Headphones Audio Technica Headphones, Fan/User Club? :p

AlamakLor
post Oct 27 2006, 11:27 PM

9,856 posts

stuff like those brakes arent really flawed, they were made for specific purpose for specific type of car, there is a defined purpose for those items. However, in the context of "normal" or roadster kind of car, these brakes are almost useless compared to other all rounder brakes and thus can be viewed in the perspective of these roadster driver as flawed.

As far as I am concerned, I aint a professional driver but those who want a good roadster car. I need phones that have a good tonal balance and will work with majority of the music...not just vocal, not just bass, and etc. These other phones that do not have a defined purpose are just flawed in my POV. Grados have almost an implied purpose on them - rock...I dont go to rock concert nor do I have specific preference in rock music, so I dont know what kind of aspects are these people looking for. So as far as I am concerned, the grados are good for rock, but still missing something that the 701 could do - the warmth. But maybe in those "rock ppl's" POV, they are really high end and works well for them...who knows.

Regardless, I can tell you that majority of the people will tell u that there is something "wierd" with these AT phones.

@gogo2
If you've read what i said above, I'd recommend you to get the hd580.

In our meet, the only guy who likes the A900ltd was the owner...and even he finds it wierd sounding after hearing the 701 n 600 in a much better setup that his (hence the a900ltd is now for sale). Nobody in the meet actually liked that phone. Then again, that phone was the most honky ive ever heard in the AT line..W5000 comes second, following W1000. The W100 however, has a much better tonal balance among those that i've heard...but heck...still no match for those european made phones...the only thing that the AT is really good at is the looks and packaging, and customer service i must say.
goliath
post Oct 27 2006, 11:48 PM

5,532 posts

AlamakLor,

Which do you think is good? AT CK7 or Sennheiser CX300? I've listened to Sennheiser PMX60 and currently using Koss KSC 35. I thought of getting one for my iPod. I prefer KSC 35 because the PMX60 lacks of bass or should I say not whole/warmth (gosh, I'm suck in explaining sweat.gif )..
SUSgogo2
post Oct 27 2006, 11:51 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(AlamakLor @ Oct 27 2006, 11:27 PM)
stuff like those brakes arent really flawed, they were made for specific purpose for specific type of car, there is a defined purpose for those items. However, in the context of "normal" or roadster kind of car, these brakes are almost useless compared to other all rounder brakes and thus can be viewed in the perspective of these roadster driver as flawed.

As far as I am concerned, I aint a professional driver but those who want a good roadster car. I need phones that have a good tonal balance and will work with majority of the music...not just vocal, not just bass, and etc. These other phones that do not have a defined purpose are just flawed in my POV. Grados have almost an implied purpose on them - rock...I dont go to rock concert nor do I have specific preference in rock music, so I dont know what kind of aspects are these people looking for. So as far as I am concerned, the grados are good for rock, but still missing something that the 701 could do - the warmth. But maybe in those "rock ppl's" POV, they are really high end and works well for them...who knows.

Regardless, I can tell you that majority of the people will tell u that there is something "wierd" with these AT phones.

@gogo2
If you've read what i said above, I'd recommend you to get the hd580.

In our meet, the only guy who likes the A900ltd was the owner...and even he finds it wierd sounding after hearing the 701 n 600 in a much better setup that his (hence the a900ltd is now for sale). Nobody in the meet actually liked that phone. Then again, that phone was the most honky ive ever heard in the AT line..W5000 comes second, following W1000. The W100 however, has a much better tonal balance among those that i've heard...but heck...still no match for those european made phones...the only thing that the AT is really good at is the looks and packaging, and customer service i must say.
Thanks.... I think I got it. smile.gif Almost buying A900. tongue.gif
KilJim
post Oct 28 2006, 12:01 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

If you guys really want to try 1 of the AD series, i sold a pair to someone a few months ago
Dang...cant remember who he was, but he's staying in Puchong laugh.gif
I'll try to help hunt him if u really want to

gogo2 : Where would u get the 580?
RM560 brand new? drool.gif
Or are they discontinued or something...lol

This post has been edited by KilJim: Oct 28 2006, 12:01 AM
AlamakLor
post Oct 28 2006, 12:01 AM

9,856 posts

oh bntw, when I said "These other phones that do not have a defined purpose are just flawed in my POV" I meant to say that those so called high-end phones, more so expensive phones actually, that sounds odd and not have a defined purpose i.e. - made for vocal (Westone ES2), made for rock (grado), and etc, are flawed. Some of them are just freaking flawed whether they have a defined purpose or not. Just listen to the A900 yourself and you will know it right away.

I've never heard of the CK7 nor the CX300, elliminist has the CK7, maybe u wanna wait till he gets his iM716 and listen to his comments about them. I swear by the iM716 as being one of the best IEM out there not costing more than RM400, yet beat the crap out of many RM1k+/- IEM.

Yeah the PMX60 is gay laugh.gif I dont deny that, which is why I sold it and got the MX500 - almost equally gay unfortunately sweat.gif

If you like the ksc35, save up for the iM716 and try to find someone in the states to send one back to you when amazon sells them for 60+usd again! - out of stock now. The CX300 is suppose to sound very boomy if im not mistaken...much more than the PX100.

EDIT: if you wanna try a "REAL" pair of AT phone...wait for scottie's W5000 to arrive brows.gif that phone has incredible transparency and texture...but sadly...the second most honky AT phone I've ever heard. Especially without my "pad mod"

ei...RM560 BNIB is a common price over here tongue.gif

This post has been edited by AlamakLor: Oct 28 2006, 12:05 AM
goliath
post Oct 28 2006, 12:11 AM

5,532 posts

I've just checkout iM716 from Amazon.com. They (3rd party) are selling $110.12 sweat.gif

Anybody in US right now ? Need some help here whistling.gif

This post has been edited by goliath: Oct 28 2006, 12:12 AM
SUSgogo2
post Oct 28 2006, 01:08 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ Oct 28 2006, 12:01 AM)
If you guys really want to try 1 of the AD series, i sold a pair to someone a few months ago
Dang...cant remember who he was, but he's staying in Puchong  laugh.gif
I'll try to help hunt him if u really want to

gogo2 : Where would u get the 580?
RM560 brand new?  drool.gif
Or are they discontinued or something...lol
I'll buy from Amazon tongue.gif
AlamakLor
post Oct 28 2006, 02:18 AM

9,856 posts

they were only 60+USD a little while back and totally sold out. If you sit back n wait, should be able to get that price next time.
teNtiOn
post Oct 28 2006, 02:27 AM

683 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Oct 28 2006, 01:08 AM)
I'll buy from Amazon tongue.gif
You have friend staying there to receive and send to you ?
scottiebabie
post Oct 28 2006, 05:09 AM

947 posts

[quote=AlamakLor,Oct 27 2006, 11:27 PM]

yup, you are absolutely correct:clap: . i brought up the F1 brakes merely to illustrate the simple fact that beyond a certain point, the price to value/function factor no longer applies. infact the opposite becomes true once we hit the wall of diminishing returns. if we use price:value ratio as a measurement, then the F1 car (ceramic brakes and all) is the world's biggest crappile whilst your granpops station wagon is the best vehicle on the planet. granpappies wagon fulfills almost all a normal person and his dog's needs whilst the F1 despite costing 1000+ times more does only 1 lousy thing. ahh...but there lies the rub!

the 1lousy thing the F1 does, it does better than anyother vehicle. PERIOD! if u need to go around a race track fastest, all things being equal, u want the F1. other than that, your granpops wagon's the bomb! and what is audiophile "high end" if not a thoroughbred. i gues it boils down to whether we want granpappies station wagon or an exotic racecar.

in my brief career as a headfi lurker (gee that dont sound rite rolleyes.gif ) , i'v encountered all different views and opinions on all different things. however, i'v oso discovered a few constants. 1) for every favourable view there exists an equal and opposite counterview. 2)all views are only an opinion. 3)the only opinion that truly counts is the opinion from the space (empty or otherwise) btwn your own ears.

and yes, i'v have a ATH W5K arriving begining of next week. HOOHAA! im totaly stoked rclxm9.gif . its the 1st SOTA woodie i'v owned and it took me quite a while to decide. im betting on the W5K being the sexy match to the bland senn. i bought it site unseen and unheard coz them's the breaks. no other viable choice existed at time of purchase.

and if it turns out not my cuppa tea, i'v oso discovered another constant at headfi - the CLASSIFIEDS. any monies lossed or profited, i'l chuck it to the price of the AUDIO JOURNEY (as so aptly named by some headfiers). i bought my HD600 despite reading multitude opinions about veils, laid back sounds, back row seats, ..blah..blah..blah. i got the mogami cable despite zero opinions. so far, i'v not lived to regret either purchase wub.gif . lets hope lady luck will be just as good to me with the W5Ks. regardless of outcome, i'l have ol blue eyes (frank sinatra) singing "..I DID IT MY WAY.." wit me whistling.gif flex.gif

now b4 i become longwinded and go OT, i'l be very glad to post pics and my noob impressions here if any1 is interested. to MADMAN, GODLUVS, PCWORK and other true headfiers (minus the greasy hands smile.gif ), if 1of you care to host a kay-ell mini meet, u'l be able to do more than just touch the woodies (not my woodie la:lol: ) flawed, honki or otherwise icon_idea.gif cool.gif
SUSgogo2
post Oct 28 2006, 01:12 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

wow, where do you learn your english? anyway, good stuff you got there smile.gif
scottiebabie
post Oct 29 2006, 03:18 PM

947 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Oct 28 2006, 01:12 PM)
wow, where do you learn your english? anyway, good stuff you got there smile.gif
Easy bud. Attend school, pay attention, listen to your teachers and study your asss off! Hahaha! Just kidding with you buddy!

Infact if you are a regular local M'sian, I mite have you at a slight disadvantage as I spoke, wrote and studied English since grade school. I hear the M'sian education system isn't quite the same. You would definitely pawn me in bahasa and whatever else spoken locally (although my verbal canto isn't 2crappy-picked up some in Chinatown).

Didnt meant to turn this thread into a diatribe but in my own small way, I just wanted to clear the fog of ignorance and light the darkness of dogma. What are we but sheep if we blindly follow?

A teacher once said "Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, or even if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense". I believe that teacher is known by most as BUDDHA.

'nuff said. Have a nice day cool.gif

edited on: just a small gem of advise i found at headfi as written by a LYN forumer only a few mths back.

and i quote "I'm a big fan of the W5000 and had previously owned 2 of them. But as of all headphones, they have their own flaws. No lack of impact, only lack of weight."

Good Advise i believe thumbup.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by scottiebabie: Oct 29 2006, 04:24 PM
kelisa2168
post Oct 30 2006, 12:01 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(scottiebabie @ Oct 29 2006, 03:18 PM)
... I just wanted to clear the fog of ignorance and light the darkness of dogma. What are we but sheep if we blindly follow?

A teacher once said  "Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, or even if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense".  I believe that teacher is known by most as BUDDHA.
Nice phrase....Yeap, you're right, The Buddha said that - (in Kalamas Sutta/Discourse)

Enjoy your new can then. biggrin.gif
skod
post Nov 18 2006, 12:59 AM

1,038 posts

im planning to get fc7. is it good for gaming too?
scottiebabie
post Nov 18 2006, 02:20 PM

947 posts

QUOTE(skod @ Nov 18 2006, 12:59 AM)
im planning to get fc7. is it good for gaming too?
FWIW here's a review of the ATH FC7. read it up but take it with a pinch of salt. i cant help u much here as i havnt had the pleasure of listening to the FC7. i do however own the ES5 and i like it quite abit. very musical IMO but dont how the ES5 will fare with games. i have a sneak suspicion that the FC7 mite be great with games but hell...i dont know. goodluck biggrin.gif

http://www6.head-fi.org/forums/showthread.php?t=191075
azfaz
post Nov 22 2006, 09:01 PM

139 posts

Hi guys

I need to get a closed type headphones.

Being reading reviews for AT and it seem A900 is the best for closed type headphones.

Any one with experience?

How is it compared to other brand (closed type) like Senn, AKG, etc.

Appreciate ur help

KilJim
post Nov 23 2006, 12:37 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(azfaz @ Nov 22 2006, 09:01 PM)
Hi guys

I need to get a closed type headphones.

Being reading reviews for AT and it seem A900 is the best for closed type headphones.

Any one with experience?

How is it compared to other brand (closed type) like Senn, AKG, etc.

Appreciate ur help

Nah, try searching for the W5000 instead biggrin.gif
mADmAN
post Nov 23 2006, 01:41 AM

10,530 posts

actuallyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy...... the A900 is more regarded as one of the best gaming headphones due to its soundstage.

as for best closed headphones.. im sure there are others that are better.

Darth Beyers anyone?? brows.gif
azfaz
post Nov 23 2006, 09:42 AM

139 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ Nov 23 2006, 12:37 AM)
Nah, try searching for the W5000 instead  biggrin.gif
smile.gif I wish I could. hehe
scottiebabie
post Nov 23 2006, 04:30 PM

947 posts

short of auditioning the said cans for yourself, the only other piece of viable advise i can offer you is to inquire uncle GOOGLE. indeed, headfi.org is another good search option if for nothing else, it's the largest headfi resource.

however im pretty sure you'll be encountering a multitude of differing opinions. for whatever reason, AT cans seems to evoke fierce and passionate reactions btwn the yays and the nays as witnessed by certain comments on this very thread. whichever opinion and view you take, just understand that its only AN OPINION and that it encompasses the opinionator's own preferences and biases.

what's BEST is an entirely different ballgame. if measurable, definable, repeatable and entirely objective, science can define BEST under specific parameters. unfortunetly MUSIC is an ART where best is entirely personal, irrespective of cost, design, performance, etc.. and so as in art, YOU will have to be the final arbitor of whats best for you.

ps:i vote AT's L3000 leatherhead as best closed cans but sony's R10 and the associated Darth Beyers/?? arent 2shabby either. would love to be able to have a personal audition however unlikely that maybe, before voting though thumbup.gif goodluck dude!

127 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0288sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:31 AM