All about ETFs / Foreign Brokers, Exchange traded funds

AVFAN
post Jan 1 2015, 10:30 PM

24,449 posts

hi guys, i just noticed this thread. good that ts started this as i was looking for something to begin with, found nothing then. found this only:
usa stocks thread:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3397675/+380

i recently put some money in us etf's via cimb's itrade which is already mentioned - fees, etc...

in my search for info, i found a few things before i jumped in:

.. us etf's listed on bursa n sgx seem unpopular.
.. buying direct into us via local platforms like itrade may cost a bit more but is viable - real time data is available n reliable.
.. if one is paying 0.42 or 0.35% at bursa, 0.4% for us equities is bearable, provided each transaction is >usd6250, i.e. >usd25 min brokerage.
.. local platforms also offer t+3 for us and sgx like bursa, so u can manage the trades among the bourses.
.. exchange rates - i find itrade's rates reasonable, the spread is about 0.37% e.g. last trading session 3.5035/3.4905.
.. us etf's appear tradeable - the popular ones are always among the highest, spy being the top one almost everyday.

.. yahoo finance offers good info n data, real time. just use email acc, create own portfolio.
http://finance.yahoo.com/
.. etf links:
http://www.barchart.com/etf/vleaders.php
http://money.usnews.com/funds/etfs

i got into spy (s&p500), xle (energy), oih (oilfield services) and qqq (nasdaq/tech).

being new in this, i do not really know what surprises may come except the volatility i noticed. i just thought at this time with rm looking to get weaker and local economy being stressed and tested seriously; us economy looking strong, usd getting stronger; oil prices "near bottom" - ingredients are there to put some money. i may get a rude shock, of course.

to others who have been in it longer, i like to ask:

.. to get lower brokerage fees, are there reputable local outfits dealing in rm-usd? or must go overseas to set up usd acc.?
.. dividends - understand there is 30% tax; for etfs, do they always offer reinvestment for every dividend payout?
.. in the event gomen put capital controls like in 1998, what happens to these etfs held in trust by by local ib nominee?

thanks for sharing. i m sure many more are keen on us etf's at this time.
AVFAN
post Jan 2 2015, 11:03 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Jan 2 2015, 10:39 AM)
TDAM has lots of commission free ETFs, IB charges 0.005 USD per share, 1 USD minimum

Not much competition like overseas, so foreign brokerages (ie US) are far cheaper in fees. But you need to bear costs of transferring funds overseas
thanks for response.

tdam or foreign ibs... i suppose one will need to register with them, open trading acc, plus have a usd bank acc ready, right?
do they offer any leverage with cash available or paid up stocks?
where would the nearest popular ib be? in sg, hk?

it is obvious the brokerage is far far less, but how are the exchange rates for tdam and those ib's?
do they use special rates or the common rates used by normal banks? roughly, the spread = 0.1%, 0.5%, 1%?
i suspect the spread may be ok but the bank fund transfer fees may be the killer - can u comment?

as i write, usd= rm3.51... again....

thanks much!

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jan 2 2015, 11:09 AM
AVFAN
post Jan 2 2015, 12:35 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Jan 2 2015, 11:28 AM)
1. Correct - you open the US account with them and then transfer in. I personally have Maybank USD account already but you could transfer direct from RM account at bank's rates if you wish.
2. IB does offer leverage, TDAM doesn't as far as I know - I don't know to what extent IB gives leverage as I don't use this at all.
3. You open an account with IB which then allows you to deposit in various ways, SGD into Citibank SG account, GBP into UK Citibank account and then convert currency using FXTrader in IB - I have various accounts in different currencies so this way you could avoid fees (although not if funds are coming from RM)
4. IBs rates for FX are very competitive - very close to spot rates, I'll log in shortly and send you a screenshot if you wish, don't have my security card to hand right now. All in all, a transfer will cost you about $45-50 USD if transferring from Maybank USD account to IB or TDAM.

RM isn't openly traded overseas, so there's no option to convert to or from RM within IB.
ok, thanks for info. appreciate it.
AVFAN
post Jan 3 2015, 02:50 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Jan 3 2015, 01:42 PM)
currently what broker you using?
cimb itrade.
AVFAN
post Apr 24 2015, 02:09 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Apr 7 2015, 08:54 AM)
QUOTE(rjb123 @ Apr 7 2015, 09:00 AM)
10 USD monthly is referring to inactivity fee, if you're not doing any trades during a month and have less than 100,000 USD balance.

TD Ameritrade has many commission free ETFs and supports DRIPS, so if you're only buying US ETFs infrequently and want dividends reinvested TD is a better option.
hi guys,

i am planning to open an account with IB for us equities trading purposes. so far, i read from the website:

.. initial deposit usd10k
.. usd1 per trade
.. usd10 min per month if no trades

before i go further, i thought will be good if you guys can point me in the most straightforward direction to get going. can you assist:

.. malaysian resident, with rm in local bank

.. open account online? any documents required?
.. how do i transfer money in/out of IB account with my local bank - ibg, 3rd party?
.. does each transfer require notification any body, e.g. bnm?
.. from where is exchange rate determined at any day or time?
.. how long from registration to acc active?
.. trading - is it always usd1 per buy or sell, any contra period (no payment used)?
.. how many days for gain/loss to become due?
.. any leverage? or zero, i.e. can buy only up to what is in cash deposit?
.. what is minimum shares buy/sell allowed - as per counter boardlot size?

thanks.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Apr 24 2015, 03:05 PM
AVFAN
post Apr 24 2015, 05:49 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Apr 24 2015, 04:53 PM)
.. initial deposit usd10k Yup, $10K Initial deposit to open account
.. usd1 per trade $0.005 per share, $1 minimum for US Markets. Other exchanges have other fees
.. usd10 min per month if no trades Yup, $10 inactivity fee if account under $100K, monthly commissions get offset, first 3 months inactivity fee is waived

before i go further, i thought will be good if you guys can point me in the most straightforward direction to get going. can you assist:

.. malaysian resident, with rm in local bank

.. open account online? any documents required? All online, scan of passport, utility bill to prove address etc
.. how do i transfer money in/out of IB account with my local bank - ibg, 3rd party? TT from Malaysian bank, takes 24 hours to complete (MaybanK)
.. does each transfer require notification any body, e.g. bnm? Not that I'm aware , have never been asked to give additional information
.. from where is exchange rate determined at any day or time? Determined by your bank's day rate when doing TT
.. how long from registration to acc active? Can't remember - think it was around a week
.. trading - is it always usd1 per buy or sell, any contra period (no payment used)?1 USD or $0.005 per share for US markets, different for others - full fee structure for different markets available https://www.interactivebrokers.com/en/index...ssion&p=stocks1
.. how many days for gain/loss to become due? Amount becomes available in cash balance immediately
.. any leverage? or zero, i.e. can buy only up to what is in cash deposit? Info on Margins : https://www.interactivebrokers.com/en/?f=margin
.. what is minimum shares buy/sell allowed - as per counter boardlot size?No minimums that I'm aware of
thanks much, appr it.

will get going soon! biggrin.gif
AVFAN
post Apr 25 2015, 11:39 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Apr 24 2015, 04:53 PM)
.. how do i transfer money in/out of IB account with my local bank - ibg, 3rd party? TT from Malaysian bank, takes 24 hours to complete (MaybanK)
.. from where is exchange rate determined at any day or time? Determined by your bank's day rate when doing TT
about this...

if i want to move funds out of IB back to my local bank acc, is that easy enough? takes about 24 hrs too? need some swift no., right?

the exchange rate should then be determined by IB's bank, right? usually standard?

thanks again.
AVFAN
post Apr 25 2015, 05:11 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Apr 25 2015, 01:41 PM)
The exchange rate will be determined by receiving bank, you can't send funds as MYR from IB.
i think this means IB will take instructions to TT the amt requested in USD. The local bank will then convert to RM at prevailing rate on that day.

QUOTE(denver1347 @ Apr 25 2015, 03:19 PM)
For the intraday trader in Stocks, Stock and Index Options, Warrants, T-Bills, Bonds, or Single Stock Futures please take note on this limitation implement by FINRA.
https://www.interactivebrokers.com/en/?f=margin&p=daytrade
hmm... that means for frequent intraday trading, will need >usd25k as deposit.

once or max twice a week, 10k shuld be ok, i suppose...?

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Apr 25 2015, 05:12 PM
AVFAN
post Apr 25 2015, 08:47 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Apr 25 2015, 05:49 PM)
Correct, or you can open USD account with Maybank or whoever you use, then convert between RM when you want smile.gif

If you're only doing a few transactions a week you won't fall under PDT and won't require the $25K minimum smile.gif

Anyway that's a US rule, not broker specific. Others like TD Ameritrade would also require the same.
thanks.

alright, that's assuring hearing from you.

10k it is! biggrin.gif
AVFAN
post Apr 25 2015, 11:25 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Apr 25 2015, 09:53 PM)
when u wanted to convert to USD?
i haven't even opened the acc!
AVFAN
post Apr 26 2015, 07:09 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Apr 26 2015, 12:05 PM)
why so slow bro?

should open it earlier
next week! biggrin.gif
AVFAN
post May 2 2015, 06:33 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Apr 25 2015, 10:44 PM)
Good time to change ... I need to change in the other direction soon - should have done it earlier  doh.gif
bloomberg now showing usd/rm 3.6132.
last week 3.55-3.56 wud be nice!
i m late too! laugh.gif

QUOTE(MNet @ Apr 26 2015, 12:05 PM)
why so slow bro?
should open it earlier
almost there. smile.gif
AVFAN
post May 2 2015, 09:59 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ May 2 2015, 09:44 PM)
3.615...  But I'm talking about USD to MYR, other way around.
what u got, 3.51 usd->myr, is about right on fri.

maybe mbb spread a little worse but when i checked cimb on thu, i was told 3.53.

3.6132 myr->usd is probably a derived rate at this time since rm is not traded during the holidays.
http://www.bloomberg.com/markets/currencies/asia-pacific/

This post has been edited by AVFAN: May 2 2015, 10:24 PM
AVFAN
post May 3 2015, 10:29 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ May 3 2015, 09:24 AM)
It's the rate from Thursday

Last Update : 30 Apr 2015 at 17:55:01
Disclaimer : Rates displayed are indicative for the day and subject to change without prior notice. For the latest Currency notes and Remittance rates, please refer to your nearest Maybank branch.
i actually bought some usd for stocks payment on thu 30/4.
but it was by phone to the broker in cimb, estimated 3.533/3.545 in the morning.
i have yet to see the actual becos of the holidays.

QUOTE(MNet @ May 3 2015, 09:31 AM)
What long term stock u all bought?
stocks for keeping... yeah, good idea to share.

since this is ETF thread, i'll start the ball rolling.

i have a bit of these most/more liquid US ETF's:

SPY (S&P500)
XLV (healthcare)
QQQ (tech)
OIH (oil services)

QUOTE(MNet @ May 3 2015, 09:22 AM)
Not sure whether should i depo more at this rate..
3.55-3.60 is probably a fair rate to deposit, imo.
now, usd relatively weak with rising oil price->stronger rm.
but i can't see oil price rising much more so soon.
and we never know if usd will strengthen bigtime soon->oil price drop->weaker rm! biggrin.gif
AVFAN
post May 3 2015, 10:47 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ May 3 2015, 10:39 AM)
recently at what price u deposited in USD?
like i just mentioned, will know actual for 28/4 purchase only next tue due to holidays. estimated 3.545.

will be buying again next week to commence with IB, yet to see...
AVFAN
post May 3 2015, 12:51 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ May 3 2015, 11:14 AM)
What you mean?

I can directly know the conversion price immediately when I TT to US.
Yes, you will know if tt to foreign brokers. Cash first, then u buy stocks.

I was refering to paying up something at local brokerage. Some local brokers allow t+3.
Not sure if all of them offer it, but there is a possibility to choose rate at stocks buy date or t+3.
For later, it is not known immediately, only estimates, need to wait for update from back office.
Local brokerage offers this advantage but big disadvantage is much higher brokerage fees.

That is why I am going IB as well. More for trading since low brokerage fees.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: May 3 2015, 12:54 PM
AVFAN
post May 5 2015, 04:50 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ May 3 2015, 12:57 PM)
Its good choice to direct trade. save cost.
thanks to you and rjb, my ib account has just turned active. thumbup.gif
AVFAN
post May 5 2015, 05:50 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ May 5 2015, 05:47 PM)
thumbup.gif

Already funded?
wired at 10.30am, ib email acknowledgement at 3pm. thumbup.gif

rate at cimb was 3.6310.

kinda high to me since cash rate and normal rate should be about 3.61 today.

tt rates always higher? hmm.gif
AVFAN
post May 5 2015, 07:44 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ May 5 2015, 06:04 PM)
Looking at CIMB website their rates seem better than Maybank though.
so, it means if i had tt'ed today at mbb, it may have been 3.650 then! biggrin.gif

i will check this up when the next opportunity arrives.
AVFAN
post May 7 2015, 09:35 AM

24,449 posts

happy to say i completed my maiden trade on IB, had a tiny profit. biggrin.gif

anyone looking for USD stocks investment or trading, i will suggest Interactive Brokers (IB).
https://www.interactivebrokers.com.hk/en/home.php

0.0838sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:38 PM