Folding Bicycles v4 - Not only Folding Bikes, Folding bicycle discussion

etigge
post Jun 24 2015, 01:39 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(owen07 @ Jun 23 2015, 10:51 PM)
all taikor, folding bike newbie want to buy a folding bike to my wife. any suggestion roughly 1k - 1.5k bike? what brand suitable for female rider? looking at dahon, khs, but why all so expensive ????
please advice.
My opinion is, a lady looks good riding a Dahon Boardwalk. There's even a metallic maroon color , limited edition. All within your said budget. You can visit Kimbell Jaya. I saw there's one unit displayed there. icon_rolleyes.gif
etigge
post Jun 24 2015, 01:42 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Jun 23 2015, 10:50 PM)
This gap is for what? To lower the handlebar???
[attachmentid=4498757][attachmentid=4498760]
The gap is actually spacers. It just that they don't want to cut the steerer tube of the fork. Rightfully, the steerer tube should be cut and the whole handlebar post sits directly on the headset (headset means the bearings wrapped around the steerer tube) . Actually no harm if you leave it as it is. It will lower your handlebar to 30 mm ( I see 3 spacers there) if you take them off and cut the steerer tube.

This post has been edited by etigge: Jun 24 2015, 01:43 AM
etigge
post Jun 24 2015, 01:43 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(owen07 @ Jun 24 2015, 08:32 AM)
what do you think of vybe D7?? is that good for lady? but Broadway is made of steel right? rust easily right?
No it doesn't rust easily, Only careless or non maintenance it will rust. It is also a strong alloy which enables designer to use smaller and thinner tubes, hence light. Most long distance tourer bikes are made of these alloy. That proves it's durability. KHS foldies are made of the same material but better quality called Reynolds steel. Dahon Vybe is OK, if you prefer it, go for it. But get the C7a and not the C7s smile.gif
etigge
post Jun 24 2015, 03:43 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Jun 24 2015, 03:17 PM)
This can be done easily or need to le the bike shop do?
ng else.
it's not really affecting your ride, why do it? Just leave it. There's no danger or anything, just the handlebar higher, that'd sll. You were asking about the reason for the gap, and I am just explaning. just ride and enjoy first before wanting to do anything. We are just recreational riders, a minute or two doesn't really affect us. Furthermore, foldies are not really bike fitting critical.
etigge
post Jun 24 2015, 11:13 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(stickynote @ Jun 24 2015, 10:14 PM)
Hi to all sifus,

Newbie here. Got myself a cheap foldie with many gears last few months. Regret that I didn't do much research or reading prior to this.

Would like to do an upgrade with budget of 1.2-1.3k. Am a lady rider bout 165cm/less than 50kgs. I am more to a recreational (average about 30-40kms per ride on weekends) and perhaps slightly longer distance one or twice a month (approximately 60ish depending on stamina that day). Would prefer foldies with more than 7 speed. It was quite a torture using my existing cheap china brand foldie with growing 'ngek' sound and its extremely heavy body (about 14.5kg).

After reading through V3 and V4 for the past few days I have actually shortlisted the following few within my budget but am still wondering if which one is more suited for my requirement (test drove and I am leaning more towards the 3 Dahons equally- problem with girls lah haha):-

1. Dahon Boardwalk D8
2. Dahon Vitesse D8
3. Dahon Vybe C7A
4. Trinx KA2016D

Would like to ask the opinion of all the sifus here, which will be better for my requirement? As I did not ride it for long (just borrowed from friend to test drive awhile only..paiseh to ask permission to cycle far far), it feels almost the same for me -.-" Are the Dahons I have shortlisted be modded for higher speed in the future (shd there be a need lah)?

Trinx...I am attracted to its more affordable prices but comes with quite good specs (more gears easier for me to do climbing as I am quite weak in climbing) but then again I see sifu etigge said before, best to choose Dahon for branding, warranty and reliability. Have considered touring bikes/road bikes before lah but then not enough space as bf's road bike is usually at the back seat while my current foldie in the boot and also I am actually not used to the bicycle being so 'high' (dunno is it the right term to call it). Don't feel secure lah as before this my old bikes are those 'city/aunty' bikes with big basket in front.

Many thanks in advance for the replies!
My say, still I prefer ladies riding the Dahon Boardwalk. Smaller looking bike with smaller chromoly tubes. Shorter top tube more fitting for a lad rider. Geometry and ride comfort is comparable to Speed P8. Your activity will require at least 16 speed with mountain bike cassette and derailleurs ( rear gear). Buy the Boardwalk first and then later upgrade another smaller chainring to the front and you have 16 speed. My wife rides the Boardwalk formerly and no regrets.
etigge
post Jun 25 2015, 12:14 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Jun 25 2015, 10:27 AM)
the upgrade cost 200-300 is for crankset only.new also can get that price..
i bought 2ndhand prowheel 52/39 crank complete with bb around RM80.new square taper type of crank around RM150 without bb.if u want to play with hollowtech crank,so the cost will be more.but the cheapset hollowtech crank is shimano sora for RM250 but stuck with 50/34.prowheel got 53/39 or 56/44 for RM320 below at mike bike shop..

since ur talking about upgrading ur wife speed p8,
this is my sharing regarding my friend upgrading his speed P8.so the upgrade costing and details are :

42T chainring + bolts - RM60 (dont know why he like 42T over 39t)
FD adapter - RM50
sora FD - RM100
tiagra RD - RM130
microshift 3x8 shifter RM120+20 cable
cheapo grip - RM20

no need to change the casette or the chain.still using his FSA Tempo crank that come stock with his speed p8.
Did I mentioned you need a new crankset for Dahon Speed? hmm.gif If I did , then I was mistaken. For Dahon Speed, you just need to get a smaller chain ring and bolt onto your existing crank. So long as you see 5 nuts on your crank , you can add another chain ring on it. Get the 39T one, if 42T , the difference will be minimal. That's 01.

02. FD adapter. Kimbell has stock of a new type which can adjust front back, up down and also angle tilt. He don't sell it actually, hehehe but I can get it for you if you want. It's for his own modifications. Yes, Kimbell does modifications too.

03. Then you need a set of 8 speed trigger shifters, L + R

04. Gear cable and housing and the ferrules (the end cap for the housing)

That's all.
etigge
post Jun 26 2015, 01:00 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(Xcaliber @ Jun 25 2015, 10:50 PM)
this folding bike can handle my body weight of 100kg ?
any model for casual evening and weekend ride for exercise and leisure
Well, Dahons are rated to take up to 105 kgs. Off course the threshold is much higher than this but officially rated is 105 kgs. I am fluctuating between 98 kg to 102 kg and for 2 years, I rode Dahon Eco C7, Speed and Vigor and also the Dash, no creaking or other mishaps.
etigge
post Jun 26 2015, 09:58 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(owen07 @ Jun 26 2015, 08:52 AM)
Hi Etigge,

Went to look for the Dahon Broadwalk Akibo D7 and also Dahon Broadwalk D8, which on do you think is worth the money?

Akibo seem more expensive but quite cun...

haha
Like all consumers, many are suckered into getting limited edition or special edition etc.etc. It all depends on your priority, in this case. If you take the Boardwalk as a tool for your wife to get healthy and join you for rides, it better to get the local D8. But as you mentioned , it's a gift. I guess you want it to be special, hence your choice of the Akibo. Yes, the color is unique but only to Dahons, as there are no other Dahons in that color. Spec wise, I think your wife will suffer if you go for further rides. tongue.gif

In the end, I suggest you set your priority first. Function versus fashion tongue.gif
etigge
post Jun 27 2015, 01:52 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(Longanjai @ Jun 27 2015, 12:11 AM)
all sifus folding bike newbie want to buy a folding bike shld i buy a used Tern Uno then modd it. any suggestion roughly how much it cost if want to change to 18speed or shld i just buy a new bike like Tern P9 or X10 2015 ? which is better buy. Please all sifus your comment & advise needed.
Thank you smile.gif
The Tern Uno rear hub mount is for single speed and there's no place you can fix a RD hanger. The only way is to use Shimano Tourney RDs which is the lowest grade RD and also maximum is 8 speed. This is because only this model and some cheap chinese models have the hanger incorporated into the RD. Other than that, there are some special RD mounts but so far I never seen one and it is VERY hard to find. Unless off course you can find someone to machine it for you. Alternatively, Santa Cruz do have this special kind of mount on their 1st Chameleon models and the hanger is still available in eBay but it is expensive. Here's the link,

http://www.ebay.com/itm/derailleur-hanger-...=item20f53e1aaa
etigge
post Jun 27 2015, 01:56 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Jun 27 2015, 12:27 AM)
Bad experience today. Completed a 25km ride,while i was back home, my tyre pancit. Luckily pancit near the shop where i bought my bike. Asbi didnt buy any extra tube before this nor i know how to chg. So tow to that shop to chg tube. As i ride alone, i didnt bring a lot of cash,just a few ringgits. So i ask how much to chg tube,and quoted rm13. And i dont have rm13 with me that time,just a few ringgits. Ask cn pay tomorrow or not, "NO", fine,ask can pay half first,  "NO". Wth,after all i bought the bike from u. At the end i have to walk a km to my mum pharmacy to get the rm13.
That's one lousy shop. Bad experience huh? shakehead.gif I am very sure Jimmy won't be like that. When going riding, it is advisible to actually carry RM50 along. Because at times when it rains or lazy or too tired or cases like yours, you can fold and take taxi home. Why didn't you just stop a cab and go home and pay when you are at home? doh.gif
etigge
post Jun 27 2015, 01:57 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Jun 27 2015, 12:27 AM)
Bad experience today. Completed a 25km ride,while i was back home, my tyre pancit. Luckily pancit near the shop where i bought my bike. Asbi didnt buy any extra tube before this nor i know how to chg. So tow to that shop to chg tube. As i ride alone, i didnt bring a lot of cash,just a few ringgits. So i ask how much to chg tube,and quoted rm13. And i dont have rm13 with me that time,just a few ringgits. Ask cn pay tomorrow or not, "NO", fine,ask can pay half first,  "NO". Wth,after all i bought the bike from u. At the end i have to walk a km to my mum pharmacy to get the rm13.
That's one lousy shop. Bad experience huh? shakehead.gif I am very sure Jimmy won't be like that. When going riding, it is advisible to actually carry RM50 along. Because at times when it rains or lazy or too tired or cases like yours, you can fold and take taxi home. Why didn't you just stop a cab and go home and pay when you are at home? doh.gif
etigge
post Jun 27 2015, 01:58 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Jun 27 2015, 01:52 AM)
The Tern Uno rear hub mount is for single speed and there's no place you can fix a RD hanger. The only way is to use Shimano Tourney RDs which is the lowest grade RD and also maximum is 8 speed. This is because only this model and some cheap chinese models have the hanger incorporated into the RD. Other than that, there are some special RD mounts but so far I never seen one and it is VERY hard to find. Unless off course you can find someone to machine it for you. Alternatively, Santa Cruz do have this special kind of mount on their 1st Chameleon models and the hanger is still available in eBay but it is expensive. Here's the link,

http://www.ebay.com/itm/derailleur-hanger-...=item20f53e1aaa

PS/ Conclusion , if you want to mod, don't go for the Uno.
etigge
post Jun 27 2015, 07:30 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(PaulKong @ Jun 27 2015, 06:29 AM)
Hi all,

I already have a Java fit and after I have been following this forum, I've decided to get a Dahon bike. Went to Kimbell Jaya and bought Dahon Route with Jimmy.
Hope this open up a new biking experience for me.
Mr. Kong, it was me that you were talking to that day. tongue.gif
etigge
post Jun 28 2015, 10:51 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(Longanjai @ Jun 27 2015, 10:56 PM)
Etigge & all sifus,

Was thinking of buying a foldie, which brand shld go for and why, can anyone share some info to a newbie here.  icon_question.gif

1) Dahon
2) Tern X10
3) Brompton
4) Birdy
The Dahons are actually 'real use' folding bike. I mean, it was purely designed for use and the concept was to sold for easy storage and carrying. Until today, IMO they still makes the best in terms of form and function, although there are many other brands which have emerged since them. Tern is purely an offspring of Dahon. They were created because of conflict of interest between father and son. If you look carefully, even until today, after several years, Tern only have 2 designs of which one is actually a Dahon top model, the Vector. Since then Dahon has came out with a new Vector design.

The Bromptons are also a very functional bike and it was design for commuting. The strength lies in the compact fold of the bike. But this has also limited their capability because they have to keep to the strength of their product which is the small size and easiness of portering. That said, the British are very traditional in their products, the design has been in existence since eons and the gearings made by Sturmey Archer are also in existence since eons. I rode a Raleigh Chopper in m y schooldays with a Sturmey Archer gear and that was like in the 70s. It's nice to ride, YES but how functional will it be other than for commuting?

Of course there are extremes where they go for touring, offroad etc but that was not what the Bromptons were made for. Also a non-plus side is it's weight. Still made of steel, it's heavy. BUT, BUT the brand has become such a fashion statement, many has just got to get one. SO much so, Brompton has limited the sales to Korea because the Bromptons has turn into a status symbol there which conflicts their policy of a commuting bike. I guess, it is also becoming one in Malaysia. This comments will also influence you to buy a Brompton , right? rclxms.gif

Birdy, I have no comment since I never look at the bike after my first look. The front side looks terrible. nod.gif Off course, this is subjective to every other rider.

It comes back to your personal choice. I like biking, so personally I would look at the frame first. Will it serve me well. Components to me is secondary because I can upgrade it gradually. I mean, slowly my first suitable bike's specs will eventually be what I need and like. Instead of buying , say a Birdy for 6K plus that comes with just a basic Shimano Alivio doesn't make sense, right. Alivio is fitted onto entry level mountain bikes, factually. Then you go upgrading and upgrading, the bike cost more than 10K. I give you an example,

Let's go the extreme. I want to buy a Tern X20 which is a ridiculous RM10,300 price tag. The Tern Verge P9 is RM3,900 which is actually on the high side already but for explanation we use this 2 models. That's a difference of RM6400 for the same frame. Difference is the color scheme and most noticebly the wheelset. Fine, I also like the wheel set, I can buy it for RM1500 online. Then the 20 speed, I can actually get a whole Shimano Ultegra groupset for RM2600 ( !11 Speed ). Sell of the roadie shifters for RM800 and buy the straight bar road bike shifter for RM400. The groupset is RM2400. I fit it into the Verge P9 and it cost only RM7800. Better groupsets, same frame , same wheelset. If you don't mind the rims and and lower grade groupset like the Shimano 105 ( even the Tern X20 can't compare to this! rclxub.gif ) it's like only RM5500 and that my friend is already better spec-ed than the original Tern X20. You know with that difference you can buy another spare Tern Verge X20 and keep as spare. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by etigge: Jun 28 2015, 11:06 AM
etigge
post Jun 28 2015, 11:04 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(PaulKong @ Jun 27 2015, 10:56 PM)
Hi etigge,
You really have vast experience on folding bikes. I'm glad I bumped into this site few days ago and really happy I can meet you in person.
I've ride dahon route and it seems the frame are really robust. Very solid feel compare to java fit but the equipment are really far lower specs than fit. I don't mean just the gear... More of the smoothness of changing gears and ease of riding even when both are in high gear. I guess the sealed hub, thinner tyres of java fit does make a diffrence.
On the other note, I notice that java fit disc brakes are not as smooth as dahon v brakes. I wonder why... Isn't disc brakes are better?
So far this is my feel on this two bikes. My wife like java fit more and I more inclined towards dahon route.
Many riders have the perception that disc brake is better. Both systems have their pros and cons. Look at it this way, the V-brakes have a friction surface all around the rims, both side. That's almost 406 cm x2 and that's 800 cm of braking surface. As oppose to disc brakes it is only 46 cm X 2 and that's only 92 cm braking surface on a thin disc. The disc brake works better, stops faster BUT can you wrist pull the levers hard enough? Have you seen brake disc running on cable on cars or motorcycles? Off course not. It needs a lot of force and the only solution is hydraulics! That's why any hydraulic disc brakes works better than the V-brakes. But you can't fit the hydraulic system into folding bike because the hydraulic hose cannot be folded to tight. So, they went for the first generation disc brakes, a cable actuated one which requires you to pull hard on braking.

If you don't fold your FIT often or never, you can actually change to hydraulic brakes, it's so cheap nowadays. Jimmy can put one in for about 200 bucks. Or maybe, fold very carefully, taking care of the hose. It can be bend but not very acutely. You know, you are already praising the V-brakes on the Dahon and that statement actually confirms how bad mechanical disc brakes are. The V-brakes you have , there are actually many more better quality V-brakes and some even cost more than the hydraulic disc brakes.
etigge
post Jun 28 2015, 06:43 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(desastar @ Jun 28 2015, 05:40 PM)
I heard rim brakes can overheat on very long downhills, and this is where discs are better.  No experience myself, just what I've read.
All types of brakes can overheat. Rim brakes, it depends on the brake pads. Many are harder and this can wear off the rims faster. Yes, that's another disadvantage of V-brakes. You have to change the rims later when the sidewalls are worn off! There's usually deep groove all along the brake lining. Once you can't see the groove, it means time to change rims. It's quite dangerous if you don't. As for overheating, I never encountered it yet but I did overheat my disc brake when I was mtb-ing in Cameron last weekend. The rotors all turned black and I can smell burnt pads!
etigge
post Jun 28 2015, 11:14 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(PaulKong @ Jun 28 2015, 08:58 PM)
Hi etigge,
Actually java fit are easy to brake... In fact too easy to brake. It's like once you reach a point of braking, it totally stop the bike. So you have to control the brakes more delicately. Anyway, it just a matter of getting use to it.

Ok, now for the big question! Which part of components shall I upgrade first for my dahon route? 😁😁😁
Go back to Jimmy and get a set of wheels. Since you said the seal bearing makes a lot of difference, it should actually. biggrin.gif Then you can go for either 8, 9 or 10 speed. For 8 speed you can still use back the old rear derailleurs. You just need the shifters and cassette. A Shimano Accera systems should be OK but nothing stopping you to go for better ones. I suggest MTB gears as they are cheaper and they have bigger rear cassette. Easy to ride biggrin.gif I must warn you though, 9 or 10 speed, the biggest a 20 inch wheel can take is 32 teeth at the rear. Happy riding!
etigge
post Jun 29 2015, 09:31 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(basilgan @ Jun 29 2015, 03:11 AM)
sifu etigge. does jimmy stock 451rims? tq
Yes he does. Even Lite Pro ones can be ordered but sometimes he has stock.
etigge
post Jun 29 2015, 09:35 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Jun 29 2015, 06:41 AM)
laugh.gif foldable tyre are more expensive than the wired one.my durano are wired one coz 451 dont have foldable.durano 406 are foldable
I also use the Duranos on my Dash and another mini velo. There was a time, someone released a batch of these 451 wired Duranos. They came cheap. Unknown to me, a friend (so called lah) told me and I bought from him 4 pcs for 80 bucks a piece. I was like so happy. Then a week later, Jimmy got a batch too and he offered me RM60 each. Some friends huh? I think should still have some stock.
etigge
post Jun 29 2015, 09:39 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(PaulKong @ Jun 29 2015, 09:05 AM)
Hi etigge,
If I change the wheel set with sealed hub, will I still able to use back my original gear cassette? So far, I think the gear are sufficient for me but just don't like the rd that don't really change that smooth. Can I just change the rd without changing gears cassette and the shifter?

Hi azam,
I look thru your upgrade list and you have change your wheelset for RM 380. Do we need to know the brand of the sealed hub or it doesn't matter.
Nope, you have to get at lest 8 speed. Once you change the wheelset, the freewheel is cassette type and the minimum is 8 speed. If you don't like the RD, you can change the RD now without changing the wheelset. Changing to 8 speed or 9 speed or even 10 speed gives you more higher gears as the cogs starts from 11tooth as opposed to your 7 speed now which starts from 14 tooth.

19 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0530sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:11 PM