Maxis The Official LYN Maxis Wireless (3G/3.5G) Thread, Now it comes with soap !
Jan 23 2007, 01:17 PM
2,678 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: PutraCyberjaya |
just got the broadband last nite.. only got dload speed of 17-20kBps via EDGE
Jan 23 2007, 02:00 PM
5,713 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
i am not Celcom agent also but i really wan to say Celcom 3G is the best now..
Download can reach 384kbps easily but upload is $%$ only 64kbps also using bitcomet to donwload...no problem at all.. Maxis 3G...looking thru the forum....a lot of complaint.. Unlimited with limited....what is this!! For Celcom 3G, if u have streamyx account to your name...then u need only to pay RM88 only but need to have postpaid plan lo.. In my case,,,no streamyx to my name but under my sis...so i pay RM99 plus postpaid plan. Been using 3G Celcom for one year alreadi...it rock!!!! For me Maxis need to really improvement a lot... And i still dreaming Digi will get 3G license coz the last two 3G license is in the hand of incompetent company.. Now u tell me...what are they doing now??Nothing at all...all words but really wasted the two last 3G spectrum....arggggg!!! QUOTE(caerulln @ Jan 22 2007, 01:46 AM) u all seems got many prob with maxis 3G huh.. This post has been edited by MakNok: Jan 23 2007, 02:01 PMmay i suggest u turn to celcom 3g unlimited? i sign up few weeks ago. so far, its very wonderful! can access all website without any prob. limewire i manage to max out the bandwith (bout 60kB/s) bitcomet so-so around streamyx speed b4 the earthquake (coz now my streamyx cant BT at all) connection very stable. 3 days continuously without dropping. i can say that the rm120 i paid is worth it just for peace of mind..i'm not a celcom agent |
Jan 23 2007, 02:06 PM
2,678 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: PutraCyberjaya |
but maxis is the cheapest rite now, rm68/month
Jan 23 2007, 02:24 PM
96 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
maxis not cheap...
RM 50 (access fee) + RM 18 (rental fee) + RM 15 (telephony service) = RM 83 (actual cost) Somemore only 384 kbps. |
Jan 23 2007, 03:15 PM
19 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
i got one problem about HSDPA is when i sign in for window live messenger. after a few minit,the maxis wireless broadband will auto disconnect.
So what is the problem? my connection problem? |
Jan 23 2007, 03:38 PM
20 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 18 2006, 10:13 PM) They said that they will auto-disconnect you if you have been inactive for 20 minutes or 30 minutes. If I'm downloading a file from the Internet and it takes more than these periods, will I be disconnected? Hi there.. I have been using the service from Maxis for a month now.. its pretty decent in terms of speed in comparison to the Streamyx package that i am subscribed to. I have done some writing on my blog about the service - Maxis HSPDA Debut - ISPs Compared - Limited Unlimited Maxis Service Anyhow, just to let you know,.. With Maxis HSPDA, the bandwidth is not bad on torrents... My streamyx now bans me from connecting to BT seeders, so the status are constant zero for seeders and peers... I could not connect at all for my downloads. But with Maxis HSPDA, so far it has been ok.. I can see the seeders and peers and download from them. A 700 mb file took like two days to finish, and not even once was I disconnected. However, I have been told by a good friend in Maxis that they too will ban BT completely next month... need to validate that.... Seems like at the end of the day... there is really no noble provider in Malaysia that is honest in providing a proper bandwidth and service quality to the consumers... Maybe, MiTV Network, the new comer in the mobile industry with their HSPDA network could be the company that would bring in change to the entire industry? or am I still dreaming that the day will actually come? |
Jan 23 2007, 03:41 PM
QUOTE(aabar @ Jan 23 2007, 03:38 PM) Hi there.. Just to add in.. I am not in the proper service area for HSPDA.. I could get the signal once a while but most of the time I would be on EDGE or GPRS... and they both still beat the freaking slowness of Streamyx... I have been using the service from Maxis for a month now.. its pretty decent in terms of speed in comparison to the Streamyx package that i am subscribed to. I have done some writing on my blog about the service - Maxis HSPDA Debut - ISPs Compared - Limited Unlimited Maxis Service Anyhow, just to let you know,.. With Maxis HSPDA, the bandwidth is not bad on torrents... My streamyx now bans me from connecting to BT seeders, so the status are constant zero for seeders and peers... I could not connect at all for my downloads. But with Maxis HSPDA, so far it has been ok.. I can see the seeders and peers and download from them. A 700 mb file took like two days to finish, and not even once was I disconnected. However, I have been told by a good friend in Maxis that they too will ban BT completely next month... need to validate that.... Seems like at the end of the day... there is really no noble provider in Malaysia that is honest in providing a proper bandwidth and service quality to the consumers... Maybe, MiTV Network, the new comer in the mobile industry with their HSPDA network could be the company that would bring in change to the entire industry? or am I still dreaming that the day will actually come? |
Jan 23 2007, 03:51 PM
QUOTE(MakNok @ Jan 23 2007, 02:00 PM) i am not Celcom agent also but i really wan to say Celcom 3G is the best now.. To me the Celcom Unlimited (I was on that package for two months) sucks... I could not get a proper connection from the 3G network from my home and when I do, its slow as hell... Download can reach 384kbps easily but upload is $%$ only 64kbps also using bitcomet to donwload...no problem at all.. Maxis 3G...looking thru the forum....a lot of complaint.. Unlimited with limited....what is this!! For Celcom 3G, if u have streamyx account to your name...then u need only to pay RM88 only but need to have postpaid plan lo.. In my case,,,no streamyx to my name but under my sis...so i pay RM99 plus postpaid plan. Been using 3G Celcom for one year alreadi...it rock!!!! For me Maxis need to really improvement a lot... And i still dreaming Digi will get 3G license coz the last two 3G license is in the hand of incompetent company.. Now u tell me...what are they doing now??Nothing at all...all words but really wasted the two last 3G spectrum....arggggg!!! What was I thinking subscribing to that package???? I think Celcom should be more creative and step in with new competitive services.... better quality... not just an operator that declares Malaysia to be "CELCOM TERRITORY" but sucked at offering decent services... Also, the tag line of "Its in your hands" is beginning to sound like a porn slogan... I kept missing calls from my friends until I divert call (if not available - option) the Celcom number to a Maxis number (Celcom is my company issued number, maxis is my personal line). Surprisingly, even with a full bar shown on my phone... calls are diverted to my Maxis... no wonder Digi had recently outpaced Celcom in terms of subscriber base... The above scenario is just on the voice calls, I am not even getting to the data part yet... but you guys could get the picture... and FYI... I am working in Central KL and living in Ampang.... its a central location to even have coverage issues... |
Jan 25 2007, 03:36 PM
2,199 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
on how to use proxy
for example with firefox steps: 1. goto http://www.proxy4free.com/page1.html or any other proxy list and tembak for anyone. for example, i use kuwait. 62.150.35.230 80 transparent Kuwait 2. ping the numbers to make sure its alive start->run->ping 62.150.35.230 -t 3. if not alive, choose another number to play. 4. in firefox, goto tools->option->advanced->network->settings under manual, enter the number and port 62.150.35.230, port = 80 click ok and you are done! to undo, simply select 'direct connection' instead of manual proxy. |
Jan 25 2007, 03:38 PM
2,199 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
subang airpot shud be covered under normal 3G. max speed 384kbps.
in the modem setting 192.168.0.1, make sure you select umts prefered. |
Jan 25 2007, 04:07 PM
3,039 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Laputa |
ping can use meh for HSDPA modem.
Subang airport and Taman Mayang Jaya damn freaking hard to get UMTS or HSDPA unless you online near the window or door. I have to bring my table modem notebook next to the door to get HSDPA and not full strenght somemore. I use at my friend house at 8th floor apartment. No problem, Steady,stable and fast |
Jan 26 2007, 09:12 AM
Hi guys, just a question. If my modem network mode show "GPRS" then it means it is connect only on GPRS speed lol...issit?
Jan 26 2007, 10:49 AM
Yes and you must reset your modem until you get HSDPA, if you are in coverage
Jan 26 2007, 01:41 PM
thanks wufei,
No wonder my connection so slow...maybe my area not covered by HSDPA? I tried with my fren's phone to detect 3G coverage and it is there 3G signal! Just wonder why??? |
Jan 26 2007, 05:25 PM
no button to reset , its a useless modem.
Off it and on it again. |
Jan 26 2007, 06:08 PM
4,057 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Pandan Indah |
can list down the negatif comment of Maxis 3G broadbad service ?
cas the they put caunter at UPM here to promote and lots of ppl sign up.. their application form so thick every day..haha my frens all want to suscribe, but i luckily i saw this thread. |
Jan 26 2007, 09:33 PM
I am still the 1st month cant comment yet
1 advise, make sure the place you want to put your modem got 3G connection, I mean consistent strong 3G connection. |
Jan 26 2007, 09:34 PM
5 posts Joined: May 2005 |
can anyone tell me is the maxis wireless broadband limited to height of condo ?
coz I tried to check my application status today.. and maxis is giving the reply saying, they might not be able to provide the service due to my unit is at the 9th floor |
Jan 26 2007, 09:42 PM
just borrow your friend address then tukar address lar.....Me now at 8th floor.....(friend house)...i live in single storey house....
In 8th floor, connection was beautiful and steadily fast compare on the ground....I guess the higher you are, the easier you receive the reception. |
Jan 26 2007, 10:40 PM
4,057 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Pandan Indah |
i heard tat ppl said it will always getting dc .. can do bting ?
| Change to: | 0.0225sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:18 AM |