Folding Bicycles v4 - Not only Folding Bikes, Folding bicycle discussion

PaulKong
post Oct 25 2015, 08:34 PM

QUOTE(H2D @ Oct 25 2015, 12:24 AM)
u contact the agent via pm, email etc.

send the link of item, which type etc, ask them to contact seller to check stock.

price of item in rmb, seller need to post to the agent's warehouse in GZ, so need to add domestic postage.
some times seller offer free shipping.

air shipping frm gz to west msia ranges from RM11-RM14 per kg depending on agent.

weight of items rounded to next kg, so 1.5kg is 2kg etc

got formula to calculate volumetric weight, if vol is higher will use it.

some items are classified as sensitive and need to add special fee.

the exchange rate varies, ask them for quote, normally they don't update the old rate.

eg, price of item RMB90+ domestic shipping RMB10, total = RMB100.

RMB100/1.5 = 66.67
66.67 X 1.1 = 73.33 this is the price if the item in linggit 73.33
then u need to pay air shipping fee, cheapest so far is RM 11 per KG.

u can read the instructions on the agent's thread. if tak paham ask them.

below are a few recommended ones.

- fast reply, have sea freight down to 0.1M3
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3126118

-cheapest sensitive charge
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...24313&hl=taobao

-lowest air fee RM11
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2828557
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3063342

-got small parcel sea pack
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3190582?hl=taobao
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...01562&hl=taobao

-very organized but RM14/kg
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...24040&hl=taobao
I think your way would be better and safer. Thanks for your link. ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘
jeanginger
post Oct 26 2015, 01:00 PM

hi need some advice on foldies. I've recently been asked by my 9yo for a bike. from initial checking around i'm thinking of getting a folding bike for him which I can also occasionally use. therefore i'd appreciate advice/input on these options:
dahon vitesse d8, route akibo, boardwalk d8, vybe d7 & tern b7.

I've also been offered a dahon vybe c7s (2014 stock clearance), any good? thnx lots for yr input.
etigge
post Oct 26 2015, 01:24 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(jeanginger @ Oct 26 2015, 01:00 PM)
hi need some advice on foldies. I've recently been asked by my 9yo for a bike. from initial checking around i'm thinking of getting a folding bike for him which I can also occasionally use. therefore i'd appreciate advice/input on these options:

I've also been offered a dahon vybe c7s (2014 stock clearance), any good? thnx lots for yr input.
Don't go for the C7s, if it is a C7a, it would be better. The steel frame of the C7s is a bit heavy. The best option in your case is the Boardwalk. The Tern with the same specs but cost more is of no advantage. So, scrap that also. Does the Route comes in Akibo colours also? hmm.gif I know Boardwalk has the Akibo but Route ???

If your 9 'yo' is going to ride it, just make sure he/she won't just ride and leave outside somewhere to buy something or get something. When that happens, you will notice the bike will be gone in 60 seconds. A few years ago, not many people know that there are expensive foldies also and very in-demand. Now everybody knows that and robbers who used to target roadbikes are also targetting foldies nowadays. A forummer here lost his Dahon when someone broke into his car. In fact he told me, he lost the whole set, helmet, bike and even jersey. blush.gif
jeanginger
post Oct 26 2015, 01:47 PM

QUOTE(etigge @ Oct 26 2015, 01:24 PM)
Don't go for the C7s, if it is a C7a, it would be better. The steel frame of the C7s is a bit heavy. The best option in your case is the Boardwalk. The Tern with the same specs but cost more is of no advantage. So, scrap that also. Does the Route comes in Akibo colours also?  hmm.gif  I know Boardwalk has the Akibo but Route ???

If your 9 'yo' is going to ride it, just make sure he/she won't just ride and leave outside somewhere to buy something or get something. When that happens, you will notice the bike will be gone in 60 seconds. A few years ago, not many people know that there are expensive foldies also and very in-demand. Now everybody knows that and robbers who used to target roadbikes are also targetting foldies nowadays. A forummer here lost his Dahon when someone broke into his car. In fact he told me, he lost the whole set, helmet, bike and even jersey.  blush.gif
thnx very much for yr input & good advice on leaving bikes while buying stuff. not sure abt akibo colours, i was just quoted via whatsapp. so i'd probably narrow down to 2 options: c7a or boardwalk. what are the significant differences between these 2 (apart from the price of course), is c7a an older version of vybe d7? tq
nizamsulaiman
post Oct 26 2015, 02:00 PM

Hey guys..Just got my Dahon Vybe D7 yesterday, TQ all especially sifu etigge for giving me tips and advice. Now got new question. is the generic rear rack bag sold in lelong any good? Would like to purchase one if okay

http://www.lelong.com.my/15l-cycling-bike-...6-09-Sale-P.htm

Any comments?? TQ smile.gif
etigge
post Oct 26 2015, 07:43 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(nizamsulaiman @ Oct 26 2015, 02:00 PM)
Hey guys..Just got my Dahon Vybe D7 yesterday, TQ all especially sifu etiggeย  for giving me tips and advice. Now got new question. is the generic rear rack bag sold in lelong any good? Would like to purchase one if okay

http://www.lelong.com.my/15l-cycling-bike-...6-09-Sale-P.htm

Any comments?? TQ smile.gif
Why do you need a rear rack bag? It doesn't really fit a lot of stuffs. Anyway, those made by Ibera is quite good, cheaper than Topeaks but off course Topeak is better but you need to get their racks also. Any other brands , might be cheaper but they really look awful. Depending on what you really want to carry, the Topeak Mondo can actually store your usual tools, wallet, handphone and some food. And it is only a saddle bag. Regardless of all mentioned, I think the best is still the Hyper dry bag.

As many foldies knows, the seat post is quite long. Depending on how long you extend the seat post when riding, one can actually get a 5 liter Hyperdry bag ( any brands will do ). Lock the opening clips onto your saddle rails and then get those elastic bands to hold the bag to the seat post. Works better than the rear rack and bag. One major disadvantage of the rear rack and bag is, when you park your bike on the stand, they will fall easily because the rear is heavy. Another advantage of using Hyperdry or many other brands now, they are really waterproof so don't have to stop to cover with rain cover when it rains.

I used most before, rear rack and secure a backpack, Topeak Mondo, Topeak rear rack and bag and even a pannier bag. In the end still the Hyperdry bag mounted to the saddle rails and secured to the seat post is the best and also most balanced. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by etigge: Oct 26 2015, 07:43 PM
desastar
post Oct 26 2015, 08:20 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(jeanginger @ Oct 26 2015, 01:00 PM)

You should bring along your 9yr old and do a test fit. Folding bikes do have roughly the same geometry as a full sized bike. You may have to push the saddle forward and the handlebar may be too high, depending on his height. There's a reason why they still make bikes for kids.
nizamsulaiman
post Oct 26 2015, 08:29 PM

QUOTE(etigge @ Oct 26 2015, 07:43 PM)
Why do you need a rear rack bag? It doesn't really fit a lot of stuffs. Anyway, those made by Ibera is quite good, cheaper than Topeaks but off course Topeak is better but you need to get their racks also. Any other brands , might be cheaper but they really look awful. Depending on what you really want to carry, the Topeak Mondo can actually store your usual tools, wallet, handphone and some food. And it is only a saddle bag. Regardless of all mentioned, I think the best is still the Hyper dry bag.

As many foldies knows, the seat post is quite long. Depending on how long you extend the seat post when riding, one can actually get a 5 liter Hyperdry bag ( any brands will do ). Lock the opening clips onto your saddle rails and then get those elastic bands to hold the bag to the seat post. Works better than the rear rack and bag. One major disadvantage of the rear rack and bag is, when you park your bike on the stand, they will fall easily because the rear is heavy. Another advantage of using Hyperdry or many other brands now, they are really waterproof so don't have to stop to cover with rain cover when it rains.

I used most before, rear rack and secure a backpack, Topeak Mondo, Topeak rear rack and bag and even a pannier bag. In the end still the Hyperdry bag mounted to the saddle rails and secured to the seat post is the best and also most balanced.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Haha..nasib baik belum beli lagi. Actually i need the bag to store my spare cloths, pump, and some basic tools. Btw, which one is hyperdry bag? Try to google it, but cant seem to find it. Is it the one like the mini punching bag?
etigge
post Oct 26 2015, 10:59 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(nizamsulaiman @ Oct 26 2015, 08:29 PM)
Haha..nasib baik belum beli lagi. Actually i need the bag to store my spare cloths, pump, and some basic tools. Btw, which one is hyperdry bag? Try to google it, but cant seem to find it. Is it the one like the mini punching bag?
Yup, like this here. You need to choose the size according to your seatpost length. How big the space can accommodate without the bag touching the rear wheels. See the strap at the top. Clip the strap under the saddle rails and then the bag will be hanging and then get 2 elastic bands from Daiso and wrap the bag tightly to the seeat post. Nice, waterproof and neat.

dilgoh
post Oct 27 2015, 04:47 PM

QUOTE(etigge @ Oct 26 2015, 10:59 PM)
Yup, like this here. You need to choose the size according to your seatpost length. How big the space can accommodate without the bag touching the rear wheels.  See the strap at the top. Clip the strap under the saddle rails and then the bag will be hanging and then get 2 elastic bands from Daiso and wrap the bag tightly to the seeat post. Nice, waterproof and neat.

I was thinking of attaching a shoe bag to the saddle. But the seat post isn't long enough. Is it 'right' to just raise the saddle just to accommodate the bag? My feet cannot touch the ground if I do that.
etigge
post Oct 27 2015, 07:19 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(dilgoh @ Oct 27 2015, 04:47 PM)
I was thinking of attaching a shoe bag to the saddle.  But the seat post isn't long enough.  Is it 'right' to just raise the saddle just to accommodate the bag?  My feet cannot touch the ground if I do that.
No. safety first. Your saddle height must be correct. The bags comes in many sizes. it starts from 3 liters onwards till 30 liters. Mine was just a mere 4 liters only but as we always ride as a pair, that's 8 liters with a front handlebar bag, so that was enough for us husband and wife to do overnight trips. Higher riders has more advantage, they can accommodate even till 10 liter bags under their saddle. There's another way though, you can use those elastic bands to secure the bags higher up like the photo.

azamunekurone
post Oct 27 2015, 08:23 PM

140 posts

after 2 months ++ of waiting,

done installing the tern physis 3d t-bar handlepost on my verge p9 with litepro stem. special thanks to tern distributor malaysia for helping me out!

the original tern verge p9 handlespost is 390mm 12ยฐ and this new handlepost is the same spec as tern verge x20
that is 350mm 12ยฐ T-bar.i choose to adopt the shorter handlepost as the tern handlepost cannot be adjust easily like dahon.plus, the old 390mm handlepost a bit long, and i suffer back pain in long distance ride without any break.

the new tern link n8 also equip with 290mm 6ยฐ handlepost as this bike are specially made for asia people height.i already try the link n8 handlepost moded to my friend tern verge p9,the 6ยฐ distance to rider ratio didnt suite me well compare to khairulrijal verge x20 12ยฐ bcoz of my long hand,but he height of the handlepost is just nice (my height is 178cm, 51cm roadbike size)

yeah, i do noticed a bit wierd look from the litepro stem compare to the syntace stem on the x20, but to cut the cost down i think i will stick with the litepro for a while!

finally, i already finish up modding my verge p9 to x20 spec and i hope no more modification in the future laugh.gif
frankie chin
post Oct 28 2015, 12:20 AM

QUOTE(desastar @ Oct 26 2015, 09:20 PM)
You should bring along your 9yr old and do a test fit. Folding bikes do have roughly the same geometry as a full sized bike. You may have to push the saddle forward and the handlebar may be too high, depending on his height. There's a reason why they still make bikes for kids.
Hi...just sharing my (10 yrs old )daughter's bike which i mod 4 her 4 comfort n safer handling as i felt she hv to strech out b4 modding it....Attached Image

This post has been edited by frankie chin: Oct 28 2015, 12:28 AM

pokai_streamyx
post Oct 28 2015, 08:00 AM

43 posts

Hello guys,
Im wanto buy a folding bike.
Dahon vybe d7
Tern link b7
Raleigh Ugo

Which 1 is better??
Main usagae : weekend ride only.

seling13
post Oct 28 2015, 09:25 AM

QUOTE(pokai_streamyx @ Oct 28 2015, 08:00 AM)
Hello guys,
Im wanto buy a folding bike.
Dahon vybe d7
Tern link b7
Raleigh Ugo

Which 1 is better??
Main usagae : weekend ride only.
For me if you have more budget, go for 8 speed. No spending much to upgrade in future.

Where are you come from?

azamunekurone
post Oct 28 2015, 09:41 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(frankie chin @ Oct 28 2015, 12:20 AM)
Hi...just sharing  my  (10 yrs old )daughter's bike  which i mod 4 her 4 comfort n safer handling as i felt she hv to strech out b4  modding it....Attached Image
dahon vybe dont have adjustable height handlepost.thats why u adopt the litepro stem backward.

if u got budget, try to get dahon adjustable handle post,might help on the height, but still u need that litepro stem to adjust the handle nearer to ur daughter.or try to get the butterfly handle bar with 25.4mm clamp size
pokai_streamyx
post Oct 28 2015, 10:07 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(seling13 @ Oct 28 2015, 09:25 AM)
For me if you have more budget, go for 8 speed. No spending much to upgrade in future.

Where are you come from?
I'm from kuantan.
Budget 1000-1500
jeanginger
post Oct 28 2015, 10:46 AM

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Oct 28 2015, 09:41 AM)
dahon vybe dont have adjustable height handlepost.thats why u adopt the litepro stem backward.

if u got budget, try to get dahon adjustable handle post,might help on the height, but still u need that litepro stem to adjust the handle nearer to ur daughter.or try to get the butterfly handle bar with 25.4mm clamp size
hi all

thnx for all advice, I've gotten myself (well, son) a boardwalk yesterday. as he's on the tall side for his age, the height of the handlepost seems fine. I took a ride around the neighbourhood & I luv it, can't wait to add on some 'poisons' thumbup.gif
jeanginger
post Oct 28 2015, 10:48 AM

QUOTE(pokai_streamyx @ Oct 28 2015, 10:07 AM)
I'm from kuantan.
Budget 1000-1500
yay go for dahon boardwalk - rm1300 - 8 speed!
frankie chin
post Oct 28 2015, 10:49 AM

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Oct 28 2015, 10:41 AM)

Tks 4 d advise bro....height wise is ok 4 her so far dat y i maintain d handle post....actually its quite nice to ride aft modding it...even my son sometimes dump his mu d8 n rebut w adik...hahaha...
by d way bro...d bike u inquire till now still no news abt it....but i ll keep u update on it....tq

146 Pages « < 133 134 135 136 137 > » Top

0.0314sec    0.79    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:54 PM