QUOTE(RayleighH @ Jan 20 2017, 09:32 PM)
If that's the case, follow Turtle Investor. He can sleep well even if al the markets are in red zone. All about ETFs / Foreign Brokers, Exchange traded funds
All about ETFs / Foreign Brokers, Exchange traded funds
Jan 20 2017, 09:37 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
24,333 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
Jan 20 2017, 09:46 PM
171 posts Joined: Nov 2015 |
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 20 2017, 09:25 PM) if u are really a novice in investing, then u hv a good mind and attitude, imo. Usually, articles that I come across advocate for a mixture of Total Bond Market ETF (BND), Total Stock Market ETF (VTI) and Total International Stock ETF (VXUS). i can't comment on "vanguard index funds" becos there are at at least 25 of such funds: http://www.marketwatch.com/tools/mutual-fund/top25largest and those are US based, $ based. i would not put all in them but over a variety of markets, currencies and types - diversification is impt. yes, the world is round... nothing is ever the same. more so with fast tech now, cycles are shorter, reactions in seconds rather than hours or days. what i can say... something close to my own learning over the years... one's "investing lifespan" is maybe... 30 years? the time you start to earn and save enough till the time u have no fulltime job... say 30 to 60...? 30 years will invariably see at least 2-3 cycles of boom, recession, (maybe superboom or depression) in stocks, real estate, gold, commodities, fx, etc. - foreign or domestic. over 30 years, one will never get it right all the time for all cycles. the key is to be able to spot a couple of cycles correctly and with some "luck", ride on them when they occur. ride on the disasters, u lose big time, never to recover. and too old, run of out time. if one is able to have success in more cycles than in failures, that's enough. to be an overall winner over 30 years is to be an angel, good enough... no need to be god! of course, the conservative ones can stay in savings and fd, only to be oblivious to what happened, which is OK too. Although I the devil in me is telling me that S&P 500 ETF (VOO) returns are quite tempting. However, I am staying away from it at the moment since I do not fully understand the risks that may come with VOO. These same articles would also always mentioned that timing the market is not the point for the type of investment that they're advocating. The majority of the work would be in the annual/trigger re-balancing or the occasional topping up whenever there's extra funds at hand. Over many years, this would provide a stable platform for a decent return only if one has the discipline (and not be greedy) and ability to weather any downturn so as to not withdraw during those times. Which is what my goal is: a stable and decent return. |
Jan 20 2017, 09:48 PM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 20 2017, 09:37 PM) If that's the case, follow Turtle Investor. He can sleep well even if al the markets are in red zone. I agree with his method, which is similar to other articles which I have read.The part which I have to figure out now is the forex rate (since I'm earning in MYR) and the recommended investment sum to ensure that the fees (tt, commission, etc) not eat up my profit and make the investment useless (which a few of you have provided some insights be in through local, SG or US brokerage) |
Jan 20 2017, 09:50 PM
1,820 posts Joined: May 2010 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Wow, this thread's been busy today!
I think the easiest way to make a decision is just to list down the few different scenarios (ie. local, TDAA/IB, SG Broker) taking into account all the different costs and what the end result is. |
Jan 20 2017, 09:56 PM
5,608 posts Joined: May 2011 From: Here, There, Everywhere |
Also, perhaps fire fire aim?
ie just do it with a local brokerage first, after a few years, if want to move to TDAA or IB, can move leh that's what i did with my US stocks with iTrade there's no such thing as perfection except perfectly dead. things change, new options pop-up, etc. thus, shouldnt wait for all planets to align - only caveat, please have an emergency fund else one may need to rob one's investments at the wrong time. been there, done that - feel stupid, thus... |
Jan 20 2017, 09:56 PM
QUOTE(rjb123 @ Jan 20 2017, 09:50 PM) Wow, this thread's been busy today! agreed. That's what I am planning to do over the next few days (or week maybe XD pardon my tardiness).I think the easiest way to make a decision is just to list down the few different scenarios (ie. local, TDAA/IB, SG Broker) taking into account all the different costs and what the end result is. Although the result may indicate that foreign index fund may be out of my reach at the moment due to the required investment sum when converted from MYR, at least I'll have a sound knowledge of the numbers around it |
Jan 20 2017, 10:00 PM
QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jan 20 2017, 09:56 PM) Also, perhaps fire fire aim? Emergency fund is already ready although it is only a year's worth compared to what others advocated for of two years' worth. May eventually try to target two years worth but slowly.ie just do it with a local brokerage first, after a few years, if want to move to TDAA or IB, can move leh that's what i did with my US stocks with iTrade there's no such thing as perfection except perfectly dead. things change, new options pop-up, etc. thus, shouldnt wait for all planets to align - only caveat, please have an emergency fund else one may need to rob one's investments at the wrong time. been there, done that - feel stupid, thus... |
Jan 20 2017, 10:16 PM
QUOTE(RayleighH @ Jan 20 2017, 09:48 PM) I agree with his method, which is similar to other articles which I have read. The part which I have to figure out now is the forex rate (since I'm earning in MYR) and the recommended investment sum to ensure that the fees (tt, commission, etc) not eat up my profit and make the investment useless (which a few of you have provided some insights be in through local, SG or US brokerage) QUOTE(RayleighH @ Jan 20 2017, 09:56 PM) agreed. That's what I am planning to do over the next few days (or week maybe XD pardon my tardiness). Well for SG part, if you are planning to pay say SGD18/transaction, the min you should go for is SGD4k. That will be about 0.4%+ (0.4% is I am using DBS V, the "+" is other clearing fees). Of course, best is if you can put in SGD10k which is equal to 0.18% but heck SGD10k is too steep for me. So I decide to go with the next best one which I can afford; SGD4k.Although the result may indicate that foreign index fund may be out of my reach at the moment due to the required investment sum when converted from MYR, at least I'll have a sound knowledge of the numbers around it Also since I don't the money for access to Ireland based ETF, I will go with the SG UT: Fidelity America A USD. Pay 0.75% (one time payment - each time you buy only) which manage to beat the S&P500. One does not need a global ETF as from what I learnt in the FSM MY thread, global index have about 50-70% in the US market. SC of 0.75% is damn cheap compare to 2% by FSM MY and SG UT outperform funds sold by Malaysians fund house. You might want to look into that aspect too. If you want to talk about all the fees, that's already counted in the NAVs already. That will be my substitute until I have enough cash. |
Jan 20 2017, 10:42 PM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 20 2017, 10:16 PM) Well for SG part, if you are planning to pay say SGD18/transaction, the min you should go for is SGD4k. That will be about 0.4%+ (0.4% is I am using DBS V, the "+" is other clearing fees). Of course, best is if you can put in SGD10k which is equal to 0.18% but heck SGD10k is too steep for me. So I decide to go with the next best one which I can afford; SGD4k. Very helpful information. Thank you Also since I don't the money for access to Ireland based ETF, I will go with the SG UT: Fidelity America A USD. Pay 0.75% (one time payment - each time you buy only) which manage to beat the S&P500. One does not need a global ETF as from what I learnt in the FSM MY thread, global index have about 50-70% in the US market. SC of 0.75% is damn cheap compare to 2% by FSM MY and SG UT outperform funds sold by Malaysians fund house. You might want to look into that aspect too. If you want to talk about all the fees, that's already counted in the NAVs already. That will be my substitute until I have enough cash. |
Jan 20 2017, 10:48 PM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 20 2017, 09:25 PM) Actually, i feel that I am more of the pessimistic and cowardly investor-to-be. The fear of losing all my hard-earned money is larger than the temptation to make big money from investments/trading. Which in turn, make me take much longer than others to get started in investing. Currently all my money is dependent on the paltry Fd interest rates. |
Jan 20 2017, 10:51 PM
24,453 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
QUOTE(RayleighH @ Jan 20 2017, 10:48 PM) Actually, i feel that I am more of the pessimistic and cowardly investor-to-be. The fear of losing all my hard-earned money is larger than the temptation to make big money from investments/trading. Which in turn, make me take much longer than others to get started in investing. Currently all my money is dependent on the paltry Fd interest rates. a lot has to do with yr age and whose money u r talking about! a young man can lose everything but has the time to find more in the next 30 years. old folks... lose it, u r finished. nasi and kangkung u get for every meal... which is good, they tell u. This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jan 20 2017, 10:52 PM |
Jan 20 2017, 10:54 PM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 20 2017, 10:51 PM) a lot has to do with yr age and whose money u r talking about! I'm am relatively young but my mind is like a old man's.a young man can lose everything but has the time to find more in the next 30 years. old folks... lose it, u r finished. nasi and kangkung u get for every meal... which is good, they tell u. |
Jan 20 2017, 10:58 PM
24,453 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
Jan 20 2017, 11:00 PM
Regarding AVFANs earlier comment RE risk - if you're like me and just planning to buy boring buy and hold ETFs you can't really blow it too badly.
If you're starting off with $10k USD and jumping into leveraged or inverse ETFs or leveraged forex and options then yes.. that's definitely risky. As default you only get permissions with foreign brokers for stocks / ETFs anyway. |
Jan 20 2017, 11:05 PM
QUOTE(rjb123 @ Jan 20 2017, 11:00 PM) Regarding AVFANs earlier comment RE risk - if you're like me and just planning to buy boring buy and hold ETFs you can't really blow it too badly. I'm more of this If you're starting off with $10k USD and jumping into leveraged or inverse ETFs or leveraged forex and options then yes.. that's definitely risky. And definitely not this. Too coward with the risks. As default you only get permissions with foreign brokers for stocks / ETFs anyway. |
Jan 21 2017, 07:24 PM
11,954 posts Joined: May 2007 |
QUOTE(RayleighH @ Jan 20 2017, 10:01 AM) 1. It's just an assumption for me to get a feel of the numbers. Whether it's tdaa or ib I'll just need to adjust the numbers to reflect accordingly. u can borrow personal loan to trade and earn much more compare to personal loan interest rate.3. I got that value from the first post where it's stayed that roughly the total tt charges would be around usd 50. That rm10 is just charges by local banks. I would assume that there might be some charges by receiving and intermediate banks in us. 5. I thought as nra, were eligible to get a 15% deduction on the wt if we fill up some form by every April? Well,I suppose that is still some extra work compared to buying Ireland domiciled etf. Tbh, 30k would be close to what i earn yearly. I supposed us etf is just out of my reach atm. Thanks for your feedback. |
Jan 21 2017, 07:25 PM
QUOTE(RayleighH @ Jan 20 2017, 10:10 AM) actually, I have the usd10k now for my initial investment. However, it took me four years to save up due to the increase in exchange rates. That the mistake u make. u want to make perfect timing.That means if I were to go ahead, I can only buy once now, save up another four years then only top up. I supposed this wouldn't be advisable? Or is my understanding wrong? If u invest during USD1 = RM4. Now u already gain. USD 1 = RM4.5 |
Jan 21 2017, 07:32 PM
Jan 21 2017, 07:35 PM
QUOTE(MNet @ Jan 21 2017, 07:24 PM) That's a pretty bad idea Anyway if you really want to take risk, can trade on margin account or leveraged products. Anyway he's asking about buying low risk ETFs to hold for the long term not making a quick buck trading. |
Jan 21 2017, 07:36 PM
QUOTE(RayleighH @ Jan 20 2017, 08:52 PM) I understand that earning through investing/trading is anything but simple. I would like to think that I am not greedy and do not look to make quick money, else I would definitely be in forex and actual stock trading. Which broker u go with?However, everytime I research on methods to investing, I come across many who would recommended investing long term in index funds, particularly vanguard funds even for your everyday average joe/jane. Most of them mentioned that index funds: 1. In the long term would provide decent returns. Nothing too fancy, amazing nor terrible which is what I am looking for. 2. In the long term, it is rather stable due to their diversification (Equity across the whole US economy and the whole world's economy + Bonds which covers the whole US economy) 3. In the long term, if one can weather the major dips and not pull out, eventually after many years it will eventually recover. Whereas, one may stand the chance lose all their money in other types of investment. All these points mentioned by other websites recommending Index funds make it sounds like it is something which one can buy and be relatively comfortable that it is quite unlikely to lose all their investment in the event of a major financial crisis, provided one can weather the downturn period and not pullout. That is why it seems quite interesting to me. The only downside and blocker at the moment is the fact that I am earning in MYR which translate to the huge sum which is required in order to make the investment worthwhile be it through a US or SG brokerage. I do acknowledge that there are risks involved by investing in index funds, although I may not be able to properly size/feel it due to my inexperience. Like you have mentioned "if u hv not seen the devil, u will not cry". However, at the moment, I can only think of three major risks with regards to investing in Vanguard index fund ETF. Please do enlightened me on any other risks of investing in Vanguard index fund ETF. 1. MYR/USD forex fluctuation. 2. Risk of fees eating up profit if investments amount is too small. 3. US & World economy downturn (though, wouldn't this also affect other funds/investment types in other countries to an extent?) |
| Change to: | 0.0296sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:33 AM |