126 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Bottom

USA Stock Discussion v6, Midterm Elections! U.S. Jobs Report!

talexeh
post Jan 10 2015, 04:28 PM

One man's meat is another man's poison.
3,084 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 9 2015, 05:54 PM)
u mean u trade 1:1? deposit usd10k, trade 88 aapl shares?

if so, cost of capital is a consideration...
Hmm... if my memory serves me right, you did mention that you're not the aggressive & usually buy equities & let it mature long term.

If you're not trading 1:1, how do you settle T+3?
AVFAN
post Jan 10 2015, 04:43 PM

24,451 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Jan 10 2015, 04:28 PM)
Hmm... if my memory serves me right, you did mention that you're not the aggressive & usually buy equities & let it mature long term.

If you're not trading 1:1, how do you settle T+3?
i mean... if like me now, not trading, local ib platform albeit higher fees still acceptable, no need to look for others.

if using foreign broker like trademonster, the motive is probably to trade intraday or t+3 since fees are much lower. but if there is no leverage, then there is a cost to the deposit to trade, unless u earn interest on the deposit if it is idle, which i doubt is the case - pls correct me if i am wrong here...? of course, if the plan is not to trade t+3 but trade by paying up, it is not an issue, just the benefit of lower fees whenever u buy or sell.

oh... like to check with u further about trademonster...

when u make deposit, how is it done? do u ibg thru banks? or some third party fund manager? spread? any funds transfer charge?

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jan 10 2015, 08:27 PM
talexeh
post Jan 10 2015, 06:22 PM

3,084 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 10 2015, 04:43 PM)
i mean... if like me now, not trading, local ib platform albeit higher fees still acceptable, no need to look for others.

if using foreign broker like trademonster, the motive is probably to trade intraday or t+3 since fees are much lower. but if there is no leverage, then there is a cost to the deposit to trade, unless u earn interest on the deposit if it is idle, which i doubt is the case - pls correct me if i am wrong here...? of course, if the plan is not to trade t+3 or trade by paying up, it is not an issue but just the benefit of lower fees whenever u buy or sell.

when u make deposit, how is it done? do u ibg thru banks? or some third party fund manager? spread? any funds transfer charge?
Ouch... I've yet to employ their service hence I can't speak much on those enquiries of yours. I've just mailed them my application form which will take roughly 2 weeks to reach them so I'll let you know once I'm officially in. smile.gif
kimyee73
post Jan 12 2015, 01:42 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jan 8 2015, 08:12 AM)
Yup - good idea. Unfortunately my spouse isn't too.. er.. versed with stocks, options, etc. + my children are currently all below 18  cry.gif
When you die, your spouse and/or children may not even know where are all of your assets unless you have specific documentation and instructions for them to execute and put this in a safe and secure location. You can download from the following link as a guide on creating such document.

http://www.erikdewey.com/bigbook.htm

wongmunkeong
post Jan 12 2015, 03:10 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Jan 12 2015, 01:42 PM)
When you die, your spouse and/or children may not even know where are all of your assets unless you have specific documentation and instructions for them to execute and put this in a safe and secure location. You can download from the following link as a guide on creating such document.

http://www.erikdewey.com/bigbook.htm
Yeah - solved that earlier with a list of assets & liabilities + how to access them (for my then Executor or Trustee).
Lots of folks overlook this aspect - ada Will / Wasiat BUT dunno where the fish are all the assets and who/what is owed to/from.

BTW, U had any further luck with info/impact on them US death taxes for "non-domestic aliens" holding "US assets"?
Gawd.. looks like i've to hit up some big firm - ouch $.

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jan 12 2015, 03:12 PM
kimyee73
post Jan 12 2015, 03:48 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jan 12 2015, 03:10 PM)
Yeah - solved that earlier with a list of assets & liabilities + how to access them (for my then Executor or Trustee).
Lots of folks overlook this aspect - ada Will / Wasiat BUT dunno where the fish are all the assets and who/what is owed to/from.

BTW, U had any further luck with info/impact on them US death taxes for "non-domestic aliens" holding "US assets"?
Gawd.. looks like i've to hit up some big firm - ouch $.
Sorry I don't and don't have any fixed assets there anyway. Just plan to get my benefactor to sell off my equity and transfer it back home. One problem though. How long does it take for the bank to freeze your account upon your death? Also when transfer back, they will call up and ask questions if the amount is big. Need some solution there.
Cubed1437
post Jan 12 2015, 04:58 PM

146 posts

I don't know if anyone knows, but is there any way to invest in a shariah-compliant US etf or index fund? Thanks!
wongmunkeong
post Jan 12 2015, 06:52 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Jan 12 2015, 03:48 PM)
Sorry I don't and don't have any fixed assets there anyway. Just plan to get my benefactor to sell off my equity and transfer it back home. One problem though. How long does it take for the bank to freeze your account upon your death? Also when transfer back, they will call up and ask questions if the amount is big. Need some solution there.
er.. bro, not only fixed assets in US leh from what i read (direct from IRS' website & KPMG stuff).
Stocks too if held directly (ie. not via nominee accounts like HLeB, MBB, etc.) - unsure about stock options though sweat.gif - 1 of the Qs i want answered by US estate tax expert when i find one within my budget cry.gif
Hopefully i understood wrongly.

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jan 12 2015, 06:53 PM
talexeh
post Jan 12 2015, 09:57 PM

3,084 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 10 2015, 04:43 PM)

if using foreign broker like trademonster, the motive is probably to trade intraday or t+3 since fees are much lower. but if there is no leverage, then there is a cost to the deposit to trade, unless u earn interest on the deposit if it is idle, which i doubt is the case - pls correct me if i am wrong here...? of course, if the plan is not to trade t+3 but trade by paying up, it is not an issue, just the benefit of lower fees whenever u buy or sell.

Correct me if I'm wrong but you did mention before that you're using CIMB as your trading platform right? Can you share me the fees structure for both local & foreign trading (US market)? notworthy.gif
AVFAN
post Jan 12 2015, 10:36 PM

24,451 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Jan 12 2015, 09:57 PM)
Correct me if I'm wrong but you did mention before that you're using CIMB as your trading platform right? Can you share me the fees structure for both local & foreign trading (US market)? notworthy.gif
sure.

cimb itrade online foreign is limited to sgx, usa, thailand, indo and hongkong. they offer others too but are offline and too costly, no eye see...

sgx <rm100k 0.42% min sgd28; >rm100k 0.275% + some other minor charges. dividends, flat sgd10 per div.
usa flat 0.4% min usd25 + some minor misc charge. div handling charge... waiting for confirmation.

as u can see, it is too costly to trade, so i don't. i optimize by:

.. no trading, just invest
.. buy/sell at amount for each transaction such that brokerage = or >min, i.e. min sgd 6666 or usd6250
.. accumulate div at zero int until amt good enough to buy by itself or combine with fresh funds if ex rate favorable

really, just common sense within the constraints.

the not-too-bad stuff:

.. i dun pay for real time data as i am happy enough with yahoo finance; don't need it every night
.. all bourses transactions in all currencies on one page daily report - easy to monitor
.. one single stocks account and one bank account
.. all holdings in all currencies combined x 2.5 into trading limit - i can trade quite a bit if i want to - maybe some day at some minute
.. exploit currency fluctuations - if foreign currency fav, i buy and use what is sitting there at locked in rate on day of purchase; if unfavorable, i pay with rm at ex rate on due date, i.e. 3 days later
.. ex rate spread reasonable, nothing exorbitant

works well for me at this time but... in time, i may want to trade and will need a cheaper arrangement, albeit more troublesome.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jan 12 2015, 10:40 PM
talexeh
post Jan 12 2015, 10:42 PM

3,084 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 12 2015, 10:36 PM)
sure.

cimb itrade online foreign is limited to sgx, usa, thailand, indo and hongkong. they offer others too but are offline and too costly, no eye see...

sgx <rm100k 0.42% min sgd28; >rm100k 0.275% + some other minor charges. dividends, flat sgd10 per div.
usa flat 0.4% min usd25 + some minor misc charge. div handling charge... waiting for confirmation.

.. buy/sell at amount for each transaction such that brokerage = or >min, i.e. min sgd 6666 or usd6250
.. accumulate div at zero int until amt good enough to buy by itself or combine with fresh funds if ex rate favorable

the not-too-bad stuff:

.. i dun pay for real time data as i am happy enough with yahoo finance; don't need it every night
.. all bourses transactions in all currencies on one page daily report - easy to monitor
.. all holdings in all currencies combined x 2.5 into trading limit - i can trade quite a bit if i want to - maybe some day at some minute
.. exploit currency fluctuations - if foreign currency fav, i buy and use what is sitting there at locked in rate on day of purchase; if unfavorable, i pay with rm at ex rate on due date, i.e. 3 days later

works well for me at this time but... in time, i may want to trade and will need a cheaper arrangement, albeit more troublesome.
Thank you for the summary. I guess it's time to pay the brokerage a visit during my lunch time one of these days. smile.gif
rjb123
post Jan 12 2015, 11:29 PM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jan 12 2015, 06:52 PM)
er.. bro, not only fixed assets in US leh from what i read (direct from IRS' website & KPMG stuff).
Stocks too if held directly (ie. not via nominee accounts like HLeB, MBB, etc.) - unsure about stock options though  sweat.gif  - 1 of the Qs i want answered by US estate tax expert when i find one within my budget  cry.gif
Hopefully i understood wrongly.
Stocks and cash held in US brokerages above $60K fall under estate tax

You can for example instead of buying SPY, buy VUSA on LSE instead - domiciled in Ireland and therefore doesn't fall under US assets, and also only gets 15% tax withheld rather than 30%.

Options ... I have no idea, I don't hold any options. But I'd assume they'd be treated the same
rjb123
post Jan 12 2015, 11:37 PM

1,820 posts

Has anyone here successfully filed 1040NR in order to claim back 15% of withholding taxes?

I've had around $500 withheld over 2014 but am finding conflicting information if I can claim 50% of this back or not?
Brother J
post Jan 13 2015, 02:00 AM

855 posts

-Holds zero interests in this lair

This post has been edited by Brother J: Jul 14 2015, 01:52 AM
yok70
post Jan 13 2015, 02:38 AM

12,698 posts

very nice....2000 coming. thumbup.gif
danmooncake
post Jan 13 2015, 03:40 AM

Market Up, Market Down...Wheee..
10,123 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Jan 13 2015, 02:38 AM)
very nice....2000 coming.  thumbup.gif
Let's buy again if it dives to 1950 (200ma). tongue.gif

yok70
post Jan 13 2015, 05:15 AM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Jan 13 2015, 03:40 AM)
Let's buy again if it dives to 1950 (200ma).  tongue.gif
oh i love 1950. drool.gif
jerrychoo2004
post Jan 13 2015, 09:32 AM

1,633 posts

JBTFD
Just buy the f***ing dip hahahaa
talexeh
post Jan 13 2015, 04:15 PM

3,084 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 12 2015, 10:36 PM)
sure.

the not-too-bad stuff:

The brokerage fee of 0.42% for KLSE turned me off so I didn't end up getting an account on CIMB iTrade. tongue.gif

BTW, since you're looking for offshore brokerage as well, do checkout robinhood.com. It's quite a new brokerage with $0 commission & still in the invite-only phase. I'm not vouching for it or anything so you might want to read around for feedback & stuffs.
AVFAN
post Jan 13 2015, 05:02 PM

24,451 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Jan 13 2015, 04:15 PM)
The brokerage fee of 0.42% for KLSE turned me off so I didn't end up getting an account on CIMB iTrade. tongue.gif

BTW, since you're looking for offshore brokerage as well, do checkout robinhood.com. It's quite a new brokerage with $0 commission & still in the invite-only phase. I'm not vouching for it or anything so you might want to read around for feedback & stuffs.
standard... 0.42% for bursa is the normal rate for cds accounts for most local banks incl mbb, hlb, public, i believe.
for priority-premium customers, it is 0.35%, 0.21% if >rm100k per counter, 0.1% intraday.
so, be premium! tongue.gif

for bursa trading, a lot of people prefer to use another type, the nominee account. also available in most banks, brokerage 0.1%, min rm8 for everything. only catch is no leverage, u deposit, trade and pickup 1:1.

robinhood.com... ok, thanks, will check when the time comes.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jan 13 2015, 05:09 PM

126 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0205sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:33 PM