12 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

illegear z5 discussion thread, anything and everything about the beast

miong93
post Mar 20 2015, 12:55 AM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(ApostLes` @ Mar 20 2015, 12:28 AM)
yup that is exactly what i mean.. yeah maybe because im not familiar with 15" or 17" laptops

so the keys kinda tightly arranged , including the numpads..

hard for me to type fast tho , need to use external keyboards >.<
No need to worry to much. Just try and use it few more times. You will get use to it very soon. I also faced this problem before, but now is okay for me smile.gif
miong93
post Mar 20 2015, 06:35 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(christ14 @ Mar 20 2015, 05:32 PM)
not in dota 2 and dead space 3
If you're not playing BF4 then this problem won't occur right ? I think it is your BF4 file which cause this issue. Original game shouldn't have this problem though
miong93
post Mar 21 2015, 10:30 AM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(xarive @ Mar 21 2015, 12:55 AM)
Headed down to Illegear from Penang this afternoon. Had a great time chatting with Uncle Roger & Chin. The BSOD issue is mostly sshd issue or windows 8.1 pro issue as suggested by Chin. Got my screen replaced and RAM (maybe) and let's see what'll happen.
You get to ILLEGEAR on Friday or Today ? You said afternoon but now is still 10.30am. haha
So your problem been solved already ?? Update us smile.gif
miong93
post Mar 21 2015, 03:59 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(xarive @ Mar 21 2015, 03:57 PM)
right at Friday. my problem couldn't solve because it might be sshd causing it or Windows os itself.
So did they replace anything besides RAM and screen ? Your laptop is still with them right ?
miong93
post Mar 21 2015, 08:09 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(xarive @ Mar 21 2015, 07:13 PM)
unfortunately they didn't replace anything else. it said to be most probably driver problem for the driver power state failure. I'm having SSD and sshd built in z5. as far as I know it might be the sshd issue and Windows 8.1 pro issue. can I know if you are using any sshd ? I'm still planning to have clean installation of OS and see if it could helps.
I see. No choice since you need your laptop. If not you should leave it to them and let them have a test on it.
Well I didn't use any SSHD cause I feel it won't make much different, especially once you had an SSD. I used 7200rpm HDD. I think you should install your OS in SSD and just treat the SSHD as a normal HDD instead.
Try fresh install the OS to SSD and see whether the problem occur or not. Wish you luck smile.gif

QUOTE(Prince J @ Mar 21 2015, 07:49 PM)
xarive came to our office on Friday and told us that his laptop BSOD happens once to twice a week. To identify the root cause might need 2 to 3 weeks for such intermittent issue. That was why we didn't retain his laptop to double confirm the issue but to change parts right away.

There is also a small scratch (wear and tear) on his screen and ILLEGEAR helped to change a new one FOC.
I see. That is nice to know he manage to change his screen FOC. Did you guy change his ram FOC also ? If I remembered correctly he also encountered a BSOD which is most likely caused by the RAM.

miong93
post Mar 24 2015, 03:14 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(xarive @ Mar 24 2015, 02:58 PM)
hey guys, hows your laptop bag ? I got mine almost torn but still usable.
Perfect condition except the outer part got a bit of dust.
How you use it ? So fast torn.. Mine is older that yours but still working fine smile.gif
miong93
post Mar 24 2015, 03:39 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(xarive @ Mar 24 2015, 03:17 PM)
I carry it with laptop, adapter, hard disc and maybe Razer Ferox.
Well maybe some sharp thing cut it.
Mine is just fine though. Maybe you can sew it back again. Nothing serious I think.
miong93
post Mar 24 2015, 06:56 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(xarive @ Mar 24 2015, 06:34 PM)
I think ill get another third party laptop backpack. any ideas ?
Alienware Orion or Vindicator. Those are very solid and can stock up quite an amount of stuff inside.
I had an Orion, my dad is using. The space is larger and IMO better than ILLEGEAR backpack. But quite big and heavy if fully loaded.
But ILLEGEAR backpack is just good in its size. Quite fashionable also, looks better than others biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by miong93: Mar 24 2015, 06:58 PM
miong93
post Mar 26 2015, 11:12 AM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(christ14 @ Mar 26 2015, 11:04 AM)
wait...mine doesnt stop charging

im on 8.1 pro even on balanceed or powersaving.. it will charge to 100% rclxub.gif
You need to "hard" reset it. When you charged you laptop to 90 or above, switch off the power adapter and then unplug it. Wait for about 30 seconds or more then plug it in back and switch on the power adapter.
Now it will show not charging when it is 90% or above. The reason why it charge till 100% is most probably you're charging it from 90% or below, so it will straight away charge it to full.
miong93
post Mar 30 2015, 08:31 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(Dadalus @ Mar 30 2015, 08:18 PM)
Hello sifus, my speaker like ""pecah"; bizzz pizzz when playing game or track, but headphone mode has no problem. Can I fix it?
First try to reset your speaker settings to default. If the problem still persist then you need to send it back to ILLEGEAR to have them check on it.
miong93
post Mar 30 2015, 10:22 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(christ14 @ Mar 30 2015, 09:36 PM)
used my touchpad to scroll first time

feels weird the direction. my previous laptop was scroll up with finger to page down. z5 is scroll up with finger to page up
You can change it. At your system tray, right click TouchPad > go to TouchPad tab > change touch pad settings > Scrolling
miong93
post Mar 31 2015, 02:08 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(Cloud2322 @ Mar 30 2015, 11:13 PM)
Hmm.. I'm getting a Illegear Z5.. do you think paying extra 700 bucks to upgrade GTX 960m to GTX 970m worth it?
Or stay with 960m?
Need some professional review XD
If you're not hardcore gamer and DOES NOT play much high demanding games, then gtx960m is sufficient for you. High demanding games include : COD, BF, AC, Watch Dogs, Witcher, Wolfenstein, Far Cry, Crysis etc etc.
You're able to play most of the previous year game on mid/high settings 1080p, depending how demanding the games is. Eg : You can play Dota 2 at ultra settings, COD AW at high settings, both on 1080p. You CAN'T play Far Cry 4 in high settings 1080p.
Note : Anything less than 60fps is considered not smooth and not playable for me.

QUOTE(killerl @ Mar 31 2015, 07:37 AM)
Did the Illigear Z5 touchpad have double finger function(like macbook) ?
Yes Z5 do have it. But don't expect MacBook like touchpad experience from it because both are using different architecture. Different ecosystem also smile.gif
miong93
post Mar 31 2015, 02:20 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(Cloud2322 @ Mar 31 2015, 02:16 PM)
how about z5? I like the design tho.. and s5 is another 300 extra..
Z5 with gtx970m is tempting, but I would wait for review first. The main reason I bought my Z5 is because of its cooling. There is benchmark conducted by ILLEGEAR that show Z5 with 860m has great cooling. Try ask them about the cooling with gtx970m first.
I would not rush to get a product which cost about 5k and in the end get something which doesn't meet my expectation. (Yes I know a lot is rushing to make an order because of GST sweat.gif)
miong93
post Mar 31 2015, 03:29 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(Cloud2322 @ Mar 31 2015, 03:24 PM)
True.. imagine me using half way and overheat.. it's gonna be horrible..
they told me the machine haven't be tested out yet.. but they say should be good. hmm.. shall i wait? I alr paid full price for the machine. Hahaha
Since you already paid for the product, what for to worry about it now sweat.gif
Quite unlikely they will give you a full refund. So just hope it is not so bad. I think it will be around 70 - 85 degree C when under full load. If it goes beyond that, it is really bad IMO.

miong93
post Mar 31 2015, 06:47 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(Arvinaaaaa @ Mar 31 2015, 06:14 PM)
my assumption is wrong, as princej just mentioned, its all about the thermal management.

the reason i said to go for s5 is i assumed that s5 has better cooling smile.gif

so we will wait for prince j to do test on the z5 with 970m first..then u choose whether to get z5 or s5

however, is the z5 proves to  have better cooling management than the s5, then yes its the best bang for buck laptop
I think even s5 has 3 fan, it is still using the normal 5 heatpipe pattern. So it won't make much different with 2 or 3 fan I guess.
The only down side for getting Z5 970m variant for me is the lack of PCIE SSD slot, 1 less HDD storage and maximum ram supported. Otherwise it is the cheapest 970m laptop in the market.
Z5 comes with IPS display by default so it is cheaper also.
If you configure your S5 with IPS, it will cost about 5.4k though
miong93
post Apr 1 2015, 07:32 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(Adil@ILLEGEAR @ Apr 1 2015, 04:18 PM)
check your pm smile.gif
Do tell me about the price for changing my Z5 to gtx970m and gtx960m also biggrin.gif
miong93
post Apr 3 2015, 09:00 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(xarive @ Apr 3 2015, 08:57 PM)
pm me for 860 to 970 thanks Prince J
Hey bro, how is your Z5 now ? Still got any BSOD issue ?
miong93
post Apr 4 2015, 11:19 AM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(fr3eze @ Apr 4 2015, 09:28 AM)
I live in Melaka and stationed at Singapore, it was shipped using GDEx. Damn damn sien now.
I guess you got a lemon unit ? So far, me and Arvinaaa didn't encounter any of these before. I think maybe we bought it without any promo / during "peak period" like before gst. I think they can't test the unit thoroughly one by one as the demand is too high for them. I feel sorry to you on receiving a laptop which is not what you expected.

Just contact them, they will fix it for you ASAP. I'm also from Melaka, I even carry in my laptop to their showroom at Damansara to have a screen upgrade. They did it in < 2 hours.

Actually we did inform you all before purchase that every brand has lemon unit. And also you need to consider the warranty service type and area coverage (if you choose onsite/pick up). ILLEGEAR is good in term of price spec ratio, but don't exclude the warranty service coverage area to be like other big brand as they are not as big as those brand like Dell.

Hope your problem will be solved soon. FYI, Prince J just replied that Z5 with gtx970m so far is the coolest among all ILLEGEAR laptop. 71 degree C after 1 hours of furmark test.

P/S: To others who is yet to purchase, DO NOT RUSH IT. Z5 is good, but it support up to 16gb ram only. There are only 1 HDD + 2 mSata SSD slot. Display is AHVA.
Edit: Corrected ram support error

QUOTE(xarive @ Apr 4 2015, 10:31 AM)
so far so good biggrin.gif thanks mate. The servicing is good for me at least
Good to know then. So no more BSOD. haha

This post has been edited by miong93: Apr 4 2015, 11:36 AM
miong93
post Apr 4 2015, 11:37 AM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(Prince J @ Apr 4 2015, 11:31 AM)
Z5 max. support ram is 16GB.
Sorry about that, want to type 16 but my mind haven't wake up yet sweat.gif
Thanks for the correction.
miong93
post Apr 4 2015, 11:49 AM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(fr3eze @ Apr 4 2015, 11:41 AM)
I understand that every brands has lemon unit, but I think in my case it is not acceptable.

Yes I did put the order during CNY and before GST. But due to the GPU shortage matter they have to extend the delivery date for almost a month. I do not believe such an obvious defect like screen bleeding would not be easily detected under any quality control process. And I never rush them. I'm more than happy to wait a little longer if they would told me they need more time on testing or sort.

And for the warranty coverage, I can accept the fact if something gone wrong I have to send back for service. But manufacture defect is definitely not in the list. This is juz out from the box bro.
Yea I know your feel. But it is okay as long as they are willing to solve the problem for you. Prince J already asked about more details on this matter. So just get back to him and he will try his best to help you. If it is hardware defect they will most probably replace it for you.
I suggest if you have a replacement, have them do some testing on your unit also before asking them to send it back to you.
Built quality wise, mine is still working flawlessly.

12 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0522sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:41 AM