Ramjade
post Sep 17 2019, 05:42 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Sep 17 2019, 04:24 PM)
from SG bank, cannot use transferwise?
Why use transferwise when you can transfer into their local SG bank account via FAST transfer?

IB conversion > transferwise (cheaper, faster)
Transferwise uses mid market rate. IB conversion is real time market price.
Ramjade
post Sep 24 2019, 05:32 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Kudo2012 @ Sep 24 2019, 04:54 PM)
I was trying to do a test on withdrawal, but the withdrawal process has been rejected and showed:

Over the Max Can Withdraw Amount: Available Balance is 0.0

Can anyone help to clarify?
Make sure you have the correct amount. SGD1000, make sure you put withdrawal amount SGD1000. Make sure bank account correct.
You are trying to withdraw to which bank account?
Ramjade
post Sep 24 2019, 09:51 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Kudo2012 @ Sep 24 2019, 07:05 PM)
I have SGD 2,000, plan to withdraw SGD 500.
I am trying to do the wire transfer to my CIMB SG account.
do I need to reset the base currency from USD to SGD before the withdrawal?
Are you having pending transaction not settled yet?
So far I withdraw out from IB -> Cimb SG no issue. My base currency is SGD , and I withdraw in SGD also.
Ramjade
post Oct 8 2019, 08:29 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 8 2019, 08:14 PM)
Thanks for the help everyone.

Successfully registered for Trasestation Global. But I now have issue with fundings.

I currently have HKD Fixed Deposit which will mature in about one month but I still don't want to put all of them into Tradestation/IBKR.

My plan is to enter the market when it has fallen a lot (magnitudes comparable to financial crisis, like 20-30% or even more). So, basically I am waiting for market to crash.

Is it okay to leave my IBKR/TG account untouch (without any deposit) for say 6 months-1 year or even more?

Thanks for the help.
To activate your IB account you need to deposit. If you never deposit, I think they will close account.

You can withdraw after that.
Ramjade
post Oct 10 2019, 09:05 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Oct 10 2019, 08:02 AM)
Anybody here buy Gold ETFs such as GLD? Do you have to pay taxes on the gains? I've read alot of articles on internet saying the US treats it like a collectible and we have to pay income taxes on it. This applies for Malaysians buying and selling GLD?
There's no capital gain tax chewed by US govt. Only dividend tax.
If you are US Citizen, then yes there's capital gain tax but no dividend tax.
Ramjade
post Oct 18 2019, 02:10 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(serenayap @ Oct 18 2019, 12:33 PM)
May I know which trading platforms should I use if I wnana  buy some stocks from.fhe NYSE
Your answer is found here... That's if you are willing to read.
Ramjade
post Oct 22 2019, 09:38 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(fauxylar @ Oct 22 2019, 12:25 AM)
Whats the total cost for Interactive Brokers? I wanna try with ¬1500USD. I'm under 23 so i think im applicable for $3 maintainence fee too
USD10/month if you don't have USD100k with them or you don't generate USD10 month in trading transaction.
Commission wise few cents per transaction.
Not sure if you can use the lite version

If you use whitelabels, no monthly charges
But if you use whitelabels, it is few dollars per transaction (about USD3-4) depending on which whitelabels you are using.
Ramjade
post Oct 23 2019, 10:16 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(fauxylar @ Oct 23 2019, 12:16 PM)
What are white labels? You mean like trade station?
Companies which sort of rent and use Interacrive broker infrastructure but market it as their own. Backend all used Interacrive broker. Tradestation global. Captrader, zacktrade.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Oct 24 2019, 07:39 AM
Ramjade
post Oct 24 2019, 10:40 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(fauxylar @ Oct 24 2019, 10:33 PM)
Got it, thanks!

Btw just wanna check if anyone had issues withdrawing from IB? Easy to transfer back to Malaysian bank?
No issues. Withdrawal is same day (few hours) if done during office hours.

Nope. I don't withdraw to Malaysian bank account so can't comment. I withdraw to my Singapore bank account.
Ramjade
post Oct 25 2019, 09:10 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(fauxylar @ Oct 25 2019, 12:18 AM)
What's the best way to deposit as a Malaysian without SG bank. Is bank wire the only option?
Just open account la.
So easy to open account online.
Save your time and trouble in the future (in dealing with Malaysian bank)
Ramjade
post Oct 27 2019, 05:13 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 27 2019, 04:45 PM)

Just want to ask how long does it take to deposit your money in Tradestation Global after submitting the deposit notification online and how long does it take for you to withdraw your money and show up in your bank account successfully.

1-2 hours on wroking day.
If withdrawal is few hours on a working day.
Ramjade
post Oct 30 2019, 01:45 AM

24,333 posts

dwRK, roarus, rjb123 any idea if we used US brokerage like IB but we did not buy/hold US stocks, are we subjected to >60k US estate tax?

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Oct 30 2019, 01:45 AM
Ramjade
post Oct 30 2019, 11:08 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Oct 30 2019, 04:47 AM)
As far as I know .. non US domiciled things like ETFs from Ireland or similar, shouldn’t be subject to US Estate tax.

But I’ve not looked into this in great detail.

QUOTE(dwRK @ Oct 30 2019, 06:19 AM)
Your account is with Tradestation Global... a UK company... introducing broker to IBKR UK... I'd assume it follows UK law not US...

AFAIK... for NRA IBKR US account, estate tax not applicable to non-US stock/etf, and $ deposits...

Imho...teach your spouse/kids how to online like you... wink.gif
I think UK got estate tax.

QUOTE(roarus @ Oct 30 2019, 08:40 AM)
^ That.

But in event you run into the nice problem of having a large enough account and transferring to IB LLC - non US domiciled securities are not subject to 60k estate tax. I believe directly held US treasuries are exempted as well
Thanks. Looks like have to limit US stocks to US60k.sad.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Oct 30 2019, 11:09 AM
Ramjade
post Oct 30 2019, 11:59 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Oct 30 2019, 11:52 AM)
Yup UK has inheritance tax, but if you leave everything to your spouse no tax. Answered your US estate tax question too... just pointing out UK vs US... wink.gif

No need to limit to $60k... just find jalan to bring it back. Also I think Malaysian Will not laku in the US but I haven't investigate much...
After fat boy sure US take closer look at Malaysians. sad.gif
Ramjade
post Oct 31 2019, 11:57 PM

24,333 posts

hyperzz forgot to ask you any idea if we used US brokerage like IB but we did not buy/hold US stocks, are we subjected to >60k US estate tax?
Ramjade
post Nov 1 2019, 11:44 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 1 2019, 05:27 PM)
For international brokers, laws governing holdings will be specific to the jurisdiction at which the holdings are listed in, or domiciled in. Hence, if you do not have US-based holdings, US laws will not be applied onto your instruments.
Thank you. thumbsup.gif
Ramjade
post Nov 6 2019, 12:20 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Dd2318 @ Nov 3 2019, 08:38 PM)
Hello sifus,
Newbie in stock investment. What is the easiest n cheapest funf/etf to invest in hold? Example like buy Sprott Inc shares?
Thank you for kind sharing.
Kindly read through this thread.
Once you are done, read this
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4744515

If you are lazy and just want the easy way out
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4750563

Don't worry I won't pass judgement. biggrin.gif Investment can be boring and difficult to understand with all the terms and jargons. Lots of people hate analyzing and want somewhere easy to park their money smile.gif

Back to your question about buying gold, forget everything else and just buy
SPDR® Gold Shares (GLD)

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Nov 6 2019, 12:21 AM
Ramjade
post Nov 23 2019, 01:53 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Nov 23 2019, 01:52 PM)
do Malaysians have TIN (tax identification number)?
Coming soon 2021. For now just give your income tax no

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Nov 23 2019, 01:54 PM
Ramjade
post Dec 8 2019, 10:20 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Kudo2012 @ Dec 8 2019, 08:28 AM)
I have a question regarding Subscribe to Streaming Real-Time Market Data. May I know which channel should I subscribe if I would like to check the real time stock price?  (Mostly trading on the NYSE)
Don't. Use yahoo finance or Google finance or investing.com
Ramjade
post Dec 13 2019, 10:37 AM

24,333 posts

dwRK, roarus, rjb123 hyperzz
I just found out I need to subscribe for rights need to qualify. Any idea how to go about it?

22 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0221sec    1.15    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:32 PM