USA Stock Discussion v6, Midterm Elections! U.S. Jobs Report!

kimyee73
post Nov 10 2014, 10:04 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(Brother J @ Nov 7 2014, 03:15 AM)
TD Ameritrade is offering $0.90 flat rate per contract on options to me ever since I showed them my account size and position in OX. But I am still considering lol.

drool.gif

ps: since I am neither posting my real name nor account number hence you can't use this email as argument to ask for better price from TD ameritrade.
cool2.gif
How big the account size to get that rate? 6 or 7 figures? Mine is $1.25 flat per contract. Would love to get lower than $1. tq
kimyee73
post Nov 10 2014, 10:14 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Nov 7 2014, 10:11 PM)
Wow.. the jobs numbers are good.  214K private jobs, UE drops to 5.8%.
More fire power for bulls.
BLS estimated 137K new jobs from small and new companies. Without this inflated number, the total would be very small.
kimyee73
post Nov 10 2014, 10:43 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Nov 10 2014, 10:16 AM)
nah, needn't 6 or 7 figures.
They also look at the average number of stock options contracts traded (of course bro J's is in a league of his own  notworthy.gif ).

On OX, mine's also $1 per stock options contract and my a/c is definitely below 6 figures  cry.gif
BUT (there's always one around tongue.gif ) with minimum $9.95 or higher per trade  sweat.gif

FYI - my contracts traded per month averages about 200+/- depending on opportunities for iron-condors or not  blush.gif
Just sharing  notworthy.gif
My trades about there as well but I really like TOS.
kimyee73
post Nov 14 2014, 10:29 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(Brother J @ Nov 12 2014, 02:08 AM)
OK, since it's a boring day without major players participating, let's take a look at two charts in courtesy from zerohedge.
Now:
Back then:
Check the full content by visiting planet Earth's most bearish website.
ps: Is there anyway to specify the image size under the whatever code this comfy place  is providing without having to stand 10ft away from my monitor to look at these humongous images after I linked/posted them here.
If you look at May-Dec 2013, it has similar divergence but stock keep going up. rclxub.gif
kimyee73
post Dec 3 2014, 09:42 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(dragon178 @ Nov 27 2014, 10:06 AM)
anyone has faith in China A Shares?
here is the ETF

ASHR

Deutsche X-Trackers Harvest CSI 300 China A-Shares ETF(NYSEARCA:ASHR)
ASHR already at premium and already fill up their China share foreign ownership quota. KBA still have lots of headroom. I bought FXI only.
kimyee73
post Dec 3 2014, 10:05 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(dragon178 @ Nov 28 2014, 10:02 AM)
(b) above will still allow 45% buying power (margin from ETF) plus 10% cash totaling 55% buying power. use it for day trading options.

* 10% cash can be served as a good indicator for the performance of day trading. that means if i am losing more than 10% then my cash will become negative which will force me to stay away from market then re-evaluate my day trading techniques.
Why risking 10% with option day trading, of course unless you are quite good with day trading? Also why need 90% invested? What position sizing rules you're following?
QUOTE(dragon178 @ Nov 28 2014, 10:23 AM)
add on, if loses 10%, force to stay away 3 months. after that, re-balance my investment fund and trade again.
You're investing like mutual fund style is it, with portfolio diversification, rebalancing and all? Want to elaborate more on this?

kimyee73
post Dec 15 2014, 10:01 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(highlowyat @ Dec 13 2014, 02:50 PM)
any broker provide leverage for like 1:50 or 1:100?
Stock is not like forex lah bro.
kimyee73
post Dec 15 2014, 01:16 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(highlowyat @ Dec 15 2014, 12:30 PM)
got lar. its called margin financing but i dunno how much they offer
Ya lah but not that high like forex, mostly about around 1:5.
kimyee73
post Dec 23 2014, 08:34 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Dec 23 2014, 12:51 AM)
Remember when Goldman said Oil will go to $200 when it was $140 back in '08?.. then it reverses and went down.

The thing is when a lot people start talking about $40 oil, it most likely it will not happen and likely to bottom in the 50s and move back up. A lot of times, they overshoot to the downside.

As for Opec,, funny argument from them they're saying non-Opec members should cut back production.. not them.  tongue.gif
Conspiracy theory is to whack Russia by sacrificing a couple of US shale oil producer whistling.gif
kimyee73
post Dec 23 2014, 08:42 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 23 2014, 01:08 AM)
i like to think that the selling was a bit overdone like it always happen; good probability it will recover 10-15% soon and hover there for some time. the case of oil can't be like gold which never recovered, maybe not for 10 yrs!

anyway, i have a passion for oil having worked in that industry for some years a long time ago. so, just bought bits of slb and oih for old time sake. tongue.gif

will look for opportunity to buy some aapl n msft. with that, i'll be happy just to sit back for a while. wink.gif

good nite.
Since you're buy and hold type, why not add those boring but good stocks like coke, walmart, p&g etc.
kimyee73
post Jan 8 2015, 04:26 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Jan 7 2015, 02:05 PM)
What do you use or suggest for trading purpose? Foreign online platform? Any recommendation in particular?
Foreign discount/online broker. There are many out there. More popular one are Interactive Broker, OptionXpress, TDAmeritrade. I personally use TDA although the commission is not the lowest.
kimyee73
post Jan 8 2015, 04:43 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Jan 8 2015, 04:30 PM)
Thanks for the feedback. I'll be proceeding with opening an account at TradeMonster in these few days.
BTW, why TradeMonster and not others?
kimyee73
post Jan 9 2015, 03:30 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Jan 8 2015, 05:27 PM)
TradeMonster comission is USD 4.95 per trade.
IB requires minimum deposit of USD 10K.
TD Ameritrade commission is USD 9.99, double of TradeMonster's.
E*Trade is the same as TD.
These are published commission. If your volume is high, you can request for special rate. My stock rate is USD5 per trade and option is USD1.25 per contract. The bigger the volume, the better rate you can get. Brother J were offered around USD1 per option contract due to his very high volume. Anyway, TradeMonster probably has special rate for volume customer as well. Good to go then. I like ThinkOrSwim (TOS) trading platform on TDA very much that I'm staying put although IB is cheaper.

This post has been edited by kimyee73: Jan 9 2015, 03:32 PM
kimyee73
post Jan 9 2015, 04:01 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Jan 9 2015, 03:40 PM)
Thanks for the info. I'll have to get myself familiarized with these offshore brokerages first before I can commit to bigger deposit. While local brokerages are expensive, at least they're within my reach. biggrin.gif
Some of them are very well established, not to worry much. I started with Datek back in 1997, which were acquired by Ameritrade in 2002 and later it merged with TD Waterhouse to form TD Ameritrade.
kimyee73
post Jan 12 2015, 01:42 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jan 8 2015, 08:12 AM)
Yup - good idea. Unfortunately my spouse isn't too.. er.. versed with stocks, options, etc. + my children are currently all below 18  cry.gif
When you die, your spouse and/or children may not even know where are all of your assets unless you have specific documentation and instructions for them to execute and put this in a safe and secure location. You can download from the following link as a guide on creating such document.

http://www.erikdewey.com/bigbook.htm

kimyee73
post Jan 12 2015, 03:48 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jan 12 2015, 03:10 PM)
Yeah - solved that earlier with a list of assets & liabilities + how to access them (for my then Executor or Trustee).
Lots of folks overlook this aspect - ada Will / Wasiat BUT dunno where the fish are all the assets and who/what is owed to/from.

BTW, U had any further luck with info/impact on them US death taxes for "non-domestic aliens" holding "US assets"?
Gawd.. looks like i've to hit up some big firm - ouch $.
Sorry I don't and don't have any fixed assets there anyway. Just plan to get my benefactor to sell off my equity and transfer it back home. One problem though. How long does it take for the bank to freeze your account upon your death? Also when transfer back, they will call up and ask questions if the amount is big. Need some solution there.
kimyee73
post Jan 14 2015, 04:00 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jan 12 2015, 06:52 PM)
er.. bro, not only fixed assets in US leh from what i read (direct from IRS' website & KPMG stuff).
Stocks too if held directly (ie. not via nominee accounts like HLeB, MBB, etc.) - unsure about stock options though  sweat.gif  - 1 of the Qs i want answered by US estate tax expert when i find one within my budget  cry.gif
Hopefully i understood wrongly.
I know but what I meant was fixed asset is difficult to dispose off by your benefactor while equity is easier for them, just need them to login, close all positions and transfer back everything.
kimyee73
post Jan 14 2015, 04:10 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Jan 13 2015, 04:15 PM)
The brokerage fee of 0.42% for KLSE turned me off so I didn't end up getting an account on CIMB iTrade. tongue.gif

BTW, since you're looking for offshore brokerage as well, do checkout robinhood.com. It's quite a new brokerage with $0 commission & still in the invite-only phase. I'm not vouching for it or anything so you might want to read around for feedback & stuffs.
robinhood.com shocking.gif the name already sound weird. Sure you can trust them with your USD100K? Pls update any result if you try them. Tq.
kimyee73
post Jan 15 2015, 07:25 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Jan 12 2015, 11:29 PM)
Options ... I have no idea, I don't hold any options. But I'd assume they'd be treated the same
Options are just contract, should it be treated the same way. It will be long expired by the time they get to settle the estate.
kimyee73
post Jan 15 2015, 04:35 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 13 2015, 06:01 PM)
actually, they all the same for nromal accounts.

I used mbb before, 0.42% cds, std.

I moved to cimb when I consolidated most of my banking with them, more convenient, certain things cheaper n better like property loans and credit card benefits.

for stocks, the difference is really in big trades and special assistance when u need it.
oh, I was just informed for usa dividends, it is a flat charge of usd8. probably same with hlb.
Are you able to trade stock options using local broker? If not, I still think you better off using online discount broker. Never know when you need to use options to protect your stocks against downtrend or even selling put to buy stocks that you want at a discount.

0.0452sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:32 PM