All about ETFs / Foreign Brokers, Exchange traded funds

SUSDavid83
post Apr 6 2019, 11:54 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(messy @ Apr 6 2019, 11:51 PM)
Hi guys, should I put my money into EPF or invest into ETF until retirement. Which one can give me more $$$?
If I got a crystal ball, I'll definitely share with you the prophecy.

This post has been edited by David83: Apr 6 2019, 11:57 PM
Ramjade
post Apr 7 2019, 08:20 AM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Apr 6 2019, 09:44 PM)
Hi might be a noob question here

Said i started investing with ETF with captrader now
and keeping it loooooooooong term until retired only withdraw

said by that time my portfolio might be few mil
would there be any issue to transfer few mil from captrader > SG account > MY bank account?

since it is a large amount and might fall under BNM monitoring?
As long as you pay your tax on time each time, keep record for 7 years, they cannot do anything.

QUOTE(messy @ Apr 6 2019, 11:51 PM)
Hi guys, should I put my money into EPF or invest into ETF until retirement. Which one can give me more $$$?
One easy question. If during market down, can you tahan see the value of your money you put in drop say 30-50%?

If yes, then ETF.
If no EPF.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 7 2019, 08:21 AM
moosset
post Apr 7 2019, 11:17 AM

1,917 posts

cherroy

I've got a question:

Say I'm interested in S&P500, so I'll find an ETF to track that.
Is it safe to say that we'll never make a loss in the long term??

For example, if you buy Apple, but Apple may go bankrupt. Maybe the stock price went down and I didn't exit in time, until it got delisted from the stock exchange.
In the case of ETF, if Apple got delisted from S&P500, another company will replace its position, right?? So this ETF will never go bankrupt??

So ETF is all to gain, nothing to lose in the long term??
If you hold an ETF, when the intrinsic companies change, it doesn't affect you in the long term, does it??

Sorry! I'm not sure if my question makes sense.
Ramjade
post Apr 7 2019, 11:43 AM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Apr 7 2019, 11:17 AM)
cherroy

I've got a question:

For example, if you buy Apple, but Apple may go bankrupt. Maybe the stock price went down and I didn't exit in time, until it got delisted from the stock exchange.
In the case of ETF, if Apple got delisted from S&P500, another company will replace its position, right?? So this ETF will never go bankrupt??

If you hold an ETF, when the intrinsic companies change, it doesn't affect you in the long term, does it??

Yup you are right. But you to be prepared when market drop 30-40%
moosset
post Apr 7 2019, 02:49 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 7 2019, 11:43 AM)
Yup you are right. But you to be prepared when market drop 30-40%
so as long as you got holding power and can hold for long term, definitely no problem??

since S&P500 are the top companies, they will surely recover (or be replaced) in bull market, no?

if like that, then everyone (including PNB) can just invest in S&P500 and problem solved?
TSrjb123
post Apr 7 2019, 03:00 PM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Apr 7 2019, 02:49 PM)
so as long as you got holding power and can hold for long term, definitely no problem??

since S&P500 are the top companies, they will surely recover (or be replaced) in bull market, no?

if like that, then everyone (including PNB) can just invest in S&P500 and problem solved?
Past performance isn’t a guarantee for future performance.

But in the long term, as long as you hold long enough it’s a fairly safe bet.

elea88
post Apr 8 2019, 08:01 AM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 5 2019, 09:14 PM)
IB webpage. When I login.
you have to download TWS
cherroy
post Apr 8 2019, 11:29 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Apr 7 2019, 11:17 AM)
cherroy

I've got a question:

The ETF may suffer the loss if their holding share price plunged or delisted.

ETF is to track and mimick the targeted benchmark, so generally they do hold those benchmarking stocks.

ETF sometimes can deviated from its benchmark, aka not tracking well their benchmark.

When a stock is removed from the index (due to massive loss/share price plunging), the ETF may need to dispose the stock at a loss as well, and buy a new inclusion stock.

The comparison of Apple vs S&P500 is not right, as one is heavy on single stock, while another one technically invests in 500 stocks.
So S&P500 ETF gives you a better diversification, and risk spreading effect.

No such thing of never make loss in stock market, but generally good stocks do trend upward over the long time due to inflation effect.

moosset
post Apr 8 2019, 03:51 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Apr 7 2019, 03:00 PM)
Past performance isn’t a guarantee for future performance.

But in the long term, as long as you hold long enough it’s a fairly safe bet.
QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 8 2019, 11:29 AM)
When a stock is removed from the index (due to massive loss/share price plunging), the ETF may need to dispose the stock at a loss as well, and buy a new inclusion stock.
Thanks!
elea88
post Apr 8 2019, 09:06 PM

4,174 posts

can someone help?

how to key in STOPLOSS from the TWS

i key in the amount. it says " KEY IN VALID PRICE"

what is the terms of pricing?

Lets say current share price is $35.
i key stoploss 30.. but its shows not valid? why?

can key in both? TAKE PROFIT part and Stop loss part together ?
TSrjb123
post Apr 9 2019, 01:18 AM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Apr 8 2019, 09:06 PM)
can someone help?

how to key in STOPLOSS from the TWS

i key in the amount. it says " KEY IN VALID PRICE"

what is the terms of pricing?

Lets say current share price is $35.
i key stoploss 30.. but its shows not valid? why?

can key in both? TAKE PROFIT part and Stop loss part together ?
Why not use STOP LIMIT? Is it a volatile one?

You can use combination as example screenshot (not a real trade obviously .. just an example)

This post has been edited by rjb123: Apr 9 2019, 01:22 AM
Ramjade
post Apr 9 2019, 11:15 PM

24,335 posts

Can I add a GTD order?
TSrjb123
post Apr 10 2019, 12:35 AM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 9 2019, 11:15 PM)
Can I add a GTD order?
Should give you the option on the dropdown ... GTC/GTD etc.
Ramjade
post Apr 11 2019, 12:46 AM

24,335 posts

For IB, best to use the program or can I just use webtrader?
hyperzz
post Apr 11 2019, 03:45 AM

215 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 11 2019, 12:46 AM)
For IB, best to use the program or can I just use webtrader?
TWS has many sophisticated functions that professional traders can make use of. But for general investors, the web trader is usually sufficient.
Ramjade
post Apr 11 2019, 11:38 AM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(hyperzz @ Mar 26 2019, 10:55 PM)
Just to add more explanation.

elea88, I assume you need HKD for HKEX. IB does not have the pair SGD.HKD. So you need to convert twice, SGD -> USD -> HKD. You can follow the suggestion by rjb123 for SGD -> USD (meaning to BUY the pair USD.SGD).
Then you need to SELL the pair USD.HKD to get your HKD.

Some basic concept about forex trading. For a currency pair, i.e USD.SGD, the first currency (USD) is the base currency, the second currency (SGD) is the quote currency. 
Assumed 1 USD = 1.3514 SGD.
When you :

1) buy 10,000 USD.SGD, you will get 10,000 USD. For this BUY, 13,514 SGD will be deducted from your IB account. The commission charged is 2 USD. Buying a currency pair will give you the base/first currency.

2) sell 10,000 USD.SGD, you will get 13,514 SGD. For this SELL, 10,000 USD will be deducted from your IB account. The commission charged is 2 USD. Selling a currency pair will give you the quote/second currency.

IB has a youtube channel with tutorials, i.e. Forex with WebTrader 

Hope this helps.
Is it a must to transact with min USD25k via Ideal pro ?Can I use transect using SGD 8k?
TSrjb123
post Apr 11 2019, 12:14 PM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 11 2019, 11:38 AM)
Is it a must to transact with  min USD25k via Ideal pro ?Can I use transect using SGD 8k?
Doesn’t have to be USD 25K, can do smaller amounts also but it’ll be placed as an “odd lot”. Might end up paying a very slightly different rate (but negligible difference) as small lots are more difficult to match bid/ask to other orders.

Ramjade
post Apr 11 2019, 12:44 PM

24,335 posts

How do I put a buy order for say ICBC? I key in 1398 (stock code), stock not found.
hyperzz
post Apr 11 2019, 02:19 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 11 2019, 12:44 PM)
How do I put a buy order for say ICBC? I key in 1398 (stock code), stock not found.
In webtrader, I can find ICBC by just typing 1398. See picture attached. The first one (SEHK) is ICBC stock listed in HKEX.

How do you search for it?
Ramjade
post Apr 11 2019, 02:41 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(hyperzz @ Apr 11 2019, 02:19 PM)
In webtrader, I can find ICBC by just typing 1398. See picture attached. The first one (SEHK) is ICBC stock listed in HKEX.

How do you search for it?
See

Security not found. sad.gif

114 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Top

0.0314sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:24 PM