How to jump higher?

goliath
post Sep 12 2006, 09:06 AM

5,533 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Sep 11 2006, 11:31 PM)
Read my lips. Squats.
I can't see your lips la.... laugh.gif

QUOTE(Aztec @ Sep 11 2006, 11:37 PM)
i don wanna use all those jumping aids and stuff...just something tht is free..
Free...?? Erm.. Try running up the stairs..

QUOTE(Conquest @ Sep 11 2006, 11:37 PM)
use air jordan shoes... the one you pump air one. hope works.
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
iDk
post Sep 12 2006, 11:58 AM

1,124 posts

jump high is not only use your thigh and calves or leg's muscles. You also need your mid-section muscles as the abs and the back to make the explosive jump higher, just like how the cheetah use their mid section to run on high speed, their whole body act like a spring.

This post has been edited by iDk: Sep 12 2006, 11:59 AM
TSAztec
post Sep 12 2006, 02:44 PM

Disregard females,Acquire aesthetics..u mirin'?
2,363 posts

icic...mayb the way i jump oso wrong.. blink.gif
rivoluzione
post Sep 12 2006, 07:33 PM

353 posts

QUOTE(kudepadi @ Sep 12 2006, 08:16 AM)
google up a plyometrics program called 'air alert'. a few years back i used this program and i was able to touch the rim (i'm only 170 cm wink.gif )
is this?but need to buy wor
thivaakar
post Sep 12 2006, 07:50 PM

581 posts

QUOTE(rivoluzione @ Sep 12 2006, 07:33 PM)
buy la.its onli $ biggrin.gif 19.95
.:zaxiao:.
post Sep 12 2006, 07:54 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(Aztec @ Sep 11 2006, 11:24 PM)
not too lazy..no time..SPM coming la..
U are 16yrs old , and u have SPM ??
Anyway...U wanna dunk, go primary skool court laa whistling.gif
+3kk!
post Sep 12 2006, 08:17 PM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(rivoluzione @ Sep 12 2006, 07:33 PM)
you can get it off the net for free....search it.

but a warning before attempting air alert. it is critical you have basic jumping built, no point goin into the 3rd week and cant finnish half the stuff they throw at you. so its still good to get a gym and get your basic strength working. considering you being at 180++ and cant grab the rim, you've got lots more to go.

also note that do air alert with bball shoes, and no jumping on concrete...do it on carpet and on shoes.. if not long term injury.

also note that there are reports of AA screwing up your knees due to it stressing it extensively. take note, its a risk...calculate it and look into it.

lastly AA requires 3 mths, and well its a very very hard program. so chances are you can say goodbye to most stuff.
rivoluzione
post Sep 12 2006, 09:28 PM

353 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Sep 12 2006, 08:17 PM)
you can get it off the net for free....search it.

but a warning before attempting air alert. it is critical you have basic jumping built, no point goin into the 3rd week and cant finnish half the stuff they throw at you. so its still good to get a gym and get your basic strength working. considering you being at 180++ and cant grab the rim, you've got lots more to go.

also note that do air alert with bball shoes, and no jumping on concrete...do it on carpet and on shoes.. if not long term injury.

also note that there are reports of AA screwing up your knees due to it stressing it extensively. take note, its a risk...calculate it and look into it.

lastly AA requires 3 mths, and well its a very very hard program. so chances are you can say goodbye to most stuff.
so,overall does it works ?hav anyone tried?how much had you improve your abillity in vertical jumping?really can jump 8inch hier in 3 month?
pizzaboy
post Sep 12 2006, 09:49 PM

9,495 posts

this guy has a vertical jump of 35"

he's a powerlifter that squats about 700lbs and deads abt 800lbs
wtf am i tryin to say?

LIFT WEIGHTS!!!!!!!! HEavy ones

This post has been edited by pizzaboy: Sep 12 2006, 09:50 PM
+3kk!
post Sep 12 2006, 09:50 PM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(rivoluzione @ Sep 12 2006, 09:28 PM)
so,overall does it works ?hav anyone tried?how much had you improve your  abillity in vertical jumping?really can jump 8inch hier in 3 month?
it does work, i tried it but it was too taxing. so i stop, nevertheless a lot of people claimed it worked on them.

see the point is this, how much it increases depends on you. its recommended for you to play on rest days, to get muscle memory. and also depending on how fast your body heals and stuff.
goliath
post Sep 12 2006, 10:01 PM

5,533 posts

Like everybody said, don't concentrate on your legs only. Workout your overall body. Ain't nice/fun to see you dunk at the same time getting push around during the game wink.gif

This post has been edited by goliath: Sep 12 2006, 10:10 PM
TSAztec
post Sep 12 2006, 11:27 PM

Disregard females,Acquire aesthetics..u mirin'?
2,363 posts

i do workout my upper body...den u tink y im so heavy? tongue.gif
pizzaboy
post Sep 12 2006, 11:29 PM

9,495 posts

dude....ur 187Cm and 82KG......
ur big sized....
that's why ur so heavy.
goliath
post Sep 12 2006, 11:31 PM

5,533 posts

You're tall la.

I'm 85kg, 170cm. This makes me short fat bas3rd. laugh.gif
ed0gawa
post Sep 12 2006, 11:32 PM

coconut
4,398 posts

QUOTE(Aztec @ Sep 11 2006, 11:37 PM)
i don wanna use all those jumping aids and stuff...just something tht is free..
U know lion Dance? Join them... you'll be physically trained .. and it's free.. haha
I have some fren in Lion Dance group.. they are less than 170, but can jump higher than me (cm ,able to touch rim but not slam)..

U are too heavy... go find a place with lots of stairs and start frog jumping
allenultra
post Sep 13 2006, 12:01 AM

9,027 posts

Air Alert 3
Its free

http://www.home.no/slominski/Air%20Alert%20III.htm
+3kk!
post Sep 13 2006, 12:20 AM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(Aztec @ Sep 12 2006, 11:27 PM)
i do workout my upper body...den u tink y im so heavy? tongue.gif
why not work out the lower?

point is this, you need to be strong upper and lower to jump.
Conquest
post Sep 13 2006, 12:59 PM

307 posts

best to find those basketball fellows... the pros. maybe can google to find such existance of those forum chats. they can specifically give you the advice you need.
malaysianPotato
post Sep 13 2006, 03:11 PM

I need more space to write stuff here...
2,816 posts

i agree, talk with american semi-pros or college league level basket ballers, they can give you advice on what weight to be at for different positions, what drills to run and such.

Jedi
post Sep 13 2006, 06:16 PM

Pax Et Bonum
2,245 posts

QUOTE(goliath @ Sep 12 2006, 11:31 PM)
You're tall la.

I'm 85kg, 170cm. This makes me short fat bas3rd. laugh.gif
omg u really need to workout in gym.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0200sec    0.41    5 queries    GZIP Disabled