10 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 >Bottom

i got 1 million of debt, what shall i do?, debt& financial planning

wild_card_my
post Nov 25 2014, 12:12 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(Lucas0323 @ Nov 25 2014, 11:26 AM)
Does that means the prepayment money will only hold by the bank and not directly pay to developer?
HuiChyr and myself have explained thoroughly on the concept of repayment. To be honest, Bonescythe is giving the wrong idea, no offense to him.
sadperson
post Nov 25 2014, 01:02 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(samowong @ Nov 10 2014, 10:33 PM)
My 2 cents:

1. Don't refinance - give yourself some room to breath

2. If you need a 100K car to "cari makan", keep it. Indeed, nowadays people ARE superficial. Look at what you use, wear and drive first, then only consider doing business with you.

3. Park the 50K with your 1st house loan IF the loan is flexi i.e HSBC homesmart, Since you're stretched tight, a buffer will be good.

4. Try negotiating with your wife again to rent out the house. You can split the rental money for your buffer, house and car loan payments.

5. Make sure you have life insurance coverage.

6. Try cutting down on unnecessary expenses to increase cash flow.

7. Don't forget to draft your will too (i mean it in a good way).
I love the number 6 idea . Coz I m doing it now everyday .
tnang
post Nov 25 2014, 02:14 PM

2,832 posts

QUOTE(homosapien8888 @ Nov 10 2014, 06:36 PM)
hi , my debt is about 1 million, hope to get advice from  sifu here
i got 50k cash now, how should i use it now?

house 1 , debt 443k installment 2600/month , interest rate blr-2.3 - no rental
personal loan 41k, 24 month now left 18 month , rm1815, interest 3.13%
house 2, debt 460k - DIBS, will need to serve the installment 1Q 2015, installment about 2.1k a month, BLR-2.4
car loan , 100 k , interest 2.48 % monthly installment 1874, 5 year,

how should i restructure my debt?

my income to debt ratio is 90 % at this moment
50k for emergency, you need to sell one of your house. over commit.
hon
post Nov 25 2014, 02:50 PM

220 posts

90% debt ratio, you must be kidding bro.. @@
serdangonline
post Nov 25 2014, 03:36 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Nov 12 2014, 09:29 PM)
Sorry, if all are having thinking of me, a rm130k 9 year old terrace house till today only can be sold at rm180k.
But with your mindset, then you have to buy the terrace house at rm500k.
Is we our self that make the money depreciate.
Where is the place at?
meejawa
post Nov 25 2014, 04:48 PM

338 posts

QUOTE(HuiChyr @ Nov 25 2014, 12:05 PM)
Developer is already out of the picture once the property is completed and handover to customer.
The financing part is only between the bank and buyer (prop owner).

Prepayment comes in many form but let me explain in flexi-home loan for better understanding:
Let say you have outstanding loan balance (OS) of Rm100k.
You have Rm20k cash you wanna pre-pay for the loan.
So your OS becomes Rm80k. The day Rm20k was credit into your loan account, the interest calculation is base on the new OS of Rm80k.

The next day you wish to take out Rm5k from the pre-pay of Rm20. Your new OS is now Rm85k. And so the interest is calculated on Rm85k.

Property loan interest calculation is on DAILY rest. Like FD is on ANNUAL rest. Compounded DAILY or ANNUALLY. Can you imagine (hypothetical) FD is 3% on DAILY rest. Your money + interest is compounded DAILY. You make a lot of money.  drool.gif

But banks wanna make money mah .... so here is the real scenario
LOAN: Rm100k. Interest: 4% per annum (Compounded DAILY). 12 days to make Rm4,074.
FD: Rm100k. Interest: 4% per annum    (Compounded ANNUALLY). 12 months to make Rm4,000

Understanding this concept of bank calculation, don't you think PRE-PAYMENT is a better option?
Many will look at interest per annum only but with TIME factor, banks will always beat you to the game.
Wrong=> LOAN: Rm100k. Interest: 4% per annum (Compounded DAILY). 12 days to make Rm4,074.
Lucas0323
post Nov 25 2014, 05:34 PM

808 posts

QUOTE(HuiChyr @ Nov 25 2014, 12:05 PM)
Developer is already out of the picture once the property is completed and handover to customer.
The financing part is only between the bank and buyer (prop owner).

Prepayment comes in many form but let me explain in flexi-home loan for better understanding:
Let say you have outstanding loan balance (OS) of Rm100k.
You have Rm20k cash you wanna pre-pay for the loan.
So your OS becomes Rm80k. The day Rm20k was credit into your loan account, the interest calculation is base on the new OS of Rm80k.

The next day you wish to take out Rm5k from the pre-pay of Rm20. Your new OS is now Rm85k. And so the interest is calculated on Rm85k.

Property loan interest calculation is on DAILY rest. Like FD is on ANNUAL rest. Compounded DAILY or ANNUALLY. Can you imagine (hypothetical) FD is 3% on DAILY rest. Your money + interest is compounded DAILY. You make a lot of money.  drool.gif

But banks wanna make money mah .... so here is the real scenario
LOAN: Rm100k. Interest: 4% per annum (Compounded DAILY). 12 days to make Rm4,074.
FD: Rm100k. Interest: 4% per annum    (Compounded ANNUALLY). 12 months to make Rm4,000

Understanding this concept of bank calculation, don't you think PRE-PAYMENT is a better option?
Many will look at interest per annum only but with TIME factor, banks will always beat you to the game.
Thanks for your explaination.
aeiou228
post Nov 25 2014, 07:16 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(homosapien8888 @ Nov 11 2014, 05:16 PM)
loan for fun smile.gif rclxm9.gif
coz interest rate low.
the bank officer keep calling me for the loan
Not so fun after all.

Your personal loan is 3.13% p.a. flat rate, if converted to actual effective rate is 5.90% p.a.
You got conned by the bank office liao.
From your RM50K cash in hand, 80% are from personal loan with a cost of fund of 5.90%. Where got fun like that ?

Your current year interest cost for all your loans is approx RM47,754.00. How much is your net income after tax per annum ?

HuiChyr
post Nov 25 2014, 11:40 PM

567 posts

QUOTE(meejawa @ Nov 25 2014, 04:48 PM)
Wrong=> LOAN: Rm100k. Interest: 4% per annum (Compounded DAILY). 12 days to make Rm4,074.
That's TRUE ...
It's wrong calculation.
Will try to find the formula and present here again. Sorry.
But one thing for sure... compounded DAILY sure make more money.

Hmmm... I use Excel make simple calculation ... 4%/365 days....
Banks make Rm4,080 after 365 days = 12 months...
So bank make only Rm80 more than FD...on a RM100k principal?
Wah lau .. how bank pay for operation cost?

Sigh ... you tell me how to count la. rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by HuiChyr: Nov 25 2014, 11:47 PM
genkimaru
post Nov 27 2014, 09:38 AM

28 posts

your commitment exceed 90% of your total income ? yawn.gif
how do you get approval from bank with such over commitment ....
wild_card_my
post Nov 27 2014, 10:42 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(genkimaru @ Nov 27 2014, 09:38 AM)
OCBC for example has a DSR of 90 and 100% for their customers. It's not that surprising really.
pltan
post Nov 27 2014, 01:57 PM

499 posts

OP you should be renting out your house/s in order to offset your mortgage payments.

Very strange decision....
KingOfRiver
post Dec 5 2014, 10:26 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Nov 25 2014, 07:16 PM)
Not so fun after all.

Your personal loan is 3.13% p.a. flat rate, if converted to actual effective rate is 5.90% p.a.
You got conned by the bank office liao.
From your RM50K cash in hand, 80% are from personal loan with a cost of fund of 5.90%. Where got fun like that ?

Your current year interest cost for all your loans is approx RM47,754.00. How much is your net income after tax per annum ?
How to calculate annual effective rate
aeiou228
post Dec 6 2014, 08:51 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(KingOfRiver @ Dec 5 2014, 10:26 PM)
How to calculate annual effective rate
Using online effective rate calculator.
silkysilk
post Dec 6 2014, 09:55 AM

198 posts

May sound stupid and really stupid use 50k aim for 6/55 and 6/58
Sham903n
post Dec 6 2014, 12:08 PM

491 posts

make sure you sell that second house before the financial crisis cycle starts..
Kaka23
post Dec 7 2014, 07:32 AM

8,259 posts

If can pull through this.. Will be millionair and possible with rental income
icemanfx
post Dec 7 2014, 09:36 AM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Dec 7 2014, 07:32 AM)
If can pull through this.. Will be millionair and possible with rental income
If wealth could be created this easily, there should be more than 10% of adults with over rm300k net worth.

max_cavalera
post Dec 7 2014, 10:56 AM

rebirth
5,614 posts

QUOTE(genkimaru @ Nov 27 2014, 10:38 AM)
You know lah this high income people with private banking tag with any certain banks....

they will cry, ran amok, throw tantrums, threat the banks to give them the loans in spite of processing credit officer already detect very high risk to loan to them....

They will file a complaint to complaint department, bank negara, why their loan cant approve eventhough they dont have any blacklist...bank say your commitment high 80-90% of your nett pay already still cant accept.... laugh.gif

eventually bank give approval oso lah but charge a bit higher interest....

im in tiger bank the pat 6 years and seen enough of this High nett worth people abusing their privileged... rclxub.gif
SUSsupersound
post Dec 7 2014, 01:04 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(Sham903n @ Dec 6 2014, 12:08 PM)
make sure you sell that second house before the financial crisis cycle starts..
There's no such thing as crisis to begin with, more on price adjustments, don't abuse the term "crisis" without reasons.
To call a crisis to be a crisis when the following condition are met :
1. government declare bankruptcy
2. 95% of the blue chip companies price dropped below their IPO, like Maybank IPO was rm2, now still maintaining at rm9, so still far far way to go.
3. about 200 people sued bankruptcies every day.
4. Shopping malls have nobody walking even on public holidays.
5. property price dropped 50% from its original selling price.

10 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 >Top

0.0213sec    0.42    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 01:46 PM