5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoise V2, Shell reptiles please enter here...

SAMPERTH
post Jul 1 2007, 02:35 PM

517 posts

SAMPERTH
post Jul 5 2007, 06:22 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Jul 5 2007, 03:21 AM)
I wonder how they tolerate the shell rot in the wild. hmm.gif
They are not wormed in the wild and yet they can tolerate the worms , Natures has its way my friend

I think it is because they are not confine to specific living areas ( small , artificial enclousures) and thus no stress level to decrease its immune system ....etc
SAMPERTH
post Jul 9 2007, 05:28 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Jul 9 2007, 12:27 AM)
Better buy those 3 inch specimens, they are more hardy and you can differentiate them whether they are healthy or not. Those 50cent sized ST might already have MBD which may cause death in months and its more challenging to take care of them.
MBD at 50 sen size ?? Where got possible !!!!!!!!
SAMPERTH
post Jul 10 2007, 05:48 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(HughieRmX @ Jul 9 2007, 11:39 PM)
Guys ... finally I can capture 2 images of my both tortoise ... Take a look !! laugh.gif

Those are turtles ( Water base ) not tortoise ( land base)

Added on July 10, 2007, 5:50 am
QUOTE(White Palace @ Jul 10 2007, 01:43 AM)
MBD means?
Metabolic Bone Disease

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Jul 10 2007, 05:57 AM
SAMPERTH
post Jul 10 2007, 12:23 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(ekiddie @ Jul 10 2007, 12:47 PM)
is there diff species of ST as some shell are black back and some are yellow back?? like most ST pics i see were black back wif yellow lines and not vice-versa... especially de adults one... are they diff??

wink.gif
ST as in Star Tortoise ??

There are
- Burmese Star
- Indian Star ( Different locale - Sri Lankan , Northern , Southern mainland )

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Jul 10 2007, 12:25 PM
SAMPERTH
post Jul 26 2007, 02:04 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jul 25 2007, 09:41 PM)
Do your tortoises get tired of a particular vegie? My Star is bored of sawi... no mood to eat sawi.... but once I chop some Opuntia cactus, grape leaves and romaine lettuce, straight away eat.... if I mix the sawi, he won't wanna eat hahahah....
QUOTE(camillenoir @ Jul 26 2007, 12:39 AM)
happens.. a male of mine won't take leafy greens anymore. usually can feed them with grape leaves, hibiscus, grass & pellets, sometimes supermarket greens. now he's basically living on lady's finger and pellets. not good, but since it seems that he'd rather starve for a week than eat leafs, got no choice. got to gradually reform him.

i think uzairi's whole collection is facing the same problem now.
Could it be the weather ....etc or recent sawi grown not up to standard ...etc

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Jul 26 2007, 02:07 PM
SAMPERTH
post Aug 12 2007, 06:21 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(long3016 @ Aug 12 2007, 06:45 PM)
what is the maximum size and weight of start tortise???
Anywhere between 7-9 inches for Male and 9-12 inches for Female

But most no longer than 11 inches

Weight wise depends

Cheers

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Aug 12 2007, 06:37 PM
SAMPERTH
post Aug 13 2007, 07:40 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(long3016 @ Aug 12 2007, 10:22 PM)
thanks for your information. i asking bcoz plan to get a pair
They are not really sexable visually till about 3 inch SCL plus and some remain tricky till 4-5 inch
SAMPERTH
post Aug 30 2007, 05:46 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(angelgurl_nee @ Aug 30 2007, 02:02 PM)
whats a tuntung?
Batagur baska

River Terrapin / Tuntong

SAMPERTH
post Sep 1 2007, 03:22 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(angelgurl_nee @ Aug 31 2007, 02:20 PM)
i don know if this quote would help u in any way Hate_Myself, but here it is...

"If a painted turtle's shell is chipped, or broken, the shell will not grow back completely but scar tissue will be formed. The scar tissue will not take the exact shape of the original shell but will provide protection that is as strong as that of the original shell. If the tip of their tail is cut off, they will grow it back eventually. Some people carve designs into their turtles, this hurts the turtle, and can lead to a deadly infection and kill the animal. Painting the shell can cause eventual deformity of the shell."
You sure about that ( tail growing back )???

Added on September 1, 2007, 3:26 pm
QUOTE(Hate_Myself @ Sep 1 2007, 02:38 PM)
Yeah i think is funfus infection of something....maybe not enough sun light?
Could be both fungus and lack of sunlight

Some other possibility are - diet lack in vital vitamin / minerals ...etc

Before any treatment , advise given can you show us or just tell us how and where these two have being living in
As water condition could be another cause

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Sep 1 2007, 03:44 PM
SAMPERTH
post Sep 1 2007, 05:17 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(Hate_Myself @ Sep 1 2007, 06:08 PM)
I'm a beginner in this so.....they live in a beginners 'cage',the most common type and the water is filtered water,the only thing they don't have is sun light or the UVB,i think that's the reason why that became like that......after knowing some diseases and it's remedy,now i'll put them outside my house everyday to have enough sun light and also maybe to dry off the fungus...it's ok to do that right?
Beginner's cage as in those round with a coconut tree and a bridge type ??

You mention filtered water or filter in there to clean water or just filtered water used - How often is that water changed if no filter installed

You could try drying the fungus under the sun
But some kind of anti-fungus / anti bacteria for aquarium fish use ie. White spot special , General Aid , S1 , Iodine or even salt to be added into the water for a few days ( daily water change and new medicine added )

All the best

SAMPERTH
post Sep 7 2007, 09:01 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(StraxorX @ Sep 7 2007, 06:35 PM)
erm..hello everyone,
i had a 1 cute small tortoise.
can i know how to check is the tortoise is male or female ?  icon_question.gif
my little tortoise is lonely now and need to in love.  cry.gif
Depend on the species some smaller specimen cant be sexed correctly till quite big

Can you show us a pic of your tortoise showing the tail part from underside to help sexing it correctly ( make better guess )

QUOTE(camillenoir @ Sep 4 2007, 12:38 AM)
depends on which turtle you're trying to differentiate...

anyhow, for general sexing purposes:

i) males have concave plastron, females have flat plastron
ii) males have long front nails, females long hind nails
iii) cloaca on males closer on tip of tails, cloaca on females closer to body. males usually have longer tails

(the simple logic for the above traits on males are to help them mount females)

other methods:

i) in most species, females are bigger than males. so if any specimens had already exceeded male size, high probability is female.
example: Star tortoise - males are normally no bigger than 7-8 inch, females get up to 11-12 inch. However in species such as Orlitia borneensis and those from Heosemys genus, males are usually bigger (from experience with H. grandis and H. spinosa)

ii) coloration:
males more often have brighter color, especially during breeding season. Example: male C.borneoensis had solid red 'hat', male B. baska are deep black. Their female counterparts had much duller coloration:

please note that juveniles are usually not sexually dimorphic, so if any seller tells you how to differentiate baby RES through the color of their carapace, please smack them.

fellow forumers please add if i miss out anything.
But our friend camillenoir has cover quite a few ground in a previous thread

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Sep 8 2007, 11:50 AM
SAMPERTH
post Sep 8 2007, 06:37 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(dai86 @ Sep 8 2007, 05:39 PM)
hey, anyone raring snake neck a.k.a long neck turtle?
This one ??
SAMPERTH
post Sep 9 2007, 01:31 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(dai86 @ Sep 9 2007, 01:52 AM)
yes. but this is big one. hehe...
This is the smallest of the few adults I got
LOL

SAMPERTH
post Sep 12 2007, 11:03 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(yawhong @ Sep 12 2007, 09:27 AM)
wah you also interested in tortoise also.. erm i do have 1 big tortoise at my house. But i don know what breed also. I keep as pet mainly because it walk in my house, don know where it come la... he just simply come in my house only  flex.gif
Can Please post pic for us to see and maybe help tell you which breed THANKS

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Sep 12 2007, 09:45 PM
SAMPERTH
post Sep 16 2007, 08:58 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(climacool @ Sep 16 2007, 06:38 PM)
Any Star Tortoise keeper can post some star tortoise picts here ??
Look thru the thread many have being posted
SAMPERTH
post Sep 17 2007, 04:16 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(camillenoir @ Sep 17 2007, 02:45 PM)
Golden Thread Turtle. Beautiful or Ugly?

She's a god's work tainted with human faults.
The human faults as in those uneven shell growth caused by - Improper diet ....etc or ....????

I have one thats being " abused " by the wrong diet as well will post pic when I got them in hand
SAMPERTH
post Sep 18 2007, 12:38 PM

517 posts

do any of you guys have Cyclemis oldhami in possession

Actually how do one tell them ( C. oldhamii , C. ovata , C.dentata ....etc ) apart ???????? One of my book tells me they can be found in Borneo Island thus I was thinking if any in my collection and not knowing it !!!!!!
SAMPERTH
post Sep 21 2007, 10:32 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Sep 21 2007, 09:52 PM)
Nooooo.... since when Star Tortoise eat insects??? They are vegetarians, herbivores lah.

Which caresheet in the Internet tells you to feed mealworms?
Caresheet are from human so not 100 % fault-proof
I feed mine animal protien No ill-effect noted and for so so long ( my oldest star being with me since 1990's - more than 15 years already )

And many articles did mention many species of tortoises ( tropical , dersert ...etc ) consuming carion in their natural habitat

I dont disagree with animal protien for tortoise but moderation is the way to go ( 5 % or less per month, fed as snack and not staple as in my case )

Just my 2 sen Dont flame me for that

( have bred them Indian Star for over 7 years and 2nd generation babies reproducing already )
SAMPERTH
post Sep 26 2007, 08:12 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(climacool @ Sep 26 2007, 08:21 PM)
If the star tortoise turn turtle around 1 hour, izzit fine for them ?
Not that good , and if gravid female involved worse !!!!!!!

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0206sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:38 PM