Headphones Audio Technica Headphones, Fan/User Club? :p

TSellimist
post Sep 16 2006, 08:14 PM, updated 20y ago

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

I don't see much talk bout the ATs apart frm few threads popping up here and there sad.gif Anyone uses AT stuff? I personally use the CK7 canalphones (and love it) Was just feelin a lil lonely with all the other fanclubs storming around laugh.gif

So anyways,come share your experience here,better still,post a short review (I'm sure there're users there,especially since ezinger just did the bulk) Would love to know more bout the ATs tongue.gif

Oh,those wanting to get their products,there's a bulk by ezinger here

This post has been edited by ellimist: Sep 16 2006, 10:04 PM
scottiebabie
post Sep 16 2006, 08:36 PM

947 posts

hear head! i'l start off by saying im a proud daddy of a pair of ES5's n m enjoyin it tis very moment s im writing tis. burned it wit dap amped by ldm+ for a few days straight. sounded a lil harsh in d upper otaves at1st but it broke in nicely.

i find it better than d ksc75 (being an owner of 2pairs, i shud kno) in almos all respect. tay both sound quite similiar but d ES5 has less hiend sibilance wit better quality lowend while retaining juz s much details in all respect. n O...it sounds juz s good unamped while d koss defnatly needs to b amped to brings out its best IMHO.

d open/close mechanism works wonderfully n d ES5 closes into a semi circle to fit into iz own pouch. IMO, d ES5 exudes quality s evrything fits nicely while d koss....lets juz leave it at tat.

for d money, i bliv iz 1of d better values in portable cans. 2bad theres not a hifi shop in kl tat ppl can go to audition AT stuff. from wat i'v read, AUDIO TECHNICA usualy has top notch quality even wen compared wit d best out there.

finally...all i gatta say is i'd lov to audition d ATH W1000 n ATH W5000 s i find d woody cans so sexxxyyyyy!!! juz 2much $$$ 2spend without listening to it 1st...sigh!

nameless
post Sep 16 2006, 08:51 PM

623 posts

Another ATH-ES5 user here. biggrin.gif
Really hard to get a AT product in Malaysia. I get mine from bluetin.com. But I saw in PJ HiFi shop selling some AT product before, but the price ... sweat.gif

I love my ES5 too, very easy to drive and sound great without head amp. I do feel the midrange and bass improve a little bit with a head amp.
TSellimist
post Sep 16 2006, 08:55 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

I heard somewhere in Ampang Park (erm,somethin like that) holds AT products.Nvr been there to check it out though sad.gif
hyperx
post Sep 16 2006, 08:56 PM

||Lunatica||
1,198 posts

another ck7 user reporting icon_rolleyes.gif
just received mine this afternoon, rightnow i let it play continuously from my mp3 player for some burn in... the sound quality overall is quite good eventhough havent completely burned in yet laugh.gif

the earphone is slightly heavier compare to normal earphone, 10g IINM, but once i put it into my ear, i barely feels anything, it is very confortable too ... the material for ear pieces is quite sticky, hence it closes the gap in the ear more, quite a nice sound isolation there...

the Y cord for this earphone is adjustable, but the Y-cord adjuster does grip very tightly onto the cords though, and i suspect it may cause wearing out if its used one too often

but 2 things i dont really like about it; the ear piece trap dusts easily and CK7 dont provide the casing sweat.gif
secondly i dont really like the Y- cord design for earphone tongue.gif
TSellimist
post Sep 16 2006, 08:58 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(hyperx @ Sep 16 2006, 08:56 PM)
another ck7 user reporting  icon_rolleyes.gif
just received mine this afternoon, rightnow i let it play continuously from my mp3 player for some burn in... the sound quality overall is quite good eventhough havent completely burned in yet  laugh.gif

the earphone is slightly heavier compare to normal earphone, 10g IINM, but once i put it into my ear, i barely feels anything, it is very confortable too ... the material for ear pieces is quite sticky, hence it closes the gap in the ear more, quite a nice sound isolation there...

the Y cord for this earphone is adjustable, but the Y-cord adjuster does grip very tightly onto the cords though, and i suspect it may cause wearing out if its used one too often

but 2 things i dont really like about it; the ear piece trap dusts easily and CK7 dont provide the casing  sweat.gif 
secondly i dont really like the Y- cord design for earphone  tongue.gif
If you wear it over the ear style (like in the manual) u'll hardly feel the weight of it. I find it very comfortable and leave it in the ear sometimes when I'm too lazy to take it out tongue.gif

But yea,the tips are so darn sticky that u could use it as an ear cleaner sweat.gif

And yea,that stupid pouch thingie,urgh.

Edit: And oh yea,it's titanium.Mine's scratched up and all >.> Still sounds awesome though,that's what counts tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ellimist: Sep 16 2006, 09:01 PM
hyperx
post Sep 16 2006, 09:06 PM

||Lunatica||
1,198 posts

QUOTE(ellimist @ Sep 16 2006, 08:58 PM)
If you wear it over the ear style (like in the manual) u'll hardly feel the weight of it. I find it very comfortable and leave it in the ear sometimes when I'm too lazy to take it out tongue.gif
lol, i dont realize there is a manual at all before you mentioned it sweat.gif doh.gif

but seriously this thing is very comfortable .. previously i owned EX71, after i wore it about 30-45 minutes i can feel pain on my ear sweat.gif

lol, seriously the tip can be ear cleaner laugh.gif laugh.gif

edited : wait... in the manual we should loop the cord behind both ear, then the cable adjuster place behind the neck? so thats mean the cable are going from backward then comes to the mp3 player? sweat.gif not sure how to properly wear it sweat.gif

This post has been edited by hyperx: Sep 16 2006, 09:15 PM
scottiebabie
post Sep 16 2006, 09:59 PM

947 posts

QUOTE(nameless @ Sep 16 2006, 08:51 PM)
Another ATH-ES5 user here. biggrin.gif
Really hard to get a AT product in Malaysia. I get mine from bluetin.com. But I saw in PJ HiFi shop selling some AT product before, but the price ... sweat.gif

I love my ES5 too, very easy to drive and sound great without head amp. I do feel the midrange and bass improve a little bit with a head amp.
Yup, driven wit d PPAV2 or even d LDII+ will bring d ES5 up another notch. not onli louder but quality loudness wit solid bass n mids. d ES5 highs r a class above d ksc75 s i find d koss's treble can get alittle fatiqueing aftr a while (esp wit crap mp3s). d ES5 digs out s much details witout d treble irritation.

mofonyx
post Sep 16 2006, 10:07 PM

Squatting is the solution to life's problems
2,394 posts

I need some aiding on buying headphones, smile.gif

Choosing between Alessandro MS-1 and Audio Technica ATH AD700

They are within same price range, but the AT seems to have outstanding soundstaging, however the bass is poorer than the MS-1, how much poorer I'm not sure.

Would you guys have a say on this? Whether the MS-1 or the AD700 is a better buy? Need not weigh price into the equation.
TSellimist
post Sep 16 2006, 10:10 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(mofonyx @ Sep 16 2006, 10:07 PM)
I need some aiding on buying headphones, smile.gif

Choosing between Alessandro MS-1 and Audio Technica ATH AD700

They are within same price range, but the AT seems to have outstanding soundstaging, however the bass is poorer than the MS-1, how much poorer I'm not sure.

Would you guys have a say on this? Whether the MS-1 or the AD700 is a better buy? Need not weigh price into the equation.
Unfortunately we seem to have a very few AT users around (was lookin thru alamak's list,he nvr own/auditioned an AD700 either -.-)

And it'll be hard to tell u bout sound signature coz frm the link u posted in the other thread,AT stuff doesn't seem to always be consistent sweat.gif

I've heard good stuff bout the MS-1,you could go for that if you're plannin to "play safe" so to speak. (you can ask ppl like [Top-Gun] or mikechai bout the MS1)

This post has been edited by ellimist: Sep 16 2006, 10:11 PM
mofonyx
post Sep 16 2006, 10:24 PM

2,394 posts

Ah, I'd have to hear them first before making up my mind. I could probably do this in the UK smile.gif

I'll get back to you regarding my choices next year.. in July.
ijan
post Sep 16 2006, 10:58 PM

The one with a boring life...
3,448 posts

u need portable, ms-1. the ad700 is no way a monster u can bring with u to ur subs. and, ad700 is really tat bad. stay away.
[Top-Gun]
post Sep 16 2006, 11:31 PM

Wanted: Dead or Alive
1,061 posts

QUOTE(ijan @ Sep 16 2006, 10:58 PM)
u need portable, ms-1. the ad700 is no way a monster u can bring with u to ur subs. and, ad700 is really tat bad. stay away.
Aww.. I've personally seen people do crazy shit, ijan.. laugh.gif
Seen a GS-1000 on the Singapore local MRT? I did.
Beyer DT770Pro? I did..
Audio Technica AD900? I did..

It depends on how well you like your cans to be able to wear it on your head amidst the hot weather.. tongue.gif If you don't care about your pads getting sticky and yellowish or greyish, wear it, and try walking to KLCC under the bright, warm sun.. sweat.gif

If not, the MS-1 is the way to go! (But please don't blare hard rock/dark metal music on the subway trains.. it distracts and disturbs people..
mofonyx
post Sep 17 2006, 12:48 AM

2,394 posts

ijan, thanks for pointing out the size, but I'll be planning to stay indoors with the AD700 as they are open headphones..~

Likewise with the MS-1, I give weird stares at people who bring big headsets around too.. so I wouldn't be bringing them outdoors..

Now with size aside, how is the sound? How does it compare to the MS-1? Or would I have to find this out myself?~

AlamakLor
post Sep 17 2006, 01:09 AM

9,856 posts

my friend has the AD700 and A900ltd, will be auditioning it this coming Sunday biggrin.gif I was told that the AD700 is... shakehead.gif though
saiga
post Sep 17 2006, 01:26 AM

Fear of the Dark
584 posts

Anybody have experience with AT CL350 or AT CL550 ?

Planning to get either one or ES5

KilJim
post Sep 17 2006, 04:46 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

I've tried the AD700 for a few days before
Being unamped, the main thing that i disliked was that it sounded kinda "hollow"
Not sure if you'll understand the term, or if i'm even using the right term there sweat.gif
Kinda like the Philips HP1000 unamped

Never tried them amped, but they're supposedly easily driven and dont benefit much from an amp

Oh yah, and they're pretty damn huge, comparable to a HP890/1000
And Alamak can draw u a pic of how your hair looks like when wearing ATH phones laugh.gif

This post has been edited by KilJim: Sep 17 2006, 04:48 AM
mofonyx
post Sep 17 2006, 07:28 AM

2,394 posts

QUOTE(AlamakLor @ Sep 17 2006, 01:09 AM)
my friend has the AD700 and A900ltd, will be auditioning it this coming Sunday biggrin.gif I was told that the AD700 is... shakehead.gif though
Thanks, please do a personal opinion/review on the AD700 and a slight comparison with MS-1 smile.gif

Cheers.
AlamakLor
post Sep 17 2006, 09:20 AM

9,856 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ Sep 16 2006, 05:46 PM)
Oh yah, and they're pretty damn huge, comparable to a HP890/1000
And Alamak can draw u a pic of how your hair looks like when wearing ATH phones  laugh.gif
you mean before and after? laugh.gif
nothing much....just that the 3dwings will leave 2 crop circles on ur head laugh.gif

@mofonyx
None of us have a pair of MS-1...can't really compare it and I have not heard of the MS-1...only the sr125

This post has been edited by AlamakLor: Sep 17 2006, 01:24 PM
empire23
post Sep 17 2006, 11:50 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

How does i buy ATH-W5000?!

127 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top