTEC" system (CPS- Cam Profile Switching) except it differs abit than Honda's VTEC.
You can read it here: Proton Campro - WIkipedia

Why turbo FC is high, is because of addiction to constantly driving hard to feel the "turbo kick in ya" .
Oh BTW, CFE version doesn't use CPS, but uses a variable valve timing, something like Toyota's VVTI system.

While you are correct that manual can control the speed and gear, CVT in the CFE version can also do the same thing, and even better, by using very light throttle application, it will keep the revs as low as possible, because CVT ratios are variable compare to manual - Fixed gear ratio

You can actually drive the CFE version to be as economical as CPS version, but that will spoil the driving fun of not turbo boosting. smile.gif
Not to mention it will be dull/Boring drive (for speed addicts)

This post has been edited by SleeplessEyes: Jun 22 2015, 05:05 PM
SleeplessEyes
post Jun 26 2015, 05:28 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(kuai_chai @ Jun 25 2015, 08:43 PM)
hi guys..
im interested to know some info about exora..
what is the FC of it?
according to the website guidelines, it mentioned 7.2L/100 km.. if true, then 1 full tank can travel about 600km.. which i doubt it..

So i believe asking owners of exora will know the more accurate answer than the online guidelines.
2 options here: city driving and highway driving.
thanks!!
Hi there,
I have never gotten anything below 8L/100KM. If it does, I will be very happy.
Mine I got less than 9L/100kM before, on highway drive, and around 11 to close to 12L/100KM for purely town driving. Yes. Ouch.

Then again, I understand that this is a 1.5ton (kerb weight, without any passengers) MPV, so I should put 2000CC (and similar weight) cars as a FC benchmark.

FYI, for comparison, my sis's Kia Sportage SUV (2nd generation,1 generation behind the latest model) with the 2.0L Hyundai engine, gets around 11-12L/100KM around town. Highway..close to 10L/100KM only. And its more under power than the Exora.

SleeplessEyes
post Jun 27 2015, 09:33 AM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(kuai_chai @ Jun 27 2015, 01:37 AM)
the engine i read is 16-valve DOHC, naturally-aspirated with variable valve timing.
this engine is the same as alza, right?
but alza FC is much lower than exora i heard..
the reason.. mainly is because the weight and 1.6cc?
pls correct me if im wrong.. smile.gif
Hi there,

this engine is the same as alza, right? Wrong. biggrin.gif
This engine is turbocharged, not Naturally aspirated. Totally different. (Although still 16-Valve DOHC with Variable valve timing)
it has 205NM of ass-kicking torque from 2000RPM onwards rclxms.gif vs Alza's 136NM (which you only get when you reach 4400RPM)

FC is lower for the Alza because of the weight (300Kilos lighter) vs exora's 1465Kilos.
If space is your concern, then you will forgive the Exora's extra FC.

This post has been edited by SleeplessEyes: Jun 27 2015, 09:35 AM
SleeplessEyes
post Jun 30 2015, 05:39 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(farghmee @ Jun 30 2015, 11:03 AM)
just wondering,
would it be nice if cfe/turbo paired with manual gb..

cvt seems to have sound issue, but the manual as in iriz seems ok.

what makes proton not producing manual+cfe/turbo?
Actually CVT is as good or better than manual shifting.
CVT does all the work of squeezing every single drop of engine performance while maintaining RPM and boost, therefore improving acceleration.

For manual, like Alexei says, each time you change your gears, you have to let go of the accelerator ; means you release boost.

I have tried the Suprima with manual shifting modes, feels virtually aggressive, but I felt it's best to leave it in Drive and let the computer do the decision.

The only sound issue I encountered, is only during reversing. Other than that, during normal driving, doesn't annoy at all.

SleeplessEyes
post Jul 2 2015, 02:53 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(jemmi @ Jul 2 2015, 08:04 AM)
I prefer 10k interval with fully(shell/Mobil), my Bandar Baru Klang SC provide Shell.
QUOTE(alexei @ Jul 2 2015, 11:25 AM)
For Mobil, it's got to be Mobil 1.
Without the '1', for the same price I take Shell Helix Ultra.
Actually IMO, I don't trust Fully Synthetics.
I use Heavy Duty Diesel Engine Oils in my car. (not on the Exora, but on my Proton Wira) .
Previously used Petronas Urania Supremo CI-4 , used for 7500KMs, satisfied.
Now using "PETRON REV-X PREMIUM MULTI-GRADE 15W-40"
Both I mentioned above are certified for "extended oil drain interval".

SleeplessEyes
post Jul 7 2015, 12:12 PM

2,429 posts

Hi Exora-ians,

Anyone here tried RON 97 on their Exoras up hill?

I tried RON 97 on a outstation journey (Subang to PD and back) , not a big improvement difference in FC. Understandable cause not much engine load during cruising.

But however next week I and my in laws (total 7 adults + 2 kids + luggage) will be going up Genting.

So I am expecting much more work from the turbo engine climbing up Uncle Lim's steep hill compared to cruising on the highway. (Not to mention higher compression when boost is on, and Altitude)

Now I know that this turbo can run on RON 95 no issue on flat ground, but do u think I can squeeze out all the torque from the turbo engine,using ROn 97 going uphill, compare to using RON 95.

Now I understand that the CVT will take care also of the load much better compared to conventional auto gearbox (hence should be less stress on the engine).

Would be interesting to know what is the ECU's reaction when it detects change to RON 97 (i.e ignition timing and turbo boost level, unfortunately i dont have OBD bluetooth device)

This post has been edited by SleeplessEyes: Jul 7 2015, 12:55 PM
SleeplessEyes
post Jul 9 2015, 05:17 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Jul 8 2015, 09:38 AM)
Proton CFE is designed to accomodate RON85. Putting RON95 vs RON97 is overrated. There is no knocking to prevent, unless the compression ratio has been changed. RON97 does not improve FC, unless if the type of fuel specifically mention higher energy per volume. Then again, energy per volume is not indicated by RON numbers.

Going uphill, in my EB, I notice the acceleration from 30~40kmh onwards is very sluggish. Not sure how yours perform. I mentioned this and asked forumers to try but no one responded... people probably missed my post. tongue.gif
I've since added some CVT additives and things are better now.

Let me know how yours perform.

Hi Alexei bro,
Last I tried going up genting (but just to Goh Tong Jaya only and down), was around 2 mths ago, with regular RON 95.
After the first guard house, on my right was a white , empty (means no passengers inside) Proton Wira genting taxi.

Upon crossing the speed bump, the Wira can accelerate faster than the Exora. And this is despite revving it up to 3000RPM on D gear (nope I haven't tried L)
But understandable la. 1450KG MPV (kerb weight/without passengers), vs 1000KG Sedan car.

My guess is that probably I will try to experiment with L gear upphill,to get the CVT to hold at lower gear instead of trying to shift up through the gears earlier, to put more torque on the ground.

Need a steep hill around the neighbourhood to try it out. (or the famous Thean Ho temple where the Preve Exec failed,LOL)
SleeplessEyes
post Jul 22 2015, 03:52 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Jul 21 2015, 07:29 PM)
600km for 55liter...  Is like 340km for my 38liter habit... My daily drive.
Should get better if remain below 120kmh.
Hi brother Alexei,
I think you shouldnt use 55 litres, cause thats unless you run totally empty (until car stops by the roadside)
Usually the first bar blinking usually means 5 litres left.

So assuming riezzien does 600KM = 50 litres = 8.33L/100Km = Good FC.
But then again this is manual calculation.
More accurately riezzien should get from the computer read out which is more accurate
(Hint for riezzien : Press the odo meter button few seconds and scroll to L/100KM reading)

This post has been edited by SleeplessEyes: Jul 22 2015, 03:54 PM
SleeplessEyes
post Jul 23 2015, 04:08 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(ImAn @ Jul 23 2015, 02:10 PM)
still confuse about SAT, which condition shld we activate. city driving or highway driving.
Actually there are no fixed rules about when to use the SAT.
however based on experience, I find it better to use SAT on Highway driving or cruising or going downhill , as it doesn't changes the gear frequently (rather it will hold on to the gear before switching up or down)

If you use SAT mode in city driving with frequent changes of speed, you will find the gear changes is actual bogging down the engine, hence lower acceleration. Some maybe fine with turbo acceleration being compromised. In other words, if you're planning to smoke someone at the green lights/SMART TAG lane, SAT mode is not your friend.

This post has been edited by SleeplessEyes: Jul 23 2015, 04:09 PM
SleeplessEyes
post Jul 23 2015, 08:22 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(ImAn @ Jul 23 2015, 04:45 PM)
thanks for the info. funny about the Smart Tag/green lights statement haha.

i think lots of stream,odyssey,wish,estima owner hate our EB.. always kene tapau .. hehe
You're welcome. biggrin.gif

In fact it's easier for me to list the cars which I kena tapau. All sedan.

1) Merc A250 sport -
Yes I know, thats a 2.0L , 210Horsepower turbo breathing beast, vs a 138BHP 1.6L puny turbo blush.gif Yes. Crazy.
On the busy roads in front of Sunway Pyramid, still can catch up. But the moment the road frees up, his turbo power also opens up. And within seconds, gone, in a flash.

2) Honda Accord 2.4L VTIL -
Managed to tail him right up to 120 right from the SMART tag lane, and then after that speed, his VTEC is telling my Exora,"VTEC just kicked in yo!" and off he goes, really fast.
FYI. Again. 175Horses vs 138horses. Both also same 1.5ton weight.

3) Toyota Altis 2.0 Dual VVTI , CVT version
Just because I overtook him on the middle lane (before the toll booth) when he is on the fast lane, he decided to revenge; after both of us pass the Smart tag booth, he unleash his Dual VVTi , 145 horse powar and sped off really fast. I ran up to 160Km/H and still managed to catch up with him (still he is doing very high speed run) for a while before I had to slow down and turn off at the next interchange. he has an advantage in acceleration due to lighter kerb weight (1300Kilos) and more horses.

Conclusion? I'm still happy with the performance although kena tapau by the cars I listed above.

SleeplessEyes
post Jul 29 2015, 05:43 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(smon80 @ Jul 28 2015, 02:12 PM)
Any sales office can go for test drive? my location is in klnag, shah alam.
My bad experience with Glenmarie Proton showroom is that everytime I go their showroom on a weekend, ask the salesman for a test drive, they will give excuses that their 'boss' keeps the car key .. "cannot test drive .. can arrange for test drive on weekdays ar etc"". Twice already on different days.
However I did manage to get my test drive in Mutiara Damansara (next to IKEA/Tesco) showroom and once in Proton showroom in Jalan 222 (next to BHP petrol station) without any objections.

I don't have such problems with Perodua.

But anyhow I still no matter how enjoy my Exora.

This post has been edited by SleeplessEyes: Jul 29 2015, 05:44 PM

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0304sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 09:38 AM