19 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

Folding Bicycles v4 - Not only Folding Bikes, Folding bicycle discussion

etigge
post Jul 15 2015, 12:32 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(edmundcwh @ Jul 15 2015, 12:08 AM)
Is a china or taiwan brand TRS using shimano tourney 7speed derailer. I may remember wrongly on the largest cog t & away from home now cant take you some photo.
Front is 52t but the crank square tapered or not cant be sure. It has a 14mm nut locking on the crank to the spindle. Im quite diy efficient so no worry i can assemble & disassemble things fairly well  biggrin.gif
The consideration was if the cost to change these stuff may add up a to few hundred $, perhaps look for a new bike with 2x chainring is a better choice. I havent check the cost to buy parts from the web yet cos not very familiar with those bb & spindle sizes  hmm.gif
7 speed usually have 14/28 cogs freewheel. Can't be a 24. Shimano Tourney can handle 32 teeth at the rear. To remove the crank you have to get a crank puller. The crank (single chainring) can get a Prowheel from Kimbell Jaya for only 70 bucks. But I don't know if he have a 48 cog ones. I know Dahon Boardwalk uses the 48 teeth as original ones. I can assure, they are square tapered BB. All cone bearing BB are square tapered. You can change your freewheel cogs to the Shimano Megarange type.

One thing for sure is, if you really invest in a lighter bike, both of you will be really fast as you are already used to this heavier bike. Just like when I gave up folding bikes and went mountain biking and then I rode my velo to a ride, it was effortless. icon_rolleyes.gif
etigge
post Jul 16 2015, 10:00 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(muzrix @ Jul 15 2015, 09:56 PM)
Hi guys, just bought this bike from taobao:

taobao link: http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z09...._u=f1nnmbvrb8ea

just realized its too slow than i expected having used riding roadbike lol.

my question is can i upgrade the gear system to this microshift set?:
taobao link: http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z0k...._u=f1nnmbvr0073

if cannot, can u guy suggest any compatible sets with similar speed?
You bough a 14 inch bike. Yes, it can be modded. If it is to slow,you can get bigger chainrings for the front. As for the rear, I think you can only go for short cage RDs. Most probably only road bike components. You can go to 9 or 10 speed but the rear cassette can only use till 25 cogs. The last time when I modded a 16 inh, the Tiagra RD can go till 28 cogs maximum before the cage hits the ground. The Microshift shifters can be used and the front FD will need some work too as there's no space to fit an RD adapter. It can be done with some sacrifices though,like you have to take out the seat post or leave it without pushing in.
etigge
post Jul 16 2015, 10:05 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(edmundcwh @ Jul 16 2015, 09:39 AM)
Yea is a 14/28 cog mf tz21. I have checked out the megarange type but it seems like too big difference on the larges 2 rings.  Current wheels are just normal hubs. I know that freehubs are much better than freewheel. So if i change the cogs to megarange, it will have not much use if i changed the hubs in the future right?

Now my consideration is leaning towards changing to smaller crank. Maybe a 44T or 46T crank. When cycling on flat road she is seldom use 14T or 16T with current 52T crank. So with 44T or 46T, will be able to shift down to 16T or 14T (in case she needs) since the pedaling forces are reduce.. right?  biggrin.gif

As for a better and lighter bike, i agree with that and the option is always open  biggrin.gif  but will need more careful consideration to get a nice fitting bike for each.
This is the present. What happens if she improves? You can go for hybrid bike's crank which has 48 teeth. Another good alternative is find a used compact crank. They are 50/36 T and just fix it in. No need FD but use 2 rings. When in normal situation use the 50T. When in hilly terrain or when she is tired,manually shift the chain down to 36T tongue.gif shotgun method!
etigge
post Jul 16 2015, 11:54 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(muzrix @ Jul 16 2015, 11:19 AM)
i order to send to shanghai sent from shenzhen so free shipping  smile.gif
that mega crank, send me taobao link please. is that wholeset of cassette/crank/fd/rd? can installed on my 14" bike?
rclxms.gif thanks! if you may could you please give taobao link the sets you suggest. thanks
Very soli! Me banana , very hard for me to surf Taobao, so I can't give you links. I can't compute words like 'flower drum !' tongue.gif
etigge
post Jul 17 2015, 09:26 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(hahaboy @ Jul 16 2015, 11:48 PM)
hi all sifu, i'm new here looking for new folding bike for my wife, budget ard 3k, any recommend ?
When someone throw a general question like that, how do you answer? No criteria, no conditions,no details etc. Just go to a bike shop and tell the shop keeper, " I want a folding bike around RM3000.00". Settle ! rclxub.gif

Ps/ I never seen his wife before, does she ride often, is she athletic, is she heavy, etc.etc.

This post has been edited by etigge: Jul 17 2015, 09:27 AM
etigge
post Jul 19 2015, 01:07 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Jul 19 2015, 12:44 PM)
Hi,got a question here. When riding,there is a gesel sound coming from the brake pads and front wheel. So which part i have to adjust?
disc brake or v-brake? Adjust the spring tension , centering screw. Tightening it will bring the pads further away from the rims and loosenig it will bring it nearer.

This post has been edited by etigge: Jul 19 2015, 01:11 PM
etigge
post Jul 19 2015, 05:34 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Jul 19 2015, 03:11 PM)
Thanks! V-brake. Means tighten right and left sides also?
Just turn the screws and observe the brake pads and you will get it. tongue.gif
etigge
post Jul 19 2015, 10:01 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(mkaz @ Jul 19 2015, 08:46 PM)
is there any community in fb for folding bikers generally or dahon bikers spesifically anywhere??
Search Sin Tai Lim in FB and request for membership in Happy Cycling Group. Very active. There are also many branches from the same group so as you know more,you know more activities. icon_rolleyes.gif Or just search Happy Cycling Group in FB.

This post has been edited by etigge: Jul 19 2015, 10:01 PM
etigge
post Jul 20 2015, 03:45 PM

295 posts

Chatted with Jimmy this morning. FINALLY, the shipment of Dahons have will arrive by this week. rclxms.gif
etigge
post Jul 21 2015, 05:49 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(frankie chin @ Jul 21 2015, 03:57 PM)
Any1 noe where to purchase qr pedal at cheaper price....as dahon qr pedal lock clip easily fall off...as i ady hd lost 1 but they don sell d lock parts.....tq
Dahon don't provide QR pedals, I think. Only folding types. Kimbell sells Wellgo fodable ones but QR ones,you have to go online. icon_rolleyes.gif
etigge
post Jul 21 2015, 08:57 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Jul 21 2015, 06:26 PM)
Kimbell sell ling the wellgo foldable how much?
I never enquired worr. tongue.gif
etigge
post Jul 23 2015, 01:21 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(mamasos @ Jul 22 2015, 11:57 AM)
are this event compulsory to wear helmet?
Note :­
1. For those who wants to ride back to­­Tropicana AMAN Property Gallery,­­Kota Kemuning­ after dinner, you may park your car there. Marshall will escort during the night ride.­(BIKE LIGHTS ARE COMPULSORY!)
2. Compulsory to wear event t-shirt ­throughout the ride.
3. 12 years old and below can participate but the­responsibility is with the guardian/parent but NO t-shirt and goodie bag will be given. No registration is required.
4. Compulsory to wear helmet. -

See more at: http://redadventure.com.my/index.cfm?MID=2...K.5mGD3E0k.dpuf
etigge
post Jul 24 2015, 11:26 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(nuevochico @ Jul 24 2015, 11:15 AM)
hello,

i am newbie in folding bike, want to ask opinion from sifu2 here. which bike is better between these 2; raleigh wrangler and trinx ka1606? it's same price but not much info on raleigh site. also the raleigh if i want to see first not possible because seller say only if confirm he get it for COD (online seller with no shop).

raleigh wrangler: http://www.raleigh.my/raleigh/20-Wrangler.html

trinx ka1606: http://www.trinx.com/index.php?a=product_d...d=77#ad-image-5

mind to share your thoughts?
I usually recommend Dahons even if it is a used unit but in your case,you have shortlisted 2. First you must know, they are both different categories, one is a 20 inch wheeler and the other a 16 inch wheeler. From the picture, the Raleigh seems OK. If compact fold is not an important criteria, I say go for the 20 inch Raleigh. It rides better, due to bigger wheels and also 20 inch parts are easier to source. The Trinx is smaller,folds smaller and ride wise, more bumpy due to smaller wheels. Also 16 inch , quite hard to get narrower less resistant tires and also tubes.

Anyway, both are OK, whichever choice you make. A simple ride daily around the housing estate and once in a while else where, both won't make a difference. If you plan for more enduring rides, you better get something else like a Dahon or Tern or many other better brands. icon_rolleyes.gif
etigge
post Jul 27 2015, 09:21 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Jul 26 2015, 07:15 PM)
vans urban carry wheelsport wheelset.so far,the wheelset is good,but the price also good laugh.gif
Anything from Vans, the price is good! thumbup.gif Else how to pay rental for that property. Hahahaaa.

PS/ for the same price I rather go for the Lite Pro , the lesser spokes set, same as Kinetix. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by etigge: Jul 27 2015, 09:23 AM
etigge
post Jul 27 2015, 01:28 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(berzerk @ Jul 27 2015, 12:13 PM)
Hi there. does anyone know where I can view or buy a doppleganger fx series bike in KL?

I've tried GH in Kota Damansara last weekend but they don't have the X frames anymore.
Kimbell Jaya used to have one in the shop but due to it's unpopularity, it was there for very long and it was offered away. Maybe you can call Jimmy at 012 292 7636 and check with him if he order one for you. icon_rolleyes.gif
etigge
post Jul 27 2015, 10:33 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(basilgan @ Jul 27 2015, 10:23 PM)
thanks again for the info from the 2 sifus here..checked Vans website n true..they r quite pricey...btw where in kl can i find litepro wheelset,?i am from melaka...tq
Call Jimmy from Kimbell Jaya. Maybe he can whatsapp the pictures to you. He can courier it to you. He has other brands as well.
etigge
post Jul 28 2015, 04:27 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(edmundcwh @ Jul 28 2015, 12:57 PM)
Do you know what type of bb is this? This is the best angle i can take biggrin.gif it s a photo of xds afb630. Cannot get any info from web on the bb that is on this bike

I didnt upgrade to smaller crank, instead I bought a used XDS afb630. it is much lighter and this bicycle can roll much easier than my present bike.  now i have trouble catching up with her oredi.
Most common and easiest to find sealed bearing bottom bracket. Square tapered BB. icon_rolleyes.gif

etigge
post Jul 30 2015, 08:42 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Jul 29 2015, 11:09 PM)
my trinx ka2024 macam using 110mm BCD front crank.

Now it max out 50T at the largest crank.

Any choices of 110mm front crank? i see litepro most is 130mm
Kinda weird hmm.gif 2024 means 24 speed and that's triple chainring. I never seen a compact triple before, are you sure it is 110 mm BCD? rclxub.gif
etigge
post Jul 30 2015, 02:04 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Jul 30 2015, 12:30 PM)
if im not mistaken i saw my friend trinx it is triple chainring compact crank.the biggest one is 50t
Yes, I checked the specs, it's 30T, 40T and 50T with 110 BCD. Usually most brands max at 50T for 110s. A few bigger brands like Sugino do make 52s and 54s but withthe price for these chainrings, you can get a complete Shimano 2 series hollowtech 53/39T 130 BCD brand new. tongue.gif
etigge
post Aug 2 2015, 01:13 PM

295 posts

biggrin.gif For those using 7 speed bikes but finds climbing hills tough,here's a cheaper solution. This has 34 T as the final gear. although shifting to the last gear may be slightly rough,just treat it as 6 speed. Use the last only for climbing. icon_rolleyes.gif

The link to the seller,
http://bicyclebuysell.com/item/225865/shim...range-6-7-speed

19 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0919sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:45 PM