126 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Bottom

USA Stock Discussion v6, Midterm Elections! U.S. Jobs Report!

AVFAN
post Jan 17 2015, 09:34 AM

24,451 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Jan 17 2015, 02:57 AM)
Looks like I'm going to be saved tonight.. no mad bears. Pocket another weekly premiums.
Bulls still got lots of money for US market. They're once again are buying dips.   biggrin.gif
high time...

already down 5 sessions in a row.

down another 5? i'll slip into recession then! biggrin.gif

crude will surely not rebound fast n furious but it does look like some footing has been reached.

will be looking for opportunities to add a bit more of this sector.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jan 17 2015, 12:47 PM
yok70
post Jan 18 2015, 04:44 AM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 17 2015, 09:34 AM)
high time...

already down 5 sessions in a row.

down another 5? i'll slip into recession then! biggrin.gif
crude will surely not rebound fast n furious but it does look like some footing has been reached.

will be looking for opportunities to add a bit more of this sector.
malaysia oil stocks already rebounded 15-20% from recent bottom. Wondering how much more could they further recover....I mean, it's impossible for them to recover back to previous high valuation. So what is fair valuation? hmm.gif

wah, oil closed at US$48.48! What a 48 situation!! tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by yok70: Jan 18 2015, 04:48 AM
AVFAN
post Jan 18 2015, 09:09 AM

24,451 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Jan 18 2015, 04:44 AM)
malaysia oil stocks already rebounded 15-20% from recent bottom. Wondering how much more could they further recover....I mean, it's impossible for them to recover back to previous high valuation. So what is fair valuation?  hmm.gif

wah, oil closed at US$48.48! What a 48 situation!!  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
crude prices still volatile, so it is difficult to put a value to those stocks.
well... if a co. like slb makes fast n agressive moves, that will help improve investor sentiments.
http://www.forbes.com/sites/greatspeculati...ugh-year-ahead/
i dun think w r seeing such measures in local o&g counters.

if crude has taken 6 months to go from 110 to 48, it can also take another 6 months to stabilize - where, i dunno...!! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jan 18 2015, 09:55 AM
jerrychoo2004
post Jan 19 2015, 09:40 AM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Jan 17 2015, 08:36 AM)
Just closed eyes and click BUY!  laugh.gif
ok done....buy liao and hope for the best tongue.gif
meonkutu11
post Jan 19 2015, 03:17 PM

1,597 posts

gents,

i have a few hundreds shares granted by my company (w/o any cost) that already lapsed with currently moving around 27-29usd..decline almost 25% past 3months...any advise whether to hold or sell the shares? dividen usd3/annum
drillers company...thanks a million...
AVFAN
post Jan 19 2015, 03:45 PM

24,451 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Jan 19 2015, 03:17 PM)
gents,

i have a few hundreds shares granted by my company (w/o any cost) that already lapsed with currently moving around 27-29usd..decline almost 25% past 3months...any advise whether to hold or sell the shares? dividen usd3/annum
drilling co... lost 25% past few months - that's small. wonder which one is this...

i had looked at transocean (rig), lost 2/3 of price since 6 months ago.

personally, i won't go after drillers' stock now as they are at the end of the chain, i.e. when oil cos. and gomens cut back on e&p capex, and they have said so already, drilling rigs big n small get no work or low value contracts. will take some time for the capex cycle to return when crude price is "correct". how long... who knows? with shale oil operators, opec, non-opec, china consumption... so many factors...

if u can hold, might as well. if zero cost, n u wish to spend the money, can sell also! tongue.gif

if u hold, u can track the performance regularly. not just yr stock but a few others incl etf's like xle and oih to see where the industry is going. i also think slb (schlumberger) is a good indicator as they are top-notch and reacts quickly, faster than oil majors.

not sure if i helped! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jan 19 2015, 03:49 PM
meonkutu11
post Jan 19 2015, 04:22 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 19 2015, 03:45 PM)
drilling co... lost 25% past few months - that's small. wonder which one is this...

i had looked at transocean (rig), lost 2/3 of price since 6 months ago.

personally, i won't go after drillers' stock now as they are at the end of the chain, i.e. when oil cos. and gomens cut back on e&p capex, and they have said so already, drilling rigs big n small get no work or low value contracts. will take some time for the capex cycle to return when crude price is "correct". how long... who knows? with shale oil operators, opec, non-opec, china consumption... so many factors...

if u can hold, might as well. if zero cost, n u wish to spend the money, can sell also! tongue.gif

if u hold, u can track the performance regularly. not just yr stock but a few others incl etf's like xle and oih to see where the industry is going. i also think slb (schlumberger) is a good indicator as they are top-notch and reacts quickly, faster than oil majors.

not sure if i helped! laugh.gif
thanks for your view..it is ESV..
agree on what you said, competition in getting the rig contracts are tough now, with oil co cutting their spending n A LOT OF newbuilding rigs available in the market.

kind of confuse now...wait until reach good value n enjoy the dividen (possible of decrease value n dividen cut) or sell it (if increase, huhuhuhu).....

gspirit01
post Jan 19 2015, 04:43 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Jan 19 2015, 03:17 PM)
gents,

As a trader, i will cut it and bite d bullet if it goes up again.
AVFAN
post Jan 19 2015, 06:19 PM

24,451 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Jan 19 2015, 04:22 PM)
thanks for your view..it is ESV..
agree on what you said, competition in getting the rig contracts are tough now, with oil co cutting their spending n A LOT OF newbuilding rigs available in the market.

kind of confuse now...wait until reach good value n enjoy the dividen  (possible of decrease value n dividen cut) or sell it (if increase, huhuhuhu).....
just had a look at ensco... yes, 25% down last 2-3 months, 50% down over 12 months - so, same like all drillers as expected.

it will be futile to try to gauge oil price in next 6, 12, 36 months. to do that is like trying to be a demi-god as u can see n so many reports, news, forums...

but... what we do know is the decline and damage has been done, capex will be cut, so unlikely u get a full n fast recovery - at least for drillers.

having been in a position similar to yrs back in 1986, i understand what the oil patch is like right now. my "personal advice" to you would be: if u r confident u can hold on to your job for the next 2 yrs, keep it. if not, better sell it n get the cash now. becos when it gets rough, many jobs get lost, it can get a lot worse n messy with mergers n acquisitions, as u already know.

side talk... from website, ensco... nice drillships, semis n jackups! biggrin.gif are they drilling in malaysian waters or elsewhere in asiapac? r those manual slips n tongs still in use or replaced by automated roughnecks?

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jan 19 2015, 06:43 PM
meonkutu11
post Jan 19 2015, 08:41 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 19 2015, 06:19 PM)
just had a look at ensco... yes, 25% down last 2-3 months, 50% down over 12 months - so, same like all drillers as expected.

it will be futile to try to gauge oil price in next 6, 12, 36 months. to do that is like trying to be a demi-god as u can see n so many reports, news, forums...

but... what we do know is the decline and damage has been done, capex will be cut, so unlikely u get a full n fast recovery - at least for drillers.

having been in a position similar to yrs back in 1986, i understand what the oil patch is like right now. my "personal advice" to you would be: if u r confident u can hold on to your job for the next 2 yrs, keep it. if not, better sell it n get the cash now. becos when it gets rough, many jobs get lost, it can get a lot worse n messy with mergers n acquisitions, as u already know.
side talk... from website, ensco... nice drillships, semis n jackups!  biggrin.gif are they drilling in malaysian waters or elsewhere in asiapac? r those manual slips n tongs still in use or replaced by automated roughnecks?
thanks bro...

we have 10rigs in asiapac, 3 of them currently in msia water..and yeah, we still use both manual & power slips and rig tongs n iron roughneck...
AVFAN
post Jan 19 2015, 08:47 PM

24,451 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Jan 19 2015, 08:41 PM)
we still use both manual & power slips and rig tongs n iron roughneck...
my oh my... after 30 yrs, the iron roughneck still hasn't taken over... jobs still exist for roughnecks n derrickmen, i guess! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jan 19 2015, 08:49 PM
meonkutu11
post Jan 19 2015, 09:09 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 19 2015, 08:47 PM)
my oh my... after 30 yrs, the iron roughneck still hasn't taken over... jobs still exist for roughnecks n derrickmen, i guess! laugh.gif
haaa...for some tools still need the magic of rig tongs, make up/break out bit, handle BHA n etc...

will there be another mega merger / buy out soon??

anyway, i think i will wait the value up more than $35 before selling it...keep finger crossed!
meonkutu11
post Jan 19 2015, 09:11 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(gspirit01 @ Jan 19 2015, 04:43 PM)
As a trader, i will cut it and bite d bullet if it goes up again.
thanks bro...i will wait for a while but will not for long...
AVFAN
post Jan 19 2015, 09:19 PM

24,451 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Jan 19 2015, 09:09 PM)
haaa...for some tools still need the magic of rig tongs, make up/break out bit, handle BHA n etc...

will there be another mega merger / buy out soon??

anyway, i think i will wait the value up more than $35 before selling it...keep finger crossed!
merger/m&a... with all that going on, i wud expect that for some of them, which isn't uncommon for this industry.

if i catch any news of that relevant to you, i will post here. wink.gif

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jan 20 2015, 04:57 AM
kimyee73
post Jan 20 2015, 03:48 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Jan 17 2015, 02:57 AM)
Looks like I'm going to be saved tonight.. no mad bears. Pocket another weekly premiums.
Bulls still got lots of money for US market. They're once again are buying dips.  biggrin.gif
Did you roll them to next week or you sold it off before expire if it went below strike price?
Brother J
post Jan 20 2015, 08:34 PM

855 posts

-Holds zero interests in this lair

This post has been edited by Brother J: Jul 14 2015, 01:48 AM
AVFAN
post Jan 20 2015, 11:23 PM

24,451 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Jan 17 2015, 03:55 AM)
I'm in 105.56. Job done.  cool2.gif
me too, just added some 106.90 apples. smile.gif

energy/oil still unstable....
jerrychoo2004
post Jan 21 2015, 12:47 AM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(Brother J @ Jan 20 2015, 08:34 PM)
Base on conventional standard, we "should" be rallying into the close before ECB's news on 22nd and sell on the news thereafter, closing the week in red.  whistling.gif

Crude no longer shares high correlation to major indices since it's a special week.
but its the opposite at the moment, market is red
morning06
post Jan 21 2015, 01:29 AM

869 posts

QUOTE(jerrychoo2004 @ Jan 21 2015, 12:47 AM)
but its the opposite at the moment, market is red
sharp u-turn maybe brows.gif
Brother J
post Jan 21 2015, 04:01 AM

855 posts

-Holds zero interests in this lair

This post has been edited by Brother J: Jul 14 2015, 01:48 AM

126 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top