5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoise V2, Shell reptiles please enter here...

SAMPERTH
post Sep 30 2007, 08:23 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(dai86 @ Sep 30 2007, 08:26 PM)
sawi in mandarin is 'chai xin', or cantonese is 'choi sam'. haha.... the turtle making eggs.
haha...

Added on September 30, 2007, 7:28 pmsawi in mandarin is 'chai xin', or cantonese is 'choi sam'. haha.... the turtle making eggs.
haha...
People translate sawi from mustard green but if mustard green then cant be "Choi sum" have to be "Gai choi"

As sawi has a few variety - sawi bunga , sawi manis , sawi pahit ...etc

Anyone please post a pic of their SAWI aka mustard green to show us all , Camillenoir , Uzairi
So others wont feed the wrong green to their tortoises THANKS

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Oct 1 2007, 06:58 AM
SAMPERTH
post Oct 5 2007, 06:02 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(StraxorX @ Oct 5 2007, 02:29 AM)
this tortoise so old still so small? when it will grow bigger
blink.gif
I think that tortoise is about the 18 inch SCL range but like camillenoir could be over 20 inch

StraxorX
You think all tortoise will grow to 1 meter long and weigh a few hundred kg ??? That tortoise is a local species and measure no more than 22 inches long no matter how old it may be
SAMPERTH
post Oct 13 2007, 12:35 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(ntlc87 @ Oct 12 2007, 10:35 PM)
y selling res hatchiling illegal in some countries?
For example in their Native country range USA selling any chelonian below 4 inch are regulated
Sales of anything below 4 inch are for educational purposes only
SAMPERTH
post Oct 13 2007, 03:25 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(ntlc87 @ Oct 13 2007, 04:08 PM)
educational purpose? can presice on that? i dun get u... unsure.gif
That you have to ask someone from the US department to explain on the presice on that

Anything cheloinan ( turtle in paticular ) that are smaller than 4 inch are not allowed to be sold in the US unless for SCIENTIFIC OR EDUCTIONAL PURPOSES ( primary school science projects ....etc )

As most if not all RES are produced in the US and because of that 4 inch rule ( equate to about a year's worth of growth for RES to reach that size ) thus the bulk of their RES hatchlings' production are exported

More on the 4 inch rule

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Oct 15 2007, 02:09 PM
SAMPERTH
post Oct 15 2007, 11:10 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(choyster @ Oct 15 2007, 06:10 AM)
dunno why small RES turtles so hard to be active
Water too cold or maybe sick thus the more often inactiveness ...etc

Try adding a heater or heat it up a little with sun light ...etc and see how
SAMPERTH
post Oct 16 2007, 06:43 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(zoejehuty @ Oct 16 2007, 04:33 AM)
erm, ask something, for the vitamin for tortoise rite, wat brand u all use ar?
coz i hard to get any in my area here since i'm in melaka here,
and search all the info cant get to know any vitamin brand which is for tortoise one.
There are no paticular that are for tortoises only , As long as it is for reptilian its good enough But do remember there are 2 types
- Multi-Vitamin
- Calcium ( some with D3 , some pure calcium )
SAMPERTH
post Oct 18 2007, 06:36 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(blasturanus @ Oct 18 2007, 12:32 AM)
guys, any way i can smuggle my star tortoise from peninsula to sarawak>>? it's illegal to own a star without proper document rite.>? correct me if i'm wrong..thx
Why need to smuggle ?? Most Sarawak pet shop / local fish shop have them for sale !!!!!!!!!!

I saw them for sale in Bintulu , Kuching , Miri and Sibu not just one or two in a paticular shop but most shop stock a few of them

SAMPERTH
post Oct 18 2007, 01:16 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(blasturanus @ Oct 18 2007, 11:22 AM)
u see i bought my pet tortoise here in peninsular.. wondering whether i can bring it back to sarawak .
Do you think public forum is a good place to discuss such issue like smuggling across states ....etc ?????
SAMPERTH
post Oct 20 2007, 03:12 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(andrewnib @ Oct 20 2007, 02:54 PM)
Hi All,

I just got myself 2 little cute Star today. Sex unknown. Their captivity setup is simple, just some corn corb bedding and shallow dish with water. will feed them sawi and papaya.

Will learn more on the Star from all the sifu sifu here..

Regards,
Andrew
How big are they and their setup / enclosure ??

I dont really put a dish with water in any of my indoor enclosure BUT all animals smaller than 3 inch are soak and allowed to drink every morning As the water mess the substrate up very fast with the tortoise getting in and out countless times on a daily basis !!!

And do slow down on the papaya , as soft fruits are not that good for this species of " dry " tortoise

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Oct 20 2007, 03:13 PM
SAMPERTH
post Oct 22 2007, 06:33 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(skitZo` @ Oct 22 2007, 06:23 PM)
Hi!

Well im suppose this is the best thread to ask about tortoises eh. I found this tortoise walking on the road last week while i was driving, it was raining at that time, so what i did was pick it up and put it in a plastic bag and drove to the nearest pet shop and bought an aquarium and a bottle of terrapine food.  After a few days ive noticed that the aquarium is some how too small for the tortoise.

Should i buy a bigger aquarium to keep the tortoise?
And what kinda food does this tortoise eat? been feeding him terrapine food sinced.

I`ve attached a picture of the tortoise.

Thanx a bunch!
Look like a RES @ Red-eared slider - Trachemys scripta elegans to me can post a pic of the underside and a close up of its face

If it is a RES they will eat almost anything ( most veggie , seafood , raw meat , fish pellets , terrapine food , insects ...etc ) But adults are more vegetarian so more green will be good
SAMPERTH
post Nov 6 2007, 05:58 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(drexar @ Nov 6 2007, 03:35 AM)
same for also.. i always browse this thread to know more about my lovely tutles...

p/s : this is my new account. Before this i used body_rules if you all still remember me  blush.gif

Added on November 6, 2007, 2:37 am

gosh.. it looks so cute... what species is itdrool.gif
QUOTE(camillenoir @ Nov 6 2007, 02:03 AM)
yup.. way cool, just have to be careful of the bites. Those two species (Orlitia borneensis and Alligator Snapper) are the world's largest freshwater turtles.
cause Leslie's G-a... err.. not straight?
care to share so pictures?  smile.gif
The top pic is of Orlitia borneensis while the bottom pic is Alligator Snapper !!!
SAMPERTH
post Nov 15 2007, 07:39 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Nov 15 2007, 07:29 PM)
No, they wont. Tortoise have slower growth rate compared to turtles/terrapins.
I think the answer also depends on which species of tortoise concern !! If campare Star Tortoise and say RES the RES will win But if we use bigger species of tortoise like Sulcata to compare the tortoise will win for sure !!!
Sulcata is one of the fastest growing tortoise species in the world

If we use Spiny Hill turtle I think all species of Tortoise of the same size as hatchlings will win it for sure LOL !!! One of the slowest growing turtle I know of , be them hatchlings or Juv !!!

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Nov 15 2007, 07:58 PM
SAMPERTH
post Nov 18 2007, 10:21 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(hellriser @ Nov 18 2007, 10:34 PM)
asking this to all the pros here...
between turtles n tortoise...which is harder to keep?
thinking of getting a star but not really sure
Both could be hard if wrong diet , husbandary ...etc provided But if you dont mind some water in the room ( filter noise , change water often if no filter ...etc ) turtle will be much easier than say Star tortoise

SAMPERTH
post Nov 19 2007, 10:35 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(dai86 @ Sep 24 2007, 02:33 AM)
mudz, star tortoise not only eating sawi, u can give carrot, cucumber, salad leaves etc vegie to them. u can sometimes give them a small slide of fruits as treat. there is also tortoise pellet selling outside. but i suggest you mix 2 things or 3 things to them each time. (mostly i will put tortoise pellets and a type of vegie for mine. and i have 2 type of tortoise pellet. maybe some of us here using few types)  don't give everyday same food to them. everyday u eat same thing also u scare. haha....
QUOTE(uzairi @ Sep 24 2007, 08:08 PM)
laugh.gif But its better to feed them with sawi as their staple food. Alternate them with lady finger and french/long beans. If they wouldnt take the sawi, starve them for 2-3 days and give the sawi. That should do it.
Not recommended, too much liquid and almost no nutrients at all.
QUOTE(camillenoir @ Sep 25 2007, 09:50 PM)
try high fiber diets (grape leaves, hibiscus leaves) mix with tortoise pellet. usually they won't take (bitter taste) but mix with pellets can do. timothy grass/hay mix with pellet also do fine, in fact recommended more than supermarket greens. and of course opuntia.

p/s: had anybody tried GEX tortoise pellets? my tortoises seems crazy on them.
QUOTE(jaredx @ Sep 30 2007, 04:34 PM)
sorry can anyone tell me the chinese name of SAWI??? ty a lot!! cry.gif
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Sep 30 2007, 11:24 PM)
Gai Choi is called Bamboo Mustard Cabbage, Chinese Mustard Cabbage, Oriental Mustard Green
http://www.melissas.com/catalog/index.cfm?...id=177&Info=YES

I use sawi, in US it is called Yu Choy Sum
http://www.melissas.com/catalog/index.cfm?...id=202&Info=YES
This veggie got 20% calcium
QUOTE(uzairi @ Oct 1 2007, 03:50 AM)
Some pictures of sawi from the internet.

Taken from http://www.nandyala.org
Mustard green family

I will post the actual photo when i buy them tomorrow. Now finished already.  laugh.gif
afro_phoebe

The above posts will say NO to your question on feeding them kangkung only !!!

Variety is the way to go while feeding all our pets ( be them turtle , tortoise , Iguana ...etc ) unless it is prepared can , dry food but even those may lack certain vitamin or minerals !!
SAMPERTH
post Nov 20 2007, 05:02 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(afro_phoebe @ Nov 20 2007, 05:51 PM)
I tot this is what forum for laugh.gif

Just wanna know more from other experiences smile.gif
What camillenoir trying to say is just read thru what have being posted before asking the same question !!

Someone suggest this and you say u cant get ...etc then how I could suggest a few very good green for your tortoise and you cant get them in your area Also no use right ?

Just tell us what you could buy / pluck in ur area / home and we work from your list !!! How that sound to you
SAMPERTH
post Nov 29 2007, 06:00 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(andrewnib @ Nov 29 2007, 01:50 AM)
Errrr . . Sorry, my question might sound stupid . .but. .what species is this yah ??? sweat.gif
I am thinking / guessing its a local species H.spinosa ( Spiny hill turtle ) !!! MALE as well ?? Am I right Camillenoir ??
SAMPERTH
post Nov 29 2007, 08:56 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(camillenoir @ Nov 29 2007, 08:21 AM)
you are right about the spinosa. i'm not sure about the sex (animal not in this country yet) but it sure is an albino.

offered to me at 5 digits LOL too pricey.

I have seen them ( both albino Spinosa and Grandis in a Taiwan pet shop some times back) and you are right about the 5 digits tag on them

See if I could find their pic on one of my Taiwanese magazine - AquaPets !!!
SAMPERTH
post Dec 4 2007, 06:06 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(me! @ Dec 4 2007, 06:49 PM)
hi.. noob here.. i'm planing to get indian star tortoise. any seggestion where to get it cheap? any seller here in LYN? thanks!
Cheap = small one = many many many problems = extra care , money
And in most case death Sorry to put it this way but its the truth !!!

SAMPERTH
post Dec 7 2007, 10:03 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(alexio @ Dec 6 2007, 09:05 PM)
Hey. My father just got this 1 on the hill last night too!
Don't know the gender... might post it tomorrow.
blush.gif
Just same species I think !! Anyway interested on the gender issue , do post it here !!
SAMPERTH
post Dec 9 2007, 07:46 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(leng2 @ Dec 8 2007, 10:38 PM)
i'm sure you guys are gonna love this!

I have a feeling is a desperate attempt to get out of the cold water !!! As I dont see any dry dock to park their little green sampan !!!

That pic must / should be from some Air-cond pet shop !!!

Added on December 9, 2007, 7:48 pm
QUOTE(alexio @ Dec 9 2007, 08:16 PM)
lost it the other day...
i think it climb out the fence... it's a temp low fence...
sad.gif

i don't know if it's same species... it's just brown in colour... my father is hill type tortoise.
blush.gif
Missed a chance to see a very rare turtle !!!

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Dec 9 2007, 07:48 PM

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0797sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:20 PM