All about ETFs / Foreign Brokers, Exchange traded funds

RayleighH
post Jan 20 2017, 03:01 AM

171 posts

Hi all,

I have read through this thread from page one till the last page. I am rather new at investing and may not be very familiar with certain concepts, so I apologize in advance since I'll be needing some guidance in my understanding.

For simplicity, the following will be my assumptions:
1. Trade ETF through TDAA
2. Commission fee of USD10.65 per trade
3. TT fee of USD50
4. MYR/USD = 4.5
5. Purchasing VTI (Vanguard Total Stock Market Index Fund ETF Shares

With the above assumptions, say if I have the required USD3,500 deposit to open the account, that would mean I will need:
(USD3,500+USD50) x 4.5 = MYR15,975 --- [50/3550*100=1.4%]

With the initial USD3,500 in my TDAA account, I purchase 29 shares ot VTI at USD116.68 each:
USD116.68 x 29 + USD10.65= USD3,394.37; Balance in account: USD105.63 --- [10.65/3394.37*100=0.31]

After that, assume that I am able to allocate up to MYR10,000 in a year to purchase additional shares, I would have:
MYR10,000/4.5 - USD50 = USD2,172 --- [50/2222*100=2.25%]

Purchase additional shares:
USD116.68*19 + USD10.65 = USD2227.57; Balance in account: USD50.06 --- [10.65/2227.57*100=0.47%]

Questions:
1. So does this mean that just from TT charges, commission fee and the VTI expense ratio, I would have actually lost upfront a total of roughly:
First purchase: 1.76% (1.4%+0.31%+0.05%)
Second purchase: 2.77% (2.25%+0.47%+0.05%)
I do understand that with larger investment sum, the percentage will drop further and vice versa.
2. Say if I bought an Equity and Bond fund, does that count as two separate trade, incurring 2 x USD10.65 commission fee, thus further increasing the percentage that I had calculated earlier?
3. Does the commission fee also be charged when selling or re-balancing? I suppose any selling of one fund and buying another would be considered as additional trades and the commission fee would be charged separately for each transaction. Is my understanding correct? Was reading up on another thread by Dreamer - Asset Allocation Investing using US ETF, Basic approach to asset Allocation ETF

I am not sure if my calculations are correct so feel free to correct me if they are wrong. Like I mentioned, I'm here to learn from more experienced people around here since I'm rather new to all this and am still am unfamiliar with some of the concepts.

RayleighH
post Jan 20 2017, 10:01 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 20 2017, 08:28 AM)
While waiting for rjb123,

1. Trading via TDAA will eat your profit faster than anything. If you are trading, go for IB. If you are holding, I think TDAA is ok.
3. Where did you get TT fees of USD50? Most banks charge RM10/TT
5. By purchasing that ETF, you will kena 30% tax on your profit by the US. Better to go the LSE way and buy Ireland domiciled ETF which mirror the US market  which will cost 15% tax on profit only. Instead of 30%

To be honest, I don't think RM10k/year is suitable for ETFs. For cost effective, IMHO, one should have at least RM30k/year for ETFs. That's just my opinions.
1. It's just an assumption for me to get a feel of the numbers. Whether it's tdaa or ib I'll just need to adjust the numbers to reflect accordingly.
3. I got that value from the first post where it's stayed that roughly the total tt charges would be around usd 50. That rm10 is just charges by local banks. I would assume that there might be some charges by receiving and intermediate banks in us.
5. I thought as nra, were eligible to get a 15% deduction on the wt if we fill up some form by every April? Well,I suppose that is still some extra work compared to buying Ireland domiciled etf.

Tbh, 30k would be close to what i earn yearly. I supposed us etf is just out of my reach atm.

Thanks for your feedback.
RayleighH
post Jan 20 2017, 10:06 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jan 20 2017, 08:47 AM)
er.. TDAA fler here who does ETFs, other stocks like CVX HCP RSX & options on ETFs & stocks.

Further feedback/sharing on the items above:
1. It depends.. but generally spot on.
2. TT fees - there are the sending local charges (if any) + US side receiving charges, usually about USD20 per transaction, regardless of amount.
5. For US - there's no capital gains tax but there is withholding tax of 30% on dividends for NRAs - non-resident aliens. Non-resident = not in US lor + aliens = not orang Trump tongue.gif

Bottom line - MYR10K per year & doing US ETFs?
A. heheh - IMHO, best to start with local or SGX first.
Learn value investing (whatever value is to U), Build up $ and when one can cough up >=USD5K pa to invest consistently, then it becomes more worthwhile to get into US markets.

B. Learn how to juice your US stock investments with selling options WHILE "getting there".
usd 5k pa with current exchange rate would translate to rm22500 pa. Looks like I'll have to double my salary before i can make us etf any worthwhile. sad.gif

I'll try to read up on this value investing and options that you've mentioned. But somehow i get the feeling that the latter is something with high risk. Maybe I'm wrong since i actually do not know anything about options. Haha.
RayleighH
post Jan 20 2017, 10:10 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 20 2017, 09:22 AM)
rm10k is too small, too costly for trading foreign stocks, using local or foreign brokers.

save up >usd10k first.
actually, I have the usd10k now for my initial investment. However, it took me four years to save up due to the increase in exchange rates.

That means if I were to go ahead, I can only buy once now, save up another four years then only top up. I supposed this wouldn't be advisable? Or is my understanding wrong?

This post has been edited by RayleighH: Jan 20 2017, 10:14 AM
RayleighH
post Jan 20 2017, 12:28 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 20 2017, 11:00 AM)
investing is not saving or fd, more so for foreign with Fx risks.
Not a matter of how many times u top up.
A matter of cost efficiency, i.e.bottomline.

There are other considerations... Real time data, late nights, approval by brokers n local banks for money transfer.

Frankly, if u hv not traded at bursa, best not to get to foreign. Very easy to lose it all.
Thanks for the input. Does the same considerations also come into play when the intention is to buy and hold for long term instead of actively trading and timing the etf? Seems like I really have a lot more to learn and understand.
RayleighH
post Jan 20 2017, 12:52 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jan 20 2017, 12:06 PM)
Risk - either to be managed or avoided
Those that avoids risk doesnt learn how to manage them
And it's due to risks that there are returns, else Fixed Deposit-style 3%pa OR worse in US & SG FD tongue.gif

I was reading up on Dreamer's thread on etf/index fund management which touched on some risk management (60/40 allocation, rebalancing strategies). Maybe in your opinion, that is not good enough/not the whole picture of index fund etf? Do enlighten me further. I'm here to learn on how to manage risk. Unless the only way to learn is to delve right into actual investing. I forgot to mention that I'm primarily eyeing index fund etf only atm. Not going for direct stock trading.

Also, with stocks/ETFs options - do U know U can get PAID while waiting to buy a stock/ETF at a discounted price U want?
VS
pure stocks purchase = put in offer & hope/wait, repeat for months/years until filled. while waiting, no income/returns

I'm doing some reading on this but atm I am still unable to wrap my head around it since this is something new to me. Will continue to do more reading about it to fully understand it.

Note - even driving is risk management ya?
blind & stupid driver following GPS only without looking at real traffic & roads = HIGH risk VS world population's driving skills
michael schumacher = relatively low risk VS world population's driving skills

please not condoning blind execution - learn, simulate, do small then have a written policy & program to execute & track (and tweak where possible for risk/returns wanted)

---
BTW - if U are planning to invest in USD denominated, think in USD denominations first, not converted MYR
Foreign Exchange fluctuates like mad within a few years - eg. $2.8 2008-2009, $3.1+ 2010-2013, 3.8+/- 2014-2016 and now 4.5
it's like trying to write in English BUT we think in Chinese/Malay/Tamil then only translate - koyak wan the written grammar tongue.gif
just a thought - no gospel truths  notworthy.gif

I do understand this. Unfortunately, I only have earnings in MYR so i do realize that the forex and conversion fee may kill any earnings. That's why I also would like to ask, what are your experience in dealing with the forex? Or you guys don't ever/have not converted any of your foreign investment back to MYR? If the intention was to keep and hold the index fund etf for a long period, will this help in somewhat mitigating the effects of the forex fluctuations?

This post has been edited by RayleighH: Jan 20 2017, 01:12 PM
RayleighH
post Jan 20 2017, 01:58 PM

171 posts

So if my goals are:
1. Have a long term (5-10 or more years) investment in US index fund (Vanguard) with initial investment of USD10K.
2. Each future transaction >USD5K or preferably USD10K (which may mean a window of a couple to several years between transaction) to minimize effects of fees from tt charges, transaction commision.
3. Diversified assets (i.e. A combination of BND, VTI or VOO or both) for a starter.
4. Yearly re-balancing as per Dreamer's basic guide.

What are your take on this plan? Is the amount still too small to be worth it or maybe i missed out something which makes my rough plan above is not feasible.

What is your take on just buying into the index fund once and then just re-balancing yearly. Will the cost of the commission fees defeat the purpose?

Not trying to be rich fast, just that I noticed that US index funds are quite attractive sans the tt fees and forex fluctuations.

This post has been edited by RayleighH: Jan 20 2017, 02:33 PM
RayleighH
post Jan 20 2017, 01:59 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 20 2017, 01:49 PM)
sure!
if u just want to buy and hold, don't bother with foreign brokers.

just sign up and buy thru local bank/brokers.

u may pay a bit more in brokerage but is only occasionally.

but u save all the hassle of registering, qualifying, TT, future money transfer back, etc.

BUT... as describe above, be sure u buy enough for one div stock or etf - becos every div processing will carry a min charge. so, if too little, u end up paying for the dividend!
ah. Just saw your post after I hit the reply button. Thanks for the info. Will look into this re: local brokers.
RayleighH
post Jan 20 2017, 02:58 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jan 20 2017, 02:48 PM)
just a quick share:
based on HLeB & iTrade - for ETFs, more "availability" on iTrade.
Lots of US' ARCA listed ETFs cannot be done online or must "special request" (ie old style phone in) for HLeB.

For SGX listed ETFs, no issues with HLeB.

As for sizing per order, for optimum cost per order (to get the lowest cost as a % over stock's value bought/sold),
both are about SGD (if SGX) or USD (if US) >=8K

looks huge those numbers - if U have siblings/cousins that can trust each other + want to invest, jointly invest lor
that's what i did with my sis earlier (until now) - else...

just sharing some "pains" i went through heheh
Just a thought re: joint invest with siblings/relatives. From reading previous posts in this thread, I gather that you are the one doing the investment and your sister is riding along as the passenger. Do you have any legal documents which protects your sister from her money kena songlap by your side (or the other way round, if you're the passenger)? e.g. you kaka d, and then the investment gets passed down to your wife/child/next of kin, and then they decide to not return your sister's portion of the investment? Just wondering if you do take any kind of precaution for those or similar kinds of situation.

This post has been edited by RayleighH: Jan 20 2017, 02:58 PM
RayleighH
post Jan 20 2017, 03:55 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jan 20 2017, 02:48 PM)
just a quick share:
based on HLeB & iTrade - for ETFs, more "availability" on iTrade.
Lots of US' ARCA listed ETFs cannot be done online or must "special request" (ie old style phone in) for HLeB.

For SGX listed ETFs, no issues with HLeB.

As for sizing per order, for optimum cost per order (to get the lowest cost as a % over stock's value bought/sold),
both are about SGD (if SGX) or USD (if US) >=8K

looks huge those numbers - if U have siblings/cousins that can trust each other + want to invest, jointly invest lor
that's what i did with my sis earlier (until now) - else...

just sharing some "pains" i went through heheh
When you mention iTrade, do you mean iTrade CIMB?

It seems like they only have two ETF listing: CIMBC25 and CIMBA40. What are your thoughts on these two ETFs? It seems like one tracks 50 largests stocks in China and HK while the other tracks the 40 largest companies in several ASEAN countries.

Also, through your (or any other of you sifu's here) experience, are US Vanguard Index Fund/ETF available through local broker?

This post has been edited by RayleighH: Jan 20 2017, 03:58 PM
RayleighH
post Jan 20 2017, 05:22 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 20 2017, 04:52 PM)
Didn't know that sifu.  notworthy.gif

Too canggih already for me.  rclxub.gif
Not necessarily. Have a look at Turtle Investor

His allocation are as follow:
30% World ETF (VWRD)
30% STI (ES3)
30% SG Bond (A35)
10 S-REITS
Link to his http://www.turtleinvestor.net/asset-allocation/

How much is his cost? Only min SGD10/transaction or 0.2% (whichever is higher)  as he use Standard Chartered SG as his broker. If you cannot get them, try getting Maybank KE. Also SGD10/transaction or 0.18%  (whichever is higher). Both Standard Chartered SG and Maybank KE are custodian account which means they will keep your share, you don't have any rights to attend AGMs. You can also choose DBS Vickers SGD18/transaction or 0.18% (whichever is higher). Not sure how's the charge for LSE. But compare to the other 2 you are the owner of the sahres/ETFs that you buy. Is under your name.  rclxms.gif
1. Can Malaysian open an account with Standard Chartered SG, Maybank KE or DBS Vickers? Do we need to have a Singaporean address or anything like that?
2. Does it mean that we do not directly own the shares bought through Standard Chartered SG and Maybank KE? What are the impact to us as the client when one is a custodian account while in the other, we own the shares other than having the rights to attend AGMs?
RayleighH
post Jan 20 2017, 05:52 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 20 2017, 05:37 PM)
So you are just paying TT charges (RM10+ from malaysia side) + bank rates (which is not as cheap as bringing cash over) + brokerage fees. Heck, DBS Vickers told me I am excluded from their GST.  rclxms.gif
But if you factor in the cost to travel from Malaysia to Singapore, it might be more expensive than the bank rates? blink.gif

This post has been edited by RayleighH: Jan 20 2017, 05:52 PM
RayleighH
post Jan 20 2017, 06:11 PM

171 posts

Haha..will do, will do. Any knowledge is valuable. Thanks. notworthy.gif
RayleighH
post Jan 20 2017, 06:28 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 20 2017, 06:15 PM)
Nope. One can save at least SGD60 by bringing cash over there provided the air ticket is RM59 and you are coming back by train. I calculated against the best bank TT rates. rclxms.gif
Downside: waste 2 days as train from SG > MY is at 2345.
Atm, I don't have the time to browse through the other threads, but are there people who actually do that?
RayleighH
post Jan 20 2017, 08:52 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 20 2017, 08:22 PM)
U know what i mean...

U may not hv traded in bursa but u must hv traded as a "local" in sg or oz.

The poor guy.... only starting, jumping right into fx and foreign stocks... man.... can get killed easily.

And u hv others asking him to go to sg, do exotic stuff.

As one who has been thru losses, i understand the temptation to think one is so smart.
Not for u, for all., pls....

One's hard earned savings is blood sweat n tears.... may never make it back, will suffer.

Pls do not make it like eating nasi lemak or burgers.
Sorry for being grumpy...  if u hv  not seen the devil, u will not cry, so they say.

It takes a lot of work, time, patience and experience to make some profit from the desk.

If it is so easy, there will be no farmers or salespeople or politicians...  all humans stocks n fx trading n do nothing else!
I understand that earning through investing/trading is anything but simple. I would like to think that I am not greedy and do not look to make quick money, else I would definitely be in forex and actual stock trading.

However, everytime I research on methods to investing, I come across many who would recommended investing long term in index funds, particularly vanguard funds even for your everyday average joe/jane. Most of them mentioned that index funds:
1. In the long term would provide decent returns. Nothing too fancy, amazing nor terrible which is what I am looking for.
2. In the long term, it is rather stable due to their diversification (Equity across the whole US economy and the whole world's economy + Bonds which covers the whole US economy)
3. In the long term, if one can weather the major dips and not pull out, eventually after many years it will eventually recover. Whereas, one may stand the chance lose all their money in other types of investment.

All these points mentioned by other websites recommending Index funds make it sounds like it is something which one can buy and be relatively comfortable that it is quite unlikely to lose all their investment in the event of a major financial crisis, provided one can weather the downturn period and not pullout. That is why it seems quite interesting to me.

The only downside and blocker at the moment is the fact that I am earning in MYR which translate to the huge sum which is required in order to make the investment worthwhile be it through a US or SG brokerage.

I do acknowledge that there are risks involved by investing in index funds, although I may not be able to properly size/feel it due to my inexperience. Like you have mentioned "if u hv not seen the devil, u will not cry".

However, at the moment, I can only think of three major risks with regards to investing in Vanguard index fund ETF. Please do enlightened me on any other risks of investing in Vanguard index fund ETF. notworthy.gif
1. MYR/USD forex fluctuation.
2. Risk of fees eating up profit if investments amount is too small.
3. US & World economy downturn (though, wouldn't this also affect other funds/investment types in other countries to an extent?)

This post has been edited by RayleighH: Jan 20 2017, 09:05 PM
RayleighH
post Jan 20 2017, 09:32 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 20 2017, 09:20 PM)
Investing in index is not popular in Malaysia. Why?
1) The UT industry in Malaysia will make sure ETFs are not within the normal Malaysian reach as it will eat into their rice bowl.
2) We have not nice ETF (KLCI) and since we have no demand, foreign companies will not want to sell their product here.

When you research, those articles are written by white people who have access to index fund. We Malaysian don't have that. Even our neighbors Singapore are just discovering index fund.

That was why my inquiries so far are about foreign brokers like TDAA (although I gather that this may not be the best choice in certain situations if compared to IB) and also about foreign ETF (which someone earlier pointed out that Ireland domiciled ETF may be a better choice compared to US domiciled). Which some has pointed out the downsides if the investment sum is too small vs fees incurred, plus forex fluctuation (although I am not looking to flip for profit overnight).

And trading usually requires insider info. Cause the person who sells/buy first are usually those with info. However, if you are keeping for long term, then it's ok. Occasional trading should not be a problem.

I am not looking at trading at all. I'm looking to buy a diverse portfolio as suggested by many of these websites and some users in this forum. I just do not have the luxury of time to be too focused on trading.

RayleighH
post Jan 20 2017, 09:46 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 20 2017, 09:25 PM)
if u are really a novice in investing, then u hv a good mind and attitude, imo.

i can't comment on "vanguard index funds" becos there are at at least 25 of such funds:
http://www.marketwatch.com/tools/mutual-fund/top25largest

and those are US based, $ based. i would not put all in them but over a variety of markets, currencies and types - diversification is impt.
yes, the world is round... nothing is ever the same. more so with fast tech now, cycles are shorter, reactions in seconds rather than hours or days.

what i can say... something close to my own learning over the years...

one's "investing lifespan" is maybe... 30 years? the time you start to earn and save enough till the time u have no fulltime job... say 30 to 60...?

30 years will invariably see at least 2-3 cycles of boom, recession, (maybe superboom or depression) in stocks, real estate, gold, commodities, fx, etc. - foreign or domestic. over 30 years, one will never get it right all the time for all cycles. the key is to be able to spot a couple of cycles correctly and with some "luck", ride on them when they occur. ride on the disasters, u lose big time, never to recover. and too old, run of out time.

if one is able to have success in more cycles than in failures, that's enough.

to be an overall winner over 30 years is to be an angel, good enough... no need to be god! biggrin.gif

of course, the conservative ones can stay in savings and fd, only to be oblivious to what happened, which is OK too.
Usually, articles that I come across advocate for a mixture of Total Bond Market ETF (BND), Total Stock Market ETF (VTI) and Total International Stock ETF (VXUS).

Although I the devil in me is telling me that S&P 500 ETF (VOO) returns are quite tempting. However, I am staying away from it at the moment since I do not fully understand the risks that may come with VOO.

These same articles would also always mentioned that timing the market is not the point for the type of investment that they're advocating. The majority of the work would be in the annual/trigger re-balancing or the occasional topping up whenever there's extra funds at hand.

Over many years, this would provide a stable platform for a decent return only if one has the discipline (and not be greedy) and ability to weather any downturn so as to not withdraw during those times. Which is what my goal is: a stable and decent return.
RayleighH
post Jan 20 2017, 09:48 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 20 2017, 09:37 PM)
If that's the case, follow Turtle Investor. He can sleep well even if al the markets are in red zone.  smile.gif 30-30-30-10 allocation.
I agree with his method, which is similar to other articles which I have read.

The part which I have to figure out now is the forex rate (since I'm earning in MYR) and the recommended investment sum to ensure that the fees (tt, commission, etc) not eat up my profit and make the investment useless (which a few of you have provided some insights be in through local, SG or US brokerage) notworthy.gif
RayleighH
post Jan 20 2017, 09:56 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Jan 20 2017, 09:50 PM)
Wow, this thread's been busy today!

I think the easiest way to make a decision is just to list down the few different scenarios (ie. local, TDAA/IB, SG Broker) taking into account all the different costs and what the end result is.
agreed. That's what I am planning to do over the next few days (or week maybe XD pardon my tardiness).

Although the result may indicate that foreign index fund may be out of my reach at the moment due to the required investment sum when converted from MYR, at least I'll have a sound knowledge of the numbers around it
RayleighH
post Jan 20 2017, 10:00 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jan 20 2017, 09:56 PM)
Also, perhaps fire fire aim?
ie just do it with a local brokerage first, after a few years, if want to move to TDAA or IB, can move leh

that's what i did with my US stocks with iTrade tongue.gif

there's no such thing as perfection except perfectly dead.
things change, new options pop-up, etc.
thus, shouldnt wait for all planets to align - only caveat, please have an emergency fund else one may need to rob one's investments at the wrong time. been there, done that - feel stupid, thus... tongue.gif
Emergency fund is already ready although it is only a year's worth compared to what others advocated for of two years' worth. May eventually try to target two years worth but slowly.

0.0203sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:29 AM